Souffle pancakes, thick, fluffy pancakes baked to order, are a Tokyo cafe staple. At the four cafes here that bake thick, fluffy pancakes to order, the signature pancake costs from 900 yen with tax at Musashi no Mori Coffee in Ginza to 1,650 yen with tax for the plain pancakes at FLIPPER’S in Shinjuku.
This page reports only what each cafe says on its own website: prices, tax, hours, booking, how long the pancakes take, and what they are made of. It is not a ranking. The practical points: the specialists say their pancakes take about 20 minutes after you order, one limits how many it sells each day, one prices its Shinjuku shop higher than the rest, and one chain adds a late-night charge. We also cover a fluffy gluten-free pancake and, for comparison, the ricotta pancakes at bills, which are not souffle. If you want pancakes as a morning meal, our breakfast in Tokyo guide covers other early options.
Souffle pancakes in Tokyo at a glance

| Cafe | Area | Signature pancake | Tax, per the menu | Bake time, per the cafe | Booking |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A Happy Pancake | Omotesando, Shibuya, Ginza, Ikebukuro | 1,390 yen | Not stated | About 20 minutes | Online only, no phone |
| FLIPPER’S | Shimokitazawa, Jiyugaoka, Kichijoji, Shibuya, Shinjuku | Plain 1,540 yen; 1,650 yen at Shinjuku | With tax | About 20 minutes | Shibuya and Shinjuku only |
| Musashi no Mori Coffee | Ginza | Fuwa-toro pancake 900 yen | With tax | “Takes a little time” | Not described |
| Takakura-machi Coffee | Western Tokyo suburbs, Oimachi | Ricotta pancake with cream 1,300 yen | With tax | “May take time” | Not described |
| Riz Labo Kitchen (gluten-free, not souffle) | Omotesando | 2,800 yen with a drink | With tax | 20 minutes | Not described |
| bills (ricotta, not souffle) | Ginza, Omotesando | 2,600 yen Ginza; 2,400 yen Omotesando | Not stated | Not stated | Yes; walk-ins welcome |
Prices as of September 30, 2026. Portions, toppings and what comes with the plate differ (Riz Labo’s price includes a drink), so the table is not a like-for-like comparison. Check the official site before you go.
What to know before eating souffle pancakes in Tokyo

What makes a souffle pancake different?
The cafes describe the method in similar terms. A Happy Pancake says it mixes the batter only after you order and uses no baking powder, relying on its own method and careful temperature control to make the pancakes fluffy. Musashi no Mori Coffee says it whips a meringue for every order and folds it into the batter, and Takakura-machi Coffee says it gently mixes egg white meringue into a batter of flour, egg yolk, milk and ricotta. FLIPPER’S says its pancakes are baked carefully at low temperature.
How long do souffle pancakes take?
Plan on a wait after ordering. A Happy Pancake says it bakes each pancake over about 20 minutes, and FLIPPER’S says about 20 minutes on its menus. Musashi no Mori Coffee says its pancakes take a little time, and Takakura-machi Coffee says cooking may take time. That is time in your seat after you order; none of these cafes publishes how long you might wait for a table.
Are souffle pancakes a breakfast food in Tokyo?
Some of these cafes open early enough for one. FLIPPER’S opens at 9:00 at four of its five Tokyo shops, Musashi no Mori Coffee in Ginza opens at 9:00, and bills opens at 8:30. A Happy Pancake opens at 9:00 at weekends in Omotesando and later on weekdays. For themed cafes where the setting is the point, see our themed cafes in Tokyo guide.
Souffle pancake specialists in Tokyo

A Happy Pancake: four shops, a daily limit and online booking only
A Happy Pancake, Shiawase no Pancake in Japanese, says it makes the batter only after an order comes in and bakes each pancake one by one over about 20 minutes, without baking powder. It also says it limits how many of its signature pancakes it sells each day, because it uses fresh ingredients within the day.
The A Happy Pancake, served with whipped butter made with manuka honey and cultured butter, is 1,390 yen on the official menu, and a tiramisu pancake is 1,780 yen (as of September 2026; official menu). The menu does not say whether these prices include tax, so we do not say either way. It notes that the menu differs by shop, and some items are sold only in Kyoto. Its TOGO takeout is sold at some shops.
Bookings are online only; the shops do not take phone bookings, and the booking page has an English switch. All four Tokyo shops are non-smoking. The site does not list closing days or payment methods.
| Shop | Address and access | Weekdays | Weekends and holidays | Seats |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Omotesando | Jingumae 4-9-3, Kiyohara Building B1; 2 minutes from exit A2 of Omotesando Station (Chiyoda Line) | 10:00 to 19:00, last order 18:15 | 9:00 to 19:30, last order 18:40 | 75 |
| Shibuya | Dogenzaka 1-18-8, 3F; by the Mark City exit, 3 minutes from Shibuya on the Keio Inokashira Line, 8 minutes from JR Shibuya | 11:00 to 20:00, last order 19:15 | 10:00 to 20:30, last order 19:40 | 52 |
| Ginza | Ginza 5-8-5, New Ginza Building No. 10, 7F; right by exit A5 of Ginza Station | 10:30 to 19:30, last order 18:45 | 10:00 to 20:30, last order 19:40 | 32 |
| Ikebukuro | Higashi-Ikebukuro 1-12-13, 3F; 3 minutes from exit 35 on the east side of JR Ikebukuro Station | 11:00 to 20:00, last order 19:15 | 10:00 to 20:30, last order 19:40 | 34 |
FLIPPER’S: five Tokyo shops, and Shinjuku costs more
FLIPPER’S, run by the food arm of BAYCREW’S, calls its souffle pancake the Kiseki Pancake, kiseki meaning miracle; that is the brand’s own name for it. It says it opened in Shimokitazawa on July 9, 2016, and that the eggs, the main ingredient, come from Taketori Farm in Shiraishi Zao, Miyagi Prefecture. Its menus say the pancakes take about 20 minutes to bake at low temperature.
Prices on the menus are before tax, with the with-tax price in brackets. At Shimokitazawa, Jiyugaoka and Kichijoji, the plain pancake is 1,540 yen with tax (as of September 2026; Shimokitazawa menu PDF). At the Shimokitazawa shop and others, strawberry is 1,815 yen, three kinds of lemon and rare cheese 1,650 yen, chocolate banana 1,705 yen and fresh fruit 1,958 yen, all with tax.
The menus ask each guest to order: most say one drink per person, while the Shibuya menu asks for one order per person. Only Shibuya and Shinjuku are listed for bookings, through TableCheck; the site does not say whether the other shops take bookings. English menus are posted for Shimokitazawa, Jiyugaoka, Kichijoji and Shibuya, and the Shinjuku menu is in Japanese and English.
| Shop | Address | Hours | Closed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shimokitazawa | Kitazawa 2-26-20, 1F, Setagaya-ku | 9:30 to 20:00, last order 19:00 | Irregular |
| Jiyugaoka | Jiyugaoka 1-8-7, 3F, Meguro-ku | 9:00 to 19:00, last order 18:00 | Irregular |
| Kichijoji | Kichijoji-Honcho 2-10-5, 1F, Musashino | 9:00 to 19:00, last order 18:00 | Irregular |
| Shibuya | Jinnan 1-15-5, Jinnan Plaza Building 1F, Shibuya-ku | 9:00 to 19:00, last order 18:00 | Irregular |
| Shinjuku | Shinjuku 4-1-7, 2F, Shinjuku-ku | 9:00 to 20:00, last order 18:30 | Irregular |
The site gives addresses but not nearest stations or walking times.
For a first-hand account, Emma’s Flipper’s Shinjuku: Souffle pancakes compares an hour-long line at the Shibuya shop with an easy 4 p.m. visit to the newer Shinjuku branch, and flags the Shinjuku one-drink policy.
Cheaper fluffy pancakes at Tokyo coffee chains
Musashi no Mori Coffee, Ginza: 900 yen, open until 23:00
Musashi no Mori Coffee is a coffee chain in the Skylark restaurant group. Its fuwa-toro pancake, served with maple syrup blended with honey, is made with ricotta and cream cheese, which the chain says give it a light richness. It says it whips meringue for each order and folds it into the batter, and that this takes a little time.
Prices depend on the shop. The chain lists three shops on a separate central-city price tier: Marronnier Gate Ginza 2, Shinjuku Chuo Park and Musubu Tamachi. There, the fuwa-toro pancake is 818 yen, or 900 yen with tax (as of September 2026; central-city grand menu). At its urban-tier shops the same pancake is 803 yen with tax. The grand menu is dated as revised on July 9, 2026.
The Ginza shop is at Ginza 3-2-1, Chuo-ku, and opens 9:00 to 23:00 every day; food orders stop 60 minutes before closing. Its shop page lists Visa, Mastercard, JCB, American Express, Diners Club, UnionPay and Discover cards, and PASMO and Suica. The chain’s website has English, Korean, Thai and Chinese versions; we could not confirm an English menu in the shop. It does not describe bookings.
Takakura-machi Coffee: ricotta pancakes, mostly in the suburbs
Takakura-machi Coffee makes its pancake batter from flour, egg yolk, milk and ricotta, gently mixes in egg white meringue and bakes each one to order, noting that cooking may take time. Its pancake page lists the ricotta pancake with special cream at 1,300 yen with tax, served all day, the plain Takakura ricotta pancake at 1,100 yen, and a just-size version of the cream pancake, about two thirds the size, at 850 yen (as of September 2026; official pancake page). It notes that menus and prices may differ by shop.
For guests avoiding wheat, egg or dairy, a rice flour and soy milk pancake is 1,100 yen with tax. The Kunitachi shop’s menu marks it as made without wheat, egg or dairy, and says it is cooked on the same equipment as dishes that contain them.
Its ten Tokyo shops are in the western suburbs, such as Hachioji, Kunitachi and Kodaira, plus Oimachi; none is inside the Yamanote Line loop. The Oimachi shop, at Oi 1-22-16, Shinagawa-ku, opens 7:00 to 22:30, last order 22:00, with no closing day, but the chain says its menu is different from the other shops, and we could not read its prices. If you are staying out west, Takakura-machi Coffee is mainly an option for that side of Tokyo. The site does not describe bookings or English.
A gluten-free fluffy pancake in Omotesando
Riz Labo Kitchen: rice flour pancakes with a drink included
Riz Labo Kitchen makes gluten-free pancakes from 100 percent Japanese rice flour, and describes them as having a fluffy shape and a moist texture that it credits to the rice flour. It does not call them souffle, so we do not either. Its fruits, caramel and nuts, and chocolate pancakes are each 2,800 yen with tax, including a drink (as of September 2026; official menu).
It says baking takes 20 minutes even on a normal day, that it closes when the pancakes sell out, and that this often happens around 16:00. It is at Jingumae 4-15-2, inside Ura-sando Garden, five minutes from exit A2 of Omotesando Station. Its site gives three different versions of its hours and closing days, so we do not give them here: check the official opening-days calendar before you go. The site does not describe bookings, and its top page has an English description.
Gluten-free labeling in Japan works differently from many countries, and rice flour is not automatically safe for everyone; our gluten free in Japan guide explains what to ask.
Not souffle pancakes: ricotta pancakes at bills in Tokyo
bills, Ginza and Omotesando: the ricotta stack for comparison
bills is here as a comparison, not a souffle pancake. It calls its dish ricotta pancakes, served with fresh banana and honeycomb butter, and does not say whether they use meringue. The price differs by shop: 2,600 yen at Ginza (as of September 2026; Ginza menu) and 2,400 yen at Omotesando (as of September 2026; Omotesando menu). The menus do not say whether tax or a service charge applies, so we do not state either.
bills Ginza is at Ginza 2-6-12, Okura House 12F, open 8:30 to 23:00 every day. bills Omotesando is at Jingumae 4-30-3, Tokyu Plaza Omotesando Harajuku 7F, open 8:30 to 22:00 every day, with terrace seats. Both take bookings on any day and welcome guests without one. bills says it is not partnered with AutoReserve and asks you to book through its official website. It also lists shops in Futako-Tamagawa and Odaiba, and its website has an English switch. bills Omotesando, Riz Labo Kitchen and A Happy Pancake Omotesando are all in Jingumae; for the rest of the area, see our Harajuku guide.
What do souffle pancakes cost in Tokyo?
Souffle pancake prices in Tokyo, as published
| Cafe | Pancake | Price | Tax, per the menu |
|---|---|---|---|
| Musashi no Mori Coffee Ginza | Fuwa-toro pancake | 900 yen | With tax (818 before) |
| Takakura-machi Coffee | Ricotta pancake with special cream | 1,300 yen | With tax (1,182 before) |
| A Happy Pancake | A Happy Pancake | 1,390 yen | Not stated |
| FLIPPER’S (not Shinjuku) | Plain | 1,540 yen | With tax (1,400 before) |
| FLIPPER’S Shinjuku | Kiseki Pancake plain | 1,650 yen | With tax (1,500 before) |
| bills (ricotta, not souffle) | Ricotta pancakes | 2,400 yen Omotesando; 2,600 yen Ginza | Not stated |
| Riz Labo Kitchen (gluten-free) | Fruits, caramel and nuts, or chocolate | 2,800 yen, drink included | With tax |
Why don’t souffle pancake prices compare directly?
Because the plates are not the same. Toppings, the number of pancakes and what comes with them vary, Riz Labo’s price includes a drink, and A Happy Pancake and bills do not say whether tax is included. FLIPPER’S and Musashi no Mori Coffee both charge more at some shops than others. Compare within a cafe, not across them.
Is tax included in souffle pancake prices?
FLIPPER’S, Musashi no Mori Coffee and Takakura-machi Coffee show the price before tax with the with-tax price beside it, and Riz Labo Kitchen lists its sets with tax. A Happy Pancake and bills do not say on their menus, so ask if it matters to you.
Are there any extra charges?
At Musashi no Mori Coffee, orders from 22:00 until the order stop carry a 10 percent late-night charge. FLIPPER’S asks each guest to order, so budget for a drink or another item on top of a shared pancake. The other cafes do not mention extra charges on the pages we read.
Booking, selling out and paying at Tokyo pancake cafes

Can I book a table?
At some. A Happy Pancake takes online bookings only, not phone bookings. FLIPPER’S lists TableCheck bookings for Shibuya and Shinjuku only. bills takes bookings on any day through its website and welcomes walk-ins. Musashi no Mori Coffee, Takakura-machi Coffee and Riz Labo Kitchen do not describe bookings, and none of the six publishes waiting times.
Do souffle pancakes sell out?
Two cafes say so. A Happy Pancake limits how many of its signature pancakes it sells each day, without saying how many. Riz Labo Kitchen closes when it sells out, often around 16:00, it says. The others do not mention a limit.
Can I pay by card?
Musashi no Mori Coffee’s Ginza shop lists major cards and PASMO and Suica. The other cafes do not list payment methods on the pages we read, so carry some cash in case. For how chain coffee shops and kissaten differ on prices and rules, see our coffee shops in Japan guide.
Is there an English menu?
FLIPPER’S posts English menus for four shops, and its Shinjuku menu is in Japanese and English. A Happy Pancake’s booking page and the Musashi no Mori Coffee and bills websites have English versions, but none of them says the shops have English menus. Takakura-machi Coffee does not mention English.
Which souffle pancake cafe in Tokyo suits you?
For a signature souffle pancake you can book online, near Omotesando, Shibuya, Ginza or Ikebukuro, A Happy Pancake. For souffle pancakes with an English menu and a 9:00 start, FLIPPER’S, remembering Shinjuku costs more. For a cheaper plate in Ginza late into the evening, Musashi no Mori Coffee, before the 22:00 surcharge. If you are staying in western Tokyo, Takakura-machi Coffee. For a gluten-free pancake, Riz Labo Kitchen, after checking its calendar. For ricotta pancakes rather than souffle, bills. If your trip takes you south, our Halekulani Okinawa guide covers a hotel that serves souffle pancakes at breakfast.
Frequently asked questions
How much do souffle pancakes cost in Tokyo?
How long do souffle pancakes take in Tokyo?
Can I book a souffle pancake cafe in Tokyo?
Do souffle pancakes sell out in Tokyo?
Is tax included in souffle pancake prices in Tokyo?
Is there a gluten-free souffle pancake in Tokyo?
Do I have to order a drink at FLIPPER’S?
Are bills pancakes souffle pancakes?
Bottom line (2026): Thick, fluffy pancakes in Tokyo cost from 900 yen with tax at Musashi no Mori Coffee in Ginza to 1,650 yen with tax for the plain pancakes at FLIPPER’S Shinjuku. A Happy Pancake’s signature is 1,390 yen on its menu, which does not state tax. The specialists say to allow about 20 minutes after you order.
Sources
Every price and rule on this page is from the cafes’ and operators’ own websites, including menu PDFs and digital menus: A Happy Pancake, A Happy Pancake menu, A Happy Pancake shops, A Happy Pancake about, A Happy Pancake takeout, A Happy Pancake reservations, FLIPPER’S, FLIPPER’S English page, FLIPPER’S Shinjuku menu PDF, FLIPPER’S Shimokitazawa menu PDF, FLIPPER’S Jiyugaoka menu PDF, FLIPPER’S Kichijoji menu PDF, FLIPPER’S Shibuya limited menu PDF, FLIPPER’S Shibuya bookings (TableCheck), FLIPPER’S Shinjuku bookings (TableCheck), Musashi no Mori Coffee menu, Musashi no Mori Coffee price tiers, Musashi no Mori Coffee grand menu (central-city prices), Musashi no Mori Coffee grand menu (urban prices), Musashi no Mori Coffee Marronnier Gate Ginza 2, Takakura-machi Coffee, Takakura-machi Coffee pancakes, Takakura-machi Coffee shops, Takakura-machi Coffee Kunitachi menu PDF, Riz Labo Kitchen, Riz Labo Kitchen menu, Riz Labo Kitchen opening days, Riz Labo Kitchen access, bills Japan, bills Ginza, bills Omotesando, all read on September 30, 2026. Menus, prices and hours change, so confirm on the official site before you go.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


