Coffee Shops in Japan (2026): Cafe and Kissaten Are Not the Same Word

Guide·September 3, 2026·26 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Two coffee shops, a few train stops apart, both serving a cup of black coffee. One charges 300 yen. The other charges 780 yen. Neither is overcharging you, and the reason is not the neighborhood or the quality of the beans. It is that Japanese has two separate words for what English flattens into one: kafe and kissaten. They are different businesses with different economics, and once you can tell them apart at the door, the price stops being a surprise.

This guide covers what each chain actually charges, the two incompatible systems both called "morning service," and the smoking rules — which reversed in 2020 and which most English coverage still gets backwards.

Honto check: Every price and rule below was taken from the company's own site, an official press release, the text of the law or a government statistic. Where a chain does not publish something — and several do not publish their prices at all — we say so rather than filling the gap. Prices as of August 31, 2026.

The short version. A chain coffee runs about 300 to 510 yen; an old kissaten runs 780 yen and up, and the extra is the seat, not the bean. Komeda has no national price at all — its blend is published as a 460 to 700 yen range. Starbucks Japan charges by location tier. Morning service before 11 a.m. at Komeda is free food with a drink; at Doutor it is 50 yen off a set until 10:30. And you almost certainly cannot smoke, whatever you read in an older guide.

TOC

Kafe and kissaten are two different words, and two different prices

Start here, because it explains most of what looks like random pricing. A kafe in current Japanese usage means the counter-service model: you order, you pay, you carry your cup to a table, you leave when you are done. That is Doutor, Tully's, Saint Marc, Starbucks and the specialty roasters. A kissaten is the older form — a sit-down coffee house, usually independent, often decades old, where someone takes your order at the table and nobody expects you to hurry.

The price difference is not subtle. Doutor's blend is 300 yen for a small after its July 2026 revision. Inoda Coffee's Arabia no Shinju in Kyoto is 780 yen — the same category of drink, 2.6 times the price. You are buying the room and the service as much as the coffee.

ShopDrinkPrice (tax incl.)Type
Doutor Coffee ShopBlend CoffeeS 300 / M 350 / L 400 yenChain kafe
Saint Marc CafeSaint Marc BlendS 350 / M 410 yenChain kafe
Tully's CoffeeCoffee of the DayShort 390 / Tall 450 / Grande 510 yenChain kafe
Komeda's CoffeeKomeda Blend460–700 yen (a range)Chain, kissaten style
Inoda Coffee (Kyoto)Arabia no Shinju780 yenKissaten, since 1940
Starbucks JapanDrip CoffeeNot published on the official siteChain, tiered pricing
Hoshino CoffeeBlendNot published on the official siteChain, kissaten style

Why two chains will not tell you their prices

This is worth knowing before you assume a guide is being lazy. Hoshino Coffee's official menu pages contain no prices at all — every item is a photograph with a name, and the yen symbol does not appear anywhere on them. Its morning service times are not published either. Starbucks Japan does not put drink prices in its public pages in a form that can be read without the store selector. Any English article quoting an exact figure for those two is quoting something other than the company — which is why the cells above are empty. Not stated officially is a real answer.

One more thing about the English pages

If you plan to read a chain's English site before you go, note what Doutor puts directly under its language switcher: "This site uses a machine automatic translation service." The company is telling you the English is unreviewed — fine for finding a store, less fine for the small print on what a set includes.

Komeda has no national price, and says so itself

Most chains add a line about some stores differing. Komeda goes further: the price it publishes is a range. Its official menu system returns Komeda Blend as 460 to 700 yen, not as a number with an asterisk. The top of its menu page states plainly that menus and prices differ by store, and its product notices repeat that selling prices vary by location.

That is a spread of about 52 percent on one cup. It runs through the whole drinks list, from Cafe au Lait at 500 to 740 yen upward. Dine-in and takeaway are the same price.

What nobody can tell you: Komeda does not publish why prices differ, or a map of which regions sit where in the range. Any article claiming "Tokyo is at the top, Nagoya at the bottom" has invented it. Budget for the upper end and be pleased if it is lower.

Which chains keep dine-in and takeaway the same?

Most of them, deliberately. Doutor, Tully's and Komeda all state that dine-in and takeaway are the same price, which means they are absorbing the difference between the two consumption tax rates rather than passing it to you. Doutor used to do it the other way: before December 2022 its small blend was 224 yen to sit and 220 to take away. It scrapped the four-yen gap and went to a single 250 yen, then 280, then 300 yen from July 23, 2026. That revision covered around 1,200 stores across Doutor and Excelsior, and the company attributed it to raw material, logistics and labor costs.

Starbucks Japan charges by where the store is

This one surprises people who assume Japanese chains are uniform. Since February 2025, Starbucks Japan has run location-based pricing on its core drinks, in three tiers rather than one national price.

TierWhereShare of storesDifference
Location price AService areas, airports4%+13 to 32 yen (pre-tax)
Location price BTokyo 23 wards, central Osaka27%+4 to 28 yen (pre-tax)
StandardEverywhere elseabout 69%

Then on February 18, 2026 the company widened tier A: on top of service areas and airports, parts of Tokyo's 23 wards moved into the highest band. In the same change, stores outside tiers A and B — about 70 percent of the network — saw some core drinks go up by 5 to 30 yen, while A and B stores held their prices. One More Coffee, the discounted second brewed cup, moved by 20 yen.

The paper bag is no longer free. In the same February 2026 announcement, Starbucks Japan ended roughly thirty years of giving shopping bags away and now charges 11 yen per order for one, on request. If you are buying beans or a mug as a gift, that is a line on your receipt that was not there before.

For scale: Starbucks Japan had 2,116 stores as of March 31, 2026, against 1,079 Komeda's Coffee outlets at the end of February 2026 and 1,075 Doutor Coffee Shops at the end of July 2026. Tully's says approximately 850 and does not publish an exact count anywhere.

Morning service is two systems that work nothing alike

Both get translated as "morning service" and they are not the same offer. One gives you food for free; the other gives you a discount on food you buy. Walking into the wrong one hungry is a wasted morning.

TypeChainWhat happensUntil
A. Free with a drinkKomeda's CoffeeOrder any drink and bread plus a topping comes with it at no extra charge11:00 a.m.
B. Set discountDoutorBuy a morning set; 50 yen off the total, any drink qualifies10:30 a.m.
B. Set discountSaint Marc CafeCroissant and coffee set from 390 yen10:00 a.m.
B. Set discountTully'sEgg sandwich set with a drink from 700 yenNot stated officially
C. Paid breakfastInoda CoffeeA standalone breakfast at full price (1,890 yen)11:00 a.m.

The Saint Marc number is the one to remember if you are counting yen: 390 yen buys a croissant and a coffee before 10 a.m., which is 90 yen more than a Doutor blend on its own. For a fuller sit-down version of the same meal, our guide to Japanese breakfast in Tokyo covers what the hotels and specialists serve.

What Komeda actually gives you

Order a drink before 11 a.m. and you choose one of six combinations: thick-cut toast or a roll, paired with a boiled egg, house-made egg paste, or Komeda's sweet red bean paste. Then you pick a spread — butter or margarine, strawberry jam, or warm soy milk. None of it costs extra. The red bean option is worth understanding: toast with sweet red bean paste is a Nagoya specialty, and it sits in the free morning selection as standard, which is not something most visitors expect to find by accident.

Two things to note. The morning-only sides — coleslaw at 200 to 260 yen, Hokkaido yogurt at 170 to 230 — cannot be ordered on their own, only alongside the set. And Komeda states that availability differs by store, with one named regional exception: stores in Okinawa serve a different yogurt.

Is morning service really a Nagoya thing?

The association is real, but be careful with what gets claimed. In household spending data for 2025, Nagoya households spent 20,276 yen a year on coffee-shop visits against a national average of 11,823 — about 1.7 times, and the highest of any prefectural capital. Gifu is often named as the champion; in the 2025 single-year figures it is third, at 15,355 yen, behind Nagoya and Tokyo. Where Gifu genuinely leads is density: it has one coffee shop per 834 residents, second only to Kochi's 831, against a national average of 2,146.

What you should not believe is that morning service runs longer or comes with more in Nagoya. Komeda's published time is 11 a.m. nationwide, and the only regional difference the company names anywhere is the Okinawa yogurt. Nor does Komeda claim to have invented the custom — the origin story you have read is not stated officially by the chain or by the industry body.

Smoking: the rules reversed in 2020, and English guides missed it

If you have read that Japanese coffee shops are smoky, that guide is describing a country that stopped existing in April 2020. Under the revised Health Promotion Act, restaurants and cafes are non-smoking indoors as a rule. The Ministry of Health puts it plainly: from full enforcement in April 2020, violating this can carry a fine.

The three conditions a shop must meet to allow smoking

The exemption is narrow and all three conditions must be satisfied together:

ConditionRequirement
1. Existing businessThe shop was already trading on April 1, 2020
2. Capital50 million yen or less, and not majority-owned by a large company
3. Floor areaCustomer seating area of 100 square meters or less
Two traps in that table. The 100 square meters is the customer seating area, not the total floor space — a frequent error in English write-ups. And condition 1 is the one that matters most: a cafe that opened in 2021 or later cannot allow smoking however small it is. "Tiny old-fashioned place, so you can probably smoke" is not how the rule works. As for when the exemption ends, the law says only "until a day separately determined by law" — no end date exists, so nobody can tell you it is about to expire.

Tokyo adds a fourth condition

The Tokyo Metropolitan Government passed its own ordinance that is stricter than the national law. In Tokyo, an exempt shop must also have no employees — the ordinance excludes any establishment with workers as defined by the Labor Standards Act, counting family members working in a family business separately. In practice: a shop run entirely by its owner and family can have smoking seats; one with a single part-timer cannot.

When the ordinance was announced in 2018, the metropolitan government estimated that about 84 percent of Tokyo restaurants would fall under the regulation, on the basis that 83.7 percent had employees. Nationally, the health ministry estimated up to about 55 percent of restaurants might qualify. Both are pre-enforcement estimates from 2018, not measurements of what followed.

Read the sign at the door before you sit down

Japan requires a sign at the main entrance stating the shop's smoking status; failing to post one, or posting a false one, carries a penalty of up to 500,000 yen. The health ministry publishes sixteen standard signs, so the information is there before you sit down — except that there is no official English version of the signs. Chinese and Korean translations exist; English does not. Tokyo's own English page tells visitors simply to check the sign at the entrance.

In some smoking rooms you cannot take your coffee

There are four room types and they differ on exactly the point that matters in a cafe:

Room typeWhat you may smokeFood and drink
Smoking room (standard)All tobaccoNot allowed
Heated tobacco only roomHeated products onlyAllowed
Smoking-permitted roomAll tobaccoAllowed (exempt shops only)
Smoking-purpose roomAll tobaccoAllowed, excluding staple foods

So in a cafe with an ordinary smoking room, you leave your coffee at the table and come back. Only the heated-tobacco room and the exempt shops' smoking-permitted room let you take a drink in. The "staple food" exclusion in the last row has an official definition too — rice, bread excluding sweet buns, and noodles.

Under-20s cannot enter a smoking area at all

The line is 20, not 18, and it is absolute. The ministry states that people under 20 may not enter a smoking area even if they are not smoking, and specifically that they cannot be sent in as staff either. It applies to all four room types. If you are traveling as a family and a shop is entirely a smoking-permitted room, that shop is closed to your group.

One practical point: the law covers indoors only, with street smoking governed separately by each municipality. Inoda's Kyoto main store is the clean example — the building is non-smoking with a booth, and the garden seats allow smoking.

Kissaten are disappearing, which is exactly why to visit one

The decline is steep. Government establishment surveys compiled by the All Japan Coffee Association put the peak at 154,630 coffee shops in 1981. The 2024 count is 54,302 — about 35 percent of the peak, roughly one in three still standing.

YearCoffee shops
196627,026
197592,137
1981 (peak)154,630
200188,933
202158,664
202454,302

A caution on that table, because it matters: the 2024 figure comes from a reference table in the government's survey, which changed its coverage that year, and the bureau says other 2024 tabulations are not comparable with earlier ones. The direction is not in doubt; treat each number as belonging to its own series.

Where the coffee habit actually lives

Here is the statistic that reframes the whole subject. In a 2024 industry survey of 4,000 people, the average person drank about 10.05 cups of coffee a week. Of those, 7.28 were at home and 0.22 — roughly 2 percent — were at a coffee shop. Japan is a coffee-drinking country whose coffee drinking happens in kitchens.

That reverses the usual framing. The kissaten is not where Japan drinks coffee; it is a place that survives on people choosing to go. Which is the argument for spending 780 yen at an old counter instead of 300 at a chain: you are not buying a better coffee, you are visiting something that is running out.

Households spend about 9,635 yen a year on coffee beans and instant against 3,153 yen on green tea leaves — three times as much; the tea half of the story is in our guide to matcha in Kyoto. Per person, Japan is a moderate drinker: 3.2 kg a year against Finland's 9.6.

Where to go: the old and the new share the same streets

English coverage likes an old-versus-new framing. The shops do not. Glitch Coffee opened in Jimbocho in 2015 and describes the neighborhood in its own words as a district where Japan's kissaten culture is alive — a light-roast specialist that set up inside the old coffee quarter rather than away from it. The two forms share the same blocks.

ShopCityWhat it is
Glitch Coffee & RoastersTokyo (Jimbocho)Light-roast single origin, opened 2015
Onibus CoffeeTokyoRoaster since 2012; 7 stores in Japan, 3 overseas
Koffee MameyaTokyoBean-focused specialty counter
Fuglen TokyoTokyoNordic roasting style
Inoda CoffeeKyotoKissaten, founded 1940; 211 seats, 7:00–18:00 daily
RokuyoshaKyotoLong-standing kissaten
Kurasu KyotoKyotoModern specialty

Kyoto puts 1940 and the 2010s within a walk

Kyoto is the easiest city to see both in one morning. Inoda opens at 7 a.m., every day of the year, which makes it a genuine first stop before temples rather than a detour — its Kyoto breakfast set runs to 1,890 yen, or you can simply have the 780 yen coffee. Modern specialty roasters work the same central districts. If you would rather have the food side explained in person, a guided food tour covers ground a cafe list cannot.

And if what you actually want is a themed room rather than a serious cup, that is a different category with different rules — see our guides to themed cafes in Tokyo and to manga cafes, where the word kissa survives in manga kissa even though almost nobody goes for the coffee.

Outside the big cities the kissaten culture is often stronger, not weaker, because the chains never took the ground. Kochi is a good example of that — a small city where the independent cafes are the default rather than the alternative.

Planning your coffee stops

Before 11 a.m., go to Komeda if you want to eat without paying for food, and before 10:30 to Doutor or 10 to Saint Marc for the cheapest combination. Budget 700 yen for the higher end of Komeda rather than 460, because you cannot know in advance. Expect chain prices in the 23 wards and at airports to be higher, which is now company policy rather than an impression. And check the entrance sign if smoking matters to you in either direction.

Deliberately not stated here. We have left out Starbucks Japan's per-size drip prices and every Hoshino Coffee price, because neither company publishes them; Komeda's reason for varying prices by store, and any regional price map, for the same reason; the origin of morning service; and any claim that Nagoya's version runs longer. Each of those is not stated officially, and a number invented to fill the gap would be worse than the gap.

Coffee in Japan FAQ

How much does coffee cost in Japan?
Between about 300 and 780 yen for a regular cup, and which end you land on depends on the type of shop rather than the city. A blend at Doutor is 300 yen for a small as of the July 2026 price revision. The same drink at Inoda Coffee in Kyoto, a kissaten trading since 1940, is 780 yen. Komeda publishes its blend as a range of 460 to 700 yen because it has no single national price. Every chain notes that some stores differ, so treat any figure as a base.
What is the difference between a cafe and a kissaten?
They are two different Japanese words for two different businesses, and English collapses them into one. A kafe is generally the modern chain or specialty shop model: order at the counter, take a seat, leave when you like. A kissaten is the older sit-down coffee house, often independent and decades old, where a server takes your order at the table and the price includes the room. The gap is real money – roughly 300 yen versus 780 yen for the same cup of black coffee.
Does Komeda charge the same price everywhere?
No, and the company says so directly. Komeda’s own menu page states that menus and prices differ by store, and the price its official system returns for Komeda Blend is a range of 460 to 700 yen rather than a number. That is a spread of about 52 percent for one drink. Komeda does not publish which regions sit where in the range, so there is no way to predict your price before you walk in.
Are Starbucks prices the same across Japan?
Not since February 2025, when Starbucks Japan introduced location-based pricing. Stores at service areas and airports sit in the higher tier, and stores in Tokyo’s 23 wards and central Osaka sit in a middle tier, with the rest at standard prices. In February 2026 the company widened the top tier to include parts of Tokyo’s 23 wards as well. The same month it ended roughly thirty years of free shopping bags and began charging 11 yen per order for one.
What is morning service in Japan?
It is two different systems that English guides treat as one. At Komeda, ordering any drink before 11 a.m. gets you bread and a topping such as a boiled egg or sweet red bean at no extra charge – you pay for the coffee only. At Doutor, Tully’s and Saint Marc it is a discount instead: you buy a set and Doutor takes 50 yen off the total, with sets ending at 10:30 a.m.
Can you smoke in coffee shops in Japan?
Usually not, which reverses what older English guides say. Restaurants and cafes have been non-smoking indoors as a rule since April 2020. A shop can still allow smoking only if it meets three conditions at once: it was already trading on April 1, 2020, its capital is 50 million yen or less, and its customer seating area is 100 square meters or less. A cafe that opened in 2021 or later cannot qualify however small it is. Tokyo adds a fourth condition – the shop must have no employees at all.
Can I drink my coffee inside a smoking room?
It depends which of the four room types the shop has, and this catches people out. In a standard smoking room you may smoke but not eat or drink, so your coffee stays at the table. A heated-tobacco-only room does allow drinks. A smoking-permitted room, which only the pre-2020 exempt shops can have, allows both. The sign at the entrance tells you which one it is – Japan requires that sign by law, though there is no official English version of it.
Are kissaten disappearing in Japan?
The count has fallen a long way. Government establishment surveys compiled by the All Japan Coffee Association put the peak at 154,630 in 1981; the 2024 figure is 54,302, roughly a third of that. Coffee drinking itself has not collapsed – it moved home. In a 2024 industry survey, people drank about 10 cups a week and only 0.22 of them at a coffee shop, with about 7 at home. That is the case for going out of your way while they are still there.
See Tokyo food and drink experiences on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our disclosure.

Bottom line (2026) — Japanese has two words where English has one, and the gap is real money: a chain kafe blend is 300 yen at Doutor, while a kissaten cup is 780 yen at Inoda. Komeda has no national price — it publishes 460 to 700 yen for one drink — and Starbucks Japan charges by location tier. Morning service is two systems: free bread with any drink until 11 a.m. at Komeda, versus 50 yen off a set until 10:30 at Doutor. And smoking indoors has been the exception, not the rule, since April 2020 — check the sign at the entrance, because there is no English version of it.

Sources

Chain prices, morning service contents and times, and the dine-in versus takeaway policy: each company's own Japanese menu pages and official menu system, read individually. Price revision dates and amounts: the companies' own press releases — Doutor for July 23, 2026 and Starbucks Japan for February 2025 and February 18, 2026. Store counts: each company's corporate profile or investor relations page. The indoor smoking rule, the three exemption conditions, the four room types and the under-20 restriction: the Health Promotion Act and the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare. The fourth Tokyo condition and the 84 percent estimate: the Tokyo Metropolitan Government ordinance and its 2018 announcement. Coffee shop counts, weekly cups by location and household spending: government establishment and household surveys, with the historical series compiled by the All Japan Coffee Association. All read on August 31, 2026 — chains revise prices without much notice, so confirm before you travel.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free weekly email
Japanese-only news,
in English

Every week we read the Japanese sources English-language media never touches — new openings, price changes, limited releases, rule changes, the seasonal things that come and go in three weeks — and send you a three-minute read of what actually matters. Hit reply with a question about your trip and a human answers.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your address.

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC