Hotel Pool Fees in Japan (2026): 29 Hotels Compared

Guide·October 3, 2026·20 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Is the hotel pool free in Japan, or will you pay to swim? Each hotel answers on its own pool page, fitness page, FAQ or terms, with its own age limits, swim cap rule and tattoo rule. So we read the official pool pages of 29 hotels and put them in one table.

The short version: 12 of the 29 are free for staying guests, and 17 charge guests too, from ¥1,100 at Hotel Granvia Kyoto to ¥6,600 at Hotel New Otani Tokyo’s indoor spa. The median of the 17 paid pools is ¥3,300 per adult. Seven hotels do not let young children in at all.

This is one of our cross-hotel tables, alongside the age children stay free and what late checkout costs.

Compare Japan hotel prices →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every row was re-read on the hotel’s own official pool page, fitness page, FAQ, terms or notice on September 30, 2026, not copied from our earlier articles, and only visible text counted. Prices are for one adult guest, one visit; member rates, club-floor perks and stay plans that include the pool are left out of the comparison. Outdoor pool prices are for the 2026 season. Deliberately not stated: a general “going rate” for hotel pools in Japan; 2027 outdoor dates and prices, which no hotel has posted; a yes on tattoos where a page is silent; a tattoo rule for Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, whose pool page and terms word it differently; a tattoo rule for InterContinental Yokohama Grand’s pool, where the page states one only for its spa; the dates and price of Hotel Okura Kobe’s outdoor pool; and hotels that give no guest price or that we could not read on an official page, such as The Busena Terrace, Halekulani Okinawa, InterContinental Osaka, Conrad Tokyo, Four Seasons, the Hyatt hotels in Tokyo and Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay. Tokyo Prince Hotel and Kamakura Prince Hotel closed their 2026 pool season before we checked, with no prices left on the page. Hilton Tokyo Bay is left out of the counts: its own pages disagree on whether standard-room guests pay for the indoor pool (executive and suite guests are free on every page).
TOC

Hotel pool fees in Japan: the table

The outdoor Garden Pool at Hotel New Otani Tokyo, with a palm tree and the hotel tower behind
The outdoor Garden Pool at Hotel New Otani Tokyo in October 2025. The table lists it as free for staying guests during the stay. Photo: Nori Norisa (CC BY 4.0)

Free pools first, then paid pools sorted by the adult guest price. For seasonal pools we compare the weekday day price. “Not stated” means the official page does not say. Every row’s official page is listed under Sources.

HotelAdult guestChildrenSeason and hoursTattoos, cap and notes
Free for staying guests (12)
The Okura Tokyo
Tokyo (Toranomon)
Free during your stay13 and up onlyIndoorTattoos: use “may” be refused or restricted. Cap required for men and women
Imperial Hotel, Tokyo
Tokyo (Hibiya)
Free; guests only. A non-staying companion pays ¥5,500 (tax incl.)Under 16 with a guardian. No children in diapers, swim diapers includedIndoorTattoos: the page does not say. Its English page: caps and swimsuits can be rented
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Tokyo (Nishi-Shinjuku)
Free (group bookings: paid, if space on the day)Elementary age and under with a guardian (up to 4 per adult); children in diapers: kids’ pool onlyOutdoor Sky Pool, July 4 to Sept 27, 2026, 9:00–20:00 (last entry 19:30). Closed for 2026Tattoos: its pool page and its terms word this differently; ask
ANA InterContinental Tokyo
Tokyo (Akasaka)
Free for guestsElementary age and under with a guardianOutdoor. Guests: June 1 to Sept 30, 2026 (7:00–9:30, 10:00–21:50); Oct 1 to Oct 31: 7:00–17:00Tattoos: the page does not say. Hotel guests get priority entry
Hotel Nikko Narita
Chiba (Narita)
Free; guests onlyNot statedOutdoor, July 1 to Aug 31, 9:30–17:00. Closed for 2026Tattoos: cover them. No swimming gear sold or lent (English page)
Fujiya Hotel
Hakone (Miyanoshita)
Free; guests onlyNo children in diapers, swim diapers includedIndoorTattoos: not allowed. Usable before check-in, not after checkout
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka (Namba)
Free for adult guests¥2,200 per child per stay (tax incl.) unless the room package includes it. Children 9:00–18:00 with an adult. The page gives two different minimum ages; ask6:30–21:00 (last entry 20:30)Tattoos: the page does not say. Cap recommended
Hilton Osaka
Osaka (Umeda)
Free (visitors ¥5,500)15 and under with an adult (18+)IndoorTattoos: cover them. Cap required (free rental)
Hilton Nagoya
Nagoya (Fushimi)
FreeUnder 17 with a guardian (18+); under 140 cm, the guardian must be in the water tooIndoor, 6:00–22:00 (last entry 21:00)Tattoos: the page does not say
Hotel Collective
Okinawa (Naha)
Free for all guests (pool, kids’ pool, jacuzzi)Not statedOutdoor, seasonal from April; both of its FAQ answers include OctoberTattoos: cover them
Hotel Monterey Okinawa Spa & Resort
Okinawa (Onna)
Free (outdoor Sunset Garden; visitors high school age and up ¥5,000)Preschoolers (6 and under) asked not to use the main poolOutdoor, March 20 to Nov 3; Oct 1 to Nov 3: 9:00–18:00Tattoos: skin-cover sticker, or a T-shirt
Ibusuki Hakusuikan
Kagoshima (Ibusuki)
Free; guests onlyNot statedOutdoor, July 11 to Aug 31, 2026, 9:00–18:00. Closed for 2026; dates change each yearTattoos: the page does not say
Under ¥2,000 (2)
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Kyoto Station
¥1,100 per visit (Granvia Floor and suite guests free; visitors ¥4,400). Tax not stated18 and up onlyIndoorTattoos: not allowed. Cap required
Hilton Narita
Chiba (Narita)
¥1,650 (pool, jet bath, sauna, bath; the gym is free)12 and under ¥825; preschoolers (6 and under) free; 16 and under with a guardianIndoorTattoos: the page does not say. Cap required for everyone in the pool, any age
¥2,000 to ¥2,999 (2)
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Tokyo (Ikebukuro)
¥2,200 per visit; ticket at the front desk. Gym and studio included16 and up onlyIndoorTattoos: not allowed. Includes rental wear, towel, shoes, swimsuit and cap. Fashion tattoos included in the ban
Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk
Fukuoka
¥2,200 adult pool fee (tax incl.; gym free)Not statedNot statedTattoos: the page does not say
¥3,000 to ¥3,999 (6)
The Prince Park Tower Tokyo
Tokyo (Shibakoen)
¥3,000 per facility; ¥5,000 for all (gym free)20 and up onlyIndoorTattoos: not allowed. Free rental of swimsuit, cap and goggles.
Hotel Okura Kobe
Kobe (Meriken Park)
¥3,300 pool and sauna bath; ¥5,500 with the gym (tax incl.; members less)Under 4 not allowed; 4 and up pay the feeIndoor; an outdoor pool opens in summer onlyTattoos: not allowed. Cap required (free loan). Printed tattoos included in the ban
Hotel Okura Kyoto
Kyoto (Kawaramachi Oike)
¥3,300 per visit, tax incl. (pool, gym, sauna, bath)18 and up onlyIndoor. Closed MondaysTattoos: not allowed
Asakusa View Hotel
Tokyo (Asakusa)
¥3,300 per adult per visit on the page; guests may use only the heated poolElementary and under ¥2,200; with a guardian, July and August only, until 18:00Indoor. Pool closed Oct 5 to Oct 13, 2026Tattoos: the page does not say
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Osaka (Nakanoshima)
¥3,300 (Royal Club Floor free; RIHGA Royal members ¥2,640). Tax incl.Ages 3 to elementary ¥1,650; 3 and up only; 10 and under with a guardian, Shape-up Pool only, until 18:00Indoor. Closed Oct 19–21, 2026Tattoos: the page does not say. Cap required (free loan)
Hotel New Otani Makuhari
Chiba (Makuhari)
2026 season: ¥3,500 weekdays, ¥5,000 weekends and holidays (1-day). Direct bookings onlyAges 4 to elementary ¥2,000 weekdays, ¥3,500 weekends; 3 and under freeOutdoor, summer. Closed for 2026Tattoos: not allowed
¥4,000 to ¥4,999 (3)
Shinagawa Prince Hotel
Tokyo (Shinagawa)
2026 season: day ¥4,000, night ¥5,000 (outdoor period, to Sept 23); Sept 24 to Oct 31: day ¥3,000, night ¥4,000. Guests not on a stay planGuests 12 and under free with a guardian; ages 0–3 may not enter the waterOutdoor July 4 to Sept 23; indoor to Oct 31, 2026Tattoos: use “may” be refused or restricted
InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Yokohama (Minato Mirai)
¥4,400 pool only; ¥6,600 for all facilities (gym free)18 and up onlyIndoor. Book ahead from the in-room phoneTattoos: the page does not say. Free swimsuit and towel rental. Pool section: tattoo rule not stated; guests follow the members’ club rules
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima
¥4,400 pool, bath and sauna; ¥6,600 all facilities with rentalsAges 3–12 ¥2,200, pool only; from 3, out of diapers; 3–10 with a guardianIndoor. Booking required, 2-hour slotsTattoos: not allowed. Cap must be worn
¥5,000 and up (4)
Hotel New Otani Osaka
Osaka (Osaka Castle Park)
2026 season: ¥5,000 weekdays, ¥6,000 weekends and holidays (¥3,000 weekdays when booked on its site)Children ¥2,000; night pool 18 and upOutdoor, July 11 to Sept 6, plus Sept 12 and 13, 2026, 9:00–17:00. Closed for 2026Tattoos: not allowed
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Tokyo (Mejiro)
¥5,500 (pool, hot spring, gym) for 24 hours, the last day until checkoutAges 4–12 ¥2,750, 8:00–18:00; under 4 not admittedAll-weather, 6:00–22:00 (last entry 21:30)Tattoos: the page does not say. Price since Jan 4, 2025. No bookings; spa stay plans get priority when busy
Hotel East 21 Tokyo
Tokyo (Toyocho)
2026 season, day: ¥6,000 (June 27 to July 17, Sept 1 to 30); July 18 to Aug 31 ¥7,000 weekdays, ¥9,000 weekends and holidays. Night ¥6,0003 to elementary ¥3,000–¥4,500; under 3 not admitted; no swim diapers; night pool 16+Outdoor, June 27 to Sept 30, 2026. Closed for 2026Tattoos: not allowed. Stickers and cosmetic tattoos included in the ban, whatever the size
Hotel New Otani Tokyo
Tokyo (Kioicho)
Golden Spa (indoor): ¥6,600; early morning ¥4,400 (since April 1, 2026). Outdoor Garden Pool: free for guests during the stayGolden Spa 18 and up only. Garden Pool: 3 and under free; children in diapers: kids’ pool onlyIndoor year-round; Garden Pool summer only, closed for 2026Golden Spa: tattoos refused. Garden Pool: cover them with a rash guard or cover sticker

Counts: 12 free, then 2 / 2 / 6 / 3 / 4 in the five price bands from under ¥2,000 to ¥5,000 and up.

What the hotel pool fee table shows

Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, a tall white tower, between the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building and another skyscraper
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo in Nishi-Shinjuku in December 2023, one of the hotels in the table. The pool is not in this photo.

How many hotels charge guests to use the pool?

17 of 29. The other 12 let staying guests swim free, among them Imperial Hotel, Tokyo, The Okura Tokyo, Fujiya Hotel and two Hilton hotels. At two free pools the price for outside visitors shows what you save: ¥5,500 at Hilton Osaka and ¥5,000 at Hotel Monterey Okinawa. Imperial Hotel charges ¥5,500 for a companion who is not staying.

What is the median hotel pool fee?

¥3,300 per adult guest across the 17 paid pools. Four hotels charge exactly that: Hotel Okura Kobe, Hotel Okura Kyoto, Asakusa View Hotel and RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka. That is the middle of this table, not a national average, and we have not counted the free pools as zero.

What are the cheapest and most expensive hotel pools?

The lowest paid fee is ¥1,100 per visit at Hotel Granvia Kyoto, free on its Granvia Floor and in suites. The highest regular fee is ¥6,600 at Hotel New Otani Tokyo’s Golden Spa, or ¥4,400 early in the morning. Outdoor pools peak higher: Hotel East 21 Tokyo charged guests ¥9,000 on weekends and holidays from July 18 to August 31 in the 2026 season.

Do hotel pool fees differ within the same chain?

Yes, by hotel. Hilton is free in Osaka and Nagoya but charges ¥1,650 at Hilton Narita and ¥2,200 at Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk. Okura is free at The Okura Tokyo and ¥3,300 in Kobe and Kyoto. New Otani’s outdoor pool is free for guests in Tokyo, while its Osaka and Makuhari outdoor pools charge guests ¥5,000 and ¥3,500 on weekdays. Look up the hotel, not the chain.

Does a luxury hotel mean a free pool?

No. Imperial Hotel and The Okura Tokyo are free for guests, while Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo charges ¥5,500 and Hotel New Otani Tokyo ¥6,600 for its indoor spa. The pool fee often covers more than the pool: sauna, bath or gym, and at Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro rental swimwear and a cap.

Which hotel pools are open in October 2026?

Shinagawa Prince Hotel towers lit up at night above a lit garden
Shinagawa Prince Hotel in Tokyo at night in August 2017, one of the hotels in the table. The pool is not in this photo.

Which outdoor or seasonal hotel pools are still open?

4 in the table. ANA InterContinental Tokyo opens its outdoor pool to guests from October 1 to 31, 7:00 to 17:00. Hotel Monterey Okinawa runs its outdoor Sunset Garden to November 3, 9:00 to 18:00. Hotel Collective in Naha gives two end months in its FAQ, and both include October. Shinagawa Prince Hotel keeps its indoor pool open to October 31 at ¥3,000 for a day visit.

Which outdoor hotel pools have closed for 2026?

Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo (September 27), Hotel East 21 Tokyo (September 30), the New Otani pools in Tokyo, Osaka and Makuhari, Hotel Nikko Narita and Ibusuki Hakusuikan (both August 31). No hotel in the table has posted 2027 dates or prices.

Which indoor hotel pools close on set days in October?

Asakusa View Hotel closes its pool October 5 to 13, 2026. RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka closes October 19 to 21. Hotel Okura Kyoto closes every Monday.

Children at hotel pools in Japan: ages and fees

The historic main building of Fujiya Hotel in Miyanoshita, Hakone, with a Japanese-style roof
Fujiya Hotel in Miyanoshita, Hakone, in August 2020, one of the hotels in the table. The pool is not in this photo. Photo: Nesnad (CC BY 4.0)

Which hotel pools do not allow children?

Seven. The Okura Tokyo takes 13 and up; Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro 16 and up; Hotel Granvia Kyoto, Hotel Okura Kyoto, InterContinental Yokohama Grand and Hotel New Otani Tokyo’s Golden Spa 18 and up; and The Prince Park Tower Tokyo 20 and up. For families, a free outdoor pool such as New Otani’s Garden Pool is the way in.

What is the youngest age allowed in the pool?

Where a page sets one: ages 0 to 3 cannot enter the water at Shinagawa Prince Hotel; under 3 are not admitted at Hotel East 21 Tokyo; RIHGA Royal Osaka and Hiroshima start at 3; Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo and Hotel Okura Kobe at 4. Hotel Monterey Okinawa asks preschoolers not to use its main pool.

How much do children pay at hotel pools?

At Shinagawa Prince Hotel, guests 12 and under are free, and at Hilton Narita preschoolers are free. Elsewhere children pay about half: ¥825 at Hilton Narita, ¥1,650 at RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka, ¥2,200 at RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima and Asakusa View Hotel, ¥2,750 at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo. Swissotel Nankai Osaka is free for adults but charges ¥2,200 per child per stay unless the room package includes it.

Can babies in swim diapers use hotel pools?

At three hotels, no: Imperial Hotel, Tokyo and Fujiya Hotel refuse children in diapers, swim diapers included, and Hotel East 21 Tokyo does not allow swim diapers. Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo and Hotel New Otani Tokyo’s Garden Pool send children in diapers to the kids’ pool.

Are there set hours for children?

Yes, at several. Children use Swissotel Nankai Osaka’s pool 9:00 to 18:00 and Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo 8:00 to 18:00; RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka lets 10-year-olds and under swim until 18:00. Asakusa View Hotel admits children only in July and August, until 18:00.

Swim caps and tattoos at Japanese hotel pools

Which hotel pools require a swim cap?

7 require one or ask you to wear one: The Okura Tokyo, Hotel Okura Kobe, Hotel Granvia Kyoto, Hilton Narita (any age), Hilton Osaka and both RIHGA Royal hotels. Swissotel Nankai Osaka recommends one. Hilton Osaka, Hotel Okura Kobe and RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka lend them free; at Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro the cap comes with the fee. None of the outdoor pools in the table requires one.

Which hotel pools turn away tattoos?

11 in the table, among them Hotel Okura Kobe (prints included), Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro (fashion tattoos included), Hotel East 21 Tokyo (any size, stickers included), Fujiya Hotel, The Prince Park Tower Tokyo and New Otani’s Golden Spa. Members’ clubs inside city hotels make up most of the list.

Where can I swim if my tattoo is covered?

5 pools, counting New Otani’s Garden Pool: Hilton Osaka (rash guard or sticker), Hotel Nikko Narita (rash guard), Hotel Collective (completely covered) and Hotel Monterey Okinawa (skin-cover sticker or T-shirt). The Okura Tokyo and Shinagawa Prince Hotel say use may be refused or restricted.

What if the page says nothing about tattoos?

11 pages in the table do not say, including Imperial Hotel, Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo and Hilton Nagoya. That is not a yes. Ask the hotel before you book.

How to use the hotel pool fee table when you book

Should I book a plan that includes the pool?

If the fee is high and you will swim more than once, compare. Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo’s ¥5,500 covers 24 hours, the last day until checkout. New Otani Makuhari gives its guest price only on bookings made by phone or on the hotel’s website. We have not compared plan prices, which change by date and room.

What else should I check before I pack a swimsuit?

The closing days, the children’s hours, and whether you must book. Parking and late checkout have their own fees; see our parking fees table.

Frequently asked questions

Is the hotel pool free in Japan?
At 12 of the 29 hotels we checked on their official pages, yes, for staying guests. The other 17 charge guests too, from ¥1,100 to ¥6,600 per adult, with a median of ¥3,300. That is the middle of this table, not a national average.
Which hotel pool in the table is cheapest to use?
Among the hotels that charge, Hotel Granvia Kyoto at ¥1,100 per visit, then Hilton Narita at ¥1,650. Twelve hotels, from Imperial Hotel, Tokyo to two Hilton hotels, charge staying guests nothing.
Which hotel pool is the most expensive?
Hotel New Otani Tokyo’s indoor Golden Spa at ¥6,600 for a regular visit. Seasonal outdoor pools cost more at their peak: Hotel East 21 Tokyo charged ¥9,000 on weekends and holidays from July 18 to August 31 in the 2026 season.
Can children use hotel pools in Japan?
Not everywhere. Seven hotels in the table limit the pool to adults or teens: 13 and up at The Okura Tokyo, 16 and up at Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro, 18 and up at four more and 20 and up at The Prince Park Tower Tokyo. Others set a minimum age of 3 or 4, and several limit children’s hours.
Can I use a hotel pool in Japan with tattoos?
It depends on the hotel. 11 say no, 4 let you in if the tattoo is covered with a rash guard, tape, sticker or shirt, and 2 say use may be refused or restricted. 11 pages do not say, which is not the same as yes.
Do I need a swim cap at a Japanese hotel pool?
At 7 hotels in the table, yes, or the hotel asks you to wear one. Several lend caps free, including Hilton Osaka, RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka and Hotel Okura Kobe.
Are hotel pools in Japan open in October?
Indoor pools are open year-round, apart from set closing days. Among outdoor and seasonal pools, ANA InterContinental Tokyo (for guests), Hotel Monterey Okinawa, Hotel Collective and Shinagawa Prince Hotel’s indoor pool are open in October 2026.
Do I need to book the hotel pool?
At two hotels in the table. InterContinental Yokohama Grand takes bookings from the in-room phone, and RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima runs two-hour booked slots. Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo takes no bookings but gives priority to spa stay plans when busy.

Bottom line (2026): Of 29 Japanese hotels checked on their own pages, 12 let staying guests swim free and 17 charge, from ¥1,100 at Hotel Granvia Kyoto to ¥6,600 at Hotel New Otani Tokyo’s indoor spa, with a median of ¥3,300. Seven hotels do not allow young children, 11 turn away tattoos, and four outdoor or seasonal pools in the table are open in October 2026.

Sources

Each row is from the hotel’s own site, read on September 30, 2026. Pool fees, seasons and rules change, so confirm with the hotel before you rely on them.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC