Sapporo Food Beyond Ramen (2026): Jingisukan, Soup Curry

Guide·October 10, 2026·19 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Sapporo food is more than ramen. The city’s own tourism site calls jingisukan, grilled mutton or lamb, a soul food. At Sapporo Beer Garden it is 4,300 yen for 120 minutes of all you can eat, with tax. Add Sapporo’s soup curry from 1,310 yen, seafood at Nijo Market, and an ice sandwich at Rokkatei for 320 yen that you are not allowed to take away.

This page reports only what each shop says on its own website, plus Sapporo’s official tourism site and the Nijo Market association: prices, hours, closing days and payment. It is not a ranking, and it leaves ramen to our ramen in Sapporo guide. The practical surprises: the Beer Garden’s Poplar Hall closes from October 25, 2026; one soup curry shop takes cash and PayPay only; the Beer Garden makes everyone in a group order the same course; and at Daruma a plate of meat arrives before you order.

Browse Sapporo food tours →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every price and rule below is from each shop’s official website, or from Welcome to Sapporo (the city’s official tourism site) and the Sapporo Nijo Market shopping street association, read on October 5, 2026. We did not use review sites, map listings or travel blogs as sources. Deliberately not stated: ramen shops (our ramen guide covers them), station-by-station directions (our Sapporo map covers them), Daruma’s meat prices (its site shows none), GARAKU’s spice-level numbers and surcharges (not on its site as text), whether the Beer Garden’s seasonal outdoor beer garden opens in 2026 (its page still shows 2025), market auction viewing (the city’s note is out of date), shipping crab home, payment methods the shops do not list, phone numbers, rankings or review scores, and shops whose own official sites we did not read, which we left out.
TOC

Sapporo food at a glance

A red-brick building with arched windows and a tall chimney under a blue sky
The red-brick Sapporo Beer Museum. Photo: MIKI Yoshihito derivative work: MrPanyGoff (CC BY 2.0)
ShopWhat to eatPrice, per the siteHoursPayment, per the site
Sapporo Beer Garden (Kaitakushi-kan)All-you-can-eat jingisukan120 minutes from 4,300 yen11:30 to 21:00Cash, cards, e-money, QR
Daruma (main shop)Mutton jingisukanMeat not published; first vegetables 170 yen17:00 to 5:00Cards; no e-money
GARAKU (Sapporo main shop)Soup curry with Japanese dashi1,310 to 1,640 yen11:30 to 15:30, 17:00 to 21:00Not listed
Suage+Soup curry1,600 to 2,280 yenFrom 11:30 (11:00 weekends) to 21:00Cash and PayPay only
Rokkatei (Sapporo main shop)Marusei ice sandwich320 yenShop 10:00 to 17:30Not listed

Prices as of October 5, 2026, with tax where the shop says so. An all-you-can-eat course and an ice sandwich are different things, so the table is not a like-for-like comparison. Check the official site before you go.

What to know before eating in Sapporo

What does Sapporo’s tourism site say to eat?

Welcome to Sapporo, the city’s official tourism site, sorts the city’s food into six experiences: meat, beer, seafood, parfait, vegan and vegetarian food, and ramen. Under meat it names jingisukan as a soul food, along with zangi and yakiniku. Under beer it says Hokkaido has water suited to brewing and a cool climate. This page follows that order, with soup curry added, which the feature does not list.

Where does ramen fit in?

Ramen is the sixth of those experiences, and the one most visitors already know. We cover it, including the shop that says it invented miso ramen, in our ramen in Sapporo guide, so this page names no ramen shops.

What is a shime parfait?

The city’s tourism site says that eating a parfait late at night to finish an evening out, a shime parfait, is now a Sapporo staple, and describes smartly dressed gentlemen doing it night after night. Its feature lists several parfait bars that open in the evening; we did not read their own sites, so we name none here.

How do I get around to these places?

Daruma and Suage+ are in Susukino, GARAKU’s main shop is by Nijo Market, Rokkatei is near JR Sapporo Station, and the Beer Garden is in Higashi Ward, with JR Naebo Station and Higashi-Kuyakusho-mae subway station as the nearest. For lines and stations, see our Sapporo map guide.

Jingisukan: Sapporo’s grilled mutton and lamb

Slices of raw lamb on a domed grill over bean sprouts
Jingisukan lamb on a domed grill. Shop not named. Photo: mdid (CC BY 2.0)

What is jingisukan, and how do the two styles differ?

Jingisukan is grilled mutton or lamb; the Beer Garden serves lamb, and Daruma serves mutton. Daruma explains one divide in its own words: some shops serve meat marinated in sauce, while Daruma grills plain meat and you dip it in sauce after grilling. The two places below show both sides of a Sapporo jingisukan night: a big beer hall with a timed buffet, and a 14-seat counter open until dawn.

Sapporo Beer Garden: all you can eat from 4,300 yen

Sapporo Beer Garden has five restaurants among classic buildings, and its main hall, Kaitakushi-kan, is a historic building it describes as more than 130 years old, serving jingisukan and draft beer. Its King Viking all-you-can-eat course runs 120 minutes at 4,300 yen per adult and 2,400 yen for elementary school children; its recommended course is 4,800 yen and 2,900 yen; and an all-lamb course is 8,000 yen and 4,500 yen (as of October 2026; course menu). Prices include tax, and the menu says the courses apply from April 1, 2026.

Standard all-you-can-drink is 2,000 yen more, including Sapporo Black Label, Yebisu Premium Black, half and half, and Sapporo Classic. A chilled platter of king crab and snow crab adds 3,500 yen, needs booking by 16:00 the day before, and is not all you can eat.

Course rules: Last orders come at 100 minutes. Everyone in a group must take the same food and drink course, and the Beer Garden may charge extra for food left uneaten. The menu also notes that the lamb may have been stored frozen, and that its chicken and pork jingisukan are not from Hokkaido.

The Beer Garden is at Higashi-ku Kita 7-jo Higashi 9-chome 2-10, open 11:30 to 21:00 (last order 20:40), and closed only on December 31. Kaitakushi-kan says phone bookings on the day may not get through and asks guests to book on its website; its phone line uses an automated AI reply. For payment, its restaurants take cash, credit cards, e-money such as iD, WAON, nanaco, QuickPay, Rakuten Edy and transit IC cards, and code payments such as Rakuten Pay, d Barai, PayPay, au PAY, WeChat Pay and Alipay; its Garden Cafe takes cash only (as of October 2026; payment notice).

Poplar Hall closes October 25, 2026: The Beer Garden says Poplar Hall, one of its restaurants, closes for interior renovation from Sunday, October 25, 2026, until around mid-January 2027. Kaitakushi-kan is the main beer hall described on this page.

Daruma: mutton at a counter until 5:00

Daruma says it opened in 1954 and has now passed 70 years. It grills fresh mutton over charcoal heated hard in a shichirin brazier, on a custom slotted pan. When you sit down, it says, the staff set up the charcoal and pan, add mutton fat, onion and green onion, and bring a first plate of meat. The shop says first-timers will be surprised, because it all arrives without ordering. The first vegetables are 170 yen with tax (as of October 2026; official site). Its site does not publish meat prices.

The main shop, on the first floor of the Crystal Building at Minami 5-jo Nishi 4, opens 17:00 to 5:00 the next morning (last order 4:30), every day except December 31 to January 2. It has 14 counter seats only, takes no reservations, no private hire and has no parking. It accepts Visa, Mastercard, JCB and American Express, and does not accept e-money (as of October 2026; main shop page). Daruma lists several other shops in Susukino and two in Tokyo.

Soup curry: a Sapporo food to order your way

A bowl of soup curry with vegetables and a boiled egg, with rice behind
Soup curry with vegetables and egg. Shop not named. Photo: Kiyonobu Ito (CC BY 2.0)

How do I order soup curry?

Soup curry is ordered in steps. GARAKU sums them up: choose the spice level of the soup and the amount of rice, then add toppings if you like. GARAKU notes that a bowl of rice is 150 grams, its medium size. For Japanese curry, see our Japanese curry in Tokyo guide.

GARAKU: soup curry with Japanese dashi, from 1,310 yen

GARAKU says its soup curry is built on Japanese-style dashi, balancing rich flavor with a secret spice blend. Its standard tender chicken leg and vegetables is 1,480 yen, and the flame-seared braised pork belly, which it calls its most popular curry and sells until gone, is 1,640 yen. A 15-vegetable curry is 1,390 yen and a mushroom curry 1,310 yen (as of October 2026; menu). Its zangi, a four-piece portion it suggests sharing between two, is 430 yen. The menu does not say whether tax is included.

Rice comes in small, 100 grams; medium, 150 grams; large, 200 grams, for 60 yen more; and extra large, 300 grams, for 110 yen more. The menu notes that its multigrain rice contains no wheat or buckwheat, but may contain traces from production. GARAKU does not say what goes into its dashi, so we do not describe the vegetable curries as vegetarian.

The Sapporo main shop is in the basement at Minami 3-jo Higashi 2-chome 6-1, near Nijo Market. It serves lunch 11:30 to 15:30 (last order 15:00) and dinner 17:00 to 21:00 (last order 20:30), has irregular closing days, and closes early when the soup runs out (as of October 2026; shop list). GARAKU also lists a shop on the third floor of the domestic terminal at New Chitose Airport, open 9:00 to 21:00. GARAKU does not list payment methods on its site.

Suage+: soup curry with jingisukan, cash or PayPay only

Suage says it has served soup curry in Sapporo since 2007. At Suage+, the crisp Sakurahime chicken and vegetable curry, its popular standard, is 1,650 yen; the vegetable curry is 1,600 yen; and a charcoal-grilled jingisukan curry is 1,800 yen, tying Sapporo’s two signature foods together. The Suage Special is 2,280 yen (as of October 2026; Suage+ page). The original soup is included; shrimp soup is 200 yen more. Suage revised its menu at all Sapporo shops on June 21, 2026, and the curry prices do not say whether tax is included.

Suage+ also offers spice levels 7 to 10, made with jalapeno, and says its piri-kara, mildly spicy, level is about as hot as medium-hot store-bought curry roux. Take-out adds a container charge of 140 yen with tax. It is on the second floor of the Toshimatsu Building at Minami 4-jo Nishi 5, facing south from Norbesa, and opens 11:30 to 21:00 on weekdays (last order 20:00), 11:30 to 20:30 on Mondays and Thursdays, and 11:00 to 21:00 on weekends and holidays, with no closing day.

No credit cards: Suage+ takes cash and PayPay only, and its page says in English that credit cards are not available. It does not take seat reservations; its page points to Suage 2, next door, which is also open.

Seafood at Nijo Market, Sapporo’s food market

Low market buildings with blue roofs on a city street corner
Nijo Market in central Sapporo, 2014. Photo: Wing1990hk (CC BY 3.0)

When should I go to Nijo Market?

The Nijo Market shopping street association calls it the city’s kitchen, with a history of over a century. It says the market is said to have begun when fishermen from the Ishikari coast came up the Ishikari River and sold fresh fish nearby, and that it burned in a large fire in 1902. The city’s tourism site praises its access, within walking distance of central Sapporo, and says it is busiest from early morning to about 10:00, calmer around midday, when locals come for seafood bowls at lunch.

Official sources give different hours. The association says stalls open from 8:00 until around 18:00; the city’s tourism site gives around 7:00 to 17:00, with its restaurant street from 7:00 to around 21:00, varying by shop, and no closing day. The city’s site also says goods run low after 11:00, so it suggests going early.

No phone sales: The Nijo Market association warns of suspicious calls using the name of its fish dealers’ cooperative, and says it does not sell seafood by phone.

What about the curb market?

The city’s tourism site also covers the Sapporo curb market, west of the center at Kita 11-jo Nishi 21-chome, where about 60 shops sell fish, produce and more. It gives hours of 6:00 to 17:00, with restaurants from 7:00, varying by shop, and no closing day. We did not read individual stalls’ own sites, so we name none here.

Sweets and vegan food in Sapporo

Rokkatei: an ice sandwich you must eat on the spot

Rokkatei’s Sapporo main shop, a short walk from the south exit of JR Sapporo Station, is a 10-story building of its own with a shop, a tearoom, a chamber music hall and a gallery. The ground-floor shop sells seasonal sweets and souvenirs, and the second-floor tearoom serves seasonal desserts.

The thing to try is the Marusei ice sandwich, 320 yen: ice cream with white chocolate and raisins between biscuits. Rokkatei says it cannot be taken out because it melts. Yukikon cheese, baked cheesecake between black cocoa biscuits, is 300 yen (as of October 2026; Sapporo main shop page). The site does not say whether tax is included.

The shop is at Kita 4-jo Nishi 6-chome 3-3, open 10:00 to 17:30; the tearoom opens 10:30 to 16:30 (last order 16:00) and is closed every Wednesday. Rokkatei does not state a closing day for the shop itself, and has no parking. Rokkatei does not list payment methods on its site. If you are in town for the snow, our Sapporo Snow Festival guide covers February.

Is there vegan food in Sapporo?

The city’s tourism site says many Hokkaido farmers grow without pesticides or organically, and that more restaurants offer vegan and vegetarian menus. Ask before ordering soup curry or other dishes built on stock: as our vegetarian in Tokyo guide explains, fish stock turns up in many Japanese dishes.

What does Sapporo food cost?

Sapporo food prices, as published

ShopMain itemOther pricesTax, per the site
Sapporo Beer Garden120-minute buffet 4,300 yenAll-you-can-drink 2,000 yen; all-lamb 8,000 yenIncluded
DarumaMeat not publishedFirst vegetables 170 yenIncluded (vegetables)
GARAKUChicken leg curry 1,480 yenPork belly curry 1,640 yen; zangi 430 yenNot stated
Suage+Chicken curry 1,650 yenJingisukan curry 1,800 yenNot stated
RokkateiMarusei ice sandwich 320 yenYukikon cheese 300 yenNot stated

Which Sapporo food prices are recent?

The Beer Garden’s courses apply from April 1, 2026, and Suage revised its Sapporo menus on June 21, 2026. GARAKU, Daruma and Rokkatei do not date their prices.

Paying and booking for Sapporo food

Can I pay by card?

The Beer Garden restaurants take cash, cards, e-money and QR codes, though its Garden Cafe is cash only. Daruma takes cards but not e-money. Suage+ takes cash and PayPay only, no credit cards. GARAKU and Rokkatei do not list payment methods on their sites, so carry cash.

Can I book?

The Beer Garden asks guests to book on its website. Daruma and Suage+ take no reservations. GARAKU and Rokkatei do not describe booking. If you are choosing a hotel, our Sapporo Grand Hotel guide covers one option.

Which Sapporo food stop suits you?

For a big group night of jingisukan and beer, the Beer Garden’s Kaitakushi-kan, booked online, with everyone on the same course. For mutton at a counter after midnight, Daruma. For soup curry on a Japanese dashi base, GARAKU, before the soup runs out. For a jingisukan soup curry, Suage+, with cash or PayPay. For seafood, Nijo Market in the early morning. For something sweet you can only eat there, Rokkatei’s ice sandwich. For ramen, our ramen guide.

Frequently asked questions

What food is Sapporo known for besides ramen?
Sapporo’s official tourism site groups it into meat, beer, seafood, parfait, vegan and vegetarian food, and ramen, and calls jingisukan, grilled mutton or lamb, a soul food. Soup curry, Nijo Market seafood and Hokkaido sweets round it out. For ramen itself, see our separate Sapporo ramen guide.
How much is all-you-can-eat jingisukan at Sapporo Beer Garden?
At Kaitakushi-kan, a 120-minute King Viking course is 4,300 yen per adult and 2,400 yen for elementary school children, with tax, rising to 8,000 yen for the all-lamb course. All-you-can-drink is 2,000 yen more. Everyone in the group must take the same course.
Is Poplar Hall at Sapporo Beer Garden open?
Not from October 25, 2026. The Beer Garden says Poplar Hall closes for interior renovation from that date until around mid-January 2027. The notice is for Poplar Hall; this page describes Kaitakushi-kan.
How much does Daruma jingisukan cost?
Daruma does not publish its meat prices on its site. The only price it gives is 170 yen with tax for the first vegetables, which staff set on the grill when you sit down along with a first plate of meat.
What is soup curry and how do I order it?
At GARAKU, which builds its soup curry on Japanese-style dashi, you choose the dish, then the spice level and the amount of rice, plus toppings. GARAKU notes that a bowl of rice is 150 grams.
Can I pay by card at Suage+?
No. Suage+ says it takes cash and PayPay only, and states in English that credit cards are not available. It also does not take seat reservations.
What are Nijo Market’s hours?
Official sources differ. The Nijo Market shopping street association says stalls open from 8:00 until around 18:00, while the city’s tourism site gives around 7:00 to 17:00, with restaurants from 7:00 to around 21:00, varying by shop. The city’s site says it is busiest from early morning to about 10:00.
Can I take Rokkatei’s Marusei ice sandwich home?
No. Rokkatei sells the Marusei ice sandwich, 320 yen, at its Sapporo main shop and says it cannot be taken out because it melts. Eat it there; the second-floor tearoom closes on Wednesdays.

Bottom line (2026): Beyond ramen, Sapporo means jingisukan: 4,300 yen for 120 minutes at the Beer Garden, where Poplar Hall closes from October 25, 2026, or mutton at Daruma until 5:00. Soup curry runs 1,310 to 2,280 yen; Suage+ takes cash and PayPay only. Rokkatei’s ice sandwich is 320 yen and cannot leave the shop.

Sources

Every price and rule on this page is from the shops’ own websites, plus Welcome to Sapporo and the Sapporo Nijo Market association: Welcome to Sapporo: six food experiences, Welcome to Sapporo: Nijo Market and the curb market, Sapporo Nijo Market, About Nijo Market, Sapporo Beer Garden, Sapporo Beer Garden restaurants, Sapporo Beer Garden payment, Kaitakushi-kan, Kaitakushi-kan courses, Daruma, Daruma main shop, GARAKU, GARAKU menu, GARAKU shops, GARAKU news, Suage, Suage+, Suage news, Rokkatei, Rokkatei Sapporo main shop, all read on October 5, 2026. Menus, prices and hours change, so confirm on the official site before you go.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC