Kushikatsu in Osaka (2026): 5 Restaurants, Prices and Hours

Guide·October 5, 2026·23 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Kushikatsu, battered and deep-fried skewers dipped in sauce, is served across Osaka, and three of the five shops here sit in the Shinsekai district. At the five kushikatsu restaurants here, a beef skewer costs 154 yen with tax at Daruma’s Shinsekai main shop and 209 yen with tax at Kushikatsu Tanaka, while omakase skewers at Shiruhisa run 275 to 770 yen each, plus tax.

This page reports only what each restaurant says on its own website: prices, tax, hours, booking, payment and English, plus how each serves its sauce. It is not a ranking. The practical surprises: the famous no double-dipping rule is written differently at each shop, and one only recommends it; one main shop has 12 seats, no bookings and cash only; one chain adds a per-person charge from age 20; and one restaurant closes all its shops from October 18 to 22, 2026. If you are heading up the tower first, our Tsutenkaku tickets guide covers the landmark these shops sit around.

Browse Osaka food tours →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every price and rule below is from each restaurant’s official website or its operator’s site, including menu images, menu PDFs and shop data on that site, read on October 1, 2026. We did not use review sites, map listings or travel blogs as sources. We say “with tax” only where the restaurant says so. Deliberately not stated: set names at Daruma (the same name means different sets at different branches, so we give skewer counts at the main shop), single-skewer prices at Ittoku (its site shows none) and its all-you-can-eat prices, drink prices at Kushikatsu Tanaka (they are on promotion), how many shops Yokozuna runs (its own pages disagree), which shop “invented” kushikatsu (several make their own claims), phone numbers, waiting times or queue lengths, rankings or review scores, and well-known kushikatsu restaurants whose official sites show no prices or that we could not find, which we left out.
TOC

Kushikatsu in Osaka at a glance

Deep-fried skewers on a wire rack with raw cabbage, a stew and a tin of dipping sauce
Kushikatsu with cabbage and a shared sauce tin in Shinsekai, April 2018. Photo: Ajay Suresh from New York, NY, USA (CC BY 2.0)
RestaurantAreaBeef skewerHoursBookingPayment
Daruma (Shinsekai Sohonten)Shinsekai154 yen with taxFrom 11:00 (10:30 weekends, holidays) to 22:30, every dayNo bookings; 12 seatsCash only
Yokozuna (Tsutenkaku shop)Shinsekai154 yen with tax (menu last updated July 2024)24 hours, every dayRecommended, by phoneNot listed
Ittoku (Sohonten)ShinsekaiNot on its site; courses from 2,980 yen11:00 to 24:00, per its shop dataNot statedNot listed
Shiruhisa (3 shops)Umeda and NambaBeef loin 528 yen plus taxMostly dinner; closed Oct 18–22, 2026Phone numbers onlyNot listed
Kushikatsu Tanaka (Amerikamura)Shinsaibashi209 yen with tax; 319-yen charge from age 2012:00 to 5:00, every dayOptionalCards, QR at most shops

Prices as of October 1, 2026. Skewer sizes, batter and cuts differ from one restaurant to the next, so the table is not a like-for-like comparison. Check the official site before you go.

What to know before eating kushikatsu

A plate of breaded kushikatsu skewers with sauce on a wooden table
Kushikatsu in Kyobashi, Osaka, December 2025.

What is kushikatsu?

Meat, seafood or vegetables on a skewer, battered, deep-fried and eaten with sauce. Yokozuna’s menu translates it simply as deep-fried skewers. Daruma’s history page says it began in Shinsekai in 1929, on the former site of the Luna Park amusement park, under a different name, Takobishi, with only two items: beef skewers and potato. It says the beef skewer is said to have been created so that people could enjoy beef, then expensive, without fuss. Several shops make their own claims about where kushikatsu began, so we do not name a first one.

Is double-dipping really banned?

At some shops, in their own words, and for a practical reason: the sauce is shared. Each of the five handles sauce differently, so we set out each one’s rule further down. In short, Daruma and Yokozuna ban a second dip in the shared sauce, Kushikatsu Tanaka recommends it, Shiruhisa gives you your own dish, and Ittoku’s site says nothing. Our Japanese street food guide covers other foods to try.

What is doteyaki?

A stewed side dish that all three Shinsekai shops here list next to their skewers. Daruma calls it its specialty doteyaki and puts it in each of its main-shop sets, Yokozuna calls its version wagyu doteyaki, a Shinsekai specialty, and Ittoku includes doteyaki in each of its courses.

Two ways to eat: standing-bar style or omakase

The three Shinsekai shops sell skewers one by one, or in plates and sets of five to 15. Shiruhisa works the other way: it fries seasonal skewers one at a time, over 30 kinds, and you say stop when you have had enough. You pay for what you ate, by type and number. Shiruhisa says it introduced this omakase style.

Kushikatsu in Shinsekai, by Tsutenkaku

Tsutenkaku Tower at dusk at the end of a narrow street of restaurants in Shinsekai
Tsutenkaku Tower seen from a restaurant street in Shinsekai, Osaka, 2023.

Daruma, Shinsekai Sohonten: 12 seats, cash only, since 1929

Daruma’s main shop in Shinsekai sells a classic beef kushikatsu for 140 yen, or 154 yen with tax, and pork katsu at the same price (as of October 2026; main shop menu). Japanese black wagyu is 396 yen with tax, Omi beef 715 yen, and Matsusaka or Kobe beef 748 yen. Its main-shop sets, each with doteyaki, are nine skewers for 1,793 yen, 12 for 2,255 yen and 15 for 2,783 yen, all with tax (as of October 2026; set menu). Doteyaki alone is 440 yen with tax.

Same name, different set: Daruma’s branches use the same set names for different sets. At the Dotonbori shop, a set with the same name as a main-shop set holds a different number of skewers at a different price. We give skewer counts and prices for the Shinsekai main shop only. The single beef skewer is 154 yen with tax at both.

Daruma explains its sauce rule plainly. Dipping your skewer deep into the sauce is the Daruma way, it says, and a second dip is banned so that other guests can use the sauce happily too. Its menu lists a sauce and cabbage set at 352 yen with tax, cabbage alone at 110 yen and the no-double-dip sauce alone at 264 yen.

The main shop is at Ebisuhigashi 2-3-9, Naniwa-ku. It opens 11:00 to 22:30 on weekdays and 10:30 to 22:30 on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, last order 30 minutes before closing, and is open every day. It has 12 counter seats, takes no bookings and is cash only. It asks each guest to order at least one drink, except children of elementary school age and younger, and gives an average spend of 1,500 to 2,500 yen. Daruma has an English menu PDF.

If you want a booking, Daruma’s nearby Janjan shop takes them for two or more, but not over the New Year, Golden Week, Obon or other busy periods. With a booking, each person orders a set and seats are held for an hour and a half; and it has 49 seats and takes cash, cards, e-money and QR codes. Its Tsutenkaku shop, with 54 seats, takes no bookings.

Yokozuna, Tsutenkaku shop: open 24 hours

Yokozuna’s Tsutenkaku shop is open 24 hours, every day, at Ebisuhigashi 3-6-1, Naniwa-ku, three minutes from exit 5 of Dobutsuen-mae Station on the Midosuji subway line and three minutes from the east exit of JR Shin-Imamiya on the Loop Line. It says it can seat parties of up to 120 and that families with children are very welcome.

Its prices come from the menu PDF on its site, last updated July 2024: beef kushikatsu 140 yen, or 154 yen with tax, and offal, pork belly, gizzard, chicken breast and chicken thigh at the same price (as of October 2026; Tsutenkaku menu PDF). Vegetables run from 121 yen with tax for leek or garlic to 275 yen for asparagus. A chef’s choice of five skewers is 748 yen with tax, ten are 1,529 yen, and wagyu doteyaki is 528 yen. Its menu images show English, Chinese and Korean alongside Japanese.

Check the current menu: Yokozuna’s Tsutenkaku menu PDF dates from July 2024, so prices may have changed since. Ask at the shop.

On sauce, Yokozuna says its slightly sweet secret sauce clings to skewers dunked in it, and that of course double-dipping is banned. If you need more, it says, scoop sauce onto your skewer with a piece of cabbage. It recommends booking ahead; phone bookings are taken daily from 11:00 to 23:00 and must be made by the day before. Its Shinsekai Honkan at Ebisuhigashi 2-4-11 is not open 24 hours: 11:00 to 22:00 Monday to Thursday, to 23:00 on Fridays, 10:00 to 23:00 on Saturdays and 10:00 to 22:00 on Sundays and holidays, with no closing day. Payment methods are not listed on the pages we read.

Shinsekai Kushikatsu Ittoku, Sohonten: courses from 2,980 yen

Ittoku’s company page says it opened in Shinsekai in April 2009. Its grand menu shows skewer names and photos, but no single-skewer prices, so we give none. Its course menu lists the Shinsekai course at 2,980 yen, with seven kushikatsu, yakisoba, doteyaki and cabbage, the Osaka course at 3,480 yen and the Ittoku course at 3,980 yen (as of October 2026; course menu). The course image does not say whether tax is included. Ittoku also runs a 90-minute all-you-can-eat kushikatsu plan with a one-drink order; all-you-can-drink is not offered at every branch, so check the branch.

The Sohonten is at Ebisuhigashi 3-5-15, Naniwa-ku. Its shop data lists 11:00 to 24:00, every day of the week, and describes it as three minutes from Dobutsuen-mae and Ebisucho stations and five from Shin-Imamiya. Its site does not mention a sauce rule, a closing day, booking or English. If you are pairing Shinsekai with the tower, our Osaka Amazing Pass guide explains what the pass covers.

Omakase kushikatsu in Osaka: Shiruhisa

Shiruhisa: say stop when you are full

Shiruhisa’s omakase is priced per skewer at 275 to 770 yen, plus tax, with over 30 seasonal kinds fried in turn until you say stop (as of October 2026; omakase menu). Its a la carte list gives examples, all before tax: pork loin, lotus root and onion 275 yen, scallop 385 yen, beef loin 528 yen, kisu whiting and foie gras with truffle 605 yen, clam and live kuruma prawn 770 yen, and matsutake 605 yen in autumn (as of October 2026; a la carte menu).

If you prefer a fixed count, the Ran course is 4,500 yen for ten standard skewers with rice, red miso soup and pickles; a ten-skewer course is 4,200 yen and a 15-skewer course 6,600 yen. Lunch sets are Hana, eight meat and vegetable skewers, at 2,700 yen, Kaze, eight seafood and vegetable skewers, at 3,600 yen, and Tsuki, ten skewers with seasonal ones, at 4,500 yen. Shiruhisa says all its prices are before tax, so add tax to every figure here.

Instead of a shared pot, Shiruhisa serves sauces in a partitioned dish, a shikiri-zara, with its Worcestershire sauce, a blend of natural salts, dashi soy sauce, karashi ponzu and its secret sauce. The shop says both the omakase style and this dish, now found at many kushikatsu shops, began at Shiruhisa.

Closed October 18 to 22, 2026: Shiruhisa has announced that all its shops will close from Sunday, October 18 to Thursday, October 22, 2026. Plan around those dates.

It has three shops. The Sonezaki main shop, Sonezaki 2-9-9, Kita-ku, three minutes from Higashi-Umeda on the Tanimachi subway line, is dinner only, 17:00 to 22:00, last order 21:30 and last entry 21:00, with 10 seats; it closes on Sundays. The Ohatsu Tenjin shop, on the ground floor of K’s Square Building, Sonezaki 2-8-15, is the one with lunch, 11:30 to 14:00, last order 13:30, plus dinner 17:00 to 22:00, and 26 seats; it closes on Wednesdays for the time being because of staff shortages. The Hozenji shop, Namba 1-2-10, one minute from Namba Station on the Midosuji and Sennichimae lines, is dinner only, 17:00 to 22:00, with 15 seats, and closes on Thursdays. All three close over the New Year. The site lists phone numbers but does not describe how to book, and does not mention English. For the area around Namba, see our Dotonbori guide.

Kushikatsu Tanaka in Osaka: the chain from Tokyo

Kushikatsu Tanaka, Amerikamura: open until 5:00

Kushikatsu Tanaka is a chain that opened its first shop in Setagaya, Tokyo. It says its taste comes from a recipe born in Nishinari Ward, Osaka, handed down from a late father to one of its founders. Its September 2026 menu lists beef kushikatsu at 190 yen, or 209 yen with tax, pork 198 yen, onion 143 yen, beni-shoga red pickled ginger, tagged as an Osaka specialty, 198 yen, and shrimp 253 yen, all with tax (as of October 2026; food menu PDF). Its mugen kushi skewers, made with beef offal, are 55 yen with tax each or 550 yen for ten. A standard five-skewer plate is 924 yen with tax and an eight-skewer plate 1,551 yen. The menu notes that items may differ by shop.

Per-person charge: Kushikatsu Tanaka charges every guest aged 20 or over 290 yen, or 319 yen with tax, whether or not they drink alcohol, and serves a refillable cabbage and sauce set as the otoshi. It also asks guests aged 20 or over to order at least one drink each, soft drinks included.

Its FAQ answers the sauce question directly. You pour sauce from a dispenser as much as you like, or ask for a can of sauce. For hygiene, each group’s sauce is thrown away after use, but the chain recommends no double-dipping so guests can experience Osaka food culture. That is a recommendation, not a ban.

The Amerikamura shop is at Nishi-Shinsaibashi 1-8-21, Chuo-ku, five minutes from Shinsaibashi Station, and opens 12:00 to 5:00 every day, with 97 seats. Booking is optional, but booked guests are seated first, same-day bookings are fine if there is room, and it books from one person up. Cards such as Visa, Mastercard and JCB and QR codes such as PayPay work at almost all its shops, though not every one. Guests under 20 can come on their own. It has a multilingual menu page and an English switch on its shop site. Its Osaka shop list has 16 shops; none is in Shinsekai or Dotonbori.

What does kushikatsu cost in Osaka?

Kushikatsu prices in Osaka, as published

RestaurantSingle skewerPlates, sets or coursesTax, per the site
Daruma SohontenBeef 154 yen; wagyu 396 to 748 yen9, 12 or 15 skewers with doteyaki: 1,793 to 2,783 yenBefore-tax and with-tax both shown
Yokozuna TsutenkakuBeef 154 yen; vegetables 121 to 275 yen5 for 748 yen; 10 for 1,529 yenBoth shown; menu last updated July 2024
Ittoku SohontenNot on its siteCourses 2,980 to 3,980 yenNot stated
Shiruhisa275 to 770 yen10 for 4,200 yen; 15 for 6,600 yen; lunch from 2,700 yenBefore tax
Kushikatsu TanakaBeef 209 yen; mugen kushi 55 yen5 for 924 yen; 8 for 1,551 yen; plus 319 yen per adultBefore-tax and with-tax both shown

Why don’t kushikatsu prices compare directly?

Because the skewers are not the same. A 154-yen beef skewer in Shinsekai and a 770-yen live kuruma prawn at Shiruhisa are different meals, and Daruma’s sets include doteyaki while Tanaka adds a per-person charge. Compare within a restaurant, not across them.

Are there any extra charges?

At Kushikatsu Tanaka, every guest aged 20 or over pays 319 yen with tax for the otoshi. At Daruma, cabbage and sauce are listed as separate items on the menu, and both Daruma and Tanaka ask for at least one drink per person. Shiruhisa’s prices are before tax. The others do not mention extra charges on the pages we read.

Which kushikatsu prices may change soon?

Yokozuna’s menu PDF was last updated in July 2024, so treat its prices as a guide. Kushikatsu Tanaka’s food menu is the September 2026 edition, and Daruma’s main-shop menu images were last updated in July 2026. Shiruhisa and Ittoku do not date their price pages.

The Osaka kushikatsu sauce rule, shop by shop

Kushikatsu skewers on a wire tray beside a metal sauce tin and a bowl of cabbage at a counter
Kushikatsu, cabbage and a shared sauce tin at a Kushikatsu Daruma restaurant, April 2019. Photo: Dick Thomas Johnson from Tokyo, Japan (CC BY 2.0)

Which shops ban double-dipping?

Two, in their own words. Daruma bans a second dip so other guests can use the shared sauce happily, and Yokozuna says double-dipping is of course banned, and that you should scoop more sauce with cabbage. Dip once, deeply, and use cabbage if you need more.

Where is it only a recommendation?

Kushikatsu Tanaka pours from a dispenser and throws out each group’s can of sauce, so it only recommends no double-dipping, as a taste of Osaka food culture. Shiruhisa gives each diner a partitioned dish of their own, so the question does not arise. Ittoku’s site does not mention a rule; if a shared pot is on the counter, dip once.

Booking, paying and eating alone at Osaka kushikatsu shops

Can I book a table?

It depends on the shop. Daruma’s main shop and its Tsutenkaku shop take no bookings; its Janjan shop books two or more outside busy periods. Yokozuna recommends phoning by the day before. Kushikatsu Tanaka says booking is optional and seats booked guests first. Shiruhisa lists only phone numbers, and Ittoku does not describe booking.

Can I pay by card?

Not at Daruma’s main shop, which is cash only; its Janjan shop takes cards, e-money and QR codes. Kushikatsu Tanaka takes cards and QR codes at almost all its shops. Yokozuna, Ittoku and Shiruhisa do not list payment methods on the pages we read, so carry cash.

Can I eat kushikatsu alone?

Yes. Daruma’s main shop is a 12-seat counter where you order skewer by skewer, Kushikatsu Tanaka books from one person, and Shiruhisa’s omakase is priced per skewer, so you stop when you are full. For another fried favorite, see our tonkatsu in Tokyo guide.

Can I bring children?

Yokozuna’s Tsutenkaku shop says families with children are very welcome. Daruma’s one-drink request does not apply to children of elementary school age and younger, and Kushikatsu Tanaka charges its otoshi only from age 20. Ittoku and Shiruhisa do not describe rules for children.

Is there an English menu?

Daruma publishes an English menu PDF, Yokozuna’s menu images include English, and Kushikatsu Tanaka has a multilingual menu page. Ittoku and Shiruhisa do not mention English on the pages we read.

Which kushikatsu restaurant in Osaka suits you?

For a 12-seat counter that traces itself to 1929, with cash in your pocket, Daruma’s Shinsekai main shop. For kushikatsu at any hour, with children in tow, Yokozuna by Tsutenkaku. For a set course with doteyaki and yakisoba, Ittoku. For a seated omakase in Umeda or Namba, Shiruhisa, avoiding October 18 to 22. For a late night in Shinsaibashi and a sauce dispenser of your own, Kushikatsu Tanaka in Amerikamura, with the 319-yen charge in mind.

Frequently asked questions

How much does kushikatsu cost in Osaka?
From the restaurants’ own menus, a beef kushikatsu skewer is 154 yen with tax at Daruma’s Shinsekai main shop, 154 yen with tax at Yokozuna (on a menu last updated July 2024) and 209 yen with tax at Kushikatsu Tanaka. At Shiruhisa, omakase skewers are 275 to 770 yen each, plus tax. Ittoku lists courses from 2,980 yen, not single skewers. Skewers differ in size and contents, so these are not like-for-like.
Is double-dipping banned at every kushikatsu shop in Osaka?
No single rule covers every shop. Daruma bans a second dip in its shared sauce so other guests can use it too, and Yokozuna bans it and tells you to scoop extra sauce with cabbage. Kushikatsu Tanaka pours sauce from a dispenser, throws out each group’s sauce can, and only recommends no double-dipping. Shiruhisa gives each diner a dish of their own. Ittoku’s site does not mention a rule.
Is tax included in kushikatsu prices in Osaka?
Daruma, Yokozuna and Kushikatsu Tanaka show the price before tax and with tax side by side. Shiruhisa says its prices are before tax, so add tax. Ittoku’s course images do not say either way.
Is there a cover charge at kushikatsu shops in Osaka?
Kushikatsu Tanaka charges guests aged 20 or over 290 yen, or 319 yen with tax, per person whether or not they drink, and serves a refillable cabbage and sauce set as the otoshi. Daruma and Kushikatsu Tanaka ask each guest to order at least one drink, with exceptions for children.
Can I pay by card at kushikatsu shops in Osaka?
Daruma’s Shinsekai main shop is cash only, though its Janjan shop nearby takes cards, e-money and QR codes. Kushikatsu Tanaka says cards and QR codes work at almost all its shops, but not every one. Yokozuna, Ittoku and Shiruhisa do not list payment methods on the pages we read, so carry cash.
Can I book a kushikatsu restaurant in Osaka?
Daruma’s Shinsekai main shop and its Tsutenkaku shop take no bookings; its Janjan shop books groups of two or more outside busy periods. Yokozuna recommends booking by phone by the day before. Kushikatsu Tanaka says booking is optional but booked guests are seated first. Shiruhisa lists only phone numbers, and Ittoku does not describe booking.
Can I bring children to a kushikatsu shop in Osaka?
Yokozuna’s Tsutenkaku shop says families with children are very welcome. Daruma’s one-drink request does not apply to children of elementary school age and younger. Kushikatsu Tanaka says guests under 20 can come without an adult, and its cover charge applies only from age 20. Ittoku and Shiruhisa do not say.
Is there an English menu at kushikatsu shops in Osaka?
Daruma publishes an English menu PDF. Yokozuna’s menu images show English, Chinese and Korean alongside Japanese. Kushikatsu Tanaka has a multilingual menu page and an English switch on its shop site. Ittoku and Shiruhisa do not mention English.

Bottom line (2026): A beef kushikatsu skewer in Osaka is 154 yen with tax at Daruma’s Shinsekai main shop and 209 yen with tax at Kushikatsu Tanaka, which adds a 319-yen charge from age 20. Daruma and Yokozuna ban double-dipping; Tanaka only recommends it; Shiruhisa gives you your own dish. Shiruhisa closes October 18 to 22, 2026.

Sources

Every price and rule on this page is from the restaurants’ and operators’ own websites, including menu images, menu PDFs and shop data on those sites: Kushikatsu Daruma, Daruma Shinsekai Sohonten, Daruma Janjan shop, Daruma Tsutenkaku shop, Daruma on its sauce, Daruma history, Daruma Sohonten menu (sets), Daruma Sohonten menu (skewers), Daruma English menu PDF, Yokozuna, Yokozuna Tsutenkaku shop, Yokozuna Shinsekai Honkan, Yokozuna on its sauce, Yokozuna reservations, Yokozuna Tsutenkaku menu PDF, Shinsekai Kushikatsu Ittoku, Ittoku menu, Ittoku Sohonten, Ittoku company, Ittoku courses, Ittoku all-you-can-eat, Shiruhisa, Shiruhisa omakase and courses, Shiruhisa a la carte, Shiruhisa shops, Shiruhisa October closure notice, Kushikatsu Tanaka, Kushikatsu Tanaka food menu PDF, Kushikatsu Tanaka FAQ, Kushikatsu Tanaka about, Kushikatsu Tanaka multilingual menu, Kushikatsu Tanaka Osaka shops, Kushikatsu Tanaka Amerikamura, all read on October 1, 2026. Menus, prices and hours change, so confirm on the official site before you go.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC