Owl Cafes in Japan (2026): The Famous One Closed, and Prices Vary 12x

Guide·September 3, 2026·22 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Search for owl cafes in Tokyo in English and one name dominates the results. It has branches in Akihabara, Harajuku and Asakusa, it has the best photographs, and it appears in guides published this year. It has not been trading for years. The operator's own site says the chain never reopened after the pandemic, that it gave up on reopening, and that the birds were moved to a care facility while the business turned to conservation work.

That is the state of English coverage of this subject. So this guide does three things: it lists what is actually open, it explains why entry runs from 800 to 3,800 yen for something that sounds identical, and it takes apart the CITES argument that gets used on both sides of the ethics debate and applies to almost none of these birds.

Honto check: Every price, opening time and rule below was read from each shop's own Japanese pages on August 31, 2026, with the legal and disease-control material taken from the Act on Conservation of Endangered Species and the Ministry of the Environment's guidance for birds kept at zoos and similar facilities. 🚨 Deliberately not stated: the entry price for Akiba Fukurou (its site says only that the fee is shown when you book — we searched every page and no figure is published, so it is not stated officially); the CITES appendix listing for individual owl species (the CITES database blocked our requests, so we will not state which appendix a given species sits in); the registration expiry dates printed on shops' own sites (they are routinely years out of date — quoting them would accuse licensed businesses of trading illegally); and whether tethering an owl is lawful (the guidelines restrict restraint that harms an animal's natural form and habits but do not say whether tethering counts).
TOC

What is actually open in 2026

There is no single national chain any more. What exists is a handful of independents plus one small group, and they differ more from each other than the category name suggests.

CafeWhereEntryTimeBooking
Owl Forest (Kamakura)Kamakura¥800 adult / ¥500 childUnlimited🚨 Walk-in only
Owl Forest (Kyoto)Kyoto¥1,000 (age 5+)UnlimitedWalk-in only
Owl Forest (Osaka)Osaka¥1,000 / ¥800 childUnlimitedWalk-in only
Owl Forest (Yufuin)Oita¥900 / ¥600 childUnlimitedWalk-in only
Torinoiru CafeYanaka, Tokyo¥2,200 incl. drinkFree time*Walk-in OK
OWL VILLAGEHarajuku, Tokyo¥3,800 door / ¥2,500 prepaid60 minHybrid
Akiba FukurouAkihabara, TokyoNot publishedNot stated🚨 Reservation only
Owl FamilyOsaka / Hakata¥1,500 + tax60 min, hourlyVia third parties

*Torinoiru switches to a one-hour limit only when busy. Note the tax line on Owl Family: it is one of the few venues quoting a price before tax, so the real figure is closer to 1,650 yen.

Why does the price vary by twelve times?

Because you are buying different things. 800 yen in Kamakura gets you unlimited time in a small provincial shop. 3,800 yen in Harajuku gets you a structured 60-minute session in central Tokyo with a keepsake included, and the same venue sells 5,000 and 10,000 yen courses with more attached. Neither is overpriced for what it is — but a guide that prints "around 2,000 yen" as the going rate is describing nothing.

Which one should a first-time visitor pick?

If you are in Tokyo and want certainty, book OWL VILLAGE online — paying in advance also cuts the price by 1,300 yen, which is the largest discount in this whole category. If you want a quieter room and do not mind planning, Akiba Fukurou is reservation-only by design, limiting numbers so the birds are not crowded. If you are traveling outside Tokyo anyway, Kamakura at 800 yen with no time limit is the best value in Japan for this.

The booking models are opposite, and getting it wrong wastes a morning

This is the single most practical thing to know, because the two dominant venues work in exactly contrary ways.

Owl Forest chainAkiba Fukurou
Reservations🚨 None accepted at all — not by phone, not online🚨 Reservation only — no walk-ins
How you get inGo to the shop and buy a ticketBook ahead; same-day slots exist
RiskTickets can sell outTurning up without one is wasted
PhoneNormalNot answered — the shop keeps calls off the floor for the birds

So the advice "book an owl cafe in advance" is impossible at four of the venues in the table above, and the advice "just turn up" will get you turned away at another. Check the individual shop, every time.

What about opening days?

Less regular than a cafe implies. Owl Family's Osaka flagship is closed Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays — three days a week. One venue outside Tokyo opens weekends and holidays only, and another runs on a seasonal schedule announced by financial year, publishing a notice when the season ends. Torinoiru in Yanaka is the outlier: open every day of the year, 13:00 to 20:00.

The CITES argument does not apply to these birds

Every English discussion of owl cafes eventually reaches the endangered-species question, usually in one of two forms: the accusation that cafes trade protected birds without paperwork, or the defense that everything is fine because certificates exist. Both are aimed at a rule that does not cover the birds in these rooms.

Japan's domestic trade restrictions attach to species listed in CITES Appendix I. For owls, Appendix I contains three species worldwide — the forest owlet, the Norfolk Island boobook and the Madagascar red owl. None of them is a species kept in Japanese owl cafes.

🚨 So there is no registration certificate to demand. For a barn owl or a snowy owl in a Japanese cafe, the national certificate system simply does not engage — there is no document to be missing. This is the opposite of the otter situation, where the small-clawed otter did move to Appendix I in 2019 and domestic transfer controls did switch on. Applying the otter reasoning to owls produces a confident accusation about a rule that was never in play. The protections that do apply are the animal-welfare ones, which we cover in our guide to Japanese animal cafe law.

Then is there no rule about the birds at all?

There are rules, they are just different ones. An owl cafe needs registration as a display business, must post its registration number, expiry and responsible manager where you can see them on the way in, and must meet welfare standards on enclosure size, temperature, lighting and rest. What it does not have is a closing time: the well-known 8 p.m. display rule is written for dogs and cats only, so owls have no statutory limit on how long the day runs.

Is there English support?

It varies more than you would expect for a category built on foreign visitors. OWL VILLAGE runs a full English booking flow, which is the main reason to use it if you want the trip locked in before you land. Owl Family has no English site at all — both its English paths return errors — and books through third-party platforms instead. Torinoiru Cafe has an English page that carries opening hours and nothing else: no prices, no rules, no age policy. Read the Japanese page with a translator and you will know substantially more than the English one tells you.

Bird flu: what actually changes, and why

Every winter the question comes up, and the usual English answer — that owl cafes close under poultry disease rules — is wrong about the mechanism.

AssumptionWhat actually applies
Owl cafes fall under the poultry disease lawNo. Owls are not poultry, so that Act does not cover them
Nothing applies, so nothing changesNo. Ministry guidance for birds kept at zoos and similar facilities applies
What the guidance saysAt response level 2 or above: contact and feeding are halted, and free-flight display is suspended in principle

In the 2025-26 season the highest level ran from late October to the end of April. As of this writing the country is back at the baseline level. The practical consequence for a winter visit: the shop may well be open while the touching and the feeding option are suspended — which is most of what people come for. If you are visiting between November and April, ask before you pay.

Is the feeding option worth adding?

It is small money and it is time-boxed. OWL VILLAGE sells feeding at 500 yen per tray at four fixed times in the day rather than on demand. Torinoiru charges 500 yen for large owls and 300 for small and medium birds. Being fixed-time matters: turn up at the wrong hour and the option is not available, whatever the website implies.

Rules inside the room, and the age limits that contradict each other

There is no national rulebook for visitor behavior, so each shop writes its own. The consistent ones are worth knowing before you go in.

RuleDetail
No flashNear-universal. One venue states plainly that flash risks blinding the birds
Where you may touchHead and back only at most shops. Not the wings, stomach or legs
Contact windowsOWL VILLAGE: contact only for a 35-minute window inside the 60-minute slot; the rest is the birds' break
HygieneHand sanitising on entry, hand washing before you leave; some shops also disinfect shoe soles
PerfumeSome venues ask you not to wear strong fragrance
Wild birdsAt least one shop asks visitors who have handled wild birds that day not to come in

Can I bring a small child?

🚨 The policies directly contradict each other between shops, so do not generalise. Torinoiru Cafe in Yanaka states there is no age limit and that small children are welcome with an adult. Owl Forest in Kyoto states the exact opposite: children aged 0 to 4 cannot enter, not even with a guardian. Other branches of the same chain draw the line at four with an adult. And one Harajuku venue publishes three different child policies across its own pages — its FAQ says preschoolers are fine with an adult, its terms of use say preschoolers cannot enter the owl area at all, and its English rules say under-sevens are not recommended. If you are traveling with a toddler, contact the specific branch.

How long do the birds actually work?

One operator publishes its shift system, which is unusual enough to be worth quoting: birds work one to three hours a day, with roughly 25 to 30 birds per shop and only four or five on the floor in any given hour. That is the operator's own account rather than an inspected figure, and no law requires it — remember that owls have no statutory display-hour limit, so any rotation you see is the shop's own policy. Which is exactly why the shops that publish one are worth preferring.

How does the hourly changeover work?

At Owl Family the session is a full changeover on the hour — everyone enters at the top of the hour and the room resets. That has a practical consequence: arriving at twenty past means waiting for the next hour, not joining late. OWL VILLAGE works similarly on a 60-minute cycle and asks visitors to start packing up at the 55-minute mark. The unlimited-time shops in Kamakura, Kyoto, Osaka and Yufuin have no changeover at all, which is a genuinely different experience for the money.

Places English guides still recommend that are gone

An out-of-date article costs you an afternoon here, because several of the most-photographed venues have closed quietly.

VenueStatus
Owl no Mori (all branches)🚨 Gone. Operator states it did not reopen after the pandemic, moved the birds to a care facility and turned to conservation. Peak: six locations
Torinoiru Cafe Asakusa🚨 Delisted with no closure notice. Its URL still returns a page, but silently serves the Sendagi branch's content
Owl Family Osaka TenmanguClosed February 2018 — yet its full price table is still live on the operator's site
OWL VILLAGE KichijojiPages are password-protected and absent from navigation, but the FAQ still describes it. Not stated officially as closed
"Owl Forest Harajuku / Akihabara"🚨 Never existed. The trademark holder lists only Kamakura, Kyoto, Osaka and Yufuin. The Harajuku property is a shiba dog cafe

The Asakusa case is the one to watch for: the page loads, so a link checker sees nothing wrong, and only reading the content reveals it is describing a different branch entirely.

Are there owl cafes outside Tokyo?

Most of them, in fact. Only two of the venues in this guide are in Tokyo. The rest are in Kamakura, Kyoto, Osaka, Hakata and Yufuin, and the cheapest and most relaxed of them — unlimited time, 800 to 1,000 yen — are all outside the capital. If your itinerary already includes Kamakura as a day trip or Kyoto for a few nights, that is the better place to do this, not Harajuku.

Before you book: a short checklist

Three questions answer almost everything, and all three are on the shop's own page rather than in any guide.

AskWhy it matters
Reservation or walk-in?The two big names are opposite. Getting it wrong means a wasted trip either way
Time limit or unlimited?800 yen unlimited and 3,800 yen for 60 minutes are different products
Is contact currently suspended?Between November and April, bird flu guidance can halt touching and feeding while the shop stays open

And when you arrive, glance at the sign by the door for the registration number and the responsible manager's name — it is a legal requirement, and the fastest way to tell a properly licensed venue from one that is not. For the wider category, our animal cafe guide covers what the law does and does not require, our cat cafe guide covers the gentler version of the same idea, and our themed cafes guide puts it in context. Geographically these cluster in the districts covered by our Akihabara map and Harajuku guide.

Owl cafe FAQ

Is Owl no Mori still open?
No. The operator’s own site states that the chain stayed closed after the pandemic, that it gave up on reopening, and that the birds were moved to a care facility while the business shifted to conservation work. At its peak it ran six locations. Because it was the most photographed owl cafe in Japan, English guides still list its Akihabara, Harajuku and Asakusa branches as places to visit – all of them describe a chain that no longer trades.
How much does an owl cafe cost in Japan?
Between 800 and 3,800 yen for entry, which is a twelvefold spread for what sounds like the same experience. Owl Forest in Kamakura is 800 yen for adults with no time limit. OWL VILLAGE in Harajuku is 3,800 yen on the door for a 60-minute session, or 2,500 if you pay online in advance, with premium courses at 5,000 and 10,000. Torinoiru Cafe in Yanaka is 2,200 yen including a drink. Check what you are buying: some prices are unlimited time, some are a strict hour.
Do I need a reservation for an owl cafe?
It depends entirely on the shop, and the two extremes are opposite. The Owl Forest chain states plainly that it accepts no telephone or internet reservations at all – you go to the shop and buy a ticket, and tickets can sell out. Akiba Fukurou is the reverse: reservation-only, with no walk-ins, and it does not even take phone enquiries because of the noise. Never assume the model from another cafe you read about.
Are owl cafes legal in Japan?
Yes, and they are licensed. An owl cafe needs registration as a Type 1 Animal Handling Business in the display category, with a sign at the entrance showing the registration number, expiry date and the responsible manager’s name. What surprises people is that the well-known 8 p.m. display rule does not apply to owls – it is written for dogs and cats only, so owls have no statutory closing time in Japan.
Do owl cafes need CITES permits for their birds?
Almost certainly not, and this is the most common misunderstanding in English coverage. Japan’s domestic trade controls attach to species listed in CITES Appendix I, and only three owl species worldwide are on Appendix I. The birds you meet in Japanese cafes are not among them. So the certificate argument – both the accusation that a cafe is illegal without one, and the defense that it is fine because it has one – is aimed at a rule that does not cover these birds.
Can I touch or hold the owls?
Usually yes, and the rules are set by each shop rather than by law. OWL VILLAGE runs a 60-minute slot where contact is limited to a 35-minute window, with the remainder as the birds’ break. Torinoiru Cafe allows free-time visits and asks visitors not to use flash. Handling rules such as not grabbing the legs or chest are posted per shop. What the national guidelines require is that contact happens under a knowledgeable keeper’s supervision and that animals get adequate rest.
Do owl cafes close during bird flu outbreaks?
Contact and feeding do stop, though the mechanism is not the one people assume. Owls are not poultry, so the Livestock Infectious Diseases Control Act does not cover them. What applies is the Ministry of the Environment’s guidance for birds kept at zoos and similar facilities, which states that at response level 2 or above, contact and feeding are to be halted and free-flight display suspended in principle. The 2025-26 season ran at the highest level from late October to the end of April.
Are owl cafes suitable for young children?
Check the specific shop, because the policies are contradictory. Torinoiru Cafe states there is no age limit and small children may enter with an adult. Owl Forest in Kyoto states the opposite: children aged 0 to 4 cannot enter at all, not even accompanied by a guardian. Other branches of the same chain set the line at four. One Harajuku venue publishes three different child policies across its own pages, so if you are traveling with a toddler, contact the shop rather than trusting a summary.

Bottom line (2026) — The chain English guides recommend most, Owl no Mori, no longer trades; its birds were moved to a care facility. What is open runs from ¥800 in Kamakura with unlimited time to ¥3,800 in Harajuku for 60 minutes, and paying online in advance there saves ¥1,300. Booking models are opposite: the Owl Forest chain takes no reservations at all, while Akiba Fukurou is reservation-only. The CITES argument does not apply — only three owl species worldwide are on Appendix I and none is kept in these cafes. Between November and April, bird flu guidance can suspend touching and feeding while the shop stays open.

Sources

Prices, opening hours, closing days, booking policy, age limits, contact windows and photography rules: each cafe's own Japanese website, read individually. The closure of the former chain, the delisted Asakusa branch and the 2018 Osaka closure: the operators' own notices. The species listed in CITES Appendix I and the domestic trade controls that follow from it: the Act on Conservation of Endangered Species and the Ministry of the Environment. Registration, signage and welfare standards for display businesses: the Act on Welfare and Management of Animals and its ordinances. Bird flu response levels and the halting of contact and feeding: the Ministry's guidance for birds kept at zoos and similar facilities. All read on August 31, 2026 — shops change hours and policies without notice, so confirm before you travel.

Free weekly email
Japanese-only news,
in English

Every week we read the Japanese sources English-language media never touches — new openings, price changes, limited releases, rule changes, the seasonal things that come and go in three weeks — and send you a three-minute read of what actually matters. Hit reply with a question about your trip and a human answers.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your address.

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC