Manga Cafes in Japan (2026): The ID Rule Is Tokyo-Only, and Other Things Guides Get Wrong

Guide·September 2, 2026·21 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Search in English for how to use a Japanese manga cafe and you will be told, flatly, that you need photo ID and a Japanese address. That is not what the law says. The identification duty is a Tokyo ordinance, not a national rule, and it is written around a specific act: providing an internet terminal inside a private booth. Use the manga and skip the computer, or sit down in Osaka, and the whole thing falls away.

The chain that states this most clearly is Manboo, on its own homepage: membership is basically not required, and registration is needed for customers who use a PC at its Tokyo stores. Jiyu-Kukan sells a visitor rate with no membership at all — with the same catch, that PCs cannot be used on it. Once you see the pattern, the rule stops being mysterious.

Honto check: Prices, membership rules and ID policies below were read from the chains' own Japanese pages on August 28, 2026Kaikatsu Club, Jiyu-Kukan, Manboo, DiCE and i-cafe — with the legal side taken from the Tokyo Metropolitan ordinance text and the Metropolitan Police explanation for users. Several chains publish prices only as images; those figures were read off the official artwork. 🚨 Deliberately not stated: a nationwide price for Jiyu-Kukan (the chain publishes rates per store only); the accepted-document list for DiCE and the joining fee for i-cafe (both say only that it varies, so it is not stated officially); and how Kaikatsu Club treats a foreign-issued passport held by a short-stay visitor — the chain addresses Japanese-issued passports only, and we will not fill that gap with a guess.
TOC

Manga cafe or net cafe? They are the same building

The two names describe the same business from different angles. A manga kissa sells the wall of comics; a net cafe sells the terminal. In practice one venue does both, plus unlimited soft drinks, and increasingly a locked private room you can sleep in. What changes between them is not the concept but the seat class, and that is what you are actually choosing when you pay.

Seat typeWhat it isSleepable?
Open seat / loungeA chair at a partitioned desk, open at the topBadly
Reclining / flatA reclining seat or a flat mat, walls but no doorYes, with earplugs
Locked private roomA door that locks, from about 2–3 square metersYes — the overnight option

How does the pricing actually work?

By the half hour, then automatically by package. You are charged a first block of 30 minutes, then per ten minutes, and once your stay passes a threshold the till switches you to whichever time package is cheaper. DiCE states this outright: the system automatically switches to the most suitable time and price for the length of your stay. You do not have to declare how long you are staying when you walk in.

Two things push the number up. Weekends and the evening before a holiday add a surcharge — Kaikatsu adds 220 yen to package rates on weekends and holidays, and its Tokyo private-room store adds 330 yen from Friday evening. And central Tokyo is simply a different market from the suburbs, which the next table makes uncomfortably clear.

Real 2026 prices, read off the official rate cards

Chains publish rates per branch, usually as an image rather than text, which is why English round-ups tend to quote a vague "about 1,500 yen". Here are actual published numbers, tax included, for one person.

Branch and seat3 hours6 hours12 hoursOvernight pack
Kaikatsu Club, Utsunomiya
open seat
6601,0601,6501,060 (8h night)
Kaikatsu Club, Utsunomiya
fully private room
1,5502,5804,1602,580 (8h night)
DiCE, Ikebukuro
lounge
9001,5002,6002,300 (12h night)
DiCE, Ikebukuro
locked VIP room
1,6002,6004,2003,900 (12h night)
Kaikatsu Club, Shinjuku West
locked room only
1,6602,7005,170
Manboo, Okubo220 first 30 min (member) / 320 (non-member), then 150 per 10 min27,300 (1 week, member)

Read the Shinjuku row against the Utsunomiya row and you have the real geography of this: the same chain charges roughly double in central Tokyo for a locked room. The night packs are the headline — 2,580 yen for eight hours in a private room in a regional city, 3,900 for twelve hours in Ikebukuro — and they are the reason the format competes with budget accommodation at all.

Are these cheaper than a capsule hotel?

Frequently, but you are buying something different. A night pack gets you a locked door and a flat surface; it does not get you a bed, bedding you would recognize, or a shower in the price. If what you want is actually to sleep, compare honestly against a capsule hotel or the options in our budget hotel guide before you commit to a chair for eight hours.

What does a shower cost?

At DiCE, 300 yen for the first 30 minutes, with shower rooms available at branches that have them. This is a per-branch facility rather than a chain-wide guarantee, so the store page is the thing to check, not the homepage. Laundry exists at some Kaikatsu branches too, at 300 yen a load.

The ID rule: a Tokyo ordinance, not a national law

The rule everyone repeats has a name and a scope. Tokyo's Ordinance on the Regulation of Internet Terminal Use Businesses, enacted in 2010, defines its target in Article 2 as a business that sets up private booths whose interiors are difficult to see from outside and provides communication terminals for internet use in them. Article 4 then requires the operator to verify each customer's name, address and date of birth before providing that service.

Two consequences follow, and both are missing from English guides. First, the ordinance applies within the Tokyo metropolitan area only. Second, it attaches to the terminal, not the door. That is exactly why the chains word their notices the way they do.

ChainWhat the official page says
ManbooMembership registration is basically not required; registration is required for customers using a PC at Tokyo stores
Jiyu-KukanA published visitor rate with no membership, private room allowed, comics and drinks included — but PCs cannot be used
DiCERegistration generally required; one branch (Totsuka) needs none, with some services including PCs unavailable
i-cafeMembership required per person for internet use; cards from other prefectures cannot be used in Tokyo

So can a tourist get in without ID?

Often, yes — by giving up the computer. The visitor rate and the no-registration branches are official, published products, not loopholes someone found. If your plan is to read manga, drink coffee, and sleep for eight hours, you may never touch the thing that triggers the rule. If your plan involves a PC in Tokyo, you are inside the ordinance and the shop must check you.

What does the passport actually get you?

🚨 Two official sources disagree, and you should know both before you rely on either. The Metropolitan Police publish an explicit carve-out for short-stay visitors: where the passport does not show a residence in the holder's own country, nationality and passport number are recorded in place of an address. Passports are also listed among acceptable documents. But Kaikatsu Club's own FAQ requires a single document showing name, date of birth and current address for Tokyo branches, and states that customers who cannot be verified will not be admitted. A tourist passport has no Japanese address on it. The chain addresses Japanese-issued passports only and says nothing about foreign-issued ones, so how a given branch handles you is not stated officially. Do not plan a bed around it — ask the branch first.

Is there a penalty if I get this wrong?

For lying, yes. The Metropolitan Police state that a customer who falsifies their identifying details in order to conceal them faces a fine of up to 200,000 yen. Operators must keep the verification record for three years after your last use. Simply not having the right document is not an offence — it just means you do not get the terminal.

The Tokyo quirks that catch returning visitors

If you used a net cafe elsewhere in Japan and came back to Tokyo expecting the same experience, three things change.

QuirkOfficial wording
Your membership card may not traveli-cafe: because of the ordinance, membership cards from other prefectures cannot be used in Tokyo
The usual address workaround is voidJiyu-Kukan: where the document's address differs, a utility bill normally covers it — but Tokyo stores and some self-service branches cannot accommodate this
Re-verification can happen anytimeKaikatsu Club's Tokyo notice: originals only, no copies, photos or apps; we may ask to check again even if you have shown it before

None of this is aimed at foreign visitors. It is the ordinance leaking into ordinary operations, and it lands hardest on anyone whose paperwork does not match a Japanese address — which includes plenty of Japanese customers who have recently moved.

Sleeping in one: what a night pack really buys

The overnight package is the reason travelers look this format up at all. The mechanics are consistent across chains: you must check in inside a window — Kaikatsu's eight-hour night pack runs from an 8 p.m. to 4 a.m. arrival, DiCE's from 6 p.m. to 5 a.m. — and the clock starts when you sit down, not at a fixed hour.

What is in the room, and what is not?

A locked door, a reclining seat or a flat mat, a screen, and a blanket at most branches. There is no bed and no bedding in the hotel sense. Drinks are unlimited from the machine, comics are unlimited from the shelves, and the shower — where one exists — is extra. For a single night after a late arrival this is entirely workable. For a third consecutive night it is not, and the maths stops favouring it anyway.

The rule that surprises everyone: what you may eat in your room

🚨 The cafe's own food cannot come into the locked room. The convenience store's can. Kaikatsu Club states that on police guidance, food and drink it provides may not be taken into or eaten inside the private rooms — while food and drink customers bought at a convenience store may be brought in freely. So the unlimited drink bar, the single feature English guides sell hardest, is the one thing you have to leave your room to use. Stock up before check-in; our convenience store guide covers what is actually worth buying.

How long can you stay?

Longer than you would think. Packages run to 24 hours at every chain, and Manboo sells a one-week plan at its Okubo branch for 27,300 yen to members. That is not a tourist product — it exists because the format functions as housing of last resort for some people in Japan — but it tells you the business is built for long stays, not for a quick hour with a comic.

What English guides get wrong

Three specific errors keep circulating, and one of them comes from the chains' own websites.

The claimWhat the official source says now
"Japan requires ID at net cafes"A Tokyo ordinance, triggered by providing an internet terminal in a private booth. Manboo and Jiyu-Kukan both sell no-registration entry
"Expect a joining fee of about 300–400 yen"🚨 Kaikatsu Club's FAQ states there is no joining fee and no annual fee. DiCE charges 300 yen, waived if you register through its app
"Free drinks in your private room"At Kaikatsu, the opposite: cafe-provided food and drink are not allowed in the locked rooms

The joining-fee error is worth dwelling on, because it shows how these things survive. Kaikatsu's FAQ says the fee is gone. But its own Shinjuku West rate card still displays a 370 yen joining fee — the image file has not been refreshed since December 2022. English writers read the picture, not the FAQ, and the number propagates. We are not printing it as a current price, because the chain's own current statement contradicts it.

One more practical note for anyone building a night around this: neither Kaikatsu Club nor Jiyu-Kukan has an English website at all — the English paths simply return errors. Manboo and Jiyu-Kukan's newer site offer language switching. If you want to read a rate card in advance, that narrows your options considerably.

Choosing a branch, and what else to do at 3 a.m.

Pick on three things, in this order: does it have locked private rooms (many branches only have open seats), does it have a shower, and is it in Tokyo — because that last one decides whether you need paperwork. All three are answered on the individual store page, not the chain homepage.

Is a net cafe a good idea after a late flight?

It is one of the few things open, and it is the honest use case: you land at 23:00, the last train is gone, and a locked room for eight hours costs less than a taxi. Just do not arrive in Tokyo at midnight without checking the ID question first, because the failure mode — being turned away at 1 a.m. with luggage — is genuinely bad.

What else stays open around them?

The same districts that host net cafes host the other all-night formats. Game centers run late in the electronics and entertainment quarters — our arcade guide covers what is worth playing — and if you are killing time in the area covered by our Akihabara map, the geography of that is already laid out.

Manga cafe FAQ

Do I need ID to enter a manga cafe in Japan?
Not everywhere, and not for everything. The identification duty comes from a Tokyo ordinance, and it applies to shops that provide an internet terminal inside a private booth. Manboo states the logic plainly on its own homepage: membership is basically not required, and registration is needed for customers who use a PC at its Tokyo stores. Outside Tokyo, and inside Tokyo if you skip the computer, several chains let you walk in without registering.
Can I use my passport to register at a Japanese net cafe?
Officially it is on the list, but the answer is not a clean yes. The Metropolitan Police publish an exception for short-stay visitors: where a passport does not show a residence in the holder’s own country, nationality and passport number are recorded instead of an address. Kaikatsu Club’s own FAQ, however, demands a single document showing name, date of birth and current address, and says entry is refused without it. Both are official. Ask the specific branch before you rely on it for a bed.
How much does a manga cafe cost for a night in Japan?
For a locked private room, expect roughly 2,500 to 4,000 yen for an overnight package. Kaikatsu Club’s night pack at its Utsunomiya store is 2,580 yen for eight hours in a fully private room. DiCE in Ikebukuro charges 3,900 yen for a twelve-hour night pack in a locked VIP room on a weekday. Central Tokyo runs higher, and weekends add a surcharge at every chain.
Is a manga cafe cheaper than a capsule hotel?
Often, but not always, and they are not the same product. A net cafe night pack in a locked room is commonly 2,500 to 4,000 yen. What you give up is a bed, a proper shower included in the price, and any guarantee of quiet. A booth is a reclining seat or a flat mat, not a mattress, and the pricing is by the hour with automatic switching to whichever package is cheapest for your stay.
Can I shower at a manga cafe?
At many branches, for an extra fee. DiCE states that shower rooms are available and the first 30 minutes costs 300 yen. Availability is by branch rather than by chain, so check the individual store page rather than the chain homepage. Bring a towel if you can; rental is usually extra.
What can I eat in the private room?
Whatever you brought in from outside, but not necessarily what the cafe gave you. Kaikatsu Club states that on police guidance, food and drink it serves may not be taken into or consumed inside the locked private rooms, while food and drink customers bought at a convenience store may be brought in freely. The unlimited drink bar is exactly the thing you have to leave your room to enjoy.
Can I use a membership card from another prefecture in Tokyo?
Not always. i-cafe states that because of the ordinance, membership cards issued in other prefectures cannot be used in Tokyo. Jiyu-Kukan says its usual workaround for a mismatched address – bringing a utility bill – cannot be handled at Tokyo stores and some self-service branches. Tokyo is a separate regime, and a card that worked in Osaka may not work in Shinjuku.
Is it legal to sleep in a manga cafe?
Yes. These are not lodging businesses and the ordinance that governs them is about identifying who uses an internet terminal, not about how long you stay. Chains sell overnight packages openly, and Manboo lists a one-week plan at its Okubo branch for 27,300 yen for members. What you are buying is a seat for a fixed number of hours, not a room for the night.

Bottom line (2026) — The ID requirement is a Tokyo ordinance, not a national law, and it is triggered by using an internet terminal in a private booth. Manboo and Jiyu-Kukan sell no-registration entry on the condition that you do not use a PC. A locked private room overnight runs about 2,580 yen for eight hours outside Tokyo and 3,900 for twelve hours in Ikebukuro, with central Tokyo roughly double the regional rate. The passport question has no clean answer: the Metropolitan Police publish a short-stay exception, but Kaikatsu Club demands an address document and refuses entry without one. Ask the branch before you count on it for a bed.

Sources

The definition of a regulated business, the verification duty and the three-year record rule: the Tokyo Metropolitan ordinance text in the metropolitan statute database. The acceptable-document list, the short-stay visitor exception and the 200,000 yen penalty: the Metropolitan Police Department's user-facing page. Membership rules, ID policies, branch rate cards, night packages, shower and laundry charges: the official sites of Kaikatsu Club, Jiyu-Kukan, Manboo, DiCE and i-cafe, including rate cards published as images and read directly from the artwork. All read on August 28, 2026. Chains change branch pricing without notice — confirm on the store page before you travel.

Free weekly email
Japanese-only news,
in English

Every week we read the Japanese sources English-language media never touches — new openings, price changes, limited releases, rule changes, the seasonal things that come and go in three weeks — and send you a three-minute read of what actually matters. Hit reply with a question about your trip and a human answers.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your address.

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC