The dates for the 77th Sapporo Snow Festival are already fixed: February 4 to 11, 2027, Thursday through to the following Thursday, which is a public holiday. The organizers published them in July 2026 — about seven months ahead, and well before flights and hotels for that week get expensive.
What they have not published is anything else. The official site states that the 2027 content will be updated in mid-December 2026. So this guide does something slightly unusual: it gives you the things that do not change year to year — the four venues, the rules, the ticket-slip system, the two items you must wear — and is honest about the rest still being blank.
Sapporo Snow Festival 2027 at a glance
| What | Official |
|---|---|
| Edition | 77th |
| Dates | February 4 (Thu) – 11 (Thu, holiday), 2027 — Odori and Tsudome |
| Venues | Odori / Tsudome / Susukino / Daiwa House Premist Dome |
| Tsudome hours | 10:00–16:00 (queues may close earlier when busy) |
| Tsudome access | Toho subway to Sakaemachi, then 15 min walk or shuttle bus |
| Parking | None — and no drop-off point either |
| Required to use attractions | Hat and gloves |
| Not allowed | Smoking anywhere, drones, balloons, pets (service dogs excepted), own sledges indoors |
| 2027 program detail | Due mid-December 2026 |
Why do the dates matter this far out?
Because the second week of February in Sapporo is the single busiest week of that city’s year, and it is on a fixed pattern rather than a floating one. Knowing in September that the festival is February 4 to 11 means you are booking against a room rate set before demand arrives. The 2026 edition ran on exactly the same calendar days, Wednesday to Wednesday.
What does the 77th edition tell you about the festival?
That it predates almost everything else on a Japan winter itinerary. Seventy-seven editions is a run long enough that the event now has its own institutional habits — a fixed early-February window, a set of venues that each do one thing, and a rulebook detailed enough to specify what you cannot carry indoors. Festivals that have been running that long do not improvise, which is exactly why the parts we can confirm this far ahead are the parts worth planning around. The organizers also refreshed the logo and character for the 2026 edition, announced in August 2026, so the branding you see on posters this winter is new even though the structure underneath is not.
The four Sapporo Snow Festival venues, and which one you actually want
Tsudome is the venue almost no English coverage bothers with, so here is what it looks like — filmed at the 2026 edition on February 4, the opening day. The commentary is Japanese and the 2027 program has not been published yet, but the site itself does not change: this is the slide, the queue and the amount of open snow you are deciding about.
What is at Odori?
The large snow sculptures, running the length of Odori Park through the middle of the city. This is the site every photograph of this festival comes from, and it is the one you can walk into without planning anything. It also hosts the International Snow Sculpture Contest and the citizens’ snow sculptures — the second of which is made by ordinary residents rather than teams, and is the more interesting half if you have seen the big ones before.
And Tsudome?
The one you do rather than look at. Tsudome is a sports facility in the eastern suburbs given over to snow slides and play areas — the family venue, open 10:00 to 16:00. It is the venue with the most rules attached, and the one this guide spends most of its time on, because it is where a badly planned day actually costs you something.
Which sculptures are actually worth the walk?
Odori hosts two distinct things, and visitors often only notice one. The International Snow Sculpture Contest brings in teams from outside Japan and produces the technically ambitious pieces. The citizens’ snow sculptures are made by Sapporo residents — families, workplaces, school groups — and they are smaller, stranger, and far more revealing about what the city currently finds funny. If you have half a day rather than a full one, the second category is the one that will not look the same in any other year.
What about Susukino and the Premist Dome?
Susukino is the ice venue, in the nightlife district — a different material and a different mood from Odori’s snow. The Daiwa House Premist Dome is listed as a venue alongside the other three. We have not read their venue pages, so we are not going to tell you their opening dates or what is inside them; the organizers list all four, and the two we have verified are Odori and Tsudome.
Getting to the snow venues, and the parking that does not exist
Can I drive?
So how do I get there?
The Toho subway line to Sakaemachi, then either a 15-minute walk or the shuttle bus that runs from the station during the festival. Fifteen minutes on foot in a Sapporo February is not the same fifteen minutes it would be in October, which is why the shuttle exists.
How long does the walk actually feel?
Longer than fifteen minutes sounds, which is the honest answer. A Sapporo February walk is on packed snow and, in places, on ice that has been polished by other people walking on it. The organizers do not leave this to chance either — they publish material on how to walk on frozen roads, on avoiding falls on snowy ground, and on what to wear for a Sapporo winter, all linked from the front page of the festival site. When an event’s own homepage carries three separate items about not falling over, that is a signal about the surface rather than about excessive caution.
How does this fit with the rest of a Hokkaido trip?
The festival week overlaps with the best of the ski season, and most people combine them. Our skiing guide covers the resorts and the Niseko guide the one most visitors head for. If you want snow without going as far north, the snow monkey park is the alternative from Tokyo.
The rules that decide your day at the snow festival
What do I have to wear?
A hat and gloves — required to use the attractions at Tsudome, not suggested. Arrive without them and you are watching other people slide. This is the single most actionable line on the official site and it appears nowhere in English coverage that we found.
How does the tube slider queue work?
With numbered slips, on busy weekends and holidays, in three rounds: 1,500 slips at 10:00, then 500 at 12:00 and 500 at 14:00. The wrinkle is at the start of the day — the first 300 people do not receive a slip at all but queue directly, and numbering begins at the 301st. Slips are valid only on the day of issue, and the organizers note that quantities and times may shift depending on how the line builds.
What cannot I bring?
Smoking is banned across the whole site with no smoking areas provided. Drones and balloons cannot be brought in. Pets are not admitted, with guide, hearing and other service dogs excepted. And you cannot bring your own sled into the indoor areas — a specific rule that tells you people have tried.
Why does the first-300 rule exist?
Because a slip system that starts at zero has a flaw: everyone who arrives before opening has nothing to hold. Letting the first 300 simply queue and beginning the numbers at 301 handles the people already standing there at ten in the morning without making them take a slip for a ride they are about to get on anyway. The practical consequence for you is that early arrival is worth more than a slip. If you are inside the first 300, you ride; if you are not, you are holding a number for a later slot. The organizers also note the whole system may be brought forward or opened up depending on the day, so these are working rules rather than guarantees.
Any practical warnings from the organizers themselves?
Two worth repeating. The site is very slippery, and they run a section of the website on how to walk on frozen ground with equipment available to borrow. And the toilets inside the arena get extremely busy — they recommend using the outdoor ones, which is the kind of advice an organizer only gives after watching it go wrong.
What is still unknown about the 2027 festival
Why is there so little detail?
Because the organizers publish it in mid-December, and they say so on the site. The venue pages carry an explicit note that what you are currently reading describes the 2026 edition and that the 2027 content will follow. That is unusually transparent — and it means that any English article giving you 2027 attraction details right now is describing last year.
What can I book already?
Flights and rooms, which is the whole point of the dates being out this early. February in Sapporo is cold in a way that shapes what you pack rather than whether you go — our December weather guide shows the shape of a Hokkaido winter against the rest of the country, and the best time to visit guide puts the season in context if you are combining Sapporo with the main island.
What should I check in December?
Three things, in this order. First, the venue pages — whether the Susukino and Premist Dome sites run the full February 4 to 11 window or a shorter one, since only Odori and Tsudome are confirmed for the full run. Second, the Tsudome attraction list, because that determines whether the tube slider is even the thing you are queuing for. Third, whether the slip quantities stay at 1,500 / 500 / 500, which is the number most likely to move if last winter’s queues behaved differently from expected.
Can I support the festival?
There is a voluntary support fund, and the 2026 version accepted PayPay — including payment out of accumulated points — at five collection points: three at Odori, one inside Tsudome, and one at the Hokkaido Sapporo Tourist Information Center in JR Sapporo Station. The organizers say it goes towards securing snow, running the venues, and training the next generation of sculptors. The first of those three is not a phrase a snow festival used to need.
Sapporo Snow Festival FAQ
When is the Sapporo Snow Festival in 2027?
How many venues are there?
What are the Tsudome hours?
Can I drive to the Tsudome venue?
What is the ticket-slip system at the tube slider?
Is there anything I have to wear?
What is not allowed at the venues?
Can I support the festival financially?
Bottom line (2026–27) — The 77th Sapporo Snow Festival runs February 4–11, 2027 at both Odori and Tsudome, with the full program due mid-December 2026. Tsudome is 10:00–16:00, has no parking and no drop-off, and requires a hat and gloves to use its attractions. The tube slider issues 1,500 slips at 10:00 and 500 each at 12:00 and 14:00, with the first 300 people queuing directly.
Sources & what we deliberately did not state
The dates, venues, hours, access, rules and slip quantities all come from the official Sapporo Snow Festival website — its front page, the Tsudome venue page and the support fund announcement — read on September 8, 2026. The organizers state that 2027 content is updated from mid-December 2026, so re-check nearer the time.
Deliberately not stated: admission prices, because we saw no fee published and will not claim something is free without a source; attendance numbers, because we did not read the results page; the 2027 attraction lineup, because the organizers say it is not published yet; and the dates and contents of the Susukino and Premist Dome venues, because we read only the Odori and Tsudome pages. Where another guide gives you 2027 attractions today, it is describing 2026.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


