Koyasan (2026): The ¥2,500 Ticket That Can Cost You More

Guide·September 10, 2026·19 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Koyasan sells a ¥2,500 combination ticket that covers five things, and the official price list stops there. Do the arithmetic yourself and something awkward falls out: the four halls bought individually come to ¥2,200. The combination ticket is ¥300 more expensive unless you also take the fifth item — the ¥1,000 jukai precept ceremony. Take that, and the same five things bought separately would be ¥3,200, so the combination saves you ¥700.

That one calculation decides how you buy tickets on this mountain, and no English guide we found does it. Below are the official prices for every hall, the ones that cost nothing (including the hall that opens at 6:00), why a Japan Rail Pass will not get you here, and the day this September when the Kondo is shut all day.

Honto check: Every price, opening time and closure on this page was read in Japanese off the official Kongobuji website — the combined price list and the temple’s own news posts — plus the Nankai Electric Railway page for the World Heritage Ticket, on September 7, 2026. We have not walked the Okunoin approach ourselves and do not pretend otherwise. Deliberately not stated: the price of the Nankai World Heritage Ticket and of a temple lodging, because neither figure appears on the pages we read; the journey time from Osaka, for the same reason; and the number of graves at Okunoin, a figure repeated everywhere with no official source behind it.
TOC

Koyasan admission at a glance

WhereJunior high and aboveElementaryHours
Kongobuji¥1,000¥3008:30–17:00 (last 16:30)
Kondo (Danjo Garan)¥500Free8:30–17:00 (last 16:30)
Konpon Daito pagoda¥500Free8:30–17:00 (last 16:30)
Tokugawa mausoleum¥200Free9:00–16:30 (last 16:10)
Jukai precept ceremony¥1,000¥1,0009:00 / 10:00 / 11:00 / 13:00 / 14:00 / 15:00 / 16:00
Combination ticket¥2,500 (all five)Not sold
Reihokan museum¥1,300 adult / ¥800 student¥6009:00–17:00 (last 16:30)
NyonindoFreeFree9:00–16:30
Torodo, OkunoinFreeFree6:00–17:00

Which ones do most visitors actually pay for?

Kongobuji and the Danjo Garan pair — the Kondo and the Konpon Daito — account for most of it. The Tokugawa mausoleum at ¥200 is the cheapest thing on the mountain and the one people skip. Preschool children are free everywhere, and elementary children are free at everything except Kongobuji itself.

What are the cut-off times, as opposed to the closing times?

They are not the same, and the gap is where people get caught. Kongobuji, the Kondo and the Konpon Daito all close at 17:00 but stop admitting at 16:30. The Tokugawa mausoleum closes at 16:30 and stops admitting at 16:10 — a twenty-minute window that is easy to lose if you are working down the list in order. The Reihokan museum closes at 17:00 with reception ending thirty minutes before. Plan the last hall of the day as if everything shuts at 16:10 and you will not be turned away.

Are children free?

Preschool children are free everywhere. Elementary children are free at the Kondo, the Konpon Daito and the Tokugawa mausoleum, and pay ¥300 at Kongobuji — the only hall that charges them. The Reihokan museum runs its own scale at ¥600 for elementary and junior high students and ¥800 for high school and university students. One thing to note if you are traveling as a family: the combination ticket is not sold for elementary children at all, so an adult buying the combination still buys the child’s halls individually.

The Koyasan combination ticket: when it saves money and when it does not

This is the one calculation worth doing before you reach the ticket window.

What does the combination ticket actually cover?

Five things: Kongobuji, the Kondo, the Konpon Daito, the Tokugawa mausoleum and the jukai precept ceremony. The official list names them and gives the price — ¥2,500, junior high students and above, not sold for elementary children — and leaves the comparison to you.

So is it cheaper?

Only if you take the precept ceremony.
Four halls separately: 1,000 + 500 + 500 + 200 = ¥2,200.
Combination ticket: ¥2,500. That is ¥300 worse.
Add the jukai ceremony at ¥1,000 and separate tickets become ¥3,200, against ¥2,500 — now the combination saves ¥700.
Decide about the ceremony first. The ticket follows from that, not the other way around.

What is the jukai ceremony, in practice?

A Buddhist precept ceremony held at set times through the day — 9:00, 10:00, 11:00, 13:00, 14:00, 15:00 and 16:00 — at ¥1,000 for everyone, with no child rate. It is the item that makes the combination ticket work, so if you are undecided, note that choosing it costs you nothing extra once the combination ticket is bought.

Are there group or accessibility discounts?

Yes. Group discounts apply at Kongobuji, the Kondo, the Konpon Daito and the Tokugawa mausoleum: 10% off for 20 or more, 20% for 50 or more, 30% for 100 or more. Visitors presenting a disability certificate are admitted free along with one helper — though the temple notes this exemption does not extend to the jukai ceremony. The Reihokan museum runs its own scheme, ¥100 off per person for groups of 20 or more.

What Koyasan costs nothing to see

The mountain is not a single paid attraction. Walking the Danjo Garan precinct and the Okunoin approach is free; the charge is for going inside the buildings. Two free places are worth planning around.

What is the Nyonindo, and why does it matter?

It is the surviving women’s hall from the era when women were not permitted onto the mountain proper — they stopped, and worshipped, here. Admission is free and it is open 9:00 to 16:30. For a place whose history is usually told through monks and emperors, it is the building that tells the other half.

Why does the Torodo opening at 6:00 change your day?

Because nothing else is open. The Torodo, the hall of lamps at the end of the Okunoin approach, runs 6:00 to 17:00, with underground worship at the Chika Hojo from 6:00 to 16:45. The ticketed halls do not open until 8:30. Walking the cedar-lined approach at six in the morning, before the coaches, is free and is the best-timed hour available on this mountain.

A Kongobuji monk explains the etiquette of the Okunoin approach. Even without Japanese, watching where he stops, bows and washes tells you more about how to behave here than any written list of rules.

When can I be inside the Torodo after dark?

Three published windows a year: January 1 from around midnight to 2:00, August 13 from 19:00 to 21:00 for the Mando Kuyoe memorial, and October 1 to 3 from 19:00 to 21:00 for the Mantoe lantern festival. Outside those, the hall shuts at 17:00.

Do the Okunoin reception hours change with the season?

Yes, and this one is easy to miss because the Torodo itself does not change. The Gokusho, the reception hall where memorial services and sutra scrolls are handled, runs 8:00 to 17:00 from May through October and 8:30 to 16:30 from November through April. So in winter the paperwork side of Okunoin shuts half an hour before the lamps do. If you are coming specifically to arrange a memorial or collect a goshuin, work to the Gokusho hours, not the Torodo ones.

Can I take part in something rather than just look?

Sutra copying at the Daishi Kyokai costs ¥1,500, which covers one Heart Sutra sheet, a brush pen carrying Kongobuji’s name and a Koyasan sutra-copying manual. Come back another time with that pen and it drops to ¥1,100. Memorial services and prayers at Okunoin are received 8:30 to 16:30 with no reservation, and sutra chanting begins at 9:00, 10:20, 11:30, 12:40, 13:40 and 14:40.

Getting to Koyasan, and why your rail pass will not work

Does the Japan Rail Pass cover Koyasan?

No. Koyasan is reached on the Nankai Koya Line from Osaka, and Nankai is a private railway. A JR pass buys you nothing on this leg. Our rail pass guide goes through where the pass stops being worth it; this is one of those places.

What does Nankai sell instead?

The Koyasan World Heritage Ticket, which bundles three things: a return train ticket to Koyasan Station with a limited express ticket for the outbound leg, a two-day pass for the Nankai Rinkan buses on the mountain, and discount coupons for Kongobuji, the Kondo, the Konpon Daito and the Reihokan museum. One catch worth reading twice: the bus pass excludes the Tatsuri, Koya-Ryujin and Kyoto-Koyasan lines.

Where does Koyasan fit in a wider trip?

It works as an overnight from Osaka or Kyoto rather than a rushed day trip, and it pairs naturally with Nara — see our Todaiji guide for that side of the Kansai temple circuit. If you are still shaping the route, the ten-day itinerary and our Kyoto duration guide both deal with where the extra night comes from, and Osaka to Kyoto covers the stretch you will be doubling back along.

Closures at Koyasan: check before you go

Which hall is shut this September?

The Kondo, all day on Monday, September 14, 2026. The temple has announced the closure for preparation work connected with the Miyashiro transfer rite. Other halls run normally that day — but if you are holding a combination ticket, the Kondo portion of it is unusable, and the temple says so explicitly.

How reliable are these notices?

More reliable than most, and here is why we say that: the September 14 notice is a reissue. The temple’s first version had the wrong day of the week, and rather than quietly editing it, Koyasan published a correction saying what the error was and apologizing for it. A few days earlier it did the same in the other direction, announcing that the Konpon Daito would reopen on September 7 after a planned tatami replacement was rescheduled. Both notices are dated and both name the ticket-window phone number.

What about the new year period?

The hours in the table above do not apply. Kongobuji publishes a separate hall-by-hall timetable for the new year period as its own document, rather than folding the dates into the standard price list — which tells you the differences are substantial enough to need their own sheet. The one figure we can give you from the main list is the Torodo, which reopens from around midnight to 2:00 on January 1. For everything else over that week, read the temple’s new year timetable rather than assuming the usual 8:30 opening holds.

What should I do about it?

Read the temple’s news page in the week before you travel. Halls here close for ritual preparation rather than for maintenance seasons, which means the dates are not predictable from a calendar — but they are always posted.

Koyasan FAQ

How much does it cost to visit Koyasan’s temples?
Each hall charges its own admission. Kongobuji is 1,000 yen for junior high students and above, the Kondo 500, the Konpon Daito pagoda 500, and the Tokugawa mausoleum 200. Preschool children are free everywhere and elementary students are free at the Kondo, the pagoda and the mausoleum. The Reihokan museum is separate again at 1,300 yen for adults.
Is the 2,500 yen combination ticket worth buying?
Only if you take the precept ceremony. The four halls bought individually come to 2,200 yen, so a 2,500 yen combination ticket is 300 yen more expensive. The fifth thing it covers is the jukai precept ceremony, which is 1,000 yen on its own – include that and individual tickets would be 3,200 yen, so the combination saves you 700. The official price list states the five items but does not do this arithmetic for you.
What can I see at Koyasan without paying anything?
More than you would expect. The Nyonindo, the last surviving women’s hall from the era when women were barred from the mountain, is free and open 9:00 to 16:30. The Okunoin approach and the Torodo hall of lamps carry no admission either – the Torodo opens at 6:00, earlier than anything else on the mountain. You can walk the Danjo Garan precinct itself without a ticket; the charge is for going inside the buildings.
What time does Okunoin open?
The Torodo, the hall of lamps at the end of the Okunoin approach, opens at 6:00 and closes at 17:00. Underground worship at the Chika Hojo runs 6:00 to 16:45. The Gokusho reception where you arrange memorial services and copy sutras keeps different hours by season – 8:00 to 17:00 from May through October, 8:30 to 16:30 from November through April. Memorial and prayer reception is 8:30 to 16:30 and needs no reservation.
Is the Kondo ever closed?
Yes, and there is a closure coming. The temple has announced that on Monday, September 14, 2026 the Kondo at the Danjo Garan will be shut all day for preparation work connected with the Miyashiro transfer rite. Other halls stay open as normal that day, but if you are holding a combination ticket the Kondo portion is unusable. Koyasan publishes these on its news page, and it corrected an earlier version of this notice that had the wrong day of the week.
Does the Japan Rail Pass get me to Koyasan?
No. The mountain is reached on the Nankai Koya Line from Osaka, which is a private railway, so a JR pass does not cover it. Nankai sells its own Koyasan World Heritage Ticket bundling a return train ride, a two-day pass for the Nankai Rinkan buses on the mountain, and discount coupons for Kongobuji, the Kondo, the Konpon Daito and the Reihokan museum. Note the bus pass excludes the Tatsuri, Koya-Ryujin and Kyoto-Koyasan lines.
Can I copy a sutra at Koyasan, and what does it cost?
Yes, at the Daishi Kyokai. The offering fee is 1,500 yen and includes one Heart Sutra sheet, a brush pen with Kongobuji’s name on it, and a Koyasan sutra-copying manual. If you come back another time and bring the brush pen with you, it drops to 1,100 yen, which covers the offering and the paper. No reservation is described as necessary.
When does the Torodo open outside normal hours?
Three times a year, and they are worth planning around. The hall reopens from around midnight to 2:00 on January 1, from 19:00 to 21:00 on August 13 for the Mando Kuyoe memorial, and from 19:00 to 21:00 on October 1 to 3 for the Mantoe lantern festival. These are the only published windows when you can be inside the Torodo after dark.
Check Koyasan tickets and tours →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.

Bottom line (2026) — Koyasan’s ¥2,500 combination ticket only beats buying separately if you take the ¥1,000 jukai ceremony: four halls alone come to ¥2,200. The Nyonindo and the Torodo at Okunoin are free, and the Torodo opens at 6:00, well before the ticketed halls at 8:30. A Japan Rail Pass does not cover the Nankai line here. The Kondo is closed all day on September 14, 2026.

Sources & what we deliberately did not state

Prices, hours and ceremony times come from the official Kongobuji combined price list; the closure and reopening notices come from the temple’s own news posts, both dated September 7, 2026; the World Heritage Ticket contents come from Nankai Electric Railway. All read on September 7, 2026. Halls close at short notice here — check the temple’s news page before you travel.

Deliberately not stated: the price of the Nankai World Heritage Ticket and of a night in a temple lodging, because neither figure appears on the official pages we read; the journey time from Osaka, for the same reason; and the number of graves along the Okunoin approach — a figure repeated confidently across English guides with no official source behind it. We would rather leave a gap than fill it from memory.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC