Strawberry Picking in Japan (2026-27): 9 Farms and Prices

Plastic packs of red Tochiotome strawberries in blue baskets on black crates
Guide·October 13, 2026·17 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Strawberry picking (ichigo-gari) in Japan means paying an entry fee to eat as many strawberries as you can in a greenhouse, within a time limit. The season runs from about December to May. Before you plan, know four things: the time limit varies from 30 minutes to none; several farms are booking-only; many take cash only on the day; and in October 2026 only one farm in this guide has posted next season’s prices.

Below are nine farms with official pages: six reachable on a day trip from Tokyo and three near Kyoto. For more ideas, see our day trips from Tokyo.

See strawberry picking tours on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every farm’s dates, prices, rules and access below are from the farm’s own website or an official tourism association page, read on October 7, 2026. We have not visited. Deliberately not stated: 2026-27 prices that the farms have not yet published, train and taxi fares, and farms whose prices we could not find on an official page. Prices are labeled with the season they come from.
TOC

The 9 strawberry farms in Japan at a glance

Plastic packs of red Tochiotome strawberries in blue baskets on black crates
Packs of Tochiotome strawberries for sale in Japan, not from one of the farms in this guide. Photo: Ryohei Noda (CC BY 4.0)
FarmAreaAdult priceTime limitBooking
KawatsuraChiba2,500–1,500 yen (2026)Until berries run outNot needed
Ichigo no SatoTochigi (Oyama)2,640–2,750 yen (2025-26)40 minRequired
YoshimuraTochigi (Mashiko)2,500 yen (2024-25 listing)No limitNot needed
EmaShizuoka (Izu)2,500–2,000 yen (2026-27)30 minNot needed
TokinosumikaShizuoka (Gotemba)2,860–2,090 yen (2025-26)30 minPhone or online
UeharaKanagawa (Kawasaki)3,000 yen (2026)30 minRequired
Osazen Kyoto FarmKyoto (Yawata)3,200–2,500 yen45 minRequired
Osazen Biwako FarmShiga (Moriyama)Same as Kyoto Farm45 minRequired
Berry Farm UjiKyoto (Uji)2,800–2,400 yen30 minRequired

From each farm’s official site, read October 7, 2026. Prices fall later in the season; the year in brackets is the season the farm’s price list is for.

When is strawberry picking season in Japan?

Which months are the peak?

The Kanagawa tourism association puts the peak at January to March, with some farms open from December to around May. Prices follow the season: every farm here charges most early in the season and less from April. If you are traveling in spring, our Japan in March guide covers the rest of the month.

When do farms open for 2026-27?

Farm2026-27 opening (official)
Ema (Izu)December 19, 2026 to May 5, 2027
Tokinosumika (Gotemba)December 2026 (date not yet given)
Kawatsura (Chiba)Around January 5, 2027 (English page); around January 10 in its usual Japanese wording
Uehara (Kawasaki)Mid-January to end of May (planned), Wednesdays and weekends
Osazen (Kyoto and Shiga)November to mid-June each year; 2026-27 date not yet given
Ichigo no Sato, Yoshimura, Berry Farm UjiNot yet given

Official sites, read October 7, 2026.

Should I avoid weekends and holidays?

Several farms charge more on weekends, and berries can run out early on busy days at farms that close when the ripe fruit is gone. Our Japan holiday and crowd calendar shows which dates are national holidays.

Strawberry farms near Tokyo

A potted Fukuba strawberry plant with small red berries and a name sign
A Fukuba strawberry plant on display at Shinjuku Gyoen in Tokyo. This is a garden exhibit, not one of the farms in this guide.

Kawatsura Strawberry Farm (Chiba): no booking, ends when berries run out

In Sammu, Chiba, about 10 minutes by taxi from JR Naruto Station, with an English page. It opens at 10 a.m. and closes at 2:30 p.m. through February and 3:30 p.m. from March, or earlier when the day’s ripe berries are gone. There is no stated time limit. The local Naruto strawberry association notes that some farms in the area take walk-ins in arrival order and some also use bookings. Individuals do not need to book; groups of 20 or more book by email. Under the 2026 price list in Japanese, adults paid 2,500 yen until March 22, 2,000 yen to April 5 and 1,500 yen after; elementary children and seniors 65 and over paid 2,200, 1,700 and 1,200 yen.

Use the Japanese price list. Kawatsura’s English page shows 2,500 yen for children and seniors in the early period; the Japanese page shows 2,200 yen, and the owner has posted an apology for not updating the English page.

Condensed milk is no longer free; it is sold at the desk, 5 portions for 100 yen. Berries may not leave the greenhouse, high heels are not allowed, and children cannot enter without an adult.

Ichigo no Sato (Tochigi): booking-only, 40 minutes

A large farm park in Oyama, Tochigi, about 35 minutes by community bus from Oyama Station. Picking is booking-only, online or by phone, with 40 minutes of all-you-can-eat on the Tochiaika and Skyberry plan, or 60 minutes on the five-variety Deluxe plan. Its 2025-26 prices were 2,640 yen on weekdays and 2,750 yen at weekends for elementary age and up, in cash, to April 5, or 2,380 and 2,480 yen if you prepay online by card. On the day, it takes cash only. Strollers and wheelchairs stop at the greenhouse door because the paths are narrow; the strawberries are grown in soil rather than on raised beds. A free seasonal shuttle bus ran last season and ended on March 29, 2026. It has not given its 2026-27 dates yet.

Check the web address. Ichigo no Sato’s official site is itigo.co.jp. A similar-looking address, ichigonosato.net, has nothing to do with the farm.

Yoshimura Strawberry Park (Tochigi): no time limit, English site

In Mashiko, Tochigi, a 4 to 5 minute walk from Kitayama Station on the Moka Railway, with an English website. It says there is no time limit and no booking needed: you can just show up during opening hours. Its site still shows the 2024-25 season, at 2,500 yen for ages 12 and over and 1,500 yen for ages 3 to 11, and says prices may change slightly each year. On the day it takes cash only. The farm says it is barrier-free, with room for strollers and wheelchairs. Mashiko is on the way to Nikko; see our things to do in Nikko.

Ema Strawberry Picking Center (Izu): 2026-27 prices out, 30 minutes

In Izunokuni, near Izu-Nagaoka Onsen. It is the only farm here with 2026-27 prices: open December 19, 2026 to May 5, 2027, every day, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on weekdays and from 9 a.m. at weekends and holidays. You get 30 minutes of Akihime or Beni Hoppe, with condensed milk and a cup included. Adults (junior high and up) pay 2,500 yen to March 31 and 2,000 yen from April 1; children aged 3 to 12 pay 2,200 and 1,700 yen; under 3 is free. Individuals need no booking; online booking, planned from December, costs 100 yen more and guarantees entry, card payment only. You cannot ask for a particular greenhouse, and strollers are not allowed inside. You can ask for more condensed milk, and you may bring your own.

Tokinosumika (Gotemba): free shuttle, 30 minutes

On the Tokinosumika resort grounds in Gotemba, reached by the resort’s free shuttle bus from Gotemba Station or Mishima Station’s north exit, with no booking needed for the bus. Picking runs 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. (last entry 3 p.m.) with 30 minutes of all-you-can-eat, condensed milk included. Its 2025 season prices for adults fell from 2,860 yen in December to 2,090 yen in late May, tax included. Book by phone or online; the next season starts in December 2026. Strollers and manual wheelchairs can go in, but there is no multipurpose toilet. For the area, see our things to do in Hakone.

Uehara Strawberry Farm (Kawasaki): near Tokyo, booking-only

The closest farm to central Tokyo in this guide: about 6 minutes on foot from Inadazutsumi Station on the JR Nambu Line. It opens from mid-January to the end of May (planned), on Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays only, with 30 minutes of picking. The 2026 prices were 3,000 yen for adults, 2,500 yen for elementary children and 1,500 yen for ages 3 to preschool, plus 500 yen for an adult who comes along without picking. It is booking-only, opened month by month on its calendar, and cash only. There is no parking. Our Tokyo to Yokohama guide covers the same side of the city.

Strawberry farms near Kyoto and Osaka

Osazen Kyoto Farm and Biwako Farm: 45 minutes, booking-only

Osazen runs two farms with the same prices and rules: the Kyoto Farm in Yawata, reached by Keihan bus from Yawatashi Station and a 5-minute walk, and the Biwako Farm in Moriyama, Shiga, which grows Shiga’s own Mioshizuku variety. Both open from November to mid-June each year, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. (last entry 2 p.m.), with 45 minutes of picking.

Osazen priceOpening to Apr 10Apr 11 to May 10May 11 to close
Adult (junior high +)3,200 yen3,000 yen2,500 yen
Child (3 to elementary)2,300 yen2,100 yen1,600 yen
Age 1–2600 yen600 yen600 yen

Official Osazen price page, read October 7, 2026; the page does not state a season year.

Picking is booking-only, opened about a month ahead once the farm has checked the berries. Canceling the day before costs 50 percent and on the day or a no-show 100 percent. It takes cash or card, but not e-money or QR payments. The paths are about 80 cm wide, so strollers and wheelchairs fit, though there is no wheelchair toilet. Our Osaka to Kyoto guide covers the Keihan line.

Berry Farm Uji: booking-only, 30 minutes

In Uji, south of Kyoto. Picking is booking-only, up to two days ahead and up to 10 people per booking, with 30 minutes of all-you-can-eat. Its price chart, tax included but without a season year, lists 2,800 yen for adults to April 10, 2,600 yen to May 10 and 2,400 yen to the end of the season. Bags may not be taken into the greenhouse, and the only topping you may bring is condensed milk. Last season it opened late, saying the summer heat had weakened its plants; it has not yet given 2026-27 dates. If you come by car, the booking form asks you to enter the number of cars.

Which strawberry farm in Japan should I choose?

Close-up of red strawberries behind a clear pack printed with the Japanese name Tochiotome
Tochiotome strawberries seen through their pack. Not from one of the farms in this guide. Photo: Tamaki Sono (CC BY 2.0)

Which farm fits my plans?

If you wantFarms
To turn up without bookingKawatsura, Yoshimura, Ema
The shortest trip from central TokyoUehara (Kawasaki)
An English websiteKawatsura, Yoshimura, Tokinosumika
A free shuttle from the stationTokinosumika
No time limitYoshimura; Kawatsura until the berries run out
To pay by card on the dayOsazen
A farm near KyotoOsazen Kyoto Farm, Berry Farm Uji, Osazen Biwako Farm

From each farm’s official site, read October 7, 2026.

The Kanagawa tourism association adds that some farms take bookings only and some need a parking reservation, so check before you set out. Yoshimura’s English site notes that the season can start a few weeks to a month earlier in the west and south of Japan.

Which strawberry varieties will I taste?

FarmVarieties named on its site
Kawatsura5 to 8 a year, including Fusanoka and Akihime
Ichigo no SatoTochiaika and Skyberry; Deluxe adds Tochiotome, Tochihime and Milky Berry
YoshimuraTochiotome, Skyberry, Kaorino, Benihoppe, Akihime, Moikko
EmaAkihime or Beni Hoppe (one per visit)
TokinosumikaBeni Hoppe, Akihime
UeharaYotsuboshi, Beni Hoppe (can change by year)
OsazenAkihime and Beni Hoppe; Biwako Farm also grows Mioshizuku

From each farm’s official site, read October 7, 2026. Farms rotate varieties by season.

Tochigi farms grow the prefecture’s own varieties, such as Tochiotome, Tochiaika and Skyberry, while the Shizuoka and Kyoto farms here lean on Akihime and Beni Hoppe. At Ema you pick from one of the two on the day, not both.

How strawberry picking works in Japan

A person picking ripe strawberries into a small bowl inside a plastic greenhouse
Picking ripe strawberries into a bowl in a plastic greenhouse. The location is not stated, and this is not one of the farms in this guide. Photo: Shixart1985 (CC BY 2.0)

What is included in the price?

An entry fee that covers eating as many strawberries as you like in the greenhouse for the time allowed. Some farms include condensed milk and a cup, as Ema and Tokinosumika do; others sell it, as Kawatsura does, or let you bring your own, as Ichigo no Sato and Osazen do.

Can I take strawberries home?

Not from the greenhouse at the farms that state a rule here: Kawatsura, Ichigo no Sato, Ema, Tokinosumika, Osazen and Berry Farm Uji all say picked berries stay inside. Ichigo no Sato points visitors to its shop to buy boxes.

Do I need cash?

Bring yen. Yoshimura, Uehara and Ichigo no Sato take cash only on the day; Ichigo no Sato accepts cards only for online prepayment, and Ema only for online booking. Osazen takes cards but not e-money or QR codes.

Can I go with children or a stroller?

Children are welcome, with child prices at every farm, but Kawatsura and Tokinosumika do not admit children without an adult. Strollers can go in at Yoshimura, Tokinosumika and Osazen, but not at Ema or inside the greenhouses at Ichigo no Sato.

Frequently asked questions

When is strawberry picking season in Japan?
Roughly December to May. The Kanagawa tourism association calls January to March the peak, with some farms open from December to around May. Each farm sets its own dates; Ema in Izu opens December 19, 2026, and Kawatsura in Chiba around early January 2027.
How much does strawberry picking cost in Japan?
Among the nine farms here, adult prices run from about 1,500 to 3,200 yen, highest early in the season and falling in April and May. Most farms have not yet posted 2026-27 prices; the figures here say which season they are from.
Is strawberry picking all-you-can-eat?
Yes, at every farm in this guide, but the time limit differs: 30 minutes at several farms, 40 at Ichigo no Sato, 45 at Osazen, and no stated limit at Yoshimura and Kawatsura, which close when the ripe berries run out.
Do I need to book strawberry picking?
It depends on the farm. Ichigo no Sato, Uehara, Osazen and Berry Farm Uji take bookings only. Kawatsura, Yoshimura and Ema accept individual visitors without a booking.
Can I take strawberries home?
Not from the greenhouse at most farms in this guide; the farms that state a rule say picked berries stay inside. Some sell boxes at their shop.
Can I pay by card at strawberry farms in Japan?
Often not on the day. Yoshimura, Uehara and Ichigo no Sato take cash on the day, though Ichigo no Sato accepts cards for online prepayment. Osazen takes cash or card but not e-money or QR payments.
Which strawberry farms are near Kyoto?
Osazen Kyoto Farm in Yawata and Berry Farm Uji are in Kyoto Prefecture, and Osazen’s Biwako Farm is in Moriyama, Shiga. All three take bookings only.
Are strawberry farms stroller or wheelchair friendly?
Some are. Yoshimura, Tokinosumika and Osazen say strollers and wheelchairs can go in. Ichigo no Sato and Ema do not allow strollers inside the greenhouses.

Bottom line (2026-27): Strawberry picking in Japan runs from about December to May, peaking January to March. Adults pay roughly 1,500 to 3,200 yen, time limits run from 30 minutes to none, and several farms are booking-only and cash-only. Ema in Izu opens December 19, 2026.

Sources

Every fact on this page is from the farms’ own pages: Kawatsura Strawberry Farm (Japanese prices), Ichigo no Sato (FAQ), Yoshimura Strawberry Park, Ema Strawberry Picking Center (prices), Tokinosumika (Japanese), Uehara Strawberry Farm, Osazen (FAQ, Biwako Farm) and Berry Farm Uji; and the Kanagawa tourism association for the season. All were read on October 7, 2026. Farms change prices each season; confirm on the farm’s site before you go.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC