Kinkakuji: The Golden Pavilion Rules Nobody Tells You

Guide·September 12, 2026·20 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

The most photographed building in Kyoto asks you not to publish your photographs of it.

That is not a provocation, it is what the temple writes on its own FAQ page. Photography at Kinkakuji is permitted “as snapshots with a small camera, within the range of personal enjoyment” — and shooting for the purpose of publishing to third parties, social media included, is declined. So is anything commercial, along with group photos, video streaming and drones. Nobody is confiscating your phone at the gate. But the policy exists, it is stated in plain Japanese, and almost no English guide mentions it.

This guide is the rest of what is written down and rarely translated: the fee that has no group discount, the car park that opens twenty minutes before the temple does, the pet rule that bans holding your dog, and the step-free route that ends in a staircase.

Honto check: Every fee, time, route and rule below was read in Japanese off the official Rokuonji (Kinkakuji) website — its access page, FAQ page, grounds guide and notices — on September 8, 2026. Deliberately not stated: special-viewing dates and prices, because the temple says only that they may differ and gives no figures; the best time of day to avoid crowds, because the temple publishes nothing on crowding and we will not guess; how long a visit takes, for the same reason; the price of a goshuin seal; and whether the pavilion carries National Treasure status, because we verified the garden designations only.
Our 63-second version of this guide.
TOC

Kinkakuji tickets, hours and the discount that does not exist

ItemOfficial
Adults (high school and above)500 yen
Elementary and junior high300 yen
Group discountNone — no reduction by numbers; parties of 30+ enter as a group
Hours9:00 – 17:00
ClosedNever — open all year
Reduced admissionDisability or rehabilitation certificate holders; show the original on the day, or apply in advance by reply-paid postcard
Special viewingsHours and fees may differ

Why does 30 people matter if there is no discount?

Because it is an entry instruction, not a price. The temple says in one place that there is no discount based on numbers, and in another that groups of 30 or more should come in as a group. Both are true at once: you pay 500 yen each either way, and the temple simply wants a large party moving through one channel rather than thirty individuals at the counter. If you booked a tour expecting a group rate, there is not one.

What is the reduced-admission process?

Holders of a disability certificate or rehabilitation certificate can have the fee reduced. You either show the original document on the day, or apply ahead by reply-paid postcard — and the temple lists nine items the application must carry, from the school or facility seal down to the number of accompanying staff. It is a paper process in 2026, and for school groups the temple says the postcard makes reception noticeably smoother.

The Kinkakuji photography rule almost nobody translates

What the temple actually writes. Photography and video inside the grounds are permitted only as snapshots with a small camera, within the range of personal enjoyment. Shooting for the purpose of publication to third parties, including social media, and shooting for commercial purposes, are declined. Group photographs, video streaming and drone flights are prohibited.

So is my holiday photo against the rules?

A snapshot you keep is explicitly fine — that is the case the policy is written to allow. What the temple declines is shooting in order to publish. The distinction it draws is about purpose rather than equipment, which is why a phone in your pocket is not the issue and a planned shoot is. Whether you feel bound by that is your call; our job is to tell you it is written down, because the number of English pages that repeat “great photo spot” without mentioning it is remarkable.

What is definitely not allowed?

Drones. Video streaming. Group photographs. And, separately, interviewing visitors inside the grounds — the temple has a whole FAQ entry declining that, which tells you it has happened enough to need one. Photographers accompanying school trips are the one exception, and they must apply in advance by posting a form to the temple.

Does this change how I should plan the visit?

Only in that it reframes what the visit is for. Kinkakuji is small, the route is one-way and short, and the pavilion is visible across a pond from a fixed set of angles. Once you stop planning it as a photo shoot, an hour is plenty, and it fits neatly into a wider day — see our guide to how many days Kyoto needs for where it sits in a realistic itinerary.

Getting to Kinkakuji, and the car park hours nobody checks

Which bus do I take?

Kyoto City Bus to Kinkakuji-michi. The temple lists routes 12, 59, 205 and M1, plus two specific transfers it evidently gets asked about: from Ginkakuji, take route 204 from Ginkakuji-michi; from Shokokuji, route 59 from Karasuma-Imadegawa or Doshisha-mae. Note what is missing from that list — a train station. Kinkakuji is a bus destination, and the official access page treats it as one.

What does parking cost?

VehicleFirst 60 minEach 30 min after
Car400 yen200 yen
Microbus / jumbo taxi600 yen300 yen
Coach1,300 yen650 yen
Motorbike200 yen100 yen

There are 250 spaces across three car parks, and the hours are the detail worth holding on to: 8:40 to 17:10. That is twenty minutes wider than the temple at both ends, deliberately, so that a car arriving for opening and a car leaving at closing both work. Staff on the approach road direct you to whichever car park is taking vehicles.

Can I check the weather before I go?

You can check something better than a forecast: the temple runs a live camera that publishes an image of Kinkakuji every three minutes. It exists because people kept asking when the snow settles, and the temple’s answer is essentially “we are not a weather service, but here is the actual view right now.” For the one shot people travel to Kyoto in January hoping for — gold under fresh snow — a three-minute-old photograph of the real thing beats any forecast.

Is it worth driving at all?

For most visitors, no — Kyoto is a city where the bus network beats a car and the parking maths above shows why. Two hours in a car park is 800 yen, which is more than two adult admissions. If you are moving between Kyoto and elsewhere, our Tokyo to Kyoto guide covers the routes in, and Kurama is the counterexample: a part of Kyoto where getting out of the center genuinely pays.

Accessibility, pets and luggage at Kinkakuji

How far can a wheelchair go?

All the way to right beside the golden pavilion, without any significant step. That is further than most people assume, and the temple states it plainly. What it also states, just as plainly, is that the garden has no barrier-free provision, because it is roughly 600 years old and is being preserved as it is.

The route dead-ends. Past the pavilion there are stairs. Wheelchair users, people with difficulty walking, and anyone with a stroller are asked to turn back at the foot of those stairs and leave via the entrance rather than completing the loop. Plan the visit as an out-and-back, not a circuit. Wheelchairs are lent out and an accessible toilet is available — but the loan cannot be reserved; you ask on arrival and take what is free.

Can I bring a pet?

Service dogs come in with you, no conditions attached. Beyond that the rule is narrow and specific: only small dogs and cats, only in a cage or carrier, with the head and body kept inside. Carrying the animal in your arms or in a sling is not accepted, and the temple pre-empts the obvious workaround by saying you may not lift it out briefly for a photograph either. Anything bigger, or anything that is not a dog or a cat, cannot come in.

Where do I put my bag?

Nowhere. The temple states there is no luggage storage and no lockers, and directs you to station facilities instead. In the same breath it adds that there is nowhere in the garden to eat a packed lunch. Kyoto Station and the larger subway stations have coin lockers; arriving at Kinkakuji with a suitcase is a planning error rather than a problem the temple will solve. If you are visiting in a rented kimono, our kimono rental guide covers where the shops hold your things while you are out.

What you are actually looking at

Thirty minutes of Japanese commentary on one building sounds excessive until you realise how much of Kinkakuji is invisible from the viewing path. This walk-through goes through the three floors, the phoenix and Yoshimitsu’s reasons for building it — useful before you go, because from where visitors stand you can see the gold but not the joins.

What is the pavilion made of?

The second and third floors are covered in genuine gold leaf laid over lacquer. The roof is kokera-buki — thin sawara cypress shingles layered many deep — and a phoenix stands on top. Each floor is a different architectural style: the first is shinden-zukuri and called Hossui-in, the second is buke-zukuri and called Choon-do, and the third is Chinese-style Zen hall architecture, called Kukkyocho. The current gold and lacquer date from the restoration of autumn 1987, which also restored the ceiling paintings and the statue of Yoshimitsu.

How big is the garden?

The grounds run to about 132,000 square meters, of which 92,400 are designated both a Special Historic Site and a Special Place of Scenic Beauty. The pond at the center, Kyokochi, is around 6,600 square meters and holds islands including Ashiharajima along with named rocks placed deliberately. The famous reflection is a designed effect, not a happy accident.

What is worth stopping for besides the gold?

The Ryumon waterfall, a 2.3-meter single drop with a carp stone set at an angle in the basin, referencing the Chinese story of the carp that climbs the falls and becomes a dragon. Sekkatei, a three-mat tea house built by the tea master Kanamori Sowa, named for the fact that the pavilion looks best in the evening light. And an ichiigashi oak designated a Kyoto City natural monument on June 1, 1983 — rare enough around Kyoto now to be protected individually.

What is the kuri, and why does it matter?

The kuri is the temple kitchen and living quarters, built in the style particular to Zen temples, and the temple dates the building to the Meio and Bunki eras, 1492 to 1504. It is also where the sutra-copying hall sits — which is why the plain-looking structure most visitors walk straight past is the one building here you can actually go inside and use. The bell tower is older still: the temple says the bell came from the Saionji family and is held to have been cast in the Kamakura period, tuned to a pitch used as a reference note.

Is there anything to do rather than look at?

Yes: the sutra-copying hall inside the kuri reopened in April 2023. You choose from three different sutra texts, copy it out, and the finished sheet is dedicated to the temple, where it is prayed over. The temple notes it may close at short notice for services. It is the one part of a Kinkakuji visit that is not spectating — and if you want more of that register, a matcha experience in Kyoto is the natural pairing.

Kinkakuji FAQ

How much does Kinkakuji cost?
500 yen for adults, counted from high school age upward, and 300 yen for elementary and junior high students. There is no group discount – the temple states plainly that there is no reduction based on numbers – although parties of 30 or more are asked to enter as a group, which is about flow rather than price. Prices can differ during special viewings.
What are the opening hours?
Nine in the morning to five in the afternoon, open every day of the year. The temple lists no closing days at all. Hours can change during special viewing periods, which is the one caveat the temple attaches to both its hours and its prices.
Can I post photos of Kinkakuji on social media?
The temple asks you not to. Photography is permitted only as snapshots with a small camera, for personal enjoyment. Shooting for the purpose of publishing to third parties – the temple names social media specifically – and any commercial shooting are declined. Group photos, video streaming and drone flights are prohibited outright. This is on the temple’s own FAQ page and is very rarely mentioned in English coverage.
Is Kinkakuji wheelchair accessible?
Partly, and the shape of it matters. You can reach the spot right beside the golden pavilion itself without any significant step. Past that point there are stairs, and the temple states it has no barrier-free provision because the garden is roughly 600 years old and is being preserved. Wheelchair and stroller users go as far as the stairs, turn back, and leave through the entrance. Wheelchairs are lent out, but cannot be reserved.
Can I bring my dog?
Service dogs enter normally. Small dogs and cats are allowed only inside a cage or carrier, with the head and body kept inside – and the temple specifically rules out taking the animal out briefly for a photograph. Carrying a pet in your arms or in a sling is not accepted. Anything other than a small dog or cat cannot come in at all.
Is there parking, and what does it cost?
Yes – three car parks totalling 250 spaces, open 8:40 to 17:10, which is twenty minutes either side of the temple’s own hours. A car is 400 yen for the first hour and 200 yen per 30 minutes after that. Motorbikes are 200 then 100. A coach is 1,300 then 650. Staff on the approach road direct you to whichever car park is open.
Can I leave my bags somewhere?
No. The temple states there is nowhere to leave luggage and no lockers, and suggests using facilities at a station instead. In the same section it also says there is nowhere in the garden to eat a packed lunch. Both are worth knowing before you arrive with a suitcase and a bento.
How do I get there by bus?
Kyoto City Bus to the Kinkakuji-michi stop, served by routes 12, 59, 205 and M1. Coming from Ginkakuji, take route 204 from Ginkakuji-michi. Coming from Shokokuji, route 59 from either Karasuma-Imadegawa or Doshisha-mae. The temple’s own access page lists these routes rather than a station, because there is no convenient one.
Check Kyoto tours, passes and experiences →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.

Bottom line (as of September 8, 2026)Kinkakuji is 500 yen for adults, 300 for younger students, 9:00 to 17:00, open every day, with no group discount. Parking runs 8:40 to 17:10 at 400 yen for the first hour. There is no luggage storage, the step-free route ends at a staircase and turns back, and the temple permits photography for personal enjoyment only — publishing to third parties, social media included, is declined.

Sources & what we deliberately did not state

Fees, hours, bus routes, parking rates and capacity, the pet and photography policies, the accessibility route and the luggage answer all come from the official Rokuonji (Kinkakuji) website — the access page, the FAQ, the grounds guide and the temple notices — read on September 8, 2026. The temple warns that hours and fees may differ during special viewing periods, so check before an unusual date.

Deliberately not stated: the dates and prices of special viewings, because the temple gives none; the quietest time to visit and how long a visit takes, because the temple publishes nothing on either and we will not invent it; the cost of a goshuin seal, because we confirmed only that the seal office exists; and whether the pavilion itself carries National Treasure designation, because the designations we verified were those covering the garden.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC