Book and Bed Tokyo (2026): Ages 3+, 8 pm Rule, 2 Locations

Guide·October 2, 2026·20 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

BOOK AND BED TOKYO is a hostel where every bed is built into the bookshelves, so you fall asleep with shelves of books around you. The name says Tokyo, but the official site currently lists two locations: Shinjuku and Shinsaibashi (Osaka). Before you book, five rules matter. Guests must be 3 or older and the booker 18 or older. Check-in is from 16:00. If you have not arrived by 8:00 pm, the booking may be treated as canceled. Cancellation fees start 7 days before. And the front desk takes credit card or IC card.

This page reads the official English and Japanese pages: rooms, day use, FAQ, the terms of stay, the company page and the two store pages. Where the site disagrees with itself, we show both and name the page. Where it is silent, we say so and point you to the store, rather than guess.

Compare stays around Shinjuku on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below comes from the official BOOK AND BED TOKYO site, read on September 29, 2026. We did not read the two booking pages on the reservation system, where live availability and prices are. Deliberately not stated: room rates; the status of the older locations; any women-only area; lockers or valuables storage; whether beds have curtains or doors; how many showers there are; any tattoo rule; whether cash is accepted; a child price; and how long Shinsaibashi holds luggage. The official pages we read do not state them.
TOC

Book and Bed Tokyo at a glance

ItemOfficial rule
LocationsShinjuku (Tokyo) and Shinsaibashi (Osaka), per the official site.
Age3 and over only; the booker must be 18 or over.
Check-in / outFrom 16:00 / by 11:00.
Early / lateFrom 13:00 / until 13:00, 550 yen per hour.
Late arrivalNot arrived by 8:00 pm: booking may be treated as canceled.
Cancellation30% from 7 days before, rising to 100% on the day.
PaymentCredit card or IC card at the front desk.
Front desk / showers24 hours; no lights-out time.
Paid extrasToothbrush and rental pajamas cost extra.

From the official rooms page, FAQ and terms of stay, read September 29, 2026.

What is BOOK AND BED TOKYO?

Rows of bookshelves inside a bookshop in Tokyo
Inside a bookshop in Tokyo in January 2021. It is not BOOK AND BED TOKYO, which builds its beds into the bookshelves. Photo: Nesnad (CC BY 4.0)

What makes it different from a capsule hotel?

The rooms page puts it in one line: “Every room is a bed built into the bookshelves.” The Shinjuku store’s tagline is “Sleep in the forest of books”; Shinsaibashi’s is “Climb the snow mountain of books.” The official pages describe beds in shelves, a book lounge and a cafe, with shower rooms open 24 hours. If you want a more conventional pod, our guide to capsule hotels in Tokyo covers other options.

Who runs it?

The company page names the operator as Atelier BOOK AND BED Inc. The brand name is still BOOK AND BED TOKYO, and the site’s pages carry update dates from September 2026.

Can I read the books at night?

Yes. The official FAQ says there is no lights-out time, and the front desk is open 24 hours. From midnight, lighting in the shared spaces is dimmed, and the terms ask guests to be considerate of others, including with phones. The pages we read do not say whether books can be taken out or bought.

Which Book and Bed locations are open now?

Tokyu Kabukicho Tower above Kabukicho Cinecity Square in Shinjuku
Tokyu Kabukicho Tower and Cinecity Square in Kabukicho, Shinjuku, in January 2024. The Shinjuku store is in Kabukicho but is not in this photo.

Is there more than one Book and Bed in Tokyo?

Not on the official site. Its “Choose your store” list shows two stores: Shinjuku, in Kabukicho, Tokyo, and Shinsaibashi, in Osaka. So despite the name, one of the two is in Osaka. Make sure the booking page you land on is for the city you want.

What happened to Ikebukuro, Asakusa, Kyoto and the others?

The official site does not say. When we checked, several older location addresses on the site, including the Japanese-language Ikebukuro, Asakusa, Kyoto, Fukuoka and Shibuya pages, now redirect to the top page, and none of those names appear in the site’s text. We found no closure notice, so we make no claim about their status. What we can say is that the official site currently lists only Shinjuku and Shinsaibashi. Older guides may still show the other locations.

Booking from an older guide or map? Check the store list on the official site first. It currently lists only Shinjuku and Shinsaibashi (Osaka).

Book and Bed Tokyo rooms: bed sizes and who fits

A row of cream-colored sleeping pods with folded bedding at a capsule hotel
Pods at a capsule hotel in Osaka in 2007, shown for comparison. This is not Book and Bed, whose beds sit in bookshelves.

What room types does Shinjuku have?

The rooms page lists four at Shinjuku: Single, 95 × 200 cm, one guest; Comfort Single, 120 × 200 cm, one guest; Double, 140 × 200 cm, up to two; and Superior, 190 × 200 cm, up to two.

What room types does Shinsaibashi have?

Three are listed: Single, 90 × 200 cm, one guest; Double, 130 × 200 cm, up to two; and Superior, 140 × 270 cm, up to two. The page calls the Superior, “At 270 cm deep, our most spacious room.” A fourth, new room type is marked coming soon, with details to be announced.

StoreRoomBed sizeGuests
ShinjukuSingle95 × 200 cm1
ShinjukuComfort Single120 × 200 cm1
ShinjukuDouble140 × 200 cmUp to 2
ShinjukuSuperior190 × 200 cmUp to 2
ShinsaibashiSingle90 × 200 cm1
ShinsaibashiDouble130 × 200 cmUp to 2
ShinsaibashiSuperior140 × 270 cmUp to 2
ShinsaibashiNew room typeComing soonNot stated

Official rooms page, read September 29, 2026.

How much does a night cost?

We leave room rates out on purpose. The rooms page gives reference prices and says they are per person per night, yet the Double and Superior beds take up to two guests, and the page does not say how two people sharing are charged. It also dates the Shinsaibashi prices to July 2026 but gives no date for Shinjuku’s. The page itself says to check availability and exact rates on each store’s booking page. For other low-cost beds, see our Tokyo budget hotels guide.

Are the beds private, and are there women-only areas?

The official pages we read do not say. They do not describe curtains or doors on the beds, soundproofing, a women-only floor or area, or lockers for valuables. If any of these decide your booking, contact the store before you book: Shinjuku on +81-3-6233-9514, Shinsaibashi on +81-6-4963-3701.

Who can stay at Book and Bed Tokyo? Age rules

Can children stay?

From age 3. The official FAQ says: “Guests must be 3 years of age or older — children under 3 cannot use the facility.” The terms of stay say the same in their house rules, and the Japanese terms match.

Who can make the booking?

The same FAQ answer adds: “The person making the reservation must be 18 or older.” Travelers under 18 need an adult to make the booking.

Is there a child price?

The official pages we read do not list one. Ask the store before you book for a child aged 3 or over.

Check-in, checkout and the 8 pm arrival rule

What are the check-in and checkout times?

The rooms page says check-in from 16:00 and checkout by 11:00 at both stores. The terms of stay say the same in their own words: rooms may be used from 4:00 pm until 11:00 am the next morning. If you stay consecutive nights, the terms say you may use the room all day on the days between arrival and departure.

Can I check in early or check out late?

Yes, for a fee. The official FAQ says early check-in from 13:00 and late checkout until 13:00 are available at 550 yen per hour. So the earliest arrival is three hours early, and the latest departure two hours late. For how other hotels handle this, see our late checkout guide for Japan.

What happens if I arrive after 8:00 pm?

This is the rule most likely to catch a traveler on a late flight. Article 5-2 of the terms says that if a guest has not arrived by 8:00 pm on the day of stay, or, where an arrival time was given in advance, within two hours of that time, the hotel may treat the booking as canceled. The front desk is open 24 hours, so a late arrival is possible; the risk is arriving without warning.

Arriving after 8:00 pm? Tell the store your expected arrival time before you travel. Under the terms, the cut-off then becomes two hours after the time you gave, instead of 8:00 pm.

Can I leave my luggage?

Yes, free. The official FAQ says luggage is held free of charge at both locations. At Shinjuku, bags are held before check-in and until 16:00 after checkout. The pages we read do not give Shinsaibashi’s hours, so ask there.

What do foreign guests register at check-in?

Article 7 of the terms lists what foreign nationals register: nationality, passport number, place of previous stay and next destination. Have your passport ready. The terms do not say whether it is copied.

Showers, amenities and night rules at Book and Bed

Are the showers open all night?

Yes. The official FAQ says the shower rooms are open 24 hours, and the terms list the same. The pages we read do not say how many shower rooms there are, whether they are split by gender, or whether there is a large bath.

What is free, and what costs extra?

Free at both stores: Wi-Fi, towels, soap and shampoo, earplugs and a hairdryer. The paid list differs by store.

Paid itemShinjukuShinsaibashi
Toothbrush110 yen110 yen
Razor152 yen160 yen
Rental pajamas550 yen550 yen
Cleansing and face wash200 yenNot listed
Toner and lotion200 yenNot listed

Official FAQ, read September 29, 2026.

The practical point: pack a toothbrush and something to sleep in, or pay for them at the desk.

Is there a lights-out time?

No. The FAQ says there is no lights-out time. In the shared spaces, lighting is dimmed from midnight. The terms ask everyone to keep noise down, including phone use, so others can rest.

Can I use the hairdryer at night?

At Shinjuku, the FAQ asks guests to refrain from using the hairdryer between midnight and 7:00 am. The pages we read give no such hour limit for Shinsaibashi.

Can I stay with a tattoo?

The official pages we read do not mention tattoos, and they describe no large communal bath. We cannot say whether any rule applies. Ask the store if it matters to you.

Day use and the book lounge at Book and Bed Tokyo

Can I visit without staying the night?

Yes. The day-use page says the daytime book lounge is open to non-staying guests. You book through each store’s reservation page and give your name at reception on the day. The prices below were listed on September 29, 2026.

How does day use work at Shinjuku?

Reception runs 13:00 to 20:00, last entry 19:00. Book lounge only is 500 yen per hour with one order per person, and showers are not available on this plan. Book lounge plus a bed is 960 yen per hour. The page warns that overstays are automatically extended and charged.

How does day use work at Shinsaibashi?

The lounge is open 12:00 to 20:00, last entry 19:00. Book lounge only is 1,100 yen on weekdays with one drink, or 1,700 yen with food and a drink. On weekends and holidays it is 1,400 yen or 2,000 yen, listed with a 2-hour limit. Alcohol adds 150 yen. Book lounge plus a bed is 700 yen per hour, from 12:00 to 16:00.

Do Shinsaibashi hotel guests pay for the lounge?

Yes, for reading time before or after check-in. The day-use page lists a hotel-guest price of 500 yen on weekdays and 1,000 yen on weekends and holidays, for 2 hours. It gives no hotel-guest lounge price for Shinjuku.

Is there a cafe, and what are its hours?

Yes. The top page describes a cafe open to overnight guests and day visitors alike. At Shinjuku, the store page gives 12:00 to 20:00 (last order 19:00), with a happy hour from 13:00 to 18:00 when all drinks are 500 yen, and alcohol served in-store only. For Shinsaibashi, the site gives two versions. The store page and the FAQ say weekdays 12:00 to 23:00 and weekends and holidays 11:00 to 23:00, last order 22:30. The top page lists only 12:00 to 23:00, last order 22:30. On a weekend morning, check before you go. Cafe prices are marked as subject to change, so we leave the menu out. If a night with books appeals, our manga cafe guide covers another way to read into the night.

Canceling and paying at Book and Bed Tokyo

When do cancellation fees start?

The terms of stay set the fees as a share of the accommodation charge. They start 7 days before your stay; the terms do not name a fee before that.

When you cancelIndividualGroup of 10 or more
7 to 3 days before30%50%
2 days before50%80%
The day before80%100%
On the day, or no-show100%100%

Terms of stay, Article 5, read September 29, 2026. The FAQ, the rooms page and the Japanese terms match.

The English terms add that the translation is for reference, and the Japanese text is the binding version. The official pages do not cover bookings made through other travel sites, so read that site’s terms too. Our hotel cancellation guide for Japan explains how these fees work more widely.

How do I pay?

The official FAQ says that if no deposit was taken in advance, you pay at the front desk on the day of your stay by credit card or IC card. It does not mention cash either way, so do not count on it; ask the store if you need to pay in cash. The terms also allow the hotel to ask for a deposit of up to the accommodation charge by a deadline.

If I check in and then leave, do I still pay?

Yes. Article 10-2 of the terms says the accommodation charge still applies if a guest starts using the room and then chooses not to stay.

Getting to Book and Bed Tokyo in Shinjuku and Osaka

The red lit arch of Kabukicho Ichibangai in Shinjuku on a rainy night
The Kabukicho Ichibangai arch in Shinjuku at night in June 2016. The Shinjuku store is in Kabukicho; it is not in this photo. Photo: Daniel Ramirez from Honolulu, USA (CC BY 2.0)

Where is the Shinjuku store?

The address is Kabukicho APM Bldg. 8F, 1-27-5 Kabukicho, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo. The store page gives a 1-minute walk from the Main Exit of Seibu-Shinjuku Station and an 8-minute walk from the East Exit of Shinjuku Station, and about 90 minutes from Narita Airport. For how Shinjuku compares with other bases, see our where to stay in Tokyo guide.

Where is the Shinsaibashi store?

The address is 3F, 1-19-11 Higashi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka. The store page gives a 5-minute walk from Shinsaibashi Station, a 10-minute walk from Namba Station, and about 50 minutes from Kansai International Airport. It does not name an exit.

Is there parking?

No. The FAQ and the terms say there is no car park and ask guests to come by public transport.

Who Book and Bed Tokyo suits

Readers who want to fall asleep in a shelf of books, travelers happy with a bed in a shelf rather than a room, and night owls, since there is no lights-out time and the showers never close. It suits people who can arrive by 8:00 pm or tell the store when they will, and who will pay by card. It is not for families with children under 3, and anyone who needs to know about gender-separated areas, lockers or bed curtains should ask the store first, since the official pages do not say.

Frequently asked questions

How many Book and Bed locations are there now?
The official site currently lists two locations: Shinjuku in Tokyo and Shinsaibashi in Osaka. Older location addresses on the site, such as the Ikebukuro, Asakusa, Kyoto, Fukuoka and Shibuya pages, now redirect to the top page. The site does not say why, so check the location list on the official site before you book.
Can children stay at Book and Bed Tokyo?
Yes, from age 3. The official FAQ and the terms say guests must be 3 or older; children under 3 cannot use the facility. The person who makes the booking must be 18 or older. The official pages do not list a child price.
What are the check-in and checkout times?
Check-in is from 16:00 and checkout is by 11:00 at both stores. Early check-in from 13:00 and late checkout until 13:00 cost 550 yen per hour, per the official FAQ. The front desk is open 24 hours.
What happens if I arrive late at night?
Tell the hotel your arrival time in advance. The terms say that if you have not arrived by 8:00 pm on the day of your stay, or within two hours of an arrival time you gave in advance, the booking may be treated as canceled.
What is the cancellation policy?
For individual bookings the terms charge 30% of the accommodation charge from 7 to 3 days before, 50% two days before, 80% the day before, and 100% on the day or for a no-show. Groups of 10 or more pay more. The Japanese text of the terms is the binding version.
Can I pay in cash at Book and Bed Tokyo?
The official FAQ says payment at the front desk is by credit card or IC card. It does not mention cash either way, so plan to pay by card, and ask the hotel if you need to pay in cash.
Is there a women-only area, and are there lockers?
The official pages we read do not say. They do not mention a women-only floor or area, lockers, or whether beds have curtains or doors. Contact the store before you book if any of these matter to you.
Can I visit Book and Bed without staying the night?
Yes. Both stores sell day-use time in the book lounge, booked through each store’s reservation page. The cafe is also open to day visitors. At Shinjuku, the lounge-only plan does not include showers.

Bottom line (2026): The official site lists two BOOK AND BED TOKYO locations, Shinjuku and Shinsaibashi (Osaka). Guests must be 3 or older and the booker 18 or older. Check-in is from 16:00, checkout by 11:00, and a booking may be treated as canceled if you have not arrived by 8:00 pm. Payment is by credit card or IC card; cancellation fees start 7 days before.

Sources

Every rule and figure on this page is from the official BOOK AND BED TOKYO site: the English top page, the rooms page, the day-use page, the FAQ, the terms of stay and the Japanese terms, the Shinjuku store page, the Shinsaibashi store page and the company page, all read on September 29, 2026. The Japanese top page is where the older location addresses now redirect. Where the site disagrees with itself, we show both. Confirm on the official site and the booking page before you book.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC