Private Bath Fees at Japan Hotels (2026): 18 Compared

Guide·October 11, 2026·17 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

A private bath, called kashikiri or a family bath, is a bath you book for your own group, by the hour or by the session. We checked the official pages of the 18 Japanese hotels and ryokan on Honto that offer one. Five are free for staying guests, often limited to one session per stay. Nine charge a published fee, from 2,000 to 24,500 yen per session, with a median of 3,850 yen. Fees are per session, not per person, and seven take bookings on the day only.

This page compares fees, time slots and how to book. For pools, see our hotel pool fees table.

Compare onsen ryokan prices →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every fee, time and booking rule below was read again on October 5, 2026 on each hotel’s or ryokan’s official site, including FAQs, notices and official booking pages. We did not use our own past articles for the figures. Fees are for staying guests, including tax. Deliberately not stated: per-person prices, which no place publishes; fees that two places do not publish; whether tattoos are allowed in each private bath, which only one place addresses; and a national average, since these 18 are the places Honto covers, weighted toward ryokan and hot spring towns.
TOC

Private bath fees at Japan hotels at a glance

An indoor bath with a large window looking out on trees
A bath at a ryokan in Asakusa, Tokyo. It is a shared bath, not one of the places in the table. Photo: Maarten Heerlien from Voorschoten, The Netherlands (CC BY 2.0)
PlaceAreaFee (staying guests)TimeBooking
Gora KadanHakoneFree40 minReservable
Sanga RyokanKurokawa OnsenFree (3 baths)Not statedOn the day, at check-in
Ki NisekoNisekoFree (2 baths)40 min, once per stayAfter check-in
Skye NisekoNisekoFree (3 baths)Once per room per nightFront desk; one booking before arrival
Ryokan Kamogawa AsakusaTokyoFree (not an onsen)30 minAt check-in
Ryokan YachiyoKyoto1st free; then 4,000 yen*45 minReservation
Hakone Ginyu (spa)HakoneFree with a treatment; day visitors 1,700 yen30 minWith the treatment, by phone
Nikko Kanaya HotelNikko2,000 yen (not an onsen)1 hourFront desk; advance OK
Shiroyama HotelKagoshima2,970 yen weekdays / 3,300 yen weekends50 min per roomReservation
Hidatei HanaougiTakayama3,300 yen50 min per groupOn the day only
KonansouLake Kawaguchi3,300 yen (3 baths, all Fuji view)50 minOn the day, front desk
Fuji Lake HotelLake Kawaguchi3,850 yen (Fuji view) / 4,400 yen (lake view)50 min** / 60 minOn the day only
Suginoi HotelBeppu4,100 to 6,500 yen (5 baths)60 minOn the day only
Nakanobo ZuienArima Onsen4,400 yen; a second open-air bath is freeNot statedReservation
Nishimuraya (Shogetsutei bath)Kinosaki Onsen8,800 yen for 1 to 4 people70 minAdvance, by inquiry
Hotel The Mitsui KyotoKyoto24,500 yen (to 39,500 yen for 120 min)60 to 120 minSpa line
ChorakuenTamatsukuri OnsenExtra charge; amount not published45 minReservation
Andon Ryokan (jacuzzi)TokyoNot stated40-min slotsIn check-in order

Each place’s official site, read October 5, 2026, tax included. *Ryokan Yachiyo’s FAQ says 4,000 yen; its Japanese booking page says 4,400 yen. **Fuji Lake Hotel’s Japanese page says 50 minutes; its English notice says per hour.

Which Japan hotels let guests use a private bath free?

A hot spring town with a stream and many glowing lanterns at night
Kurokawa Onsen during an evening light-up. Sanga Ryokan is in Kurokawa Onsen.

Who offers it free?

Five places say staying guests use their private baths free: Gora Kadan in Hakone (40 minutes, with a steam sauna), Sanga Ryokan in Kurokawa Onsen (three baths), Ki Niseko (two), Skye Niseko (three) and Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa in Tokyo. For our full guides, see Gora Kadan; the official pages for each are linked in the table.

What is the catch with free baths?

A limit on how often. Ki Niseko allows one 40-minute session per stay, booked after check-in. Skye Niseko allows one session per room per night, and you can book the next only after the last one ends; you may make one booking before you arrive. Sanga takes no advance bookings: you sign up on the day at check-in. Ryokan Yachiyo in Kyoto gives one free 45-minute session and charges for more, and the Hakone Ginyu spa’s private open-air bath is free only to staying guests who book a treatment; day spa visitors pay 1,700 yen.

Are there free baths that are not on the free list?

Yes, one. Nakanobo Zuien in Arima charges 4,400 yen for its private family bath of gold-colored kinsen water, but it also has a free private open-air bath of ginsen water that you lock from the inside. See our Nakanobo Zuien guide.

What do private baths cost at Japan hotels that charge?

A bathhouse building with a wooden facade on a hillside street
Gin no Yu in Arima Onsen. Nakanobo Zuien is in Arima. Photo: 663highland (CC BY 2.5)

How much, and how long?

Nine places publish a fee for staying guests. The lowest weekday fees are 2,000, 2,970, 3,300, 3,300, 3,850, 4,100, 4,400, 8,800 and 24,500 yen, so the median is 3,850 yen and seven are under 5,000 yen. Sessions run 50 to 70 minutes at most places, with Nikko Kanaya Hotel’s one hour and Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto’s 60, 90 or 120 minutes.

Why are two places so much more?

Nishimuraya in Kinosaki books guests of both its ryokan into a private bath at its sister Shogetsutei: 8,800 yen for 70 minutes for 1 to 4 people, plus 1,100 yen for each person up to 6. Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto’s private onsen, which it says is over 100 square meters, costs 24,500 yen for 60 minutes, 32,000 yen for 90 and 39,500 yen for 120, including a 15 percent service charge, for 1 to 4 people; canceling within 48 hours costs the full fee. See our Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto guide.

Do weekend fees differ?

At two places. Shiroyama Hotel in Kagoshima charges 2,970 yen on weekdays and 3,300 yen on weekends and holidays, for 50 minutes per room, and says the bath has no view. Suginoi Hotel in Beppu charges 4,100 yen for 60 minutes in four of its five private baths on weekdays and 5,100 yen on weekends, holidays and set peak dates, including October 10 to 12 and November 21 to 23, 2026; the fifth, Take, costs 5,500 or 6,500 yen.

Is the fee per person?

No, at every place we checked. Fees are per session, for the room or group: Hidatei Hanaougi in Takayama says 3,300 yen per group for 50 minutes, Shiroyama says 50 minutes per room, and Nishimuraya prices 1 to 4 people together. That makes a private bath far cheaper per head for a family than for a solo traveler.

Two places do not publish a fee: Chorakuen in Tamatsukuri Onsen says its 45-minute private bath, a step-free room, costs extra but gives no amount, and Andon Ryokan in Tokyo does not say whether its private jacuzzi costs anything. Ask when you book.

How do I book a private bath at a Japan hotel?

A small railway station building with a clock above the entrance
Kinosaki Onsen Station. Nishimuraya is in Kinosaki Onsen. Photo: 663highland (CC BY 2.5)

Can I book before I arrive?

Often not. Seven places take bookings on the day only: Suginoi, Fuji Lake Hotel, Hidatei Hanaougi and Konansou at the front desk or counter, Sanga at check-in, Ki Niseko after check-in, and Andon Ryokan in check-in order. At Konansou, the three baths, all with a Mt. Fuji view, start on the hour from 15:00 to 23:00 and 7:00 to 9:00, for 50 minutes. If a time matters to you, check in early.

Which places take advance bookings?

Nikko Kanaya Hotel says advance bookings are possible for its 2,000 yen family bath, open 15:00 to 22:00. Nishimuraya recommends booking ahead through its inquiry form, Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto books through its spa phone line, and Skye Niseko lets you make one booking before you arrive. Fuji Lake Hotel takes advance bookings only for guests using a wheelchair or with limited mobility, for its barrier-free lake-view bath. See our Nikko Kanaya Hotel guide.

Can I use one without staying?

At three places: Suginoi says day visitors can use its private baths, Shiroyama charges day visitors 4,950 yen on weekdays and 5,500 yen on weekends, plus bathing tax, and the Hakone Ginyu spa charges 1,700 yen. Gora Kadan offers its private bath to day visitors only within a meal-and-bath plan, booked three days ahead: 19,850 yen per person for two or more, or 27,550 yen for one, for up to 3 people. Most of the others say their baths are for staying guests only.

Private baths that are not onsen, and hotels with none

Is every private bath a hot spring?

No. Nikko Kanaya Hotel says its family bath is not hot spring water, and Ryokan Yachiyo says its baths are traditional baths, not natural hot springs. Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa’s private bath, free with a 30-minute slot, is also not hot spring water, its English booking page says. If an onsen is the point, check the wording before you book.

Which hotels say they have no private bath?

Four say so on pages we read on October 5, 2026: Ibusuki Hakusuikan, La Vista Hakodate Bay, Takayama Green Hotel and The Ritz-Carlton Nikko, which lets spa clients add a private open-air hot spring but does not list the price. Iwaso in Miyajima and the Nara Hotel said the same in official FAQs we read in late September; their pages did not load for us on October 5, 2026.

Is a private bath a way around a tattoo ban?

Only one place says so. Nakanobo Zuien’s FAQ asks guests with tattoos not to use the shared baths and recommends booking the private bath instead. The other places in this table do not say whether tattoos are allowed in their private baths, so ask before you book. Our tattoos and onsen guide lists other options.

What else should I know before booking a private bath in Japan?

What are the hours?

They vary more than the fees. Sanga’s three baths run on different clocks: one from 7:30 to 22:00, another from 6:00 to midnight. Skye Niseko closes its baths for cleaning from 10:00 to 14:00 and from midnight to 6:00. Suginoi’s private baths, on the 2nd floor of Suginoi Palace, open 11:00 to 24:00, with the counter taking bookings 9:00 to 21:00. Ryokan Yachiyo runs 45-minute slots from 17:00, the last at 21:00; its Japanese booking page adds that the private slots are for guests in the annex rooms. Chorakuen starts sessions on the hour from 16:00 to 21:00 and cleans for 15 minutes between them. Andon Ryokan runs 40-minute slots from 15:15 to 23:25 and 30-minute slots from 6:40 to 9:30.

How many people fit?

Few places say. Fuji Lake Hotel says its Fuji-view cypress bath fits two adults and one small child, and its lake-view bath, with four washing spots, fits four or five, or five adults in its English notice. Sanga says its stone bath fits two or three adults. Nishimuraya and Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto take 1 to 4 people, and Nishimuraya up to 6 for an extra fee. Ryokan Kamogawa has three shower stations in its bath.

What should I bring?

A towel, at some places. Nikko Kanaya Hotel asks you to bring towels from your room, and Nakanobo Zuien asks you to bring a towel and bath towel; its family bath opens 6:30 to 22:30. Hidatei Hanaougi’s private open-air bath has no washing area and no shower, so it is for soaking only. Ki Niseko has a bath chair, a baby bath, a bouncer and baby soap for families.

Can I use it after checkout?

Not at Fuji Lake Hotel: its house rules say the private baths are for staying guests and cannot be used after checkout. Most other places do not say. At Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, children under 16 must come with a parent, the bath has a mist sauna, and you can order room service to it. At Nishimuraya, the Shogetsutei bath has a rock sauna for two people at a time, and the ryokan runs a free transfer between its two buildings.

Do the rules ever conflict?

Yes, within the same hotel’s pages. Ryokan Yachiyo’s FAQ gives 4,000 yen for a second session and its Japanese booking page 4,400 yen. Fuji Lake Hotel’s Japanese page gives 50 minutes for the cypress bath and its English notice says per hour. Ryokan Kamogawa gives two start times, 16:00 and 17:00, and two ways to book. Where a place disagrees with itself, the table shows both, and the front desk has the final word.

Who this private bath comparison suits

Families and couples who want to bathe together, travelers with tattoos looking for a bath they can book, and anyone choosing between two ryokan who wants to know whether the bath is free, how long it lasts and whether it can be booked in advance. A private bath that takes bookings only on the day can be full by evening.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a private bath cost at a Japanese hotel?
Among the 18 places we checked, 9 publish a fee for staying guests: from 2,000 yen to 24,500 yen per session, with a median of 3,850 yen, and 7 of the 9 under 5,000 yen. Five others are free for staying guests.
Is the private bath fee per person?
No, at the places we checked. Fees are per session for the room or group, and some say so outright: Hidatei Hanaougi charges per group, Shiroyama Hotel per room, and Nishimuraya for 1 to 4 people.
Which hotels have a free private bath?
Gora Kadan, Sanga Ryokan, Ki Niseko, Skye Niseko and Ryokan Kamogawa Asakusa say staying guests use theirs free. Ryokan Yachiyo gives one free session, and Nakanobo Zuien has a free lockable open-air bath besides its paid one.
Can I book a private bath in advance?
Often not. Seven of the 18 take bookings only on the day, at the front desk or after check-in. Nikko Kanaya Hotel, Nishimuraya, Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto and Skye Niseko (once before arrival) are among those that take advance bookings.
Can I use a private bath without staying the night?
At three places: Suginoi Hotel in Beppu, Shiroyama Hotel Kagoshima (4,950 yen on weekdays) and the Hakone Ginyu spa (1,700 yen). Gora Kadan offers it only as part of a lunch and bath day plan.
Is a private bath a way around a tattoo ban?
Only Nakanobo Zuien says so on its own pages: it recommends booking its private bath to guests with tattoos. The other places do not say whether tattoos are allowed in their private baths.
Is every private bath an onsen?
No. Nikko Kanaya Hotel and Ryokan Yachiyo say plainly that their baths are not hot spring water, and Ryokan Kamogawa’s English booking page says the same of its private bath.
Which hotels have no private bath?
Ibusuki Hakusuikan, La Vista Hakodate Bay, Takayama Green Hotel and The Ritz-Carlton Nikko say so on their current pages, and Iwaso and the Nara Hotel said so in official FAQs we read in late September.

Bottom line (2026): Of 18 Japanese hotels and ryokan we checked, 5 let staying guests use a private bath free, often once per stay. Nine charge between 2,000 and 24,500 yen a session, with a median of 3,850 yen, per group, not per person. Seven take bookings on the day only, and some private baths are not hot spring water.

Sources

Every figure comes from the official site of each place, read on October 5, 2026: Gora Kadan, Sanga Ryokan, Ki Niseko, Skye Niseko, Ryokan Kamogawa, Ryokan Yachiyo, Hakone Ginyu, Nikko Kanaya Hotel, Shiroyama Hotel, Hidatei Hanaougi, Konansou, Fuji Lake Hotel, Suginoi Hotel, Nakanobo Zuien, Nishimuraya, Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, Chorakuen, Andon Ryokan. Where a place’s own pages disagree, we show both. Confirm on the official site before you book.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC