Hotel Breakfast Prices in Japan (2026): 61 Hotels Compared

Guide·September 30, 2026·24 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

How much does breakfast cost at a hotel in Japan? Each hotel posts its own price on its own breakfast page, restaurant page or FAQ, with its own child age bands and its own note on tax and service. So we read the official breakfast prices of 61 hotels and put them in one table, sorted from cheapest to most expensive.

The short version: across the 60 hotels with a paid breakfast, the median adult guest price is ¥2,750. The range runs from ¥500 at the b Shimbashi to ¥6,800 at Imperial Hotel, Tokyo. Every hotel under ¥2,000 is a budget or chain hotel, and every hotel at ¥5,000 or more is a city, luxury or resort hotel. Three prices rise on October 1, 2026.

This is one of our cross-hotel tables, alongside what hotel parking costs and what late checkout costs.

Compare Japan hotel prices →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every row was re-read on the hotel’s own official breakfast page, restaurant page, FAQ, notice or price PDF on September 29, 2026, not copied from our earlier articles, and only visible text counted. Prices are for one adult guest; where a hotel lists a guest price and a public price, we compare the guest price. Two cells come from somewhere other than the hotel’s breakfast page, and the table says so: Hotel JAL City Tokyo Toyosu (its restaurant’s own site) and the Villa Fontaine Haneda hotels (a July 2025 price notice). Deliberately not stated: room rates and the price gap between room-only and breakfast plans; a value for free breakfasts at chains such as Toyoko Inn or Route Inn; Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori’s regular price, which we could not confirm today; the free age at InterContinental Yokohama Grand; a December 1 schedule change for Richmond Hotel Namba Daikokucho that its breakfast page does not show; tax status where a page is silent; and hotels whose pages showed no price today, such as InterContinental Osaka, Hotel MyStays and Skye Niseko.
TOC

Hotel breakfast prices in Japan: the table

Buffet counters with Japanese and Western dishes in a large hotel breakfast room
The breakfast buffet counters at Nishimuraya Hotel Shogetsutei in Kinosaki Onsen, Hyogo, in February 2011. This hotel is not in the table. Photo: Nishimuraya Kinosaki Onsen (CC BY 2.0)

Sorted by the adult guest price on September 29, 2026. Where a price changes, the cell shows both: “until Sept 30 / from Oct 1” (2026). L.O. means last order. “Not stated” means the official page does not say. Every row’s official page is listed under Sources.

HotelAdult (guest)ChildrenHoursTax, service and notes
Under ¥1,500 (5)
the b Shimbashi
Tokyo (Shimbashi)
¥500Under 6: same as adults6:45–9:00Tax incl.. Soup and bread
the b Akasaka-Mitsuke
Tokyo (Akasaka)
¥800Under 6: same as adults6:45–10:00Tax incl.. Choice of sets at an outside cafe
Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station
Tokyo (Yaesu)
¥1,000Not stated7:00–9:30 (last entry 9:00)Tax incl.. Light buffet, 1F cafe. Guests only
the b Sapporo
Sapporo (Susukino)
¥1,100Child ¥770; under 6 free6:30–10:00 (last entry 9:45)Tax incl.. Light buffet
Hotel Mets Premier Akihabara
Tokyo (Akihabara)
¥1,400Preschool free6:30–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax incl.. Buffet or cafe breakfast. The ticket also works as a ¥1,400 meal voucher
¥1,500 to ¥1,999 (11)
Vessel Inn Asakusa Tsukuba Express
Tokyo (Asakusa)
Guests ¥1,500 (others ¥2,000)Guests: 6–12 ¥700, 5 and under free. Others: 4–12 ¥1,000, 3 and under free6:00–9:30Tax incl.. 1F lounge. Non-guests: booking recommended
Comfort Inn Tokyo Roppongi
Tokyo (Roppongi)
¥1,500 (13+)4–12 ¥800; under 4 free7:00–10:00Tax: not stated. Thai dishes plus a Western buffet
Candeo Hotels Fukuoka Tenjin
Fukuoka (Tenjin)
¥1,650Elementary ¥1,430; age 3 to preschool ¥880; under 3 free6:30–9:30Tax incl.. 9F restaurant. Non-guests +¥220
the b Asakusa
Tokyo (Asakusa)
¥1,650Child ¥1,100; under 6 free7:00–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax incl.. Buffet
the b Hakata
Fukuoka (Hakata)
¥1,650Under 6 free6:30–9:30 (last entry 9:00)Tax incl.. Buffet
Yaesu Terminal Hotel
Tokyo (Yaesu)
¥1,800 (since July 21, 2026; was ¥1,500)Not stated7:00–9:30 (L.O. 9:00)Tax: not stated. Mostly Western self-service; tickets at the front desk
the b Kanazawa-Katamachi
Kanazawa
Guests ¥1,850 in advance; ¥2,000 on the dayChild ¥990 (3–6 per its FAQ). Free under 2 per the page; its FAQ says 2 and under6:30–9:30Tax incl.. Buffet at a partner hotel, 1F
Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae
Naha
¥1,870Not stated6:30–9:30 (enter by 9:30)Tax incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
Almont Hotel Nippori
Tokyo (Nippori)
¥1,980 until Sept 30 / ¥2,200 for stays from Oct 1Elementary ¥990 / ¥1,100 from Oct 1; preschool free6:30–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
the b Ikebukuro
Tokyo (Ikebukuro)
¥1,980Child ¥1,100; under 6 free7:00–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax incl.. Italian buffet
Hotel Mets Shibuya
Tokyo (Shibuya)
¥1,980Not stated6:30–10:30 (L.O. 10:00)Tax incl.. Buffet
¥2,000 to ¥2,999 (17)
Hotel Resol Akihabara
Tokyo (Akihabara)
¥2,000Preschool free7:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax incl.
Super Hotel Premier Tokyo Station Yaesu Chuoguchi
Tokyo (Yaesu)
¥2,000Under 6 free6:30–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax incl.. Buffet (ORGANIC TABLE). Price since Aug 1, 2025
Keikyu EX Inn Haneda Innovation City
Tokyo (Haneda)
¥2,000Elementary and under ¥1,000; 5 and under free6:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax incl.. Japanese-Western buffet at partner restaurant Creadisce
Almont Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto
¥2,200Elementary ¥1,320; preschool free6:30–10:00 (enter by 9:30)Tax incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
the b Ginza
Tokyo (Ginza)
¥2,200Child ¥1,210; under 6 free7:00–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax incl.. Buffet
Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori
Tokyo (Omori)
Guest price ¥2,310 (add by check-in)Preschool free (1 per bed, bed-sharing); elementary and up: adult priceNot stated on its FAQTax incl.
Hotel JAL City Tokyo Toyosu
Tokyo (Toyosu)
¥2,400Child ¥1,200 (ages not stated)7:00–10:30 (L.O. 10:00)Tax incl.. Japanese-Western buffet at Shiomachi Saryo. Price from the restaurant’s own site, not the hotel’s
Toshi Center Hotel
Tokyo (Nagatacho)
¥2,420Elementary ¥1,210 (from the page’s price table)6:45–9:30Tax & service incl.. Japanese-Western buffet at Iris
Hotel 1899 Tokyo
Tokyo (Shimbashi)
¥2,500Elementary and up: adult price; preschool free7:30–10:30 (L.O. 10:00)Tax incl.. Buffet at CHAYA 1899 TOKYO; in-room possible. Can be added on the day
Richmond Hotel Asakusa
Tokyo (Asakusa)
Guests ¥2,500 (others ¥2,700)Elementary: guests ¥1,250 (others ¥1,350); infants free6:30–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax: not stated. Buffet
Richmond Hotel Namba Daikokucho
Osaka (Daikokucho)
¥2,500Elementary ¥1,200; preschool free6:30–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax: not stated
Hotel Resol Trinity Osaka
Osaka
¥2,500Not stated7:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax incl.. Buffet
Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo
Tokyo (Haneda)
¥2,6006–12 ¥1,800; under 6 free5:00–9:30Tax & service incl.. Buffet at HARUHORO. No table reservations
Candeo Hotels Tokyo Shimbashi
Tokyo (Shimbashi)
¥2,750Elementary ¥1,650; age 3 to preschool ¥1,100; under 3 free6:30–10:00Tax incl.. 11F restaurant. Non-guests +¥220
Candeo Hotels Osaka Namba
Osaka (Namba)
¥2,750Elementary ¥1,650; age 3 to preschool ¥1,100; under 3 free6:30–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax incl.. 1F restaurant. Non-guests +¥220
Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande
Kyoto Station
¥2,750Elementary ¥1,400; 3+ ¥7007:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax incl.. Buffet
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Tokyo (Yaesu)
¥2,800 until Sept 30 / ¥3,200 from Oct 1Under school age free6:45–10:00 (L.O. 9:45, 60 min)Tax incl.. Buffet, 15F. Earlier bookings keep the booked price
¥3,000 to ¥3,999 (10)
Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongi
Tokyo (Roppongi)
¥3,300Elementary ¥1,650; age 3 to preschool ¥1,100; under 3 free7:00–10:30 (last entry 10:00)Tax incl.. 3F restaurant. Non-guests +¥220
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Tokyo (Ikebukuro)
¥3,5004–12 ¥1,9006:30–10:00 (food until 10:30)Tax & service incl.. Buffet at Cross Dine. Room service Japanese or Western ¥3,500
Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport
Tokyo (Haneda)
¥3,500Elementary ¥1,750; preschool free6:00–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax incl.. Buffet at Grand Ale, 1F. Price from a July 2025 notice (revised July 28, 2025)
Richmond Hotel Premier Kyoto Ekimae
Kyoto Station
¥3,500Elementary ¥1,800; preschool free6:30–11:00 (last entry 10:30)Tax: not stated. 1F Premier Lounge
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Tokyo (Akasaka)
¥3,520Elementary ¥1,760; preschool free7:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax & service incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
The Park Front Hotel at Universal Studios Japan
Osaka (USJ)
¥3,700 (13+)6–12 ¥2,200; 4–5 ¥1,200 on the breakfast page (its FAQ: ¥900 for bed-sharing 4–5s); 3 and under free7:00–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax & service incl.. Buffet. Its FAQ: an unused breakfast ticket can be used as ¥2,000
Maihama View Hotel by HULIC
Chiba (Maihama)
¥3,800 (13+)7–12 ¥2,400; 6 and under free6:30–10:00Tax & service incl.. Buffet at Fine Terrace. No reservations
Hotel Okura Kyoto
Kyoto (Kawaramachi Oike)
¥3,800 until Sept 30 / ¥4,500 from Oct 14 to 6th grade ¥2,000 until Sept 30 / ¥2,300 from Oct 17:00–10:00 (L.O.)Tax & service incl.. Buffet at Orizzonte, 17F. Irifune (Japanese, 6F): ¥4,500 from Oct 1
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Osaka (Umeda)
¥3,800Elementary ¥1,900; preschool free7:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax & service incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
Richmond Hotel Premier Kyoto Shijo
Kyoto (Shijo)
¥3,850Elementary ¥1,900; under 6 free7:00–10:30 (last entry)Tax: not stated
¥4,000 to ¥4,999 (10)
Hotel Monterey Kyoto
Kyoto (Karasuma)
¥4,000Elementary ¥2,000; preschool free7:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax & service incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
Hotel Monterey Fukuoka
Fukuoka (Tenjin)
¥4,000Elementary ¥2,000; preschool free7:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax & service incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo
Sapporo
¥4,000Not stated6:30–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax & service incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
Hotel Monterey Ginza
Tokyo (Ginza)
¥4,015Elementary ¥2,000; preschool free6:30–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax & service incl.. Japanese-Western buffet
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Osaka Station
Guests ¥4,100 (others ¥4,700)4–12 guests ¥2,100 (others ¥2,300)7:00–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax: not stated. Buffet, 19F. Light breakfast from ¥1,600, 8:00–11:00
Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay
Chiba (Maihama)
¥4,200 (advance ticket ¥3,900). Jan 1, 2027 only: ¥5,2009–12 ¥2,500; 4–8 ¥1,900 (Jan 1, 2027: ¥3,500 / ¥2,900)6:30–10:00 at Fontana; Terrace from 6:00 on some daysTax incl.. Japanese-Western buffet. No advance tickets for Jan 1, 2027
Hotel Villa Fontaine Premier Haneda Airport
Tokyo (Haneda)
¥4,400Elementary ¥2,200; preschool free6:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax incl.. Main dish plus half buffet at Il Ristorante Tokyo, 4F. Same July 2025 notice
InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Yokohama (Minato Mirai)
¥4,5005–12 ¥2,300 (younger: not stated)Last entry 10:00; opens 7:00 Tue–Fri, 6:30 Sat–Mon and holidays (60 min)Tax & service incl.. 15% service. Buffet at Ocean Terrace. Prices from April 1, 2026
Hotel Monterey Okinawa Spa & Resort
Okinawa (Onna)
¥4,500 (junior high and up)Elementary ¥2,500; preschool free6:30–10:30 (L.O. 10:00)Tax & service incl.. Buffet, or a Japanese set at the same price
Shiroyama Hotel Kagoshima
Kagoshima
¥4,800Elementary ¥1,700; 3–6 ¥700; under 3 free6:30–10:30 (last entry 10:00, 60 min)Tax incl.. Buffet. Boxed breakfast ¥5,900, book by 18:00 the day before
¥5,000 and up (7)
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Tokyo (Nishi-Shinjuku)
¥5,0006–12 ¥4,000; 5 and under free6:00–10:00 (last entry 9:30)Tax & service incl.. Buffet. Japanese set and American ¥5,000; Continental ¥2,500
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Tokyo (Kabukicho)
¥5,0007–12 ¥2,500; 3–6 ¥1,5006:30–10:30 (L.O. 10:00)Tax incl.. Buffet at Sizzler
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Kyoto Station
¥5,000Elementary ¥2,500; 3+ ¥1,2506:30–10:00Tax: not stated. Buffet at Le Temps, 2F. American ¥5,000. Members 10% off
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Tokyo (Mejiro)
Il Teatro: Alternative ¥5,300, American ¥5,300, Premium ¥8,000, Continental ¥3,300. Miyuki (Japanese) ¥5,300Not statedIl Teatro 6:30–10:30 L.O.; Miyuki 7:00–10:00Tax incl.; service charge extra. Set menus, not a buffet. Guests only on weekends, holidays and set periods
The Okura Tokyo
Tokyo (Toranomon)
¥6,5006–12 ¥3,900; 0–5 free6:30–10:30 (last entry 10:00)Tax & service incl.. 15% service. Buffet at Orchid (guests only on weekends and holidays); Japanese at Yamazato
Halekulani Okinawa
Okinawa (Onna)
¥6,50012 and under ¥3,250; buffet 3–6 ¥1,500, 2 and under free. Guests under 6 freeNot statedTax: not stated. Buffet at House Without A Key; Western and Japanese sets. No reservations
Imperial Hotel, Tokyo
Tokyo (Hibiya)
¥6,8004–12 ¥4,0007:00–10:00 weekdays; 6:30–10:00 weekendsTax & service incl.. Imperial Viking Sal buffet. Parkside Diner ¥5,800; Les Saisons American ¥6,700. Guests only on Sundays, holidays and special periods
Free for guests (1)
Keikyu EX Inn Haneda
Tokyo (Tenkubashi)
Free light breakfast (Japanese or Western) for all guestsElementary and under ¥2005:00–10:00 (L.O. 9:30)Tax incl. Guests only

Counts: 5 / 11 / 17 / 10 / 10 / 7 in the six price bands from under ¥1,500 to ¥5,000 and up, plus one free breakfast. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, Hotel Okura Kyoto and Almont Hotel Nippori are counted at their price until September 30, 2026.

Three breakfast prices change on October 1, 2026. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo goes from ¥2,800 to ¥3,200. Hotel Okura Kyoto goes from ¥3,800 to ¥4,500 for adults and from ¥2,000 to ¥2,300 for children. Almont Hotel Nippori goes from ¥1,980 to ¥2,200 for stays from October 1. If your stay crosses that date, check which price applies.

Pricing your trip? Our Japan trip budget calculator adds up hotels, food and transport, and adds the departure tax and each city’s hotel tax for you.

What the hotel breakfast price table shows

A hotel breakfast plate with a croissant, scrambled egg, ham and a bowl of yogurt
A breakfast plate that the photographer describes as taken at a Richmond Hotel next to Tokyo Dome, in February 2015. That hotel is not in the table; the four Richmond hotels in the table are in Asakusa, Namba and Kyoto. Photo: Azchael (CC BY 2.0)

What is the median hotel breakfast price in Japan?

¥2,750 for an adult guest. The 30th and 31st of the 60 paid hotels, counted from the cheapest, both charge ¥2,750. The average is about ¥3,071. With the October 1 prices in place, the median stays at ¥2,750. That is the middle of this table, not a national average.

What are the cheapest and most expensive hotel breakfasts?

The cheapest paid breakfast is ¥500 at the b Shimbashi, for soup and bread. The highest price we compared is ¥6,800 at Imperial Hotel, Tokyo’s buffet: 13.6 times as much. Among buffets alone the spread is still 6.8 times, from Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station’s ¥1,000 light buffet to the Imperial’s ¥6,800. The single priciest menu in the table is Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo’s ¥8,000 Premium set, before its service charge; we compare Chinzanso at its ¥5,300 Alternative set.

Does the type of hotel change the price?

Sharply. All 16 hotels under ¥2,000 are budget or chain hotels: the b, Candeo, Almont, Mets, Vessel Inn, Comfort Inn, Karaksa and Yaesu Terminal. All 7 at ¥5,000 or more are city, luxury or resort hotels: Imperial Hotel, The Okura Tokyo, Halekulani Okinawa, Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, Hotel Gracery Shinjuku and Hotel Granvia Kyoto.

Do prices differ within the same hotel chain?

Yes, by city. Hotel Monterey runs from ¥3,520 in Akasaka to ¥4,500 in Okinawa. Richmond runs from ¥2,500 in Asakusa and Namba to ¥3,850 at its Premier hotel in Shijo, Kyoto. Candeo charges ¥1,650 in Fukuoka and ¥3,300 in Roppongi, twice as much. The b goes from ¥500 in Shimbashi to ¥2,200 in Ginza. Look up the hotel, not the chain.

Is hotel breakfast in Japan a buffet?

At most hotels in this table, yes: buffet or “viking” is the format named on the page. The exceptions are set menus: Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo serves sets rather than a buffet, the b Akasaka-Mitsuke offers a choice of sets at an outside cafe, the b Shimbashi serves soup and bread, and Hotel Villa Fontaine Premier pairs a main dish with a half buffet.

Which hotel breakfast prices change on October 1, 2026?

Which hotels raise breakfast prices on October 1?

3 in the table. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo goes from ¥2,800 to ¥3,200 (+14%). Hotel Okura Kyoto goes from ¥3,800 to ¥4,500 (+18%), children from ¥2,000 to ¥2,300, and its Irifune Japanese breakfast is ¥4,500 from that day. Almont Hotel Nippori goes from ¥1,980 to ¥2,200 (+11%) and children from ¥990 to ¥1,100.

What if I booked before the price change?

Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo says bookings keep the price at the time of booking, even for dates after the change. Almont Hotel Nippori ties its new price to the stay date: “for stays from October 1”. For Hotel Okura Kyoto, the notice we read gives the effective date; ask how it treats earlier bookings.

What other price changes are dated in the table?

Yaesu Terminal Hotel moved from ¥1,500 to ¥1,800 on July 21, 2026, a 20% rise. InterContinental Yokohama Grand’s price list applies from April 1, 2026. Super Hotel Premier Tokyo Station Yaesu Chuoguchi has charged ¥2,000 since August 1, 2025, and the two Villa Fontaine Haneda hotels have charged ¥3,500 and ¥4,400 since July 28, 2025.

Is there a special New Year price?

At Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay, January 1, 2027 only: ¥5,200 for adults, ¥3,500 for ages 9 to 12 and ¥2,900 for ages 4 to 8, with no advance tickets that day. Its regular price is ¥4,200, or ¥3,900 with an advance ticket.

How much do children pay for hotel breakfast in Japan?

A tray of colorful iced doughnuts with sprinkles at a hotel breakfast buffet
Doughnuts on the breakfast buffet at Hewitt Resort Naha in Okinawa, February 2026. This hotel is not in the table.

At what age is hotel breakfast free for children?

At 32 of the 60 paid hotels, children under school age, or under 6 (5 and under at some), eat free. That covers the six Hotel Monterey hotels that list a child price, the four Richmond hotels, five of the b hotels, Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo and The Okura Tokyo. 10 pages do not give a free age. For how old a child can be to share your bed free, see our kids stay free table.

Which hotels charge for toddlers?

16 charge for some children below school age. From age 3: Shiroyama Hotel Kagoshima (¥700 for ages 3 to 6), Candeo Hotels (¥1,100, or ¥880 in Fukuoka), Hotel Granvia Kyoto (¥1,250), Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande (¥700) and Hotel Gracery Shinjuku (¥1,500 for ages 3 to 6). From age 4: Comfort Inn Tokyo Roppongi (¥800), Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay (¥1,900 for ages 4 to 8), The Park Front Hotel, Hotel Granvia Osaka, Hotel Okura Kyoto, Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro and Imperial Hotel, Tokyo. The b Kanazawa-Katamachi’s page says under 2 eat free, and its FAQ says 2 and under.

Which hotels charge young children the adult price?

The b Akasaka-Mitsuke (¥800) and the b Shimbashi (¥500) say children under 6 pay the same as adults. At Hotel 1899 Tokyo and Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori, children of elementary school age and up pay the adult price.

How much do school-age children pay compared with adults?

It varies widely. Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo charges ¥4,000 for ages 6 to 12 against ¥5,000 for adults, or 80%. Imperial Hotel charges ¥4,000 against ¥6,800 (59%), and The Okura Tokyo ¥3,900 against ¥6,500 (60%). The Hotel Monterey hotels charge about half. Shiroyama Hotel Kagoshima charges ¥1,700 against ¥4,800 (35%).

Is a free bed-sharing child also free at breakfast?

Not always. The Park Front Hotel’s breakfast page lists ¥1,200 for ages 4 and 5, while its FAQ says ¥900 for bed-sharing 4- and 5-year-olds, and free on plans that include breakfast. We show both. Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori lets one preschool child per bed share and eat free.

Are tax and service charge included in hotel breakfast prices?

Which hotel breakfast prices include a service charge?

17 pages say tax and service are both included, among them The Okura Tokyo and InterContinental Yokohama Grand (both 15% service), Imperial Hotel, all seven Hotel Monterey hotels and Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo. 33 say tax is included and do not mention service.

Which hotel adds a service charge on top?

Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, at Il Teatro: its prices include consumption tax, “but a separate service charge” is added. It is the only one in this table.

Which pages do not mention tax?

9: Hotel Granvia Kyoto, Hotel Granvia Osaka, Halekulani Okinawa, the four Richmond hotels, Comfort Inn Tokyo Roppongi and Yaesu Terminal Hotel. We have not guessed. Candeo Hotels shows both the pre-tax and the tax-included price; we list the tax-included one.

Hotel breakfast hours, and who can eat there

Which hotel serves breakfast earliest?

Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo, from 5:00 to 9:30. Keikyu EX Inn Haneda’s free breakfast also starts at 5:00. At 6:00: Vessel Inn Asakusa Tsukuba Express, Keikyu EX Inn Haneda Innovation City, Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport, Hotel Villa Fontaine Premier Haneda Airport and Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, and Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay’s Terrace on some days.

Which hotel serves breakfast latest?

Richmond Hotel Premier Kyoto Ekimae serves until 11:00 (last entry 10:30), and Hotel Granvia Osaka’s light breakfast runs 8:00 to 11:00. The shortest window is at the b Shimbashi: 6:45 to 9:00.

Can non-guests eat hotel breakfast?

At several, for more. Hotel Granvia Osaka charges non-guests ¥4,700 instead of ¥4,100, Richmond Hotel Asakusa ¥2,700 instead of ¥2,500, Vessel Inn Asakusa ¥2,000 instead of ¥1,500, and Candeo Hotels adds ¥220. Guests only: Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station and the free breakfast at Keikyu EX Inn Haneda.

Is breakfast for hotel guests only on weekends?

At 3: The Okura Tokyo’s Orchid on weekends and holidays, Imperial Hotel on Sundays, holidays and special periods, and Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo on weekends, holidays and set periods.

Is there a cheaper breakfast price for hotel guests?

10 rows show a lower price for guests or for buying ahead: the non-guest examples above, Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay’s ¥3,900 advance ticket, Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori’s ¥2,310 guest price if you add it by check-in, and the b Kanazawa-Katamachi’s ¥1,850 in advance against ¥2,000 on the day.

How to use this table when you book

A Japanese breakfast set of rice, grilled fish, small side dishes and a hot pot on a tray in a tatami room
A Japanese breakfast set served in a tatami room in November 2005. The photographer’s note places it at an inn by Lake Biwa in Shiga; it is not one of the hotels in the table. Photo: Mori Chan from Kyoto (CC BY 2.0)

Should I book a room with breakfast or add it later?

Compare the plan price with the add-on price in the table. We have not compared plan prices, which change by date and room. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo and Almont Hotel Nippori say when a price change applies to a booking.

What if I skip the hotel breakfast?

At ¥4,000 to ¥6,800 per adult, breakfast for two adults at a city hotel comes to ¥8,000 to ¥13,600 a day. For places to eat breakfast outside the hotel, see our guide to breakfast in Tokyo.

What else should I check?

The child age bands, the last entry time, and whether the restaurant is guests only on your date. Some tickets work as meal vouchers if you skip breakfast: ¥1,400 at Hotel Mets Premier Akihabara, and ¥2,000 at The Park Front Hotel per its FAQ. Cancellation rules for the room itself are in our free cancellation table.

(For one more hotel breakfast price: our Hotel Niwa Tokyo guide notes that breakfast is 4,000 yen per person, with tax and service charge included, at either a Western buffet or a Japanese set breakfast.)

Frequently asked questions

How much is hotel breakfast in Japan?
Among the 60 hotels with a paid breakfast that we checked on their official pages, the median adult guest price is ¥2,750. 16 charge under ¥2,000, 17 charge ¥2,000 to ¥2,999, and 7 charge ¥5,000 or more. That is the middle of this table, not a national average.
What is the cheapest hotel breakfast in the table?
The b Shimbashi at ¥500 for soup and bread, then the b Akasaka-Mitsuke at ¥800 and Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station at ¥1,000. Keikyu EX Inn Haneda serves a free light breakfast to all guests.
Which hotel breakfast is the most expensive?
Among the prices we compared, Imperial Hotel, Tokyo at ¥6,800 for its buffet, then The Okura Tokyo and Halekulani Okinawa at ¥6,500. Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo’s Premium set is ¥8,000 before its separate service charge.
Do children eat hotel breakfast free in Japan?
Often only preschoolers. At 32 of the 60 paid hotels, children under school age (or under 6) eat free. 16 charge for some preschool-age children, from age 2, 3 or 4, and the b Akasaka-Mitsuke and the b Shimbashi charge children under 6 the adult price.
Is hotel breakfast in Japan getting more expensive?
In this table, yes. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo goes from ¥2,800 to ¥3,200, Hotel Okura Kyoto from ¥3,800 to ¥4,500, and Almont Hotel Nippori from ¥1,980 to ¥2,200 on October 1, 2026. Yaesu Terminal Hotel went from ¥1,500 to ¥1,800 on July 21, 2026.
Are tax and service charge included in hotel breakfast prices?
At 17 hotels the page says tax and service are included, and at 33 it says tax is included. Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo’s Il Teatro adds a service charge. 9 pages do not say.
Can I eat breakfast at a hotel where I am not staying?
At some. Hotel Granvia Osaka, Richmond Hotel Asakusa and Vessel Inn Asakusa charge non-guests more, and Candeo Hotels adds ¥220. Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station and Keikyu EX Inn Haneda serve guests only, and The Okura Tokyo, Imperial Hotel and Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo keep breakfast for guests on weekends or holidays.
What time does hotel breakfast start in Japan?
Between 5:00 and 7:30 in this table. Hotel JAL City Haneda Tokyo opens at 5:00, Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo and four others at 6:00, and Hotel 1899 Tokyo at 7:30. Richmond Hotel Premier Kyoto Ekimae serves until 11:00.

Bottom line (2026): Of 60 Japanese hotels with a paid breakfast, checked on their own pages, the median adult guest price is ¥2,750, from ¥500 at the b Shimbashi to ¥6,800 at Imperial Hotel, Tokyo. All 16 under ¥2,000 are budget or chain hotels. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo (¥3,200), Hotel Okura Kyoto (¥4,500) and Almont Hotel Nippori (¥2,200) raise prices on October 1, 2026.

Sources

Each row is from the hotel’s own site, read on September 29, 2026. Breakfast prices change, so confirm with the hotel before you rely on them.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC