Two things are true about Tokyo’s main Christmas market, and both of them are about where rather than what. The first: as of early September, the 2026 edition has not been announced. The official site is still showing 2025.
The second is stranger, and it is the reason this page is worth reading rather than a listicle. That same official site carries access directions to a venue that is not on its own list of venues. The 2025 page names Meiji Jingu Gaien and Shiba Park — and then gives walking directions from Hibiya Station, for a Hibiya Park site that is not part of that year’s event. The venue moves between years, and even the organizer’s own page has not fully caught up. Any guide that copied it, has copied that too.
| 2026 status | Not announced. Official site still showed the 2025 edition when we checked |
|---|---|
| 2025 venue 1 | Meiji Jingu Gaien — November 21 to December 25 |
| 2025 venue 2 | Shiba Park (Onarimon Station plaza) — December 5 to December 25 |
| The pattern to note | The two venues started two weeks apart and both ended on Christmas Day |
| 2025 hours | Opening day from late afternoon; 11:00 start every other day, running to 21:30 or 22:00 |
| The trap | The official access section still points at Hibiya, a former venue |
| When to check | From around October, which is when the previous edition’s details were live |
Why Tokyo Christmas markets are hard to look up
The venue is not fixed the way you expect
A European Christmas market is usually attached to a square that has held it for generations. Tokyo’s is a produced event that takes a large open space for about a month, and large open spaces in central Tokyo get booked differently every year. That is why the location has moved. It is not disorganization; it is what happens when the event is a tenant rather than a tradition.
Which means last year’s article is actively misleading
This is the practical consequence and it is worth stating bluntly. A guide written for a previous edition will give you a station, an exit and a walking time, all of which will be confidently wrong. There is nothing on such a page to signal that it is out of date. It reads exactly like a current one.
And the official page is not immune to it either
The clearest evidence we found for all of this is on the organizer’s own site. The 2025 page lists its venues as Meiji Jingu Gaien and Shiba Park. Its access section describes walking about one minute from exit A14 at Hibiya Station, five minutes from Kasumigaseki, five from Uchisaiwaicho, twenty from Tokyo Station and ten from Yurakucho. Those directions describe Hibiya Park. They are a leftover. If the organizer’s page can carry a stale venue, so can everyone else’s.
What the 2025 Tokyo Christmas Market actually looked like
Since the 2026 dates are not out yet, the most useful thing available is the 2025 edition on film. This is an unedited 4K walk through the Meiji Jingu Gaien site with no narration at all — stalls, the pyramid, the crowd density after dark. Watch two minutes of it and you will know whether this is the kind of evening you want.
These are 2025 figures, from the official site, and we are labeling them that way throughout because they are the pattern rather than the plan.
Two venues, two different runs
Meiji Jingu Gaien ran from November 21 to December 25. Shiba Park, at the plaza in front of Onarimon Station, ran from December 5 to December 25. So the season was about five weeks at one site and three at the other, converging on Christmas Day.
The hours, and the shape of the day
At Jingu Gaien: opening day from 16:00 to 21:30, every other day from 11:00 to 21:30, with last entry at 20:30 and last orders at 21:00. At Shiba Park: opening day 16:00 to 22:00, otherwise 11:00 to 22:00, with last entry at 21:00 and last orders at 21:30. The detail worth carrying forward is the last entry time, which is an hour before closing — arriving at 21:00 for a 22:00 close would not have worked.
Which of the two you would have picked
If both venues run again, the 2025 figures give you a real basis for choosing rather than a coin flip. Shiba Park closed half an hour later, at 22:00 against 21:30, with last orders at 21:30 — which makes it the one that works after dinner rather than instead of it. Jingu Gaien opened two weeks earlier in the season, so it was the only option for anyone in Tokyo in late November, and it ran for roughly five weeks against three. The practical reading: if your dates are in November, the choice makes itself; if they are in December, the later closing time is the tiebreaker. And if you are in Tokyo long enough to do both, they are far enough apart that they are two evenings rather than one.
Who was behind it
More officially German than the format suggests. The 2025 page lists the German National Tourist Board, the Bavarian State representative office in Japan, the Saxony tourism board and the village of Seiffen among its supporters, together with the Tokyo Metropolitan Government and the Japan Tourism Agency. Seiffen is a small Erzgebirge town whose entire identity is wooden Christmas craft, so its involvement is a real signal rather than a decorative one.
What was actually there
Hot drinks with mulled wine named specifically, sweets, a stage program that included a choir brought over from Germany, workshops, and street performance. In other words: the standing, drinking, looking-at-lights version of an evening, not a sit-down one. Dress for standing outside in Tokyo in December, which is colder than the daytime temperature suggests.
How to check for the 2026 Tokyo Christmas markets
The one source that counts
The organizer’s own site. Everything else is downstream of it, and everything else lags. Based on how the 2025 information was published, from around October is a reasonable time to start looking for the following winter’s announcement.
The three things to read, in order
Venue first, because that is the thing that moves. Then the date range, because two venues have historically had different start dates. Then the last-entry time, which is the detail that ruins evenings and which most aggregated listings drop. Opening and closing times are widely copied; last entry is not.
The check that takes ten seconds
Look for the year in the page title. The official 2025 page said 2025 in its own heading. If the page you are reading does not put a year on itself, you cannot tell what it describes — and given that this event has changed venue, that is not a small problem. The same test works on aggregator pages and on social posts: a photograph of a Christmas market in Tokyo carries no date at all, and a caption naming a station is only as current as the year it was taken. If you cannot establish which edition a source is describing, it is not a source you can plan an evening around.
If you are planning around it rather than for it
Late December in Japan has its own calendar logic that matters more than any single event. Our guide to Japan’s public holidays covers what actually closes and when the country slows down, which is the thing that will shape a December trip far more than a market’s opening hours.
What a Tokyo Christmas market is, and is not
It is a licensed reproduction, and that is fine
This is a produced event with German tourism bodies behind it, not something that grew out of a Tokyo neighborhood. Judged as a Christmas market against Nuremberg or Dresden it is smaller and newer. Judged as a thing to do on a Tokyo evening in December, it is a genuinely good one. Both of those are true and only the second one is relevant to your trip.
Christmas in Japan is not the holiday you are used to
December 25 is a working day. Christmas is treated as a couples’ evening and a commercial season rather than a family holiday, and the actual national shutdown happens at New Year, a week later. That is why a Christmas market can end on December 25 and nobody finds it strange: the date is the end of the season here, not the middle of it.
The market you can rely on all year
If what you actually want is an outdoor market with things to browse rather than a seasonal event with a start and end date, Tokyo has those most weekends. Our guide to the flea markets in Tokyo covers them, and the structure is the inverse of this page: the venues are fixed, and it is the dates that move.
Where to stay if this is a December evening plan
Both 2025 venues were central and both were closer to the Shiba and Aoyama side of the city than to the Shinjuku or Shibuya axis most visitors base themselves on. That is not a reason to change your booking for one evening, but if December is your trip and you are still deciding, our guide to where to stay in Tokyo covers how much the choice actually costs you in travel time.
Tokyo Christmas markets FAQ
When is the Tokyo Christmas Market 2026?
Where is the Tokyo Christmas Market held?
How long does it run?
What time does it open?
Is it actually German?
Is there an entry fee?
What is there to eat and drink?
Is it worth going if I have limited evenings in Tokyo?
Bottom line. The 2026 dates and venues were not published when we checked — the official site still showed 2025. In 2025 there were two venues, Meiji Jingu Gaien from November 21 and Shiba Park from December 5, both ending on Christmas Day, opening at 11:00 and with last entry an hour before closing. Treat those as the pattern, not the plan. The single most useful thing to know about this event is that its venue moves between years, and that the organizer’s own page still carries directions to a former site — so check the official announcement, read the venue before the dates, and distrust any page that does not put a year on itself.
Sources & what we deliberately did not state
Checked on September 3, 2026. Researched in Japanese from the official Tokyo Christmas Market site, which at the time of checking was still presenting the 2025 edition. From that page: the Meiji Jingu Gaien venue running November 21 to December 25, 2025, with opening day hours of 16:00 to 21:30, other days 11:00 to 21:30, last entry 20:30 and last orders 21:00; the Shiba Park venue at the Onarimon Station plaza running December 5 to December 25, 2025, with opening day 16:00 to 22:00, other days 11:00 to 22:00, last entry 21:00 and last orders 21:30; the description of the event as a European tradition centered on Germany, with mulled wine and other hot drinks and sweets, a stage program including a choir that came from Germany, workshops and street performance; the listed supporters including the German National Tourist Board, the Bavarian State representative office in Japan, the Saxony tourism board, the village of Seiffen, the Tokyo Metropolitan Government and the Japan Tourism Agency, with sponsors including KKday Japan, FamilyMart, Bunka Hoso and the Japan Racing Association, organized by the Tokyo Christmas Market executive committee; and the access section giving directions from Hibiya Station exit A14 in about one minute, Kasumigaseki exit B2 in about five, Uchisaiwaicho exit A7 in about five, Tokyo Station Marunouchi exit in about twenty and Yurakucho Hibiya exit in about ten — directions which do not correspond to either venue listed for 2025. More on how we work: how we research.
Deliberately not stated. The 2026 venues, dates and hours, because they were not published when we checked and presenting 2025 figures as 2026 would be exactly the error this page is about. Any entry fee, because the official page we read did not state one. The stall and vendor lineup, which changes every year. Whether other Tokyo venues are running Christmas markets in 2026, because we could not confirm it — one venue page we tried returned a not-found. And whether the event will return to Hibiya, because the stale access text is evidence of a former venue rather than a future one, and reading it as a hint would be inventing news. This reflects what that source said on September 3, 2026; the official announcement carries the current position.
in English
Every week we read the Japanese sources English-language media never touches — new openings, price changes, limited releases, rule changes, the seasonal things that come and go in three weeks — and send you a three-minute read of what actually matters. Hit reply with a question about your trip and a human answers.
Free. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your address.

