Mandarin Oriental Tokyo (2026): Cancel Rules, Kids, Spa

Guide·September 29, 2026·24 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo occupies the upper floors of the Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower in Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo-ku, with 157 rooms and 22 suites. Before you book, know four things: check-in is 3 p.m. and checkout is noon; there is no single cancellation rule, because each rate plan sets its own; in-house guests 12 and under can eat free from the kids’ menu at two restaurants; and the spa and gym are for ages 16 and over, with tattoos to be covered in the Heat & Water areas.

This page reads the hotel’s own English and Japanese pages, the terms printed on four rate-plan pages, and the restaurant menu PDFs they link to. The hotel does not appear to publish a full terms-of-stay document, so several things guests ask about are simply not answered on the official site. We say which ones.

Compare Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo rates on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below is from Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo’s official English and Japanese pages, the terms on its rate-plan pages and the menu PDFs linked from them, read on September 28, 2026. We have not stayed there. We could not find a published terms-of-stay document on the official site. Deliberately not stated: how a no-show is handled and any arrival deadline; the hotel’s liability limits for luggage and valuables; the parking fee; the extra-bed, crib or co-sleeping fee; journey minutes from the airports; which cards are accepted; hourly early check-in or late checkout fees; pet fees; whether smoking rooms exist; whether staying guests pay to use the Heat & Water areas; spa treatment prices, which appear only in a 2023 brochure; and room rates, which change by date. The official pages we read do not state these, so ask the hotel directly.
TOC

Mandarin Oriental Tokyo at a glance

The glass Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower rising behind an older stone building in Nihonbashi Muromachi
The Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower in Nihonbashi Muromachi, May 2006. Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo occupies the tower’s upper floors; the photo shows the building from the street, not the hotel inside.
ItemOfficial rule
Address2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo-ku, Tokyo 103-8328
Rooms157 rooms and 22 suites, reached by elevator from the 38th floor
Check-in / outFrom 3 p.m. / by 12 p.m.
Early / lateSubject to availability; no fee published
CancellationVaries by rate plan (see the table below)
Kids’ mealsFree kids’ menu meal for in-house guests 12 and under at K’shiki and Ventaglio
K’shiki breakfast7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m., last entry 10 a.m.
Spa and fitnessAges 16 and over
TattoosAsked to cover them in the Heat & Water areas
ParkingOn-site valet for hotel guests; ask for charges
Smoking in room100,000 yen penalty, tax included
Subway accessBasement entrance to Mitsukoshi-mae

From Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo’s official pages and plan terms, read September 28, 2026.

Working out the hotel tax for your dates? Our accommodation tax calculator gives it for Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Hokkaido and 30+ other places from your room price, guests and dates, with the 2026–2027 changes.

What is Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, and what are the rooms like?

Tokyo at night from high above, with the lit Tokyo Skytree on the horizon
Tokyo at night toward the Tokyo Skytree, from a May 2013 photo its author filed as a view from Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. The record does not say which floor or room it was taken from. Photo: kanesue (CC BY 3.0)

Where exactly is the hotel?

The hotel occupies the upper floors of the Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower, at 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi. The official about page names Mitsukoshi Nihombashi, COREDO Muromachi and the Tokyo Skytree as nearby sights. If you are still choosing a district, our where to stay in Tokyo guide compares the options, and our luxury hotels in Tokyo roundup places this hotel among the city’s other five-star names.

How do I get up to my room?

The about page says there is “Lift access to all rooms and suites from 38th floor.” The K’shiki restaurant and the fitness center are also on the 38th floor; the spa is one floor down, on the 37th.

How big is a standard room?

The Deluxe Room page lists 50 square meters (538 square feet), a city or Tokyo Skytree view, floors 30 to 36, and a maximum of two guests. For families, the Deluxe Corner Connecting Room is 100 square meters, sleeps a maximum of four guests, and has one king bed and two twin beds.

Can I see Mount Fuji from my room?

Sometimes. The Deluxe Room page says “Mount Fuji scenery can be enjoyed from the guest rooms in the west (subject to weather conditions).” The page does not say which room numbers face west, so ask when you book if the view matters to you.

What is in the room?

The stay FAQ lists a deep soaking tub and walk-in shower, Mandarin Oriental bath amenities, a Nespresso coffee machine, a minibar and high-speed Wi-Fi. The Deluxe Room page adds bathrobes and yukata and names Natura Bissé bathroom products.

What awards does it hold?

The about page says the hotel and spa have held Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star status for 12 consecutive years, and that the hotel achieved Condé Nast Traveler’s Triple Crown distinction in 2026. The contact page still carries an older line, a 2024 Five-Star rating in the hotel category for “ten consecutive years.” We follow the about page.

Check-in and checkout at Mandarin Oriental Tokyo

What time is check-in and checkout?

The stay FAQ says “Check-in at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo begins from 3pm, with check-out by 12pm.” The terms on the rate-plan pages give the same times.

Can I check in early or check out late?

Only if there is space. The stay FAQ says early check-in or late checkout may be arranged subject to availability, and that the Front Desk team will help whenever possible. The official pages we read do not publish an hourly fee for either. One plan builds it in: Fall For Longer includes late checkout until 2 p.m., subject to availability.

How do I book directly?

The contact page lists the reservations team at 0120 663 230 (shown as toll-free), +81 3 3270 8950, and by email at motyo-reservations@mohg.com. The main hotel number is +81 3 3270 8800.

Cancellation at Mandarin Oriental Tokyo depends on the rate plan

Is there one cancellation policy for the whole hotel?

No. The hotel’s Japanese notice under Japan’s Act on Specified Commercial Transactions says the cancellation policy differs by rate plan and stay date and tells you to check each plan’s page. It also says there are no refunds after the stay. These are the four plans we read:

Rate planFree to cancel untilAfter that
Fall For Longer (min. 2 nights)Rooms: 3 p.m. one day before. Suites: 3 days beforeNot stated on the page; “policies may vary during peak periods”
Families by M.O.4 p.m. local time, three days before arrivalOne-night charge
Totally Tokyo3 p.m. local time, seven days before arrivalFull-stay charges
Plan AheadNon-refundableNo refund; no amendments

Terms printed on each official rate-plan page, read September 28, 2026. Other plans may differ.

The Japanese version of the Fall For Longer page says the suite cutoff is also 3 p.m., three days before arrival. To see how other hotels in Japan set their cutoffs, read our hotel cancellation comparison.

When is my card charged?

On three of the plans we read, the terms say “A credit card is required to guarantee your reservation, but no charges will be made until check-out.” Plan Ahead is the exception: you book at least seven days ahead for up to 25 percent off the Best Available Rate, and full prepayment is required.

Is there a deposit for suites?

On one plan, yes. The Japanese version of the Totally Tokyo page says a suite booking takes a 15,000 yen deposit at the time of booking, and that the deposit is not refunded if you cancel.

What happens if I do not show up or arrive very late?

The official pages we read do not say. We found no published terms of stay, so there is no stated no-show rule or arrival deadline beyond each plan’s cancellation terms. If you expect to arrive late at night, tell the hotel in advance and ask how your plan treats it.

Kids and families at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Do kids eat free?

At two restaurants, yes. The K’shiki and Ventaglio pages say “Our in-house guests aged 12 and under can enjoy a complimentary meal from our delicious kids’ menu.” The Japanese K’shiki page gives the same age. Compare this with other chains in our kids stay free guide.

What does the Families by M.O. plan include?

The plan page says children aged 12 years and below may have free meals from the children’s menu three times a day at K’shiki or through in-room dining, when at least one paying adult is with them. It lists daily breakfast for up to two adults and two children per suite, up to 30 percent off the Best Available Rate, and is valid year-round, based on availability.

How old can the children be on Fall For Longer?

The two language versions disagree. Fall For Longer includes free daily breakfast for up to two adults and two children. The English Fall For Longer page defines the children as “below 12 years old,” while the Japanese Fall For Longer page says 12 and under. If your child is exactly 12, confirm with the hotel.

Can I get an extra bed or a crib?

The stay FAQ mentions, in some cases, connecting rooms or additional bedding, but the official pages we read give no price and no age rule for extra beds, cribs or children sharing a bed. Ask when you book. A Deluxe Room holds two guests; the Deluxe Corner Connecting Room holds four.

Where are children not allowed?

Place or activityAge rule on the official page
Spa and fitness center16 and over
Sushi Shin by Miyakawa and some other restaurants“May have age guidelines” (no age given)
Totally Tokyo: tea ceremony in kimono8 and over
Totally Tokyo: Ozu washi paper workshop3 and over
Totally Tokyo: kintsugi workshop13 and over
Totally Tokyo: teamLab4 and over

Official spa, dining and Totally Tokyo pages, read September 28, 2026.

Breakfast and dining at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Coffee, cookies and a small dessert on a wooden table by a window over the city at night
Coffee and sweets at a window table at night, from a May 2013 photo its author titled Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo. The record does not name the restaurant or bar, and menus may have changed since. Photo: kanesue (CC BY 3.0)

Where and when is breakfast served?

At K’shiki, on the 38th floor, from 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m., with last entry at 10 a.m. In-room dining runs 24 hours.

How much is the breakfast buffet?

Per the breakfast PDF linked from the official K’shiki page, the buffet is 7,700 yen, an American breakfast is 6,600 yen and a kid’s breakfast is 1,980 yen. The PDF says prices include consumption tax and are subject to a 15 percent service charge. The file’s data dates it to August 2025, so treat these as the prices on that PDF as of September 28, 2026 and check the official breakfast menu before you go.

What does room-service breakfast cost?

In-room breakfastPriceHours
American breakfast7,040 yenSee note below
Continental breakfast5,060 yenSee note below
Japanese breakfast7,260 yen6:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. (last order)
Kid’s breakfast plate2,200 yen—

Official in-room dining menu (August 2026 edition), read September 28, 2026. Tax included; 15% service charge added. The menu lists its Western breakfast set menu as available 24 hours.

Which plans include breakfast?

Fall For Longer includes free daily breakfast for up to two adults and two children; it is valid September 15 to October 31, 2026, for stays of at least two nights. Families by M.O. includes daily breakfast for up to two adults and two children per suite. Totally Tokyo, valid from March 2, 2026, lists daily breakfast among additional privileges for Fans of M.O. members.

Is there a dress code?

At K’shiki, yes: smart casual. The page asks guests not to wear baseball caps, sleeveless tops, casual sandals or flip-flops in the restaurant.

Can the kitchens handle allergies or vegetarian diets?

The dining page says the teams are pleased to accommodate dietary requirements, including vegetarian options and allergies, with advance notice. We do not quote the current Ventaglio menu: the menu PDFs linked from its page are for a food fair that ran from July 10 to September 24.

Mandarin Oriental Tokyo spa, pool and gym: tattoos and rules

Is there a swimming pool?

Not a lap pool, as far as the official pages say. The wellness page says guests have access to the spa’s indoor vitality pool and relaxing water lounges. The official pages we read do not describe a lap pool or give its size.

Can I use the spa with tattoos?

The spa page does not ban tattoos. It says “Guests are advised to cover tattoos within the Heat & Water areas.” The Japanese page uses the same “please cover” wording. The page does not say what covering is acceptable, so ask the spa before you book. Our tattoos and onsen guide explains how other places handle it.

Do I bathe without clothing?

In the Heat & Water areas, yes. The spa page states: “It is Japanese custom to bathe without clothing within the Heat & Water areas.” Filming or taking photos in the spa without prior approval is prohibited, and alcohol and tobacco are strictly prohibited.

What are the spa and gym hours?

FacilityFloorHours
The Spa37th10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday to Thursday; 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. Friday to Sunday
Fitness center (Technogym)38th6:30 a.m. to 10 p.m.; open 24 hours for hotel guests

Official spa and fitness pages, read September 28, 2026. An older 2023 spa brochure shows different hours; we follow the web pages.

The spa has four treatment rooms and five suites. Both the spa and the fitness center require guests to be 16 or older.

What are the spa booking rules?

Check in at spa reception at least 60 minutes before your treatment; the page says late arrivals do not get an extension. Canceling within 24 hours, or not showing up, costs 100 percent, and a credit card is required when you book. The spa says it cannot be responsible for loss or damage of personal items. Selected treatments may be open to non-guests, subject to availability.

Is the spa free for hotel guests?

The official pages we read do not say whether staying guests pay to use the Heat & Water areas, and we do not quote treatment prices because they appear only in the 2023 brochure. Ask the spa directly.

Getting to Mandarin Oriental Tokyo and parking

A wide underground passage at Mitsukoshimae Station with a COREDO sign on the right
The underground passage at Mitsukoshimae Station beside COREDO Muromachi, December 2019. The hotel’s contact page lists a basement entrance to Mitsukoshi-mae station; the hotel entrance is not in this photo. Photo: Wpcpey (CC BY 4.0)

How far is it from Tokyo Station?

The contact page says “8 minutes from Tokyo Station” and does not say whether that is on foot or by car. The hotel’s main FAQ says Tokyo Station is “just a short walk or drive away.” The official pages we read do not list lines, exit numbers or walking times.

Which subway station connects to the hotel?

Mitsukoshi-mae. The contact page lists a basement entrance to Mitsukoshi-mae subway station; the Japanese page says the hotel is directly connected through the station’s underground passage.

How do I get there from Haneda or Narita?

The hotel’s main page says travel to and from Haneda and Narita can be arranged through the hotel, with a choice of private car transfers, taxis, or rail connections via Tokyo Station. The official pages we read give no journey times and no transfer prices, so ask the hotel when you arrange it.

Is there parking, and what does it cost?

The about page says the hotel offers on-site valet parking for hotel guests and recommends contacting the hotel in advance for the latest availability and charges. It does not publish a fee, vehicle size limits or the number of spaces. The plan terms add that an extra valet fee applies after noon on the checkout date, or after 2 p.m. on Fall For Longer, which includes the later checkout. The about page also mentions accessible parking options.

Paying, taxes and house rules at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

What is added to the bill?

The plan terms state that local taxes, meaning consumption tax and a 200 yen accommodation tax per person per night, plus a 15 percent service charge, apply on top of the rate. Restaurant menus include consumption tax and add the 15 percent service charge.

Which cards are accepted, and should I tip?

The official pages we read do not list accepted cards, cash or e-money. The Japanese legal notice says the timing and method of payment differ by rate plan. The pages also do not mention tipping; the 15 percent service charge is on the bill. Ask the hotel if you need a specific card.

Can I smoke in my room?

No. The plan terms state that a penalty of 100,000 yen, inclusive of taxes, applies if smoking is detected in the room. The Japanese terms go further and say the hotel is non-smoking. The official pages we read do not mention smoking rooms or a smoking area.

Can I bring a pet?

The about page says the hotel welcomes well-behaved pets in selected guest rooms, that conditions and availability apply, and that advance notice is required. The English page says pets; the Japanese page mentions dogs and cats. Fees, size limits and the number of pets are not published.

Can the hotel help with luggage?

The main page says the concierge assists with luggage handling and travel planning. The official pages we read do not say whether bags can be sent ahead, how long they are held before check-in or after checkout, or what the hotel’s liability limit is. Ask the concierge before you ship anything.

Is the hotel wheelchair accessible?

The about page lists wheelchair-accessible guest rooms, step-free access to many public areas, accessible lifts and facilities, and accessible parking. The Deluxe Room page lists adapted room doors and doorbells, a low-level basin and bathtub, bathroom handrails and a lowered closet rail.

Who Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo suits

The official rules point to a few kinds of guest. Families with children 12 and under, who get free kids’ menu meals at K’shiki and Ventaglio, and more on the Families by M.O. plan, as long as the spa and gym limit of 16 does not matter. Travelers arriving by train, with a basement entrance to Mitsukoshi-mae. Guests with tattoos who want a spa, since the page asks you to cover them rather than stay out. It is a harder fit if you need to know every rule up front: parking fees, extra-bed prices and no-show handling are not published. If you are also weighing another Tokyo luxury hotel, our Aman Tokyo guide runs through the same questions.

(For another five-star stay: our Palace Hotel Tokyo guide notes that its pool and 24-hour gym are free for guests, while the sauna and bath cost 2,750 yen.)

Frequently asked questions

What time are check-in and checkout at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo?
Check-in begins from 3 p.m. and checkout is by noon, according to the official stay FAQ and the plan terms. Early check-in or late checkout may be arranged subject to availability; the official pages we read publish no fee for either. The Fall For Longer plan includes late checkout until 2 p.m., subject to availability.
What is the cancellation policy at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo?
It depends on the rate plan. The hotel’s Japanese legal notice says the policy differs by plan and stay date. Fall For Longer is free to cancel until 3 p.m. one day before for rooms and three days before for suites; Families by M.O. until 4 p.m. three days before; Totally Tokyo until 3 p.m. seven days before; Plan Ahead is non-refundable.
Do kids eat free at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo?
In-house guests aged 12 and under can have a free meal from the kids’ menu at K’shiki and Ventaglio, according to those restaurant pages. On the Families by M.O. plan, children 12 and below get free meals from the children’s menu three times a day at K’shiki or through in-room dining, with at least one paying adult.
How much is breakfast at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo?
Per the breakfast PDF linked from the K’shiki page, the buffet is 7,700 yen, including consumption tax, plus a 15 percent service charge. The PDF’s file data dates it to August 2025, so check the current price. K’shiki serves breakfast 7 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. on the 38th floor, last entry 10 a.m.
Is there a pool at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, and can I go in with tattoos?
The official wellness page describes the spa’s indoor vitality pool and water lounges; it does not describe a lap pool. In the Heat & Water areas, the spa page asks guests to cover tattoos rather than banning them, and notes it is Japanese custom to bathe without clothing there. The spa and fitness center are for ages 16 and over.
Is there parking at Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo?
Yes. The official about page says the hotel offers on-site valet parking for hotel guests and recommends contacting the hotel in advance for availability and charges. It does not publish a price. The plan terms say an extra valet fee applies after noon on the checkout date.
Can I bring my dog to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo?
Possibly. The official about page says the hotel welcomes well-behaved pets in selected guest rooms, that conditions and availability apply, and that advance notice is required. The Japanese version mentions dogs and cats. Fees and size limits are not published, so ask before you book.
How do I get to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo from Tokyo Station and the airports?
The contact page says the hotel is 8 minutes from Tokyo Station, without saying on foot or by car, and has a basement entrance to Mitsukoshi-mae subway station. The hotel can arrange travel to and from Haneda and Narita by private car, taxi or rail via Tokyo Station. Journey times and fees are not published.

Bottom line (2026): Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo checks in from 3 p.m. and out by noon. Cancellation depends on the plan, from 3 p.m. one day before on Fall For Longer to non-refundable on Plan Ahead. In-house guests 12 and under eat free from the kids’ menu at two restaurants, the spa and gym are 16 and over, and tattoos should be covered in the Heat & Water areas.

Sources

Every rule and figure on this page is from Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo’s own site: the English site and the Japanese site, the about page, the stay page and FAQ, the contact page, the rate-plan pages for Fall For Longer, Families by M.O., Totally Tokyo and Plan Ahead, the K’shiki page and its breakfast PDF, the in-room dining page and menu PDF, the spa page, the fitness page, and the Japanese legal notice, all read on September 28, 2026. Where the English and Japanese pages differ, we give both. Rates and plans change; confirm on the official site before you book.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC