Hotel Luggage Storage in Japan (2026): 34 Hotels Compared

Guide·October 1, 2026·24 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Can you leave your luggage at a hotel in Japan before check-in, or after checkout? Each hotel answers on its own FAQ or terms, and the answers are not the same. So we read the official luggage rules of 34 hotels and chains and put them in one table.

The short version: 25 of the 34 say they hold bags after checkout, 2 say they do not, and 7 do not say clearly. 9 set a same-day deadline, 2 charge for longer storage, and 10 refuse cash-on-delivery parcels or ask the sender to prepay.

This is the seventh of our cross-hotel tables, after what late checkout costs, when free cancellation ends and what hotel parking costs.

Compare Japan hotel prices →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every row was re-read on the hotel’s own official FAQ, terms, facility page or notice on September 29, 2026, not copied from our earlier articles, and only visible text counted. Two hotels answer through a chat-style FAQ that their official site links to; we cite it as the hotel’s FAQ (chat page). “Not stated” means the page we read does not say, not that the hotel refuses. Deliberately not stated: luggage services that are not hotels, and station locker prices; courier fares; a closing time for Maihama View Hotel, whose answer gives none; whether Hotel Taikanso’s hours cover arrival or departure; exceptions at individual hotels of a chain beyond those the chain itself names; and hotels whose official pages we could not read today, such as Skye Niseko, Ki Niseko, APA, Hotel Resol and Hoshino Resorts.
TOC

Hotel luggage storage in Japan: the table

A tall sail-shaped hotel tower beside the harbor in Yokohama
InterContinental Yokohama Grand, the first hotel in the table, seen from Cup Noodles Museum Park in January 2025.

Grouped by what the page says about bags after checkout. “△” means yes, with the condition quoted. Every row’s official page is listed under Sources.

Hotel or chainBefore check-inAfter checkoutLonger storage and feesSending bags aheadLost property kept
Hold bags after checkout (25)
InterContinental Yokohama Grand
Yokohama (Minato Mirai)
Yes, 1F Bell Captain deskYesNot stated. No lockersc/o the Bell Captain desk, with guest name and stay date. No luggage delivery to the airport3 months; the hotel does not contact you
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Tokyo (Yaesu)
Yes, 15F front deskYes, the same day as a ruleNext stay within 7 days: 1 item per guest free. Otherwise charged since June 1, 2026, from 1,000 yen per item on day 8 (see below)c/o the front desk, with stay date and the booker’s nameNo period given
Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongi
Tokyo (Roppongi)
Same day onlySame day onlyNo. Items held 3 daysContact the hotel first. Check-in date and guest name3 days, then cash and valuables to the police
Almont Hotel Nippori
Tokyo (Nippori)
YesYesNot statedStay date and full name. Prepaid only; to arrive the day before or on the day1 month (valuables 7 days, then police); the hotel does not contact you
Nakanobo Zuien
Kobe (Arima Onsen)
Yes, freeYes, freeChecking in again a few days later: kept until then. No coin lockersContact the hotel first. Stay date and lead guest’s name. No cash-on-delivery or chilled parcels7 days, then police
Hotel Collective
Naha (Kokusai-dori)
Yes, ask the bell staffYesTerms: items left in the cloakroom or storeroom kept 1 monthBooking name, hotel name and arrival dateValuables 7 days, then police
The Park Front Hotel at Universal Studios Japan
Osaka (USJ)
Yes, 2F locker room (locked; card key from the 3F front desk)Yes, front deskFree coin lockers on 2F (100-yen coin returned)Booker’s full name in katakana, guest name, stay date. Prepaid onlyNot stated
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo
Yes, main building 1F lobby cloakroomYes, same cloakroomNot statedc/o the Bell Counter, with full name and stay dateNot stated
The Busena Terrace
Okinawa (Nago)
Yes, the butlers store itYesChanging: locker room at South Tower 1F (Refreshing Square)To Butler Service: lead guest’s name, addressee and arrival dateNot stated
Halekulani Okinawa
Okinawa (Onna)
Not statedYes, Guest ServicesValuables: lockers in the Beachfront Wing changing roomsShow a copy of the courier receipt matching the booking name and arrival dateNot stated
Hotel Okura Kyoto
Kyoto (Kawaramachi Oike)
Yes, 1F cloakroom, freeYesKyoto Station lounge to hotel delivery: 500 yen per itemTo the postal address on its FAQ, with stay date and guest nameNot stated
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Osaka Station
YesYes (the page literally says “after check-in” on departure day)Not statedNot stated on the page we readNot stated
Hotel New Otani Tokyo
Tokyo (Kioicho)
Yes, Bell DeskYesNot statedName and arrival date. Prepaid only, no cash-on-deliveryNot stated
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Yes, 2F cloakroomYesNot statedc/o the Front Desk, with name and arrival dateNot stated
Maihama View Hotel by HULIC
Chiba (Maihama)
Yes, from 6:00 at Guest ServicesYes (no end time given)Tokyo Disney Resort Welcome Center to hotel: free; back after checkout: chargedStay date and booker’s name with furigana; to arrive by the day beforeNo period given
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Tokyo (Nishi-Shinjuku)
Yes, lobby-floor Bell Captain deskYes, same deskNot statedAfter booking. Guest name in katakana and check-in dateNot stated
Takayama Green Hotel
Takayama
Yes, front deskYesNot statedBooking name and check-in date. Prepaid only; tell the hotel when it will arriveNot stated
Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station
Tokyo (Yaesu)
Yes, 1F front deskYes, collect it the same dayFree if you are staying at the hotel againBooker’s name, check-in date, contents and phone numberNo period given; the hotel does not contact you, as a rule
Keikyu EX Inn Haneda
Tokyo (Haneda)
Check-in day onlyOnly bags you can collect by 23:00 the same dayNo. Very large or many bags may be refusedTo arrive the day before or on check-in day. Full name in furigana. No cash-on-deliveryNot stated
Dormy Inn
Chain
△ “Only items the hotel has agreed to in advance”△ Same conditionReturning a few days later: kept until you check in againContact the hotel first. Prepaid only; keep the tracking numberNot stated
Super Hotel
Chain
Stay date onlyOnly if you collect it the same dayNo. Some hotels do not offer storageNot stated (shipping out during front desk hours)1 month (valuables to the police)
Tokyu Stay
Chain
Yes, front deskYes, for that dayNot beyond that dayName and check-in date. No cash-on-deliveryNot stated
MIMARU
Chain (Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka)
Yes, 7:00 to 22:00, freeYes, 7:00 to 22:00, freeOutside those hours or days: 500 yen per item per dayBooking name. To arrive on or after check-in date; earlier may incur feesNot stated
First Cabin
Chain
Stay date onlySame day (the page literally says “after check-in”). Haneda Terminal 1: not after checkoutNo. Matsue (unstaffed): no bag storageNot stated in the FAQ we readNot stated
Asakusa View Hotel
Tokyo (Asakusa)
Self-service cloak lockers by the 1F Bell DeskSame lockers, until 24:00 on checkout dayNot beyond midnight on checkout dayAfter booking. Booking name and stay dateNot stated
Do not hold bags after checkout (2)
Nine Hours (9h)
Capsule hotel chain
Check-in date only (Narita Airport: not available)Not availableNo. Bags too big for the locker: front deskTo arrive on check-in date, name in Roman letters. Narita Airport: not acceptedNot stated
Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya
Tokyo (Shibuya)
Not allowedNot allowed; the hostel points you to station coin lockersNoTo arrive the day before or on check-in day; paid by the senderNot stated
Not stated or unclear after checkout (7)
The Okura Tokyo
Tokyo (Toranomon)
Not statedNot statedTerms: items left in the cloakroom kept 1 month, in the storeroom 3 months, then disposed ofKept only if the hotel has accepted it in advance. Guests: c/o the Bell Desk7 days, then police
Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay
Chiba (Maihama)
Not statedNot statedHotel to Haneda Terminal 1: 1,500 yen per item (see below)Stay date and booking name; held until check-in day. No cash-on-delivery7 days, then police
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Tokyo (Mejiro)
Yes, until your room is availableNot stated—Not stated1 week, then police
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka (Namba)
Yes, free, if you arrive before your room is readyUnclear: only a general services line on “baggage handling and storage”—Courier slips in the roomNot stated
Fuji Kawaguchiko Onsen Konansou
Yamanashi (Kawaguchiko)
Yes, tell the front clerkNot stated—Stay date and booking nameNot stated
the b
Chain
From the morning of check-in dayNot stated—To arrive on check-in day. No online ordersNot stated
Hotel Taikanso
Miyagi (Matsushima)
Unclear (hours only)Unclear (hours only)Stored free at its sister shop Taikantei (1F shop), 8:30 to 17:00——

Counts: 25 hold bags after checkout, 2 do not, and 7 do not say clearly. Before check-in, 28 say yes, Dormy Inn says yes on a condition, 1 says no, and the rest do not say clearly. Hotel Granvia Osaka and First Cabin literally write “after check-in” in the sentence that covers the departure day; we read it as after checkout.

Sending bags ahead? Our luggage forwarding tool shows what it costs to send a suitcase from hotel to airport, hotel to hotel or airport to hotel, and the day to send it, from Yamato’s official fares.

Can you leave luggage at a hotel after checkout?

White high-rise towers at a quiet crossing in Nishi-Shinjuku
The southeast corner of Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo in Nishi-Shinjuku in December 2023, as its photo page describes it; the twin towers at left are the Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building. Keio Plaza says it holds bags after checkout.

How many hotels hold bags after checkout?

25 of the 34 say so on their official pages, from large hotels such as Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo and InterContinental Yokohama Grand to chains such as Super Hotel, Tokyu Stay and MIMARU. Dormy Inn is the conditional one: it stores “only items the hotel has agreed to in advance”, before check-in and after checkout alike, so ask first.

Which hotels say no?

2, and both are capsule or hostel types. Nine Hours states that “luggage storage after check-out is not available”. Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya does not hold bags before check-in or after checkout and sends guests to station coin lockers. The First Cabin chain holds bags after checkout, but not at Haneda Terminal 1, for airport security reasons. None of the full-service hotels and ryokan in this table says it refuses after checkout.

Which hotels do not say?

Seven. The Okura Tokyo, Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay, Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, Konansou and the b say nothing about after checkout. Swissotel Nankai Osaka has only a general line in its services list, “We are pleased to assist you with your baggage handling and storage”, with no separate answer for after checkout. Hotel Taikanso stores bags free at its sister shop, Taikantei, from 8:30 to 17:00, but does not say whether that is before check-in, after checkout or both. None of the seven says no.

Is there a deadline to pick up bags after checkout?

9 hotels set one. Keikyu EX Inn Haneda takes only bags you can collect by 23:00 the same day. MIMARU stores free until 22:00. Asakusa View Hotel’s self-service cloak lockers run until 24:00 on checkout day. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo (as a rule), Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongi, Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station, Super Hotel, Tokyu Stay and First Cabin say the same day. Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo and Hotel Granvia Kyoto give none.

Does Maihama View Hotel have a closing time?

Its answer says bags are held at Guest Services from 6:00, and gives no end time. Ask at the desk.

Can you drop bags at the hotel before check-in?

How many hotels hold bags before check-in?

28 of the 34 say yes, and Dormy Inn says yes on its condition. The Okura Tokyo, Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay and Halekulani Okinawa do not say. Halekulani’s FAQ answers “Can you store my luggage after check-out?” but has no matching answer for before check-in, so we have not marked it yes.

Which hotels only hold bags on the check-in day?

Keikyu EX Inn Haneda (check-in day), Nine Hours (“the check-in date”), Super Hotel and First Cabin (the stay date) and Candeo Hotels Tokyo Roppongi (same day). The b holds bags from the morning of check-in day. Maihama View Hotel starts at 6:00, and MIMARU at 7:00.

Which hotels refuse bags before check-in?

Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya says “It is not allowed.” Nine Hours Narita Airport also does not hold bags before check-in, and First Cabin Matsue, which has no staff, holds no bags at all.

Is hotel luggage storage free, and for how long?

Which hotels say storage is free?

Nakanobo Zuien, Hotel Okura Kyoto, Swissotel Nankai Osaka (before check-in), MIMARU (7:00 to 22:00 on your check-in and checkout days) and Hotel Taikanso say free outright. Most other pages in the table mention no fee for same-day storage.

Which hotels charge for luggage storage?

2. MIMARU charges 500 yen per item per day outside 7:00 to 22:00 or outside your check-in and checkout days. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo began charging on June 1, 2026: one item per guest is free if the next stay starts within seven days of dropping it, but a stay eight or more days away, a second item, or a shipping date eight or more days away costs 1,000 yen per item from day 8, 2,000 yen from day 15, and 1,000 yen more every seven days after. It keeps items three months at most, and disposing of a suitcase costs 1,000 yen.

Can I leave luggage at a hotel between two stays?

At 4 in the table. Nakanobo Zuien keeps bags until your next check-in if you return a few days later. Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station stores them free for guests staying again. Dormy Inn keeps them until you check in again, but may send them back cash-on-delivery if you postpone or cancel. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo uses the seven-day rule above.

What happens to bags that are never collected?

The Okura Tokyo’s terms keep items left in the cloakroom for 1 month and in the storeroom for 3 months, then dispose of them. Hotel Collective keeps both for 1 month. Candeo Hotels’ rules keep items it holds for 3 days.

Are there paid delivery services between the hotel and a station or airport?

Hotel Okura Kyoto carries bags between its Welcome Lounge in front of Kyoto Station and the hotel for 500 yen per item. Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay sends bags to the JAL counter at Haneda Terminal 1 for 1,500 yen per item up to 15 kg: drop them by 10:00, collect them from 16:00 to 20:00. Maihama View Hotel brings bags free from the Tokyo Disney Resort Welcome Center, and Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay lists a free delivery from a Welcome Center to the hotel (8:00 to 15:00). InterContinental Yokohama Grand says it does not deliver bags to the airport, and Nakanobo Zuien does not deliver to stations or airports.

Sending luggage to your hotel ahead of arrival

A delivery worker pushing a metal parcel cart on a stone-paved street
A Yamato Transport (Ta-Q-Bin) delivery with a hand cart in Kyoto in April 2017. It is not a hotel delivery in the table; each hotel’s own labeling rules are above. Photo: Chuck Moravec (CC BY 2.0)

What should I write on the label?

The stay date and the booking name, at almost every hotel. Some ask for a script: katakana at The Park Front Hotel at Universal Studios Japan and Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo; furigana (the kana reading) at Maihama View Hotel by HULIC and Keikyu EX Inn Haneda; and Roman letters at Nine Hours (9h). Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station also wants the contents and a phone number.

Can I send it cash-on-delivery?

Not at 10 in the table, which refuse cash-on-delivery or ask the sender to prepay: Almont Hotel Nippori, Nakanobo Zuien, Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay, Takayama Green Hotel, Keikyu EX Inn Haneda, Tokyu Stay, Dormy Inn, The Park Front Hotel and Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya. Hotel Route Inn, below, says the same. Pay the shipping when you send the bag.

When should the bag arrive?

7 set a date. The b wants it on check-in day, and Nine Hours on the check-in date. Keikyu EX Inn Haneda, Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya and Almont Hotel Nippori ask for the day before or the day itself. Maihama View Hotel asks for it to arrive by the day before. MIMARU recommends a date on or after check-in and says earlier arrival may incur storage fees.

Do I need to tell the hotel first?

At 5. Candeo Hotels says it may not accept a parcel it was not told about. Dormy Inn wants the stay date, name, phone number and contents, and asks you to keep the tracking number. Nakanobo Zuien and Takayama Green Hotel ask you to let them know. The Okura Tokyo’s terms hold a parcel only if the hotel has accepted it in advance. Halekulani Okinawa asks for a copy of the courier receipt that matches your booking name and arrival date.

Can I have online orders delivered to the hotel?

The two chains that say so disagree. The b does not accept or store items bought by mail order at all. Dormy Inn accepts online orders until checkout time. For moving your own bags between cities, see our luggage forwarding guide.

Can the hotel ship my bags out?

Many can, with rules. Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay adds a 500-yen hotel fee to the fare and ships the same day until 13:00. Maihama View Hotel adds 520 yen and takes bags from 7:00 to 13:00. Halekulani Okinawa quotes about US$30 within Japan, whatever the size. Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo ships within Japan only; requests after 13:00 go the next day. The Park Front Hotel’s FAQ gives two answers for after 13:00: one says the 3F Bell Desk takes them cash-on-delivery only, the other says the Bell Desk takes them, with no condition.

Where does the hotel keep your luggage?

A row of white and red baggage coin lockers in a station concourse
Baggage coin lockers at Osaka Station in June 2026. These are station lockers, not a hotel’s; Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya is the hotel in the table that sends guests to station coin lockers.

Staff desk or self-service lockers?

Most keep bags at a staffed cloakroom, bell desk or front desk. 2 are self-service: The Park Front Hotel sends guests arriving early to a locked 2F locker room (card key from the 3F front desk) and has free coin lockers that return your 100-yen coin, and Asakusa View Hotel uses cloak lockers by the 1F Bell Desk.

Do any hotels keep bags somewhere else?

Hotel Taikanso in Matsushima keeps guests’ bags free at its sister shop, Taikantei; ask the staff at the 1F shop. InterContinental Yokohama Grand and Nakanobo Zuien state that they have no lockers; staff hold the bags.

What will a hotel not store?

Cash and valuables are the most common exclusion. Several also refuse fragile items, food and anything kept cold, and Hotel Okura Kyoto’s cloakroom adds computers, game consoles and tablets.

Lost property: how long does a hotel keep what you leave behind?

How long is lost property kept?

9 hotels in the table state a period, from 3 days at Candeo Hotels to 3 months at InterContinental Yokohama Grand. The Okura Tokyo, Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay, Nakanobo Zuien and Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo keep items 7 days or a week, then hand them to the police. Almont and Super Hotel keep them 1 month.

Will the hotel contact me?

Not at 3 that say so: InterContinental Yokohama Grand and Almont state that they do not contact the owner, and Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station does not, as a rule, except for some valuables. Call the hotel yourself as soon as you notice.

Hotels we could only partly check

These pages answer one luggage question, not the rest, so they are kept out of the main table. Sending bags ahead only (no rule on holding bags before check-in or after checkout):

Hotel or chainSending bags ahead: what the official page says
InterContinental Osaka
Osaka (Umeda)
Send to Guest Relations, with check-in date and the registered guest’s name. The FAQ says nothing about holding bags before check-in or after checkout
Hotel Route Inn
Chain
Stay date and guest name in katakana; held until check-in day. No cash-on-delivery or collect-on-delivery parcels, cash, valuables, medicine, fragile, hazardous or chilled items. The FAQ says nothing about holding bags before check-in or after checkout

Lost property only:

Hotel or chainLost property: what the official terms say
Vessel Hotels
Chain
14 days, then disposed of without notice (valuables 7 days, then police; perishables and magazines 1 day)
Hotel Keihan
Chain
Waits for the owner to ask, as a rule; valuables to the police within 7 days
Hotel Monterey
Chain
7 days, then police

(If you arrive before check-in: our early check-in fees table notes that 31 of 38 hotels that state a check-in time start at 15:00, and that several sell no early hours at all.)

Frequently asked questions

Can I leave my luggage at a hotel in Japan before check-in?
At 28 of the 34 hotels and chains we checked, yes, and Dormy Inn does for items it has agreed to in advance. Only Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya says no. Keikyu EX Inn Haneda, Nine Hours, Super Hotel and First Cabin hold bags on the check-in day only.
Will a hotel in Japan hold my bags after checkout?
25 of the 34 in our table say they will (Dormy Inn only for items agreed in advance). Nine Hours and Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya say no. The other seven do not say clearly, so ask at check-in.
Until what time can I pick up my bags after checkout?
Nine hotels in our table set a same-day limit: 23:00 at Keikyu EX Inn Haneda, 22:00 at MIMARU, 24:00 for Asakusa View Hotel’s lockers, and simply the same day at six others.
Is hotel luggage storage free in Japan?
Most pages in our table mention no fee, and five say free outright. Two charge for longer storage: MIMARU (500 yen per item per day outside its free hours) and Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo (from 1,000 yen per item on day 8, since June 1, 2026).
Can I leave luggage at a hotel for several days?
Four hotels in our table hold bags until your next stay: Nakanobo Zuien, Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station, Dormy Inn and Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo. Candeo Hotels, Keikyu EX Inn Haneda, Super Hotel and Tokyu Stay say no.
Can I send my luggage to the hotel before I arrive?
Most hotels in our table accept it with your name and stay date on the label. Seven set an arrival date. Nine Hours at Narita Airport does not accept bags sent ahead.
Can I send a cash-on-delivery parcel to my hotel?
Not at ten of the hotels in our table, which refuse cash-on-delivery or ask the sender to prepay, including Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Keikyu EX Inn Haneda and Dormy Inn. Hotel Route Inn also refuses it.
How long do hotels keep things left behind?
Where the hotel states it, from 3 days at Candeo Hotels to 3 months at InterContinental Yokohama Grand; 7 days is the most common period in our table. Three hotels say they will not contact you.

Bottom line (2026): Of 34 hotels and chains checked on their own pages, 25 hold luggage after checkout and 2 (Nine Hours, Wise Owl Hostels Shibuya) do not. 9 set a same-day deadline, as late as 24:00. MIMARU and Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo charge for longer storage, and 10 refuse cash-on-delivery parcels sent ahead or want them prepaid.

Sources

Each row is from the hotel’s own site, read on September 29, 2026. Luggage rules change, so confirm with the hotel before you rely on them.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC