Can you check in early at a Japanese hotel, and what does it cost? Each hotel answers in its own FAQ, terms of stay or member page, and the answers come in several different shapes. So we read the official rules of 27 hotels and chains and put them in one table, with 16 more that give only a check-in time and bag storage.
The short version: 5 of the 27 publish an hourly early check-in rate, from 1,000 to 3,300 yen, and 6 publish any yen charge for arriving early, counting Route Inn’s arrival-time charges. Noon is the most common line before which you pay a full night. Several luxury and city hotels sell no early hours at all and tell you to book the night before. Of 38 hotels that state a check-in time, 31 start at 15:00.
This is a companion to our late checkout fees table, and part of the same series as when free cancellation ends and what hotel parking costs.
Early check-in at 27 Japan hotels: the table

Times are Japan time; “one night” means the hotel bills a full extra night. Official pages are listed under Sources.
| Hotel or chain | Standard check-in | Early check-in rule on the official page | Bags before check-in | Type |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Candeo Hotels (5 hotels, same FAQ) Chain | 15:00 | Guaranteed in advance: 2,200 yen per room per hour. Otherwise on the day if rooms allow; the FAQ gives no fee for that. CLUB CANDEO members are offered it first. No earliest time stated | Not stated | Hourly fee + Member or direct perk |
| The Okura Tokyo Tokyo (Toranomon) | 15:00 (varies by plan) | No hourly option. To guarantee a check-in before 15:00, book the night before as well | Not stated | Night before / one night |
| Hotel 1899 Tokyo Tokyo (Shimbashi) | 15:00 (last 24:00) | From 13:00 on request, contact ahead; may be refused on busy days; no fee stated for 13:00–15:00. 13:00 or earlier: one night | From the day of the stay (2F front desk) | Night before / one night + On request, no fee published |
| The Park Front Hotel at Universal Studios Japan Osaka (USJ) | 15:00 | Before 12:00: one extra night, amount by room type. 12:00–15:00: no fee published, ask the hotel | 2F locker room (key cards from the front desk) | Night before / one night |
| Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo Tokyo (Mejiro) | 15:00 | Using the room before 15:00 is charged from the day before | Held until the room is ready | Night before / one night |
| Swissotel Nankai Osaka Osaka (Namba) | 15:00 | Possible if rooms are available; no fee stated. To raise your chances, it suggests booking the previous night | Free | On request, no fee published |
| Hotel New Otani Tokyo Tokyo (Kioicho) | 15:00 | On request (“let us know”); no fee stated | Bell Desk | On request, no fee published |
| Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo Tokyo (Shinjuku) | 15:00 | Not accepted as a rule. Where possible, you book from the night before and pay one night | Bell Captain Desk (lobby floor) | Night before / one night |
| Hotel Route Inn / Route Inn Court Nationwide chain | 15:00 | A set charge by arrival time, per person: 1,000 yen (14:00–15:00), 2,000 (13:00–14:00), 3,000 (12:00–13:00), 4,000 (11:00–12:00), 5,000 (10:00–11:00). Before 10:00: one night. Some brands, such as Grandvrio, set their own | Not stated | Set charge by arrival time |
| Dormy Inn Nationwide chain | 15:00 (hotel or plan may differ) | 1,000 yen per person per hour, the same for early arrival and late stay (two guests: 2,000 yen an hour). No earliest check-in time stated | Only items agreed in advance | Hourly fee |
| the b Chain | 15:00 | Ask the hotel; no fee or member perk stated. The Asakusa page asks you to contact it in advance | Not stated | On request, no fee published |
| Asakusa View Hotel Tokyo (Asakusa) | 15:00 | English FAQ: early check-in, if rooms allow, costs the full room rate. Terms of stay: use outside the set hours costs 1/3 of the room rate up to 3 hours, 1/2 up to 6, the full rate beyond. The two pages differ | Bell Desk | Share of room rate |
| Maihama View Hotel by HULIC Chiba (Maihama) | 15:00 | No early check-in fee in the FAQ. Check-in paperwork from 6:00 on the arrival day, also at the Tokyo Disney Resort Welcome Center (8:00–15:00). Its terms charge for use outside normal hours: 1/3 of the room rate up to 3 hours over, 1/2 up to 6, the full rate beyond | From 6:00 (Guest Services) | Share of room rate + Paperwork and bags first |
| Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay Chiba (Maihama) | 15:00 | No early check-in fee published. Hotel service counter next to JR Maihama Station (8:00–15:00) does check-in paperwork; room keys there only for guests reaching the hotel from 18:00, and not always. Its terms price use beyond the set time at 25%, 50% and 100% of the room charge | At the station counter, delivered to the hotel free | Paperwork and bags first |
| InterContinental Yokohama Grand Yokohama (Minato Mirai) | 15:00 | FAQ: if rooms allow, check-in 12:00–15:00 adds 50% of the first night, before 12:00 100%; ask ahead. Paperwork only on the day, 6:00–10:30 or 11:30–13:30 | 2F front desk, at paperwork | Share of room rate + Paperwork and bags first |
| Hotel Nikko Narita Narita Airport | 15:00 | FAQ: extra charge that varies by time; ask the hotel. Terms: use outside normal hours costs 30% of the room rate up to 3 hours over, 50% up to 6, 100% beyond. One Harmony members: Royal 13:00, Exclusive 12:00, Exclusive Plus 11:00, if rooms allow, until March 31, 2027. Main-building rooms: no early check-in, late checkout or day-use bookings from September 1 to December 11, 2026 (planned) | Not stated | Share of room rate + Member or direct perk |
| Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Tokyo (Nihonbashi) | 15:00 | May be arranged subject to availability; no fee stated | Not stated | On request, no fee published |
| Andon Ryokan Tokyo (Iriya) | 15:00–22:00 | Contact the ryokan to request it; no fee stated | On request | On request, no fee published |
| Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport Tokyo (Haneda Airport) | 15:00 | From 12:00: 3,300 yen per room per hour (revised April 1, 2026; 2,200 yen at its Superior hotels). 12:00 or earlier: one night | From the day before | Hourly fee |
| Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori Tokyo (Omori) | 15:00 | 1,100 yen an hour; the page does not say per room or per person. May be refused on busy days. 9:00 or earlier: one night | Yes | Hourly fee |
| Keikyu EX Inn Haneda Tokyo (Haneda) | 15:00 | 12:00–15:00: 1,100 yen per room per hour. 12:00 or earlier: one night, and you must book the night before | On the check-in day only | Hourly fee + Night before / one night |
| Comfort Hotel Nationwide chain | 15:00 (terms; some hotels differ) | Booked on its official site: check-in from 14:00. Its terms charge for use outside the room-use hours: per extra hour, 1,000 yen for one guest, 1,500 for two, 2,000 for three, 2,500 for four, 3,000 for five or more. The terms do not call this an early check-in fee | Held if you arrive outside the hours | Member or direct perk |
| Sotetsu Fresa Inn Chain | Not stated as one time (some hotels 14:00) | Sotetsu Hotels Club members: 14:00, for bookings on the official site or by phone; if the room is not ready, a bottle of water or a drink in the restaurant. No fee stated for others | Not stated | Member or direct perk |
| Hotel Gracery Shinjuku Tokyo (Kabukicho) | 14:00 | No fee stated. The FAQ answers twice: one answer says check-in before 14:00 may be possible if the room is ready; another says only that it can confirm your booking and keep your bags | 8F front desk | On request, no fee published |
| MIMARU Apartment hotel chain | 15:00 | Possible if the room is ready, not promised; no fee stated | Free 7:00–22:00; otherwise 500 yen per piece per day | On request, no fee published |
| Vessel Inn Asakusa (Vessel Hotels) Tokyo (Asakusa) | 14:00 | Terms: use outside the hours for an additional charge the hotel sets; ask the front desk. Amount not published | Not stated | On request, no fee published |
| Anshin Oyado (6 capsule hotels) Tokyo, Nagoya | 12:00 (checkout 15:00 next day) | Standard check-in is already noon: up to a 27-hour stay | Not stated | Early standard time |
What do the types mean?
Counts, with some hotels in two types: hourly fee 5, set charge by arrival time 1, share of room rate (in an FAQ or the terms) 4, night before or one night 6, member or direct perk 4, on request, no fee published 9, paperwork and bags first 3, early standard time 1.
Hotels with no early check-in rule: time and bags only (16)
These pages give a check-in time and say what happens to your bags, but publish no rule on early check-in. That is not the same as “not allowed”: it means you have to ask.
| Hotel or chain | Standard check-in | Early check-in on the official page | Bags before check-in |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo | 14:00 | No rule published | Yes, if you arrive before 14:00 |
| Tokyu Stay | 15:00 | No rule published | Front desk, before check-in |
| Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station | 15:00 | No rule published (its direct-booking perk is a 12:00 checkout) | 1F front desk |
| InterContinental Osaka | 15:00 | No rule published; gym, pool and Japanese-style bath from check-in | Can be sent ahead |
| Kamakura Prince Hotel | 15:00 | No rule published | Yes |
| Hotel Okura Kyoto | Not in its FAQ | No rule published | 1F cloakroom, free |
| Hotel Granvia Kyoto | Not in its FAQ | No rule published | 2F cloakroom |
| Sapporo Grand Hotel | Not in the FAQ answer | No rule published | 1F cloakroom |
| Hotel Collective | 15:00 | No rule published | Yes |
| Nine Hours | 15:00 | No rule published | On the check-in date; not before check-in at Narita Airport |
| Toyoko Inn | 15:00 (terms) | No rule published; the terms price only staying past checkout | Not stated |
| Richmond Hotels | 14:00 (terms) | No rule published; outside-hours use only up to 14:00 on the departure day | Not stated |
| Hotel Resol | Varies by hotel | No rule published; the terms count extra hours from checkout | Not stated |
| Almont Hotel Kyoto | 14:00 | No rule published (a late-stay fee only) | Can be sent ahead |
| The Busena Terrace | 14:00 | No rule published; beach and pools can be used before check-in | Butlers hold it |
| Halekulani Okinawa | 15:00 | No rule published; hotel facilities open to guests on the check-in day | Can be sent ahead |
How much does early check-in cost at Japanese hotels?

Which hotels publish an hourly fee?
5 of the 27 publish an hourly early check-in rate, from 1,000 to 3,300 yen an hour. Dormy Inn charges 1,000 yen per person per hour. Keikyu EX Inn Haneda and Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori charge 1,100 yen. Candeo Hotels charges 2,200 yen per room per hour to guarantee it. Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport raised its rate to 3,300 yen per room per hour on April 1, 2026.
Which hotels publish any yen charge for arriving early?
6 of the 27: the five hourly rates plus Route Inn, which sets a charge by arrival time rather than by the hour: 1,000 yen per person for 14:00 to 15:00, up to 5,000 yen per person for 10:00 to 11:00, and one night before 10:00. Comfort Hotel’s terms price each extra hour outside the room-use hours (1,000 to 3,000 yen by party size) but, like the terms at Okura Tokyo Bay, Maihama View and Nikko Narita, do not call it an early check-in fee, so we have not counted it.
Is the fee per room or per person?
Read the wording, because it doubles the bill for two. Per person: Dormy Inn, and Route Inn’s arrival-time charges. Per room: Candeo, Hotel Villa Fontaine and Keikyu EX Inn. Not stated: Tmark City Hotel. A couple arriving at 14:00 pays 2,000 yen at Route Inn and 1,100 yen at Keikyu EX Inn Haneda.
Which hotels charge a share of the room rate for early check-in?
Only InterContinental Yokohama Grand publishes a percentage specifically for early check-in in its FAQ: 50 percent of the first night for 12:00 to 15:00 and 100 percent before 12:00. Asakusa View Hotel’s English FAQ says early check-in costs the full room rate. Maihama View Hotel and Hotel Nikko Narita have percentage scales in their terms of stay, but those clauses cover use outside normal hours; the terms do not call it an early check-in fee, so neither do we.
What does Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay charge?
It publishes no early check-in fee. Its English terms price use beyond the set time at 25, 50 and 100 percent of the room charge without saying whether that covers arriving early (they also print noon as “12 a.m.”).
When early check-in costs a full night
What time is the one-night line?
7 hotels name a time before which an early room costs a night. Noon is the most common, at 4: The Park Front Hotel (before 12:00), Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport and Keikyu EX Inn Haneda (12:00 or earlier, in their wording), and InterContinental Yokohama Grand (100 percent of the first night before 12:00). Hotel 1899 Tokyo sets 13:00, Route Inn 10:00 and Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori 9:00.
Which hotels tell you to book the night before?
The Okura Tokyo says that to guarantee a check-in before 15:00 you should book the previous night. Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo does not accept early check-in as a rule, and where it can, the booking starts the night before. Swissotel Nankai Osaka suggests a previous-night booking to raise your chances. Keikyu EX Inn Haneda requires one for check-in at 12:00 or earlier, and Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo charges from the day before for any use of the room before 15:00.
Do luxury hotels sell early hours?
Not in this table. The Okura Tokyo, Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo and Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo treat an early room as another night; Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo and Swissotel Nankai Osaka take requests without a published price. The hourly rates come from airport and business hotels.
What happens between 12:00 and 15:00 at The Park Front Hotel?
Its FAQ sets one extra night before 12:00, with the amount depending on room type, and publishes no fee for 12:00 to 15:00. Ask the hotel; we have not filled in a figure.
Earlier check-in for members and direct bookings
How early can Hotel Nikko Narita members check in?
One Harmony members can check in at 13:00 (Royal), 12:00 (Exclusive) or 11:00 (Exclusive Plus), instead of 15:00, if rooms allow, until March 31, 2027. Note the maintenance notice: from September 1 to December 11, 2026 (planned), the hotel takes no early check-in, late checkout or day-use bookings for main-building rooms.
Which chains give 14:00 check-in?
Comfort Hotel gives check-in from 14:00 to bookings on its official site. Sotetsu Fresa Inn gives Sotetsu Hotels Club members 14:00 on bookings made on the official site or by phone, and offers water or a drink if the room is not ready. Some Sotetsu hotels already start at 14:00, and the member page gives no single standard time for the chain.
Is Candeo early check-in free for members?
The FAQ says CLUB CANDEO members are offered it first when rooms are free on the day. It gives no price for that, and it does not call it free. The only published price is 2,200 yen per room per hour to guarantee it in advance.
Early check-in paperwork and bags: what hotels allow
Can I check in before my room is ready?
At 3 hotels, on paper. Maihama View Hotel takes check-in from 6:00 on the arrival day, and the Tokyo Disney Resort Welcome Center does it from 8:00 to 15:00. InterContinental Yokohama Grand takes check-in from 6:00 to 10:30 or 11:30 to 13:30. Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay does it at its counter next to JR Maihama Station from 8:00 to 15:00 and delivers your bags to the hotel free. All three are around Tokyo Bay and Yokohama, and the room still opens at the normal time.
Can I leave my bags before check-in?
At almost every hotel in both tables whose page mentions it. The exceptions and conditions: Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport holds bags from the day before; Keikyu EX Inn Haneda only on the check-in day; MIMARU is free from 7:00 to 22:00 and 500 yen per piece per day outside that; Dormy Inn keeps only items it agreed to in advance; and Nine Hours at Narita Airport does not hold bags before check-in.
Can I use the pool or beach before check-in?
At some resorts. The Busena Terrace says yes to its beach and pools, with butlers holding luggage, and Halekulani Okinawa opens its facilities on the check-in day. InterContinental Osaka asks guests to use its gym, pool and bath from check-in.
When a hotel’s own pages disagree
Asakusa View Hotel: full rate or a fraction?
Its English FAQ says early check-in or late checkout, if rooms allow, costs the full room rate. Its terms of stay charge 1/3 of the room rate up to 3 hours outside the set hours, 1/2 up to 6 and the full rate beyond. Both are on its official site as of September 29, 2026. Ask which applies.
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku: yes or bags only?
The same FAQ page answers twice. One answer says check-in before 14:00 may be possible if the room is ready and to ask the front desk. Another answers the same question with only a booking check and bag storage. We have not picked one.
What else do the pages leave out?
Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori does not say whether 1,100 yen is per room or per person. Dormy Inn gives no earliest check-in time; its 14:00 limit is for late stays.
Standard check-in times at Japanese hotels

Is 15:00 the standard check-in time?
In our tables, yes. Of the 38 hotels in both tables whose pages state a time, 31 start at 15:00, 6 at 14:00 and 1 at 12:00. The others give no single time or none in the pages we read.
Which hotels start at 14:00 or earlier?
At 14:00: Hotel Gracery Shinjuku, Vessel Inn Asakusa, Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, Richmond Hotels, Almont Hotel Kyoto and The Busena Terrace. At 12:00: Anshin Oyado, capsule hotels in Tokyo and Nagoya offering up to a 27-hour stay. There, the early hour is simply the normal time.
How to plan an early arrival at a hotel in Japan

When should I ask for early check-in?
Before the day. Hotel 1899 Tokyo and InterContinental Yokohama Grand ask for contact in advance, and many answers in the table depend on rooms, so a request at booking has a better chance than one at the desk.
Is an extra night better than paying by the hour?
After an overnight flight, it can be. Where a noon line applies, an 11:00 arrival costs a night anyway, and a night-before booking guarantees the room.
Frequently asked questions
Can I check in early at a hotel in Japan?
How much does early check-in cost?
Is early check-in charged per room or per person?
When does early check-in cost a full night?
Is early check-in free for hotel members?
Can I leave my bags before check-in?
Can I do the check-in paperwork before my room is ready?
What time is check-in at hotels in Japan?
Bottom line (2026): Of 27 hotels and chains checked on their own pages, 5 publish an hourly early check-in rate, from 1,000 to 3,300 yen, and 6 publish any yen charge for arriving early. Noon is the most common time before which an early room costs a full night, and The Okura Tokyo and Keio Plaza sell no hours at all. Of 38 hotels stating a time, 31 start at 15:00.
Sources
Each row is from the hotel’s own site, read on September 29, 2026. Fees and perks change, and many apply only if rooms are available, so confirm with the hotel before you rely on them.
- Candeo Hotels (5 hotels, same FAQ): official page, official page, official page
- The Okura Tokyo: official page
- Hotel 1899 Tokyo: official page
- The Park Front Hotel at Universal Studios Japan: official page
- Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo: official page
- Swissotel Nankai Osaka: official page
- Hotel New Otani Tokyo: official page
- Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo: official page
- Hotel Route Inn / Route Inn Court: official page
- Dormy Inn: official page
- the b: official page, official page
- Asakusa View Hotel: official page, official page
- Maihama View Hotel by HULIC: official page, official page, official page, official page, official page
- Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay: official page, official page
- InterContinental Yokohama Grand: official page
- Hotel Nikko Narita: official page, official page, official page, official page
- Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo: official page
- Andon Ryokan: official page
- Hotel Villa Fontaine Grand Haneda Airport: official page, official page
- Tmark City Hotel Tokyo Omori: official page
- Keikyu EX Inn Haneda: official page
- Comfort Hotel: official page, official page
- Sotetsu Fresa Inn: official page
- Hotel Gracery Shinjuku: official page
- MIMARU: official page
- Vessel Inn Asakusa (Vessel Hotels): official page, official page
- Anshin Oyado (6 capsule hotels): official page, official page
- Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo: official page
- Tokyu Stay: official page
- Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station: official page
- InterContinental Osaka: official page
- Kamakura Prince Hotel: official page
- Hotel Okura Kyoto: official page
- Hotel Granvia Kyoto: official page
- Sapporo Grand Hotel: official page
- Hotel Collective: official page
- Nine Hours: official page
- Toyoko Inn: official page
- Richmond Hotels: official page
- Hotel Resol: official page
- Almont Hotel Kyoto: official page
- The Busena Terrace: official page
- Halekulani Okinawa: official page
Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


