The Okura Tokyo is the Okura hotel in Toranomon, Minato-ku, split between a high-rise Prestige Tower and a low-rise Heritage Wing. Before you book, know four rules: check-in is 15:00 and checkout is noon; canceling costs 100 percent from 15:00 the day before; children 12 and under share a bed free, but some restaurants, the lounge and the gym have their own age limits; and the pool is free for guests, while guests with tattoos may be asked not to use it.
This page reads the hotel’s own Japanese and English sites, its terms of stay, the fitness terms of use and its breakfast and car-service PDFs. Where the two languages disagree, we show both and name the page.
The Okura Tokyo at a glance

| Item | Official rule |
|---|---|
| Address | 2-10-4 Toranomon, Minato-ku, Tokyo 105-0001 |
| Check-in / out | 15:00 / 12:00 (check-in time depends on the plan) |
| Early check-in | To guarantee it, book the night before as well |
| Cancellation (up to 10) | 100% from 15:00 the day before, on the day, and for a no-show |
| Kids sharing a bed | Free, 12 and under; one per bed, two per room |
| Orchid breakfast buffet | Adults 6,500 yen, ages 6 to 12 3,900 yen, 0 to 5 free |
| Pool, gym, saunas | Free for staying guests; ages 13 and over |
| Tattoos | Guests may be asked to refrain from the fitness facilities |
| Parking | Free for guests, one car per room |
| Tipping | Declined; 15% service charge on the bill |
| Smoking rooms | Heritage Wing 9F only |
From The Okura Tokyo’s official pages, terms of stay and PDFs, read September 28, 2026.
What is The Okura Tokyo, and which building is which?
Prestige Tower or Heritage Wing?
The hotel has two buildings. Heritage Wing rooms are on floors 6 to 17, with smoking rooms on the 9th floor only. Prestige Tower rooms are on floors 28 to 30 and, as “upper floors,” 31 to 36, all non-smoking. The front desk for check-in is on the 5th floor, and the Heritage Wing page says you can also check in at the Library. Since July 1, 2026, the hotel sells Heritage Wing rooms as “Heritage Room”; Club Lounge access is a separate option, not offered over the New Year period, while the pressing service (up to five items per stay) and the free in-room minibar apply either way.
Are there Japanese-style rooms?
No. The Japanese FAQ says plainly that the hotel has no Japanese-style (tatami) rooms. It also says room type and floor cannot be requested, except on certain dedicated plans. Accessible rooms for wheelchair users are offered in some Prestige Room types, and the FAQ describes its connecting rooms as an “outer connect” type, with a shared door set outside the room doors.
How many people can share a room?
The terms of stay set a limit of four guests per room. The rules for children sharing a bed are in the family section below. For how Toranomon fits among Tokyo’s neighborhoods, see our where to stay in Tokyo guide.
Check-in, checkout and late arrival at The Okura Tokyo
What time is check-in?
From 15:00. The FAQ adds that the time varies by plan. The terms of stay let you use the room from 15:00 until noon the next day, and the front desk runs 24 hours; the terms list no curfew at the main entrance. The FAQ confirms you can check in and out at the Prestige Tower 5th-floor front desk.
Can I check in before 15:00?
Only by booking an extra night. The Japanese FAQ says that to guarantee check-in before 15:00, you should book the previous night as well. The hotel publishes no hourly early check-in fee.
How much does late checkout cost?
The hotel does not publish an hourly price. The terms of stay say the hotel may agree to room use outside the set hours, and then charge a share of the room charge, not a per-person fee:
| Extra time | Charge |
|---|---|
| Up to 3 hours | One third of the room charge |
| Up to 6 hours | One half of the room charge |
| More than 6 hours | The full room charge |
Article 10 of the official terms of stay, read September 28, 2026.
So staying until 15:00 would fall in the first band. Our late checkout comparison sets this against other hotels in Japan.
What if I arrive late at night?
Call ahead. The two official sources give different times. The terms of stay say that if you have not arrived or called by 8 p.m. on the day, or two hours after the arrival time you gave, the booking may be treated as canceled by you. The Japanese FAQ asks you to contact the hotel if you will arrive after 22:00.
Canceling or changing a booking at The Okura Tokyo
What does it cost to cancel?
The Japanese FAQ says a 100 percent cancellation fee applies from 15:00 the day before. The terms of stay set the defaults by party size:
| When you cancel | Up to 10 people | 11 or more |
|---|---|---|
| 60 days before | — | 20% |
| 30 days before | — | 50% |
| 14 days before | — | 100% |
| Day before, from 15:00 | 100% | 100% |
| Same day | 100% | 100% |
| No-show | 100% | 100% |
Appendix 3 of the official terms of stay, read September 28, 2026. The terms say some suites carry different penalties.
The FAQ warns that the plan, the dates and the number of people can change the rules, and the terms set different penalties for some suites (the English terms say “VIP rooms”). Shortening a stay is charged on the same scale for the nights dropped. The terms also allow the hotel to ask for a deposit of up to the basic room charge for the stay, counting at most three nights. Our hotel cancellation comparison shows how other hotels set their cutoffs.
Can I change my dates?
Not as a change. The booking form says that to change a reservation you cancel it and book again. The FAQ adds that the hotel does not keep a waiting list.
What if I booked through a booking site?
Then the booking site is your contact. An official notice says the hotel is “unable to confirm, amend, or cancel such reservations directly,” and the Japanese version says the information the third party sends the hotel takes priority. The problems it lists include a booking that never reached the hotel, so no room was held, and a booking canceled without the guest meaning to.
Is a message about my booking on WhatsApp real?
The hotel says it does not send them. A June 2026 English notice about Booking.com phishing says the hotel “will never contact guests directly regarding their reservations through messaging applications.” The messages it describes demand that you update details within 24 hours or lose the booking.
Kids and families at The Okura Tokyo
Do children stay free?
Yes, when sharing a bed. The FAQ says children 12 and under can share a bed free. The terms of stay add the limits: one child per bed, and no more than two co-sleeping children per room. Minors may not stay on their own without a guardian’s permission. Compare the age cutoffs with other hotels in our kids stay free guide.
Can I get a crib or an extra bed?
A baby crib is free for babies under 1, but numbers are limited, so reserve it. Extra beds are available only in some Prestige and Heritage rooms, also in limited numbers; the FAQ asks you to inquire in advance and does not publish a price. The FAQ lists children’s items including a bed guard, two-piece pajamas in 90 cm or 110 cm, a set of 19 cm slippers, toothbrush, towel and cup, a diaper bin and a waterproof sheet. A nursing room is on the 7th floor of the Prestige Tower.
Where are children not allowed?
| Place | Age rule |
|---|---|
| Fitness (gym, pool, saunas) | 13 and over |
| Okura Spa | Asks under-16s not to use it |
| Club Lounge after 17:00 | 13 and over |
| Nouvelle Epoque (restaurant) | 12 and over |
| Yamazato kappo and sushi counters | 10 and over |
Official restaurant, lounge, fitness and spa pages, read September 28, 2026.
Does a child pay for the Club Lounge?
Yes. The lounge page says a co-sleeping child aged 6 to 12 who enters the lounge costs 4,500 yen per child per night. The lounge is on the 37th floor of the Prestige Tower, open 8:00 to 20:30, with light meals 8:00 to 11:00, sweets and savories 14:00 to 17:00, and evening light meals 17:00 to 19:30; alcohol other than beer is served from 17:00. The Japanese FAQ says it is for guests on a plan that includes the lounge, and that a companion pays 9,000 yen for 60 minutes, up to three per room.
Breakfast at The Okura Tokyo: prices and hours

How much is the breakfast buffet?
The Orchid breakfast buffet costs 6,500 yen for adults and 3,900 yen for children aged 6 to 12, according to the official price sheet; the FAQ says children 0 to 5 eat free. Prices include consumption tax and the 15 percent service charge. It runs 6:30 to 10:30, with last entry at 10:00. On weekends and holidays Orchid is for hotel guests only; on other weekdays, non-guests are limited to 60 minutes. Orchid also serves an American breakfast at 5,500 yen and a kids’ breakfast at 3,300 yen.
What are the other breakfast options?
| Where | Price | Hours |
|---|---|---|
| Orchid buffet | Adult 6,500 yen / 6 to 12: 3,900 yen | 6:30 to 10:30 (last entry 10:00) |
| Yamazato, Japanese breakfast | 6,500 yen | 7:00 to 9:30; weekends and holidays to 10:00 |
| Nouvelle Epoque | Not stated | 7:00 to 9:30 |
| Room service | Not stated | 6:00 to 11:30; Japanese breakfast 7:00 to 9:30 |
Official restaurant pages and price PDFs, tax and service charge included, read September 28, 2026.
Which ones a breakfast plan covers depends on the page you read. The Japanese breakfast page lists the Orchid buffet, Yamazato and room service, plus Nouvelle Epoque for Heritage Wing guests. The English breakfast page names only Orchid and Yamazato for plan guests. If you want breakfast in your room on a plan, confirm it with the hotel.
Is there a dress code at breakfast?
Yes. The Japanese FAQ sets smart casual for all restaurants and bars and for breakfast at Nouvelle Epoque: no shorts, sandals, sleeveless tops for men, or hats. Lunch and dinner at Nouvelle Epoque are smart elegance, and men are asked to wear a jacket.
Can the kitchen handle allergies or halal?
The FAQ says the hotel responds as far as it can to allergies, health-related diets and religious restrictions, and asks you to say so when you book. The question it answers mentions gluten-free, halal, kosher and vegan.
The Okura Tokyo pool, gym and spa: tattoos and rules
Is the pool free for guests?
Yes. Staying guests can use the gym, pool and saunas free during their stay. On the 27th floor of the Prestige Tower there is a 25-meter, five-lane heated pool, a dry sauna, a steam sauna and a carbonated spring bath. Hours are 6:00 to 22:00 Monday to Saturday (last check-in 21:00) and 6:00 to 21:30 on Sunday (last check-in 20:30). Do not arrive in nightwear, a bathrobe or slippers.
Can I use the pool with a tattoo?
It is not guaranteed. The fitness terms of use, in both languages, say “Guests with tattoos may be asked to refrain from using the facilities.” That is softer than a flat ban, but the hotel keeps the right to say no, and the official pages say nothing about cover patches. Our tattoos and onsen guide covers how other places handle it.
What do I need to bring, and what can I rent?
A swimming cap is required for everyone in the pool, and caps are free. Training wear, shoes and swimwear rent for 1,000 yen each, socks for 500 yen, tax included; there are no goggles to rent. Swimwear is not allowed in the baths or saunas, and photos and video are banned. The terms of use limit the hotel’s liability for the safety boxes to 100,000 yen.
Is the pool closed in January 2027?
Yes. From January 12 to 15, 2027, the pool, bath area, relaxation room and club salon are closed, and the gym runs short hours, 6:30 to 19:00 (last check-in 18:00). The English version of the page also lists the spa as closed; the Japanese version does not mention the spa.
What about the Okura Spa?
The spa is open 10:00 to 21:00, with reception 9:30 to 19:30. Staying guests get 20 percent off. Canceling from 18:00 the day before, or not showing up, costs 100 percent of the treatment price. The spa asks that children under 16 not use it.
Parking and getting to The Okura Tokyo

Is parking free?
For guests, yes: free from check-in to checkout, limited to one car per room. The English rules add that staff may not move your car for you. Valet parking costs 2,000 yen a night, tax included, with unlimited in and out during its hours. The car park holds about 330 cars from 1F down to the basement, and there is an EV charger on B1. Cars must be no more than 5.3 meters long, 2.1 meters wide and 2.2 meters tall. The car park rules set a time rate of 500 yen per 30 minutes, waived if you leave within 30 minutes, for up to 168 hours. The terms say the hotel rents the space and does not take responsibility for the vehicle. The official pages do not say whether parking can be reserved.
Which entrance do I use?
Hotel guests use the main entrance on the 5th floor; banquet guests use the banquet entrance on 1F. This matters for walking times: the Japanese access page measures the walk from Toranomon Hills Station to the banquet entrance, while the English page gives the same five minutes without that note.
Which station is closest?
| Station and exit | Walk |
|---|---|
| Toranomon Hills (Hibiya line), exit A2a | 5 min (to the banquet entrance) |
| Roppongi-itchome (Namboku line), ticket gate exit | 7 min |
| Toranomon (Ginza line), exit 3 | 10 min |
| Tameike-sanno (Ginza and Namboku lines), exit 14 | 10 min |
Official access page (Japanese version), read September 28, 2026. All are Tokyo Metro lines.
How long from Haneda and Narita?
From Haneda, the Japanese access page says about 30 minutes by taxi, and the English page says around 40 minutes. Both give about 50 minutes by the Tokyo Monorail or the Keikyu line. From Narita, it is about 70 minutes by taxi or about two hours by airport limousine bus, or you can take the Narita Express to Tokyo Station.
Can the hotel book an airport car?
Yes. The hotel’s Japanese-language car guide lists a luxury-class car at 34,000 yen from Haneda and 26,000 yen to Haneda, and 58,000 yen from Narita and 50,000 yen to Narita, with higher classes available. Prices include tolls, tax and fees; an English-speaking driver costs extra. Cancellation is 30 percent three days before, 50 percent two days before, and 100 percent the day before or on the day. We did not check the English version of the guide.
Paying, tipping and house rules at The Okura Tokyo
Do I tip, and what is on the bill?
Do not tip. The terms of stay add a 15 percent service charge and say the hotel declines gratuities; the English text calls it “our policy to decline tips and other gratuities.” The bill is built as room charge, then the service charge, then 10 percent consumption tax on both, then accommodation tax. The hotel may ask for a deposit on arrival.
Which cards are accepted?
The Japanese FAQ lists American Express, Diners Club, Visa, Mastercard and JCB, among others, and says UnionPay is accepted. Visitors with Visa or Mastercard can choose to pay in the card’s home currency. The English terms say charges are paid in Japanese currency or by coupons or cards the hotel accepts. The official pages do not mention e-money, QR codes or mobile wallets.
Is The Okura Tokyo non-smoking?
Mostly. The terms say smoking is banned throughout the hotel except in designated areas. The only smoking rooms are on the Heritage Wing 9th floor; ask when you book, as there are few. Smoking areas are on floors 2, 4, 6, 7 and 41 of the Prestige Tower. All restaurants and bars are non-smoking, and the club floors have no smoking rooms.
Can I bring a dog?
Pets are not allowed. The Japanese FAQ says guide dogs, hearing dogs and service dogs may stay, with their certificate checked in advance. The house-manners page in both languages names only guide dogs and hearing dogs, so bring the certificate and tell the hotel first.
Can I send luggage ahead?
Only with agreement first. The terms say bags that arrive before you are held only if the hotel agreed before they arrived, and the FAQ says guests should address parcels care of the Bell Desk. The rules keep items in the cloakroom for one month and in the storeroom for three months. Items left behind are kept seven days, counting the day found, then handed to the local police.
What about valuables?
Use the free in-room safe. The terms cap the hotel’s liability at 600,000 yen for items left at the front desk when the hotel asked you to declare their kind and value and you did not, and 300,000 yen for items not left at the desk.
Which house rules surprise foreign guests?
Under the terms, the hotel registers your nationality, passport number, port of entry and date of entry if you live outside Japan. Bathrobes, pajamas and slippers are for inside the room only. No eating or drinking in the lobby and other public spaces, and meet night-time visitors in the lobby. Do not charge a power bank while you are out of the room; staff may stop it. And there is no coin laundry in the building. If you are also weighing another Tokyo hotel, our Hotel New Otani Tokyo guide runs through the same questions.
Who The Okura Tokyo is for

The official rules point to a few kinds of guest. Families with children 12 and under, who can share a bed free, as long as the age limits on the gym, spa, lounge and some counters are not a problem. Drivers, with free parking for one car per room. Swimmers, with a free 25-meter pool, if a tattoo is not an issue. It is a harder fit if you need flexibility: the 100 percent fee from 15:00 the day before and the cancel-and-rebook rule for changes leave little room once plans shift.
(Another Okura hotel, in Kobe: our Hotel Okura Kobe guide notes the French toast it serves at breakfast, made to a recipe the hotel says was handed down from Hotel Okura Tokyo.)
Frequently asked questions
What time are check-in and checkout at The Okura Tokyo?
What is the cancellation policy at The Okura Tokyo?
Do children stay free at The Okura Tokyo?
How much is breakfast at The Okura Tokyo?
Can I use the pool at The Okura Tokyo with a tattoo?
Is parking free at The Okura Tokyo?
Should I tip at The Okura Tokyo?
How do I get to The Okura Tokyo from Haneda Airport?
Bottom line (2026): The Okura Tokyo checks in from 15:00 and out at noon, and charges 100 percent from 15:00 the day before. Children 12 and under share a bed free. The Orchid buffet costs 6,500 yen for adults, the pool is free for guests but tattoos may be refused, parking is free for one car per room, and tips are declined.
Sources
Every rule and figure on this page is from The Okura Tokyo’s own sites: the English site and the Japanese site, the FAQ (Japanese only), the terms of stay, the access page, the breakfast page, the fitness page and its terms of use, the notice on third-party bookings, and the breakfast and airport-car PDFs, all read on September 28, 2026. The terms say the Japanese text prevails; where the English and Japanese pages differ, we give both. Confirm on the official site before you book.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


