Richmond Hotels is a Japanese business-hotel chain, run by RNT Hotels, with branches from Sapporo to Naha. Its rules are gentler than most in one place and stricter in others: on the day of your stay you can cancel free until 18:00, but on the day you can only do it by phone, not email; checkout is 11:00, and an hour more costs 1,000 yen unless you are a member; and there is no daily cleaning on a long stay.
There is no English version of the site to check any of this against. The language button machine-translates the Japanese pages, so this page reads the Japanese terms, booking rules, membership page and six hotel pages directly: Asakusa, Premier Asakusa and Tokyo Shiba in Tokyo, Namba Daikokucho in Osaka, and Premier Kyoto Ekimae and Premier Kyoto Shijo in Kyoto.
Richmond Hotels at a glance

| Item | Official rule |
|---|---|
| Check-in / out | 14:00 / 11:00 (chain terms and all six hotels checked). |
| Late checkout | To 12:00: normally 1,000 yen, free for members. Later: price not published. |
| Cancel (under 10 rooms) | Free until 18:00 on the day; 50% after 18:00; 100% after 22:00 or no-show. |
| Same-day cancel | Phone only. No email. |
| No-show cutoff | 22:00, or 2 hours after your stated arrival time. |
| Children | Elementary age and under free, one per bed at Asakusa, Tokyo Shiba, Namba. Not stated at Premier hotels. |
| Breakfast (adult guest) | 2,500 to 3,850 yen by hotel; preschoolers free. |
| Cleaning on long stays | Not daily. Fourth day, then every three days. |
| Parking | None at four of the six hotels checked. |
| Pets | Animals and birds not allowed (house rules). |
| English site | Machine translation of the Japanese pages. |
From the official terms and hotel pages, read September 25, 2026. A plan’s own conditions override the standard terms.
What is Richmond Hotels, and is there an English site?
Richmond Hotel or Richmond Hotel Premier?
Two names share the site. Most branches are plain Richmond Hotel. The Premier label is used at Kyoto Ekimae, Kyoto Shijo, Asakusa, Tokyo Schole, Musashi-Kosugi and Sendai Ekimae, and the two Kyoto Premier hotels add a free guest lounge. The membership terms name the operator as RNT Hotels, which runs the Richmond Hotel and The Basement Hotel branches.
How many Richmond hotels are there?
The official site does not state a total. The hotel pull-down in the booking form listed 50 entries when we counted, 47 with Richmond in the name, including Keisei Richmond, and three partner hotels. They run from Sapporo Ekimae in the north to Naha Kumoji in the south, grouped into Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Tokyo and Kanagawa, Tokai and Koshinetsu, Kinki-Chugoku-Shikoku, and Kyushu-Okinawa.
Is there an English version of the Richmond website?
No separate one. The /en/ and /en/faq/ addresses return a not-found error. The JP/EN/CN/TW/KO switch runs an outside translation script that machine-translates the Japanese page on screen, so the English and Japanese text cannot disagree, but nobody has written the English. The Richmond Club terms say plainly that only the Japanese text has effect as the rules. The hotel FAQs load in a chat widget we could not read, so nothing here comes from them.
Richmond Hotels check-in, checkout and the 1,000 yen hour
What time are check-in and checkout?
The terms give you the room from 14:00 until 11:00 the next morning, and the Asakusa, Premier Asakusa, Tokyo Shiba, Namba Daikokucho, Premier Kyoto Ekimae and Premier Kyoto Shijo pages all say check-in 14:00, checkout 11:00. Namba Daikokucho adds that checkout varies by plan. On consecutive nights the terms let you use the room all day except on arrival and departure days.
How much does late checkout cost?
One price is published. The Richmond Club page lists, as a member benefit, checkout extended to 12:00 free, normally 1,000 yen. A plan with its own checkout time takes priority, and parking may be charged extra for the extension. Beyond noon the terms say the hotel may allow use of the room until 14:00 on the departure day for an extra charge “listed below”, but there is no table below it on the page. The price of staying past 12:00, and of checking in before 14:00, is not published.
Can I check in at a machine?
At some branches. Tokyo Shiba describes a quick check-in and checkout system using an automatic payment machine, and Premier Kyoto Shijo a self check-in and checkout system at a payment machine. The other pages we read do not mention one.
What do I need at the desk?
The terms ask a guest without an address in Japan to register a nationality and passport number. If you plan to pay with a card or anything other than cash, the terms ask you to show it when you register. The online booking terms also say a booking without a confirmed guest name will be canceled by the hotel, so put a real name on every room.
Cancellation at Richmond Hotels: free until 18:00 on the day
| When you cancel | Under 10 rooms | 10 rooms or more | 20 rooms or more |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 days before | — | — | 20% |
| 14 days before | — | — | 50% |
| 7 days before | — | 20% | 50% |
| 3 days before | — | 50% | 80% |
| Day before | — | 80% | 100% |
| Same day | Free until 18:00; 50% after 18:00; 100% after 22:00 | 100% | 100% |
| No-show | 100% | 100% | 100% |
Official penalty table (Appendix 2 of the accommodation terms), read September 25, 2026. Percent of the room charge. Shortening a stay or cutting rooms is charged on the same table.
What does canceling cost for a normal booking?
For fewer than ten rooms, nothing until 18:00 on the day of stay. From 18:00 it is 50 percent, from 22:00 100 percent, and a no-show is 100 percent. The Asakusa and Tokyo Shiba pages print the same table, and Namba Daikokucho writes it slightly differently with the same content. If you are comparing chains, our guides to Super Hotel and Route Inn set out their own official cancellation tables.
Do prepaid or special plans follow the same table?
Not necessarily. The terms say a special agreement accepted by the hotel takes priority over the standard rules, and plan-specific conditions sit in the booking system, which we did not read. Treat the table above as the standard and the conditions shown on your plan as the ones that apply.
How do I cancel a Richmond booking?
The online booking terms split it by day. Before the day of stay, you cancel online yourself. On the day of stay, cancellations, changes and any other questions go by phone to the hotel only, and the terms add that email is not handled for bookings made through the system. If Japanese phone calls are hard for you, cancel online before the day of stay.
When does a late arrival become a no-show?
If you have not arrived and not called by 22:00 on the day, or two hours after the arrival time you gave, the terms say the hotel may treat the booking as canceled by you. A separate clause says that if the room was ready and you simply did not stay, the room charge is still due. Late flight? Phone before 22:00.
Children at Richmond Hotels: free beds and kids’ kits
Do children stay free?
At three of the six hotels we read, yes. Asakusa: children of elementary-school age and younger stay free, one child per bed. Tokyo Shiba says the same, up to one per bed. Namba Daikokucho says elementary-age and younger children stay free sharing a bed. The Premier Kyoto Ekimae, Premier Kyoto Shijo and Premier Asakusa pages do not state a rule, and we found no chain-wide statement, so do not assume it for every branch.
What do hotels provide for small children?
Asakusa hands out a kids’ amenity set of slippers, toothbrush and body sponge at the front desk, and Namba Daikokucho gives a kids’ amenity set as a present. Premier Kyoto Ekimae lends, free, children’s pajamas, a co-sleeping mat, a baby cot and a diaper bin among its loan items. For how Richmond compares with other chains for families, see our family hotels in Tokyo guide.
Can I add an extra bed?
Some rooms take one. Premier Kyoto Shijo lists an extra bed of 90 by 185 cm in its comfort triple, and Premier Asakusa puts an 85 by 188 cm bed into a twin when one is added. Neither page gives a price for it.
Can a teenager stay without a parent?
The chain’s consent form covers it. If the person paying is under 18, the hotel asks for a form signed by a parent, one for every guest under 18, handed in at the front desk at check-in.
Richmond Hotels breakfast: price and hours by hotel

| Hotel | Hours | Adult / elementary (hotel guest) |
|---|---|---|
| Asakusa | 6:30–10:00 (last order 9:30) | 2,500 / 1,250 yen; infants free |
| Namba Daikokucho | 6:30–10:00 (last entry 9:30); 7:00–10:30 from Dec 1, 2026 | 2,500 / 1,200 yen; preschoolers free |
| Premier Kyoto Ekimae | 6:30–11:00 (last entry 10:30) | 3,500 / 1,800 yen; preschoolers free |
| Premier Kyoto Shijo | 7:00–10:30 last entry | 3,850 / 1,900 yen; under 6 free |
| Tokyo Shiba | Starbucks, 1F | Prepaid card with breakfast plans |
| Premier Asakusa | Pages disagree; closed Oct 1–Nov 7, 2026 | See below |
From each hotel’s restaurant and guide pages, read September 25, 2026.
What is breakfast like at Richmond Hotel Asakusa?
A Japanese-Western buffet of about 60 items, 6:30 to 10:00 with last order at 9:30. Non-guests can eat too, at 2,700 yen for adults and 1,350 yen for elementary children. Every Asakusa guest also gets a lounge ticket at check-in that buys one visit a day to the drink bar in the restaurant.
Why is Tokyo Shiba’s breakfast at Starbucks?
Because the hotel has no restaurant of its own. It sends breakfast guests to the Starbucks on its first floor, and guests on a breakfast plan receive a prepaid coffee-shop card at check-in. The shop opens 6:30 to 21:00 on weekdays and 7:00 to 20:00 on weekends and holidays.
What is the Premier lounge in Kyoto?
Both Kyoto Premier hotels have a guest lounge with free service: sweets in the afternoon, 13:00 to 17:00 (last order 16:30), and a social hour with alcohol, 18:00 to 21:00 (last order 20:30), according to the Kyoto Ekimae page. The same page says guests of either Kyoto Premier hotel can use either lounge.
What does breakfast cost at Premier Asakusa?
The two official pages disagree. The guide page says 7:00 to 10:30 (last entry 10:00), 3,000 yen for adults, 2,000 yen for elementary children, preschoolers free and 3,500 yen for non-guests. The restaurant page says 3,800 yen for adults and 2,500 yen for elementary children, preschoolers free, 7:00 to 10:30 on weekdays and 7:00 to 11:00 on weekends and holidays, and that non-guest use is suspended after the renovation reopening. With the hotel closed from October 1 to November 7, 2026, check the plan price when you book.
House rules at Richmond Hotels that surprise visitors
Is my room cleaned every day?
No. The chain’s eco-style page says multi-night rooms get a full clean only on set days, the fourth day and then every three days, with an eco clean or no cleaning otherwise. A 2022 notice from the Asakusa hotel says every three days; the eco page is the newer wording. You make requests on the room TV, or with a door magnet at hotels whose TVs do not support it, which the page lists as Sapporo Ekimae, Sapporo Odori, Asakusa, Tokyo Suidobashi and Namba Daikokucho. Separately, the terms say the hotel accepts a no-cleaning request for at most two days and nights before it cleans for hygiene.
Can I order food delivery or have visitors in my room?
Neither. The house rules ask guests not to order delivery food into the building and not to invite visitors into the room to use its facilities; meetings are asked to take place in the lobby.
What else do the house rules ban?
Bringing in animals or birds, and anything that leaves a strong smell, incense included. Making public, without permission, photos, video or audio recorded in rooms or on the premises for commercial purposes. Smoking in bed, in non-smoking rooms, the lobby or corridors. The rules also warn that calls from the room phone carry a facility charge.
What is in the room, and what is not?
The refrigerator is empty; the Asakusa page says so, and there is no minibar. At Premier Kyoto Shijo, basic amenities are not in the room but at an amenity bar in the lobby, where you take what you need. Premier Asakusa lists overseas plug sockets among its room equipment. None of the six hotels we read lists a large public bath, so tattoos are not an issue.
Smoking, parking and luggage at Richmond Hotels
Can I smoke?
Premier Kyoto Ekimae and Premier Kyoto Shijo are non-smoking in every room, Ekimae with a smoking room on the first floor. Premier Asakusa became non-smoking throughout from July 1 with its renovation, with a smoking room on the fifth-floor front desk level. Asakusa and Namba Daikokucho list a smoking area among their facilities. The site does not publish which branches still have smoking rooms.
Is there parking?
At most of the hotels we read, no. Tokyo Shiba, Premier Kyoto Ekimae and Premier Kyoto Shijo have none. Asakusa has none except priority spaces for disabled guests at 4,000 yen a night. Namba Daikokucho has a 40-space parking tower at 1,400 yen a night, first come, first served and not bookable, for cars up to 505 cm long, 185 cm wide, 155 cm high (205 cm for high-roof spaces) and 1,850 kg. Premier Asakusa uses a partner garage at 5,500 yen a night, 12:00 to 12:00 the next day, also first come. The terms say the hotel lends the space and takes no responsibility for the car.
Can I send luggage ahead?
Only if the hotel agrees before the bag arrives; then it is handed to you at check-in. Our luggage forwarding guide explains how to ship a suitcase in Japan. The site does not say whether bags are held before check-in or after checkout, so ask the hotel. For cash and valuables you did not declare, the hotel’s liability is capped at 50,000 yen, and it does not accept art or antiques for safekeeping.
What happens to things I leave behind?
Drinks, food, newspapers, magazines, umbrellas and anything that would normally be taken as thrown away are disposed of the day after checkout, according to the terms.
Paying at Richmond Hotels and the Richmond Club
How do I pay?
The terms say payment is at the front desk, when you register or when the hotel asks, in Japanese yen or by an accepted substitute such as traveler’s checks, accommodation vouchers or a credit card. The pages we read do not list card brands or electronic money. One small detail: the coin laundry at Namba Daikokucho is cashless only.
Is the Richmond Club worth joining?
It costs nothing: no joining fee, no annual fee. Bookings by phone or on richmondhotel.jp earn 100 points per 1,000 yen of room charge; bookings through other sites or travel agents earn a flat 300 points a night. Points are worth 1 yen each, usable from 100 points when you settle at check-in, and expire two years after your last stay. To spend them, choose “pay at hotel” when booking, and show your membership before checkout; after checkout, points cannot be credited. The sign-up form offers English as a language.
What other member benefits are there?
Free checkout until 12:00, member-only rates billed as the best rate (other sites’ limited sales excluded), booking one month earlier than the public, 10 percent of single rooms held for members, a 5,000 yen stay voucher per 5,000 points, and 10 percent off at the restaurants, not valid at breakfast time or on some items. The booking system changed on May 14, 2025, and the old magnetic member cards were abolished.
Getting to Richmond Hotels in Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto

Tokyo: Asakusa and Shiba
Richmond Hotel Asakusa (128 rooms) is 3 minutes from Exit A1 of Asakusa station on the Tsukuba Express, according to its access page; the top page says 2 minutes. It is 8 minutes from Exit 1 on the Ginza Line and 9 minutes from Exit A4 on the Asakusa Line. Tokyo Shiba is 2 minutes from Exit A6 of Daimon station and 6 minutes from the north exit of JR Hamamatsucho, about 22 minutes from Haneda by monorail to Hamamatsucho and about 90 minutes from Narita by Access Express to Daimon. Our where to stay in Tokyo guide shows how the neighborhoods compare.
Osaka: Namba Daikokucho
Namba Daikokucho (199 rooms) is about 5 minutes on foot from Exit 1 of Daikokucho station on the Midosuji and Yotsubashi lines, one stop from Namba and about 17 minutes by train from Shin-Osaka.
Kyoto: Ekimae and Shijo
Premier Kyoto Ekimae is a short walk from Kyoto Station’s central exit: the access page text says 5 minutes, while the same page’s title and the guide page say about 7. The hotel gives Kansai Airport as 75 minutes and Shin-Osaka as 24. Premier Kyoto Shijo is about 7 minutes from Exit 24 of Shijo subway station or Hankyu Karasuma, about 3 minutes by subway from Kyoto Station, or roughly 30 minutes on foot.
Who Richmond Hotels suit

Travelers who want a room near a station and a cancellation window that stays open until 18:00 on the day of stay. Families with children of elementary age or younger, at the branches that let them share a bed free. It suits you less if you need a phone-free way to cancel on the day, daily housekeeping, a public bath, or a car park in central Tokyo or Kyoto.
(If you are traveling with a dog: our hotel pet fees table notes that Toyoko Inn’s pet rooms charge ¥2,500 per pet per night for small dogs of 10 kg or less, and that Hotel Livemax’s Dog×Stay plan includes the first dog, with ¥2,000 extra for a second.)
Frequently asked questions
What time is check-in and checkout at Richmond Hotels?
How much is late checkout at Richmond Hotels?
What is the cancellation policy?
How do I cancel a booking made on the Richmond website?
Are children free at Richmond Hotels?
Is breakfast included at Richmond Hotels?
Is there an English website?
Is the room cleaned every day on a longer stay?
Bottom line (2026). Richmond Hotels runs 14:00 to 11:00; an hour more costs 1,000 yen, free for members. For under ten rooms, canceling is free until 18:00 on the day, then 50 percent, then 100 percent after 22:00, and on the day you must phone, not email. Breakfast is priced per hotel, from 2,500 yen. Premier Asakusa is closed October 1 to November 7, 2026.
Sources
Rules and figures are from Richmond Hotels’ official Japanese site: the accommodation terms and penalty table (richmondhotel.jp/contract/), the online booking terms (richmondhotel.jp/agreement/), the Richmond Club page (richmondhotel.jp/club/), the eco-cleaning page (richmondhotel.jp/eco/), the top page, the under-18 consent form, and the pages for the Asakusa, Premier Asakusa, Tokyo Shiba, Namba Daikokucho, Premier Kyoto Ekimae and Premier Kyoto Shijo hotels, all read in Japanese on September 25, 2026. The site’s English is a machine translation of these pages. Hotel-specific details differ by branch; confirm with your hotel before you book.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


