Which hotels in Japan take dogs, and what does the dog cost? Each hotel answers on its own pet page, terms or consent form, with its own weight limit and vaccine rules. So we read the official pages and put every hotel that publishes a pet fee in one place: 26 hotels.
The short version: at the 13 hotels that charge for the first dog, fees run from ¥2,500 to ¥11,385 a night, and the median is ¥5,093. At 8 more, the first dog is in the plan rate and only a second dog has a price. At 5 Regina Resorts, the fee depends on where you book.
Hotel pet fees in Japan: hotels that charge for the first dog

Sorted by the fee for the first dog, cheapest first. Every row’s official page is listed under Sources.
| Hotel | First pet | More pets | Size and number | Vaccine papers | Tax and rules |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ¥2,000 to ¥2,999 (2) | |||||
| Toyoko Inn (pet rooms) Chain, select branches | ¥2,500 per pet per night | ¥2,000 each for the 2nd and 3rd | Small dogs only, 10 kg or less, 4 months and up, kept indoors; up to 3 per room | Copies of rabies and 5-in-1 (or more) vaccine certificates, 2 weeks to under 1 year after the shot | Tax not stated. Outside the room, carry the dog in a bag with its head hidden. Not in the breakfast room. Do not leave the dog in the room and go out. Not on the bed or in the bathroom. Damage charged in full |
| Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel Chiba (Maihama) | ¥2,500 per dog per night, plus a ¥5,500 cleaning fee per room per stay | The fee is per dog | — | — | Tax not stated. Booking a dog-friendly room also reserves a dog cabin. No dogs inside Galleria Cafe |
| ¥3,000 to ¥3,999 (1) | |||||
| Shimoda Prince Hotel Shizuoka (Shimoda, Izu) | ¥3,300 per dog per night | Same fee | Under 40 kg. No very large dogs. The plan page says 2 large or medium or 4 small dogs per room; the consent form says 2 per room | Paper consent form, plus copies of rabies and 5-in-1 (or more) vaccine certificates | Tax not stated. Call ahead for 2 dogs or more |
| ¥4,000 to ¥4,999 (1) | |||||
| Hakodate Danshaku Club Hotel & Resorts Hokkaido (Hakodate) | ¥4,400 for the first dog (the page does not say per night) | ¥2,200 from the 2nd, up to 3 | Up to 3 small or medium dogs of 20 kg or less; up to 2 if one is a large dog of 30 kg or less. 6 months and up | Vaccinated (types not stated) | Tax not stated. The same page advertises a limited official-site plan with 20% off and the first dog free |
| ¥5,000 to ¥9,999 (8) | |||||
| Hoshinoya Fuji Yamanashi (Lake Kawaguchi) | ¥5,093 per dog per night, paid at the hotel | Same fee | Medium dogs of 20 kg or less, up to 2. One dog cabin a day | Copies of the rabies certificate or tag and a combination vaccine (or antibody test) certificate; no papers, no stay | Tax included. No dogs in the main dining room. The page also gives an end date for its dog stays; check it |
| Hoshinoya Karuizawa Nagano (Karuizawa) | ¥5,093 per dog per night, paid at the hotel | Same fee | Large dogs welcome; 2 dogs recommended | — | Tax included. Dogs allowed in the main dining room, Kasuke. Leash or cage indoors and out |
| Risonare Yatsugatake Yamanashi (Yatsugatake) | ¥5,093 per dog per night, any size | Same fee | Up to 2 dogs of any size per dog room | — | Tax included. YYgrill allows dogs at breakfast and dinner (limited seats). Not in the Mokumoku-yu bath. Damage charged at cost |
| Risonare Atami Shizuoka (Atami) | ¥5,093 per dog per night, any size | Same fee | Small and medium dogs only, up to 2 per room | Sign a consent form at check-in | Tax included. No dogs at the buffet, hot springs, pool, shop or Sora no Beach Books & Cafe |
| OMO7 Yokohama by Hoshino Resorts Yokohama | ¥5,093 per dog per night, from the chain pet terms linked from the hotel page | Same fee | Deluxe: 2 small to medium dogs or 1 large. Suite: 2 dogs, small to large | Chain terms: rabies shot once a year and a 5-in-1 (or more) vaccine within 3 years | Tax included. No dogs at OMO Dining, the library lounge, meeting and work rooms, or inside OMO Bakery |
| OMO5 Tokyo Gotanda by Hoshino Resorts Tokyo (Gotanda) | ¥5,093 per dog per night, from the same chain terms | Same fee | Two room types; dogs up to medium size | Chain terms, as OMO7 Yokohama | Tax included |
| Fuji Marriott Hotel Lake Yamanaka Yamanashi (Lake Yamanaka) | ¥5,500 per dog per night | — | 4 months and up | Rabies and 5-in-1 (or more) vaccines, 2 weeks to under 1 year after the shot | Tax included. No dogs in the lobby, public areas or indoor restaurants |
| Izu Marriott Hotel Shuzenji Shizuoka (Shuzenji) | ¥5,500 per dog per night | ¥2,200 from the 2nd dog (tax incl.) | — | — | Tax included. No dogs outside the dog areas, in the lobby or restaurants. Dogs sleep in the room’s cage, not on the bedding |
| ¥10,000 and up (1) | |||||
| Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo Tokyo (Mejiro) | ¥11,385 per room per night (one pet per room) | 1 pet per room only | Dogs or cats, 10 kg or less (13 kg in suites) | Registered and vaccinated as the law requires (types not stated) | Tax & service included. Outside the room, including parking and the garden, a cage that hides the whole body and head. Not in restaurants or shops. Pets may stay alone in the room only while you eat in the hotel, up to 2.5 hours |
Counts: 2 / 1 / 1 / 8 / 1 in the five bands from ¥2,000 to ¥10,000 and up. Sheraton’s ¥5,500 cleaning fee is not in the counts.
What the hotel pet fees table shows
What is the median pet fee?
¥5,093 a night across these 13 hotels, but read it with care: 6 Hoshino Resorts hotels charge exactly that under one chain rule. Counting Hoshino Resorts once, the median of the 8 values is ¥4,746.5, between ¥4,400 and ¥5,093. Most first-dog fees here fall between ¥2,500 and ¥5,500. That is the middle of this table, not a rate for Japan.
What are the cheapest and most expensive pet fees?
The lowest is ¥2,500, at Toyoko Inn’s pet rooms and at Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay, which also charges ¥5,500 per room per stay for cleaning. The highest is ¥11,385 at Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, a per-room fee with one pet allowed, tax and service included. Next come the two Marriott hotels at ¥5,500.
Is the second dog cheaper?
At three hotels, yes. Toyoko Inn charges ¥2,000 each for the 2nd and 3rd pet, Izu Marriott Hotel Shuzenji ¥2,200 from the 2nd dog, and Hakodate Danshaku Club ¥2,200 from the 2nd. Hoshino Resorts and Shimoda Prince Hotel charge the same for every dog. Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay’s fee is per dog.
Do pet fees differ within the same chain?
At Hoshino Resorts, no: its six hotels in the table charge ¥5,093, tax included. At Marriott and Prince they do. Fuji and Izu Marriott charge ¥5,500, while the Fairfield by Marriott hotels near Kyoto include one dog in the room rate. Shimoda Prince Hotel charges ¥3,300 per dog; Tsumagoi Prince Hotel includes one dog and charges ¥6,000 for a second. Look up the hotel, not the chain.
Hotel pet fees when the first dog is in the room rate
At these 8 hotels the first dog is part of the plan or base rate, so there is no first-dog fee to compare. We list them apart and keep them out of the median.
| Hotel | First pet | Second pet | Size and number | Vaccine papers | Tax and rules |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel Livemax “Dog×Stay” Tokyo, Yokohama and others | Included in the plan rate | ¥2,000 extra from the 2nd dog | Small dogs under 10 kg, up to 2 | Combination and rabies vaccine certificates (copies OK) | Tax not stated |
| Fairfield by Marriott Kyoto Kyotamba / Kyoto Minamiyamashiro Kyoto Prefecture (roadside stations) | Rooms from ¥20,570 including the dog fee | +¥2,420 for 2 dogs, +¥4,840 for 3, paid at the hotel | Up to 3 dogs, 15 kg combined | Copy of the rabies certificate; an exemption certificate is not accepted | Tax & service included |
| Tsumagoi Prince Hotel Gunma (Tsumagoi) | Plan price is for 1 dog per room | ¥6,000 for the 2nd dog | Small dogs, roughly under 10 kg; up to 2 | — | Tax included. No dogs in the restaurant |
| Okuma Private Beach & Resort Okinawa (Kunigami) | Base rate includes 1 dog | ¥6,000 per night from the 2nd, paid at the hotel | Up to 2 per room; 3 dog rooms | — | Tax included |
| Sapporo Park Hotel Sapporo | Plan from ¥20,000 for 2 guests in 1 room | ¥4,000 for the 2nd dog | Small dogs: 1 dog up to 10 kg, or 2 dogs up to 15 kg combined | — | Tax & service included |
| Hotel & Doggy Kyoto Nijo Kyoto (Nijo), for guests with dogs | No separate first-dog fee stated | ¥5,000 per night for the 2nd dog, paid at check-in | Under 30 kg, up to 2; 4 months and up; no breeds kept for dog fighting | — | Tax included. Do not leave the dog alone in the room |
| Conrad Tokyo Tokyo (Shiodome) | From ¥75,000 for 2 guests and 1 pet | ¥10,120 for a 2nd pet, suites only | Under 15 kg; 1 pet per room (2 in suites) | Send 5-in-1 (or more) and rabies certificates (copies OK) 7 days before arrival | Tax & service included |
| Kanucha Bay Hotel & Villas Okinawa (Nago) | The page does not say | ¥6,000 per night for the 2nd dog | Small to medium dogs, 12 kg or less, 6 months and up; up to 2 | — | Tax not stated. No dogs in the front lobby |
How much is a second dog at these hotels?
From ¥2,000 at Hotel Livemax to ¥10,120 at Conrad Tokyo, where only suites take a second pet. Kanucha Bay’s page gives the ¥6,000 second-dog fee but does not say how the first dog is charged, so ask.
Pet fees that depend on where you book
The five Regina Resorts, a resort chain built for guests with dogs, publish two prices. Book on the official site or by phone and up to 2 dogs stay free, any size, with ¥2,200 per night for each dog after that. Book on another site and every dog costs ¥3,300 a night. Both prices include tax.
| Hotel | Official site or phone | Other booking sites | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Regina Resort Fuji Yamanashi (Mt. Fuji area) | 2 dogs free; ¥2,200 from the 3rd | ¥3,300 per dog | — |
| Regina Resort Yamanakako Yamanashi (Lake Yamanaka) | 2 dogs free; ¥2,200 from the 3rd | ¥3,300 per dog | FAQ: no limits on breed or size |
| Regina Resort Kyu-Karuizawa Nagano (Karuizawa) | 2 dogs free; ¥2,200 from the 3rd | ¥3,300 per dog | — |
| Regina Resort Hakone Sengokuhara Kanagawa (Hakone) | 2 dogs free; ¥2,200 from the 3rd | ¥3,300 per dog | — |
| Regina Resort Kamogawa Chiba (Kamogawa) | 2 dogs free; ¥2,200 from the 3rd | ¥3,300 per dog | FAQ: a rabies exemption certificate issued within a year is accepted |
Per room, up to 6 small to medium dogs or 3 large dogs, except some room types. The Yamanakako terms ask for rabies and 5-in-1 (or more) vaccines within a year (an antibody test is accepted), a crate when the dog stays alone, and no dogs on the beds. The chain takes dogs only, not cats or birds.
Pet rules at Japanese hotels: size, papers and restaurants

What are the weight limits for dogs?
Where a page sets one: about 10 kg at Toyoko Inn, Hotel Livemax, Tsumagoi Prince Hotel and Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo (13 kg in suites); 12 kg at Kanucha Bay; under 15 kg at Conrad Tokyo; 15 kg combined at Fairfield. Hoshinoya Fuji stops at 20 kg, Hotel & Doggy Kyoto Nijo at under 30 kg and Shimoda Prince Hotel at under 40 kg. Hoshinoya Karuizawa, Risonare Yatsugatake and Regina Resorts take large dogs.
What vaccination papers do hotels ask for?
Proof of a rabies shot and a combination vaccine, often 5-in-1 or more, is the common rule. Timing varies: Toyoko Inn and Fuji Marriott want the shot 2 weeks to under 1 year old, Hoshino Resorts’ chain terms a yearly rabies shot and a combination vaccine within 3 years, Regina within a year. Conrad Tokyo wants copies 7 days before arrival.
What if my dog has a vaccine exemption?
The hotels split. Regina Resort Kamogawa accepts a rabies exemption certificate issued within a year. Hoshino Resorts refuses unvaccinated dogs even when a vet has granted an exemption, and Fairfield does not accept an exemption certificate.
Can dogs come into hotel restaurants?
Mostly not. Toyoko Inn, Sheraton’s Galleria Cafe, Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, Tsumagoi Prince Hotel, both Marriott hotels, Hoshinoya Fuji’s main dining room and Risonare Atami’s buffet say no. Hoshinoya Karuizawa allows dogs at Kasuke, and Risonare Yatsugatake at YYgrill, with limited seats.
How must dogs move through the hotel?
Often in a bag or cage. Toyoko Inn asks for a bag with the head hidden, and Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo for a cage that covers the whole body, even in the parking lot and garden. Hoshinoya Karuizawa asks for a leash or cage indoors and out.
Hotels that allow pets but publish no fee
16 more hotels or groups say pets can stay but give no fee on their official pages. Ask before you book.
- Hilton Tokyo Bay: One pet per room on its pet plan
- Grand Prince Hotel Shin Takanawa: Up to 2 dogs, roughly under 10 kg; a 2nd dog costs extra, amount not shown; book 2 dogs by phone
- Kimpton Shinjuku Tokyo: One pet per guest; medium dogs (11 kg and up) in Premium King rooms or suites
- Fairmont Tokyo: One pet per room, 15 kg or less; vaccination certificate when you book
- Mandarin Oriental Tokyo: Pets welcome in some rooms
- The Capitol Hotel Tokyu: A plan for small dogs under 10 kg; ask the hotel
- Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen: Under 10 kg; up to 2 per room
- DEL style Osaka Shinsaibashi by Daiwa Roynet: One small dog per room, 10 kg or less, 6 months and up; no other animals
- Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa: Up to 2 per room, 18 kg each
- Mitsui Garden Hotel Prana Tokyo Bay: House rules make an exception for dogs in dog-friendly rooms
- Kamenoi Hotel Ome: Small and medium dogs up to 15 kg, 2 in total; 3-in-1 (or more) vaccine
- Karuizawa Prince Hotel West: The rate covers the room and one dog, with no per-dog amount
- KAI Hakone, KAI Ito, KAI Anjin, KAI Kinugawa, KAI Alps and BEB5 Karuizawa: Medium dogs of 20 kg or less, 2 per room; no fee on the hotel pages
- Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa: Up to 2 dogs
- Hotel Livemax Fukuoka Tenjin West: Contact the hotel before you come
- Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel: Its terms allow pets under separate pet rules; no current plan or fee found
Which hotels are left out of the counts?
Two. Ace Hotel Kyoto shows two different per-dog fees on two official pages, and Karuizawa Marriott Hotel’s terms page gives two different fees for a second dog. We do not pick one; ask the hotel.
Hotels whose official pages say no pets

These 32 hotels and chains, all covered elsewhere on Honto, say no pets on an official page; most allow guide and assistance dogs: Palace Hotel Tokyo, The Okura Tokyo, Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, Hotel Nikko Narita, Kamakura Prince Hotel, Tokyu Stay, Dormy Inn, La Vista Hakodate Bay, Hotel Route Inn, Hotel Resol, Swissotel Nankai Osaka, Nara Hotel, Hotel Universal Port, Iwaso (Miyajima), Hotel The Mitsui Kyoto, The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto, The Ritz-Carlton, Fukuoka, Halekulani Okinawa, Skye Niseko, Ki Niseko, Shiroyama Hotel Kagoshima, Konansou (Lake Kawaguchi), Hotel Taikanso (Matsushima), Ibusuki Hakusuikan, Hotel Keihan, Richmond Hotels, Almont Hotels, Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, Fuji Lake Hotel, Nikko Kanaya Hotel, Hotel Okura Kobe (rooms). Hotel Okura Kobe has a separately run dog hotel on its grounds. Others with the same rule: InterContinental Tokyo Bay, Yokohama Bay Hotel Tokyu, Hotel New Grand, Oriental Hotel Okinawa, Hotel Nikko Alivila, Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha Bay.
How to book a hotel with a dog in Japan

Should I book the hotel directly?
At Regina Resorts it saves money, since other sites pay ¥3,300 per dog. Grand Prince Hotel Shin Takanawa asks you to book two dogs by phone. Dog rooms can be few (Okuma has 3; Hoshinoya Fuji, one dog cabin a day), so check the cancellation terms; see our hotel cancellation guide.
What should I check before I book?
The weight limit, the number of dogs, which papers to bring or send ahead, and whether the fee is paid at the hotel. Several hotels in the tables are resorts; if you drive, see our parking fees table. Traveling with children too? See the kids stay free table.
Frequently asked questions
How much do hotels in Japan charge for a dog?
Which hotel in the table charges the least and the most for a pet?
Is the first dog free at some hotels in Japan?
Does booking direct change the pet fee?
What vaccination papers do I need to stay with a dog?
Are there weight limits for dogs at Japanese hotels?
Can I bring a cat to a hotel in Japan?
Can I leave my dog alone in the hotel room?
Bottom line (2026): 26 Japanese hotels publish a pet fee on their own pages. At the 13 that charge for the first dog, it runs from ¥2,500 to ¥11,385 a night, with a median of ¥5,093. 8 include the first dog in the room rate, and Regina Resorts lets 2 dogs stay free when you book direct. Check the weight limit and bring rabies and combination vaccine papers.
Sources
Each row is from the hotel’s or chain’s own site, read on October 1, 2026. Pet fees and rules change, so confirm with the hotel before you rely on them.
- Toyoko Inn (pet rooms), 2
- Sheraton Grande Tokyo Bay Hotel
- Shimoda Prince Hotel, 2
- Hakodate Danshaku Club Hotel & Resorts
- Hoshinoya Fuji, 2
- Hoshinoya Karuizawa
- Risonare Yatsugatake
- Risonare Atami
- OMO7 Yokohama by Hoshino Resorts, 2
- OMO5 Tokyo Gotanda by Hoshino Resorts, 2
- Fuji Marriott Hotel Lake Yamanaka, 2
- Izu Marriott Hotel Shuzenji, 2
- Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo, 2
- Hotel Livemax “Dog×Stay”
- Fairfield by Marriott Kyoto Kyotamba / Kyoto Minamiyamashiro, 2
- Tsumagoi Prince Hotel
- Okuma Private Beach & Resort
- Sapporo Park Hotel
- Hotel & Doggy Kyoto Nijo, 2
- Conrad Tokyo
- Kanucha Bay Hotel & Villas, 2
- Regina Resort Fuji
- Regina Resort Yamanakako, 2, 3
- Regina Resort Kyu-Karuizawa
- Regina Resort Hakone Sengokuhara
- Regina Resort Kamogawa, 2
- Regina Resorts (chain)
- Hilton Tokyo Bay
- Grand Prince Hotel Shin Takanawa
- Kimpton Shinjuku Tokyo
- Fairmont Tokyo
- Mandarin Oriental Tokyo
- The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
- Daiwa Roynet Hotel Yokohama Koen
- DEL style Osaka Shinsaibashi by Daiwa Roynet
- Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
- Mitsui Garden Hotel Prana Tokyo Bay
- Kamenoi Hotel Ome
- Karuizawa Prince Hotel West
- KAI Hakone, KAI Ito, KAI Anjin, KAI Kinugawa, KAI Alps and BEB5 Karuizawa
- Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa, 2
- Hotel Livemax Fukuoka Tenjin West
Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


