Almont Hotels Japan (2026): Late Checkout, Baths, Tattoos

Guide·September 27, 2026·22 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Almont Hotels is a hotel brand of the Hokke Club group, with seven properties in Tokyo, Kyoto, Naha, Sendai and Fujisawa. On paper it looks like any Japanese business hotel with a bath. Two rules make it different, and both are easy to miss on a booking site: late checkout is charged per person, per hour, not per room, and the large baths turn away guests with tattoos or sticker tattoos. Check-in is 14:00 or 15:00 depending on the hotel, and checkout is 11:00.

This page reads the chain’s own Japanese site (almont.jp), its English site (global.hokke.co.jp), the terms of stay and the hotel pages for Kyoto, Nippori and Naha Kenchomae, and says so where they disagree. Times and fees quoted are for those three hotels unless we say otherwise.

Compare Almont Hotel rates on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below is from Almont Hotels’ official Japanese and English pages and the terms of stay, read on September 25, 2026. The Japanese site dropped our connection partway through, so the room and plan pages were not read. Deliberately not stated: room rates; the age limit for a child sharing your bed, which was not on the pages we could read; any early check-in fee; whether any smoking rooms exist; the amount of local accommodation tax, which the terms mention only by name; and times and fees for the Sendai, Naha Omoromachi, Nihonbashi and Fujisawa properties, which we did not check.
TOC

Almont Hotels at a glance

Exterior of Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae, a white building with a red window grid
Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae, one of the three Almont hotels this guide read.
ItemOfficial rule
Properties7: 5 Almont Hotels (Sendai, Nippori, Kyoto, Naha x2), 2 Almont Inns (Nihonbashi, Shonan Fujisawa).
Check-in / outKyoto and Naha Kenchomae 14:00 / 11:00. Nippori 15:00 / 11:00.
Late checkoutPer person, per hour: 1,000 yen (Kyoto, Nippori), 1,100 yen (Naha Kenchomae).
Cancellation (up to 14)Day before 20%, same day 80%, no-show 100%.
Large bathAt the 5 Almont Hotels, free for guests. None at the Almont Inns.
TattoosRefused, including sticker tattoos.
BreakfastBuffet with a per-person price. Kyoto adults 2,200 yen; preschoolers free.
DinnerNone. Restaurants serve breakfast only.
CardsVisa, JCB, Diners Club, Mastercard, American Express, UnionPay.
PointsHokkun points end November 30, 2026.

From the official Almont Hotels pages and terms of stay, read September 25, 2026. Hotel-level figures are for Kyoto, Nippori and Naha Kenchomae.

What are Almont Hotels, and which one is which?

Station sign for Nippori on a JR platform
A platform sign at JR Nippori Station. The hotel says Almont Hotel Nippori is about a five-minute walk from the east exit. Photo: Kzaral (CC BY 2.0)

Seven properties under two names

The official FAQ counts five Almont Hotels, in Sendai, Nippori (Higashi-Nippori, Arakawa ward, Tokyo), Kyoto, and two in Naha, and two Almont Inns, in Nihonbashi (Chuo ward, Tokyo) and Fujisawa. By name they are Almont Hotel Sendai, Almont Inn Tokyo Nihonbashi, Almont Hotel Nippori, Almont Inn Shonan Fujisawa, Almont Hotel Kyoto, Almont Hotel Naha Omoromachi and Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae. The difference matters for one reason above all: the Almont Inns have no large bath, and Nihonbashi is not on the breakfast list either.

Who runs Almont Hotels?

The Hokke Club group, whose FAQ says it started with an inn opened in front of Kyoto Station in 1920. Almont Hotel Kyoto opened in December 2012. In April 2020 two older Hokke hotels were renamed: Hotel Hokke Inn Tokyo Nihonbashi became Almont Inn Tokyo Nihonbashi, and Hotel Hokke Club Naha Shintoshin became Almont Hotel Naha Omoromachi. Almont Hotel Nippori opened on May 11, 2021. If an older review uses the Hokke names, it is the same building.

Is there an English website?

Yes, but not at almont.jp/en, which returns an error. The Japanese site’s English link goes to global.hokke.co.jp, the group site, which also has simplified and traditional Chinese and Korean, with a page for each hotel. The official pages do not say whether front desk staff speak English. Nippori’s English facilities page does say a Tokyo sightseeing guide is available in several languages.

Late checkout at Almont Hotels is charged per person

How much does late checkout cost?

Checkout is 11:00 at all three hotels we read, and each one publishes its own extension price. The key word in every version is per person. Almont Hotel Kyoto’s English FAQ reads: “1000 yen per person and per hour”, from 11:00 until 14:00. Nippori spells it out as a ladder: 1,000 yen per person to 12:00, 2,000 yen to 13:00, 3,000 yen to 14:00. Naha Kenchomae charges 1,100 yen per person per hour and stops at 13:00.

Stay until1 guest2 guestsLatest allowed
Kyoto, 13:002,000 yen4,000 yen14:00
Nippori, 14:003,000 yen6,000 yen14:00
Naha Kenchomae, 13:002,200 yen4,400 yen13:00

Worked from each hotel’s official per-person, per-hour rate. Two-guest totals are our arithmetic, not a published table.

Why the per-person rule matters for couples and families

Most travelers read “1,000 yen an hour” as a room charge. At Almont Hotels a couple staying to 14:00 in Nippori pays 6,000 yen, and a family of three pays 9,000 yen. The charge is small for a solo traveler and adds up fast for a group, so for a late flight it may be cheaper to check out at 11:00 and leave your bags at the desk. Our Hotel Route Inn guide covers another chain that prices the late hours by the person.

Can the hotel say no?

Yes. The terms of stay say the hotel may allow use outside the set hours for an additional charge, but may refuse even if you ask when rooms are tight. Ask at the desk the evening before, not at 10:55. The official pages do not list any fee for early check-in, so if you land in the morning, plan on leaving your bags and coming back.

Why is Almont Hotel Nippori different at check-in?

Kyoto and Naha Kenchomae open rooms at 14:00. Nippori opens at 15:00, an hour later, with the same 11:00 checkout. That leaves Nippori with the shortest standard stay of the three. The front desk and cashier run 24 hours at all Almont properties under the terms, so a late arrival is not a problem in itself, as long as you mind the no-show rule below.

The large baths at Almont Hotels: tattoos, hours, water

Can I use the bath with a tattoo?

No. The chain’s bath page says guests with tattoos or sticker tattoos are refused, and the hotel pages for Nippori, Kyoto and Naha Kenchomae repeat it. The Nippori English page puts it plainly: “Those with tattoos or stickers are not allowed to bathe.” The official pages say nothing about cover patches, so do not assume one will get you in. Our tattoos and onsen guide lists chains and towns with other rules, and Dormy Inn is a common comparison for bath hotels.

What are the bath hours?

HotelFloorEveningMorning
Almont Hotel Kyoto2F16:00 to 2:006:00 to 10:00
Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae12F16:00 to 2:006:00 to 10:00
Almont Hotel Nippori3F16:00 to 1:005:30 to 9:00

Official hotel bath pages, read September 25, 2026. The Japanese pages write the late hours as 26:00 and 25:00.

The bath closes between the night and morning sessions, and it does not open until 16:00, so you cannot bathe straight after a 14:00 check-in. Nippori’s morning session ends at 9:00, an hour earlier than the other two. Guests use it free.

Is it a real hot spring?

No, and the chain says so. The water is an artificial spring made with a mineral product called Komyoseki, which the chain labels a “semi-natural” hot spring. The bath page notes that it is not water rising from underground and that it is not for drinking. Think of it as a large, mineral-treated public bath rather than an onsen.

How is the women’s bath secured?

The women’s bath has an electronic lock. You enter a PIN on the keypad by the door, and the code changes every day, so check it at the desk. In Kyoto and Nippori there is a coin laundry inside the bath area; Nippori’s machines take 100-yen coins only.

No bath at the Almont Inns. The chain’s bath page lists five hotels with a large bath: Sendai, Nippori, Kyoto, Naha Omoromachi and Naha Kenchomae. Almont Inn Tokyo Nihonbashi and Almont Inn Shonan Fujisawa are not on it. If the bath is why you are booking, check the name says Hotel, not Inn. And whatever the property, tattoos and sticker tattoos keep you out.

Canceling an Almont Hotels booking

What does it cost to cancel?

The terms of stay set the default penalties as a percentage of the basic room rate. For an ordinary booking of up to 14 people: 20 percent the day before, 80 percent on the day, and 100 percent for a no-show. Nothing is charged earlier than the day before. Groups pay earlier, as the table shows.

When you cancelUp to 1415 to 99100 or more
20 days before——10%
9 days before—10%20%
Day before20%20%80%
Same day80%80%100%
No-show100%100%100%

Appendix 2 of the official terms of stay, read September 25, 2026. Percentages apply to the basic room rate.

What counts as a no-show?

If you have not arrived and have not called by 10 p.m. on the day, or one hour after the arrival time you gave, the terms say the hotel may treat the booking as canceled by you. If your train or flight is late, phone. Cutting a stay short is charged one night, the first, whatever the number of nights you drop.

Does the same policy apply to every booking?

Not necessarily. These are the defaults in the terms; a specific plan can set its own conditions, and if you booked through another site, that site’s terms come first. Check the plan page when you book. We did not find the terms of stay on the English site, so the Japanese version is the one that applies.

Breakfast, children and families at Almont Hotels

Is breakfast included?

It is a buffet of Japanese and Western dishes with local specialties, served at six of the seven properties. Almont Inn Tokyo Nihonbashi is not on the breakfast list. The restaurants are for hotel guests only and serve breakfast only; the hotels say they do not run lunch or dinner. The chain adds that it cannot handle individual allergies, which matters if you have a severe one.

HotelAdultElementary schoolPreschoolHours
Kyoto2,200 yen1,320 yenFree6:30 to 10:00, last entry 9:30
Nippori (to Sept 30, 2026)1,980 yen990 yenFree6:30, last entry 9:30, closes 10:00
Nippori (from Oct 1, 2026)2,200 yen1,100 yenFreeSame
Naha Kenchomae1,870 yenNot statedNot statedFrom 6:30, last entry 9:30

Official breakfast pages, tax included, read September 25, 2026. Nippori counts junior high school and up as adults.

Why does Naha Kenchomae show two breakfast times?

Its own pages disagree. The breakfast page gives 6:30 to 9:30, entry by 9:30; the Japanese and English FAQ give 6:30 to 10:00 with last order at 9:30. Both agree on 9:30 as the last moment to walk in, so plan on that. Kyoto’s breakfast centers on obanzai, Kyoto home-style dishes, and its FAQ asks you to bring your breakfast ticket.

Can children share a bed for free?

We cannot tell you. The age limit and conditions for a child sharing your bed were not on the official pages we could read; the room and plan pages, which may carry it, did not load. Check the child fields on the plan you book. What is published: preschool children eat breakfast free in Kyoto and Nippori, and a guest under 18 staying alone or only with other minors needs a parent’s consent.

What baby items can I borrow?

Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae lends a bed guard and a baby bathtub free. Its English FAQ also lists a baby bed; the Japanese FAQ does not. Because the two versions differ, ask before you count on a crib.

House rules at Almont Hotels that surprise foreign guests

Can a friend come up to my room?

No. The Kyoto, Nippori and Naha Kenchomae FAQs say that for security only registered guests may go up to the guest floors; meet visitors in the lobby. Your card key does not show the room number, which is part of the same thinking.

Can I order food delivery to the hotel?

The terms ask guests not to order food and drink from outside the hotel. They also ban heaters, cooking devices and anything else that gives off heat in the room, and pets other than guide and service dogs. Naha Kenchomae refuses outside massage services other than its own designated provider.

What do they need from my passport?

The terms have the hotel register, for foreign guests, your nationality, passport number, port of entry and date of entry. Have the passport out at check-in. The front desk will hold valuables, but the terms cap what it accepts at 100,000 yen.

Is Almont Hotels non-smoking?

The official pages do not say whether any smoking rooms exist. The booking search has a non-smoking box, and Nippori directs smokers to a smoking booth on 3F. The terms list smoking in bed among the rule breaches. The Kyoto and Naha Kenchomae pages we read did not mention a smoking area.

Paying, points and luggage at Almont Hotels

How do I pay?

The three hotels list Visa, JCB, Diners Club, Mastercard, American Express and UnionPay. On a pay-at-hotel plan, the Japanese FAQ says you pay at check-in; the English FAQ drops the “pay-at-hotel plan” condition, but the Japanese wording is the precise one. If you prepaid online, the hotel will not issue a receipt, because no payment was taken on site. The official pages do not say whether e-money or QR payment is accepted. The terms also say the desk will not pay for shopping, tickets, taxis, stamps or shipping on your behalf.

What is changing with points and booking?

Two changes are on the top page. The Hokkun Point Card membership ends on November 30, 2026, and the last stays to earn points were those through August 31, 2026. From December 1, 2026, bookings move to a new system, and members staying from that date must reset their password on first use. Booking confirmations come from @hokke.co.jp; the English FAQ says to check your spam folder.

Can I leave or send luggage?

Nippori holds bags before check-in and after checkout, and Kyoto’s sightseeing page suggests leaving bags at the hotel first. Kyoto, Naha Kenchomae and Nippori all accept luggage sent ahead, ideally to arrive the day before or the day of check-in. Nippori will not accept cash-on-delivery parcels, so prepay the shipping, and its Yamato outbound service is cash only. Our luggage forwarding guide explains how to send a suitcase ahead. Items left behind are kept for one month and the hotel will not contact you, so ask.

Getting to Almont Hotels in Tokyo, Kyoto and Naha

Keisei Nippori Station building with a Skyliner sign above the tracks
Keisei Nippori Station, where the Skyliner from Narita stops. Almont Hotel Nippori is not in this photo.

Almont Hotel Nippori from Narita and Haneda

The hotel is about a five-minute walk from the east exit of Nippori Station (JR Keihin-Tohoku, JR Yamanote and Keisei lines). From Narita, the Skyliner reaches Nippori in about 40 minutes. From Haneda, the hotel gives the Tokyo Monorail to Hamamatsucho, about 18 minutes, then the JR Yamanote line to Nippori, about 19 minutes. For how Nippori fits among Tokyo’s neighborhoods, see our where to stay in Tokyo guide.

Almont Hotel Kyoto from Kyoto Station and Kansai Airport

About a five-minute walk from the Hachijo East exit of JR Kyoto Station, seven minutes from the subway’s Hachijo East exit and ten from Kintetsu Kyoto Station. The hotel’s directions use the McDonald’s at the exit as a landmark and end with a right turn at the Kawaramachi Hachijo crossing, about 50 meters on. From Kansai Airport, the airport limousine bus to the Hachijo exit takes about 105 minutes.

Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae by monorail

About a three-minute walk from Kenchomae Station on the Yui Rail monorail, which runs from Naha Airport in about 12 minutes. It is the only one of the three we read with parking on site: a multistory car park behind the hotel, 1,500 yen per night from 14:00 to 12:00 the next day, 350 yen per extra hour, first come, first served, no reservations. Size limits apply: 5.3 meters long, 2.05 meters wide, and only two spaces take cars up to 2.05 meters tall. Nippori and Kyoto have no parking and point you to coin parking nearby.

Who Almont Hotels are for

Kokusai-dori shopping street in Naha with palm trees and shops
Kokusai-dori, the main shopping street in Naha. The photo shows the city, not Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae. Photo: Junyu-K (CC BY 4.0)

A solo traveler or a couple who want a clean hotel near a major station with a free large bath and Wi-Fi in every room, and who will be out by 11:00. Families with preschoolers, who eat breakfast free in Kyoto and Nippori. Not for anyone with a tattoo who wants the bath, not for a group planning to linger past noon, and not for travelers who need dinner at the hotel. Pick a Hotel, not an Inn, if the bath is the point.

(How this compares: our hotel breakfast prices table of 61 hotels notes that Almont Hotel Nippori goes from 1,980 yen to 2,200 yen for stays from October 1, 2026.)

Frequently asked questions

How many Almont Hotels are there, and where?
Seven, according to the official hotel list and FAQ. There are five Almont Hotels: Sendai, Nippori in Tokyo, Kyoto, and two in Naha, Naha Omoromachi and Naha Kenchomae. There are two Almont Inns: Tokyo Nihonbashi and Shonan Fujisawa. The brand belongs to the Hokke Club group, which began as an inn in front of Kyoto Station in 1920.
How much is late checkout at Almont Hotels?
It is charged per person, per hour after 11:00. At Almont Hotel Kyoto it is 1,000 yen per person per hour until 14:00. At Nippori it is 1,000 yen per person to 12:00, 2,000 yen to 13:00 and 3,000 yen to 14:00. At Naha Kenchomae it is 1,100 yen per person per hour, until 13:00 only. Two people pay double, and the hotel may refuse if rooms are tight.
Can I use the Almont Hotels baths with a tattoo?
No. The chain’s bath page says guests with tattoos or sticker tattoos are refused, and the Nippori English page says those with tattoos or stickers are not allowed to bathe. The official pages say nothing about cover patches, so do not count on one. The baths are free for guests, but the two Almont Inns have no large bath at all.
What are the check-in and check-out times?
At Almont Hotel Kyoto and Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae, check-in is 14:00 and checkout 11:00. At Almont Hotel Nippori, check-in is later, at 15:00, with checkout also at 11:00. The front desk runs 24 hours. The official pages do not publish a fee for early check-in.
What is the cancellation policy at Almont Hotels?
The terms of stay charge a party of up to 14 people 20 percent the day before, 80 percent on the day and 100 percent for a no-show, calculated on the basic room rate. Groups of 15 to 99 also pay 10 percent from nine days out. If you have not arrived or called by 10 p.m., the booking may be treated as canceled. Plan-specific or booking-site rules can differ.
Is breakfast included, and how much is it for children?
Breakfast is a buffet with a published per-person price at six of the seven properties; Almont Inn Tokyo Nihonbashi is not on the breakfast list. In Kyoto it costs 2,200 yen for adults, 1,320 yen for elementary-school children, and nothing for preschoolers. In Nippori it is 1,980 yen and 990 yen, rising to 2,200 yen and 1,100 yen for stays from October 1, 2026. Naha Kenchomae lists 1,870 yen.
Is there parking at Almont Hotels?
Not at Nippori or Kyoto, which send drivers to nearby coin parking. Almont Hotel Naha Kenchomae has a multistory car park behind the hotel: 1,500 yen per night from 14:00 to 12:00 the next day, 350 yen per extra hour, first come, first served, with no reservations.
What happens to the Hokkun points and the booking system?
The Hokkun Point Card membership ends on November 30, 2026, and the last stays to earn points were those through August 31, 2026. A new booking system takes over from December 1, 2026; members staying from that date must reset their password the first time they log in.

Bottom line (2026): Almont Hotels has seven properties; only the five Almont Hotels have a large bath, and it refuses tattoos and sticker tattoos. Late checkout is 1,000 yen per person per hour in Kyoto and Nippori and 1,100 yen in Naha Kenchomae, so couples pay double. Checkout is 11:00; canceling costs 20 percent the day before and 80 percent on the day. There is no dinner, and Hokkun points end November 30, 2026.

Sources

Every rule and figure on this page is from Almont Hotels’ own sites: the Japanese site and its chain FAQ, the terms of stay, the bath page, the hotel FAQ, breakfast, bath and access pages for Kyoto, Nippori and Naha Kenchomae, and the English group site, all read on September 25, 2026. Where the English and Japanese pages differ, we follow the Japanese wording and say so. Confirm on the official site before you book.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC