InterContinental Osaka (2026): Fees, Kids Rules, Hotel Tax

Guide·September 22, 2026·18 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

InterContinental Osaka is the luxury hotel in the north tower of Grand Front Osaka, the complex attached to Osaka Station and Umeda, with hotel rooms on the lower floors and apartment-style residences with kitchens on the upper ones. Its English FAQ is long and specific, which is useful because several of its rules are not the Japanese default: checkout at 11:00, a 15 percent service charge, cancellation terms that vary by plan with no refund on prepaid rates, children free only to age 12, no minors without adults, parking at 6,000 yen a night, and an Osaka hotel tax that was raised in September 2025.

Everything below is from the hotel’s official English site: the FAQ and the Stay page. Room rates are not here; the fees, hours and rules the hotel prints are. The access page did not load for us, so walking times from the stations are not stated.

Honto check: Every rule and figure on this page is from InterContinental Osaka’s official English site (icosaka.com), read on September 18, 2026. Deliberately not stated: room rates; cancellation percentages, because the hotel publishes none and says they depend on the plan; walking minutes from Osaka and Umeda stations, because the access page would not load; and the pre-September-2025 hotel tax scale, since only the current one applies.
TOC

InterContinental Osaka at a glance

ItemOfficial rule
Check-in / check-out15:00 / 11:00.
Late checkout30% of the Best Flexible Rate until 15:00, 50% until 18:00, 100% after.
CancellationDepends on the plan. Prepaid plans: no refund. Shortening a stay after arrival: 100% of the next night.
Service charge15%.
Osaka hotel tax200 / 400 / 500 yen per person per night by rate band (from Sept 1, 2025).
Children12 and under share a bed free, one per adult per bed; 13+ are adults; no minors alone.
Parking6,000 yen per night (15:00-11:00), 59 spaces, 2.1 m height limit; valet +2,000 yen.
Pool / gymGuests and members only, 15:00 to 11:00; gym 16+; bath for under-16s 9:00-17:00 with a guardian.
CardsAmex, Visa, JCB, Mastercard, UnionPay (debit).
AirportNo shuttle; limousine bus to Hankyu Sanbangai / Hotel Hankyu Respire (KIX) or Osaka Marubiru (Itami).
Check InterContinental Osaka rates and availability on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.

Working out the hotel tax for your dates? Our accommodation tax calculator gives it for Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Hokkaido and 30+ other places from your room price, guests and dates, with the 2026–2027 changes.

What is InterContinental Osaka, and what is a residence?

The InterContinental Osaka tower at Grand Front Osaka
The hotel tower on the north side of Grand Front Osaka. Residences with kitchens take the upper floors.

The hotel occupies the tower at 3-60 Ofuka-cho, Kita-ku, inside Grand Front Osaka on the north side of Osaka Station, with rooms that mix stone, wood and shoji screens. Two things set it apart from the other big Umeda hotels. First, the Club InterContinental floors: rooms from 50 square meters and suites of 59 to 82 square meters with access to the 28th-floor lounge for breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails. Second, the Residences: one- to three-bedroom apartments of 57 to 165 square meters with a full kitchen, a separate living and dining room, and on the top floor an outdoor terrace. The FAQ points families with two children toward a two-bedroom residence rather than an extra bed.

Can I get connecting rooms or a triple?

A limited number of connecting rooms exist; ask when booking. A twin or double can take one extra bed for a third person. The twin beds are fixed to the floor and cannot be pushed together, which matters if you planned to sleep two adults and a child across them. Views face east or west and only some room categories guarantee one, so check the room type rather than requesting a room number.

Check-in at 15:00, checkout at 11:00, and what late costs

Atrium inside Grand Front Osaka
The atrium of Grand Front Osaka, the complex the hotel is part of. This is the shopping complex, not the hotel lobby. Photo: 663highland (CC BY 2.5)

Can I check out late?

Yes, on request and subject to availability, priced against the Best Flexible Rate rather than what you paid: 30 percent to stay until 15:00, 50 percent until 18:00, and the full rate after 18:00. Early check-in has no published price; ask the front desk.

Can I send luggage ahead?

Yes, addressed to Guest Relations at 3-60 Ohfuka-cho, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0011, with your check-in date and the registered guest’s name on the parcel. Delivery boxes for shipping onward are sold at the hotel.

Can guests visit my room?

Not for gatherings. The FAQ says visitors are not allowed in guest rooms for private parties, meetings or seminars; the hotel has meeting rooms for that. It also does not accept bookings for minors staying without an adult, with no consent-form exception.

Cancellation: read the plan, and never shorten a prepaid stay

Unlike most Japanese hotels, InterContinental Osaka does not publish a single day-by-day cancellation table. The FAQ says the policy varies by plan, so the plan page you book on is the contract. What it does fix: prepaid plans are not refunded for any part of the stay, and if you shorten a stay after arrival, you owe 100 percent of the next night’s room charge. Bookings made through travel agencies or other websites have to be changed or canceled with that company, not the hotel.

Children: free to 12, adults from 13

A child aged 12 or under can sleep in the existing beds free, one child per adult per bed. On a package that includes meals, the child’s meals are not included and are charged separately. From age 13 the child is counted as an adult in the reservation. If two children each need their own space, the hotel’s answer is to book a twin or double and have Reservations add a paid extra bed, or to take a two-bedroom residence.

What do children pay for breakfast?

At the buffet, ages 6 to 12 pay half the adult price, and ages 0 to 5 eat free, one child per paying adult; a second child in either bracket pays the child rate regardless of age. Coffee and tea are included, other drinks are extra. On Saturdays, Sundays and holidays breakfast is for staying guests only, and a breakfast included with the NOKA Roast & Grill plan cannot be switched to room service or another venue.

Can children use the pool?

The gym is for ages 16 and over. Under-16s may use the pool and the Japanese-style bath with an adult guardian, but the bath is open to them only from 9:00 to 17:00. No inflatables; the hotel lends kickboards and arm helpers. The whole fitness floor is for hotel guests and fitness club members, usable from check-in to checkout and not before you have checked in.

The service charge, the Osaka hotel tax, and paying

What is the service charge?

15 percent, higher than the 10 percent many Japanese hotels apply, and it is part of the base used to calculate the hotel tax below.

How much is the Osaka accommodation tax?

Osaka Prefecture charges it per person per night, separately from the room rate, on the room charge plus service charge. Since September 1, 2025: 200 yen when that amount is 5,000 to under 15,000 yen, 400 yen from 15,000 to under 20,000 yen, and 500 yen at 20,000 yen or more; nothing below 5,000 yen. At this hotel most rooms will fall in the 500 yen band.

What cards are accepted?

American Express, Visa, JCB, Mastercard and UnionPay debit cards. If you did not receive a confirmation email after booking online, the hotel asks you to call rather than rebook.

Parking, the airports and the restaurants

Covered walkway from Osaka Station toward Grand Front Osaka
The covered walkway between Osaka Station and Grand Front Osaka. The hotel’s own access page would not load, so we do not quote walking minutes. Photo: DVMG (CC BY 3.0)

How much is parking?

The B1 car park has 59 spaces, takes vehicles up to 2.1 meters high, needs no reservation, and costs 6,000 yen per vehicle per night, defined as the check-in-to-checkout window of 15:00 to 11:00; show the parking ticket at reception. Valet parking adds 2,000 yen. Restaurant guests who do not drink alcohol get 2 hours free for spending 3,000 yen and 4 hours for 6,000 yen, and banquet guests 4 hours.

How do I get there from Kansai or Itami airport?

There is no hotel shuttle. From Kansai International Airport, the airport limousine bus to the Hankyu Sanbangai stop or Hotel Hankyu Respire Osaka; from Osaka International (Itami), the bus to Osaka Marubiru. By train the hotel is reached through JR Osaka Station and Umeda; our Kansai Airport transfer guide covers the rail options, and the concierge hands out its own map with routes to USJ, Osaka Castle and Kyoto. The FAQ itself says walking directions are on the access page, which we could not open, so we do not quote minutes.

Dress codes, corkage and cakes

Restaurants ask for smart casual and refuse room slippers, room wear and beach sandals. Pierre, the French restaurant on the 20th floor, recommends a jacket for men and turns away shorts and flip-flops. The 28th-floor Club InterContinental lounge bars tank tops, bathrobes, shorts, yukata, slippers and beach sandals. All restaurants are non-smoking, with a smoking area on the second floor; there is no Japanese restaurant in the hotel. Bringing your own wine costs 6,000 yen corkage per bottle; cakes and bouquets are ordered three days ahead (whole cakes two days), and a message plate on a dessert is free. Lounge and bar tables are limited to 90 minutes from the reservation time.

Loyalty points, celebrations and the small print

Tree-lined promenade beside Grand Front Osaka
The promenade along the north side of Grand Front Osaka. Photo: DVMG (CC BY 3.0)

Do I earn IHG One Rewards points on any booking?

No. The FAQ is explicit that points are earned only on reservations made directly with the hotel, on the hotel’s own site or on IHG.com; a booking through an online travel agency earns nothing even if you show your card. In the restaurants you earn 1 point per 100 yen including tax, but only if you present the card at the time of payment; the hotel will not add points afterward. Redeeming points or a Weekend Certificate for a stay is handled by the IHG One Rewards service center (weekdays 9:00 to 18:00), not by the hotel.

What does the hotel do for a birthday or anniversary?

A card is complimentary, and so is a message plate on a dessert in the restaurants. Bouquets, flower arrangements and cakes are paid extras arranged through the concierge with at least three days’ notice; whole cakes at the first-floor pastry counter can be reserved up to two days ahead. Private rooms are available at Pierre and NOKA Roast & Grill for a celebration dinner, and the bar has none.

Any seating limits in the restaurants?

At weekend and holiday lunch the hotel asks tables to be cleared by 14:30, and over Christmas and the New Year holidays it may run two seatings. Reservations are not required for lunch or dinner but are the only way to be sure of a table; window seats cannot be guaranteed and are allocated in reservation order. Allergies and dietary requests are handled if you say so when you book, not on the day. Any filming or interviews for business purposes inside the hotel, and any publication of the hotel’s images in media including social media for commercial use, need prior permission from its public relations team.

Who InterContinental Osaka is for

Travelers who want to be inside the Osaka Station complex with a kitchen or a club lounge, and who are fine with the 15 percent service charge and a strict child-age rule. For a hotel on the Namba side of town with a day-by-day cancellation table, see Swissotel Nankai Osaka; for a night in a Japanese inn instead, ryokans in Osaka; and the Umeda Sky Building is the walkable evening view from this end of town.

(For the InterContinental in Yokohama: our InterContinental Yokohama Grand guide covers a hotel whose FAQ charges 30 percent for leaving between 11:00 and 14:00 and 50 percent until 16:00, while its terms of stay say the full rate.)

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in and check-out at InterContinental Osaka?
Check-in from 15:00 and checkout by 11:00; the FAQ uses those hours to define when you may use the parking and the fitness floor. Late checkout is charged against the Best Flexible Rate: 30 percent to stay until 15:00, 50 percent until 18:00, and the full rate after 18:00, subject to availability.
What is the cancellation policy?
The hotel does not publish one fixed scale; the FAQ says the terms depend on the plan, so read the plan you book. Two rules are fixed: prepaid plans are not refunded at all, and if you shorten your stay after arriving, you pay 100 percent of the next night. Bookings through travel agencies or other websites must be canceled with the booking source.
Do children stay free?
Children aged 12 and under may sleep in the existing beds free, one child per adult per bed; meals for them are not included in meal-inclusive packages and are charged separately. Anyone 13 or older counts as an adult in the reservation. Two children needing a bed of their own means booking a twin or double and adding an extra bed for a fee; the twin beds are fixed and cannot be pushed together. Minors cannot stay without an accompanying adult.
How much is the Osaka hotel tax, and is there a service charge?
A 15 percent service charge applies. Osaka Prefecture’s accommodation tax is charged per person per night on top of the rate: since September 1, 2025 it is 200 yen when the room charge plus service charge per person is 5,000 to under 15,000 yen, 400 yen from 15,000 to under 20,000 yen, and 500 yen at 20,000 yen or more, with nothing below 5,000 yen.
Can I use the pool and gym, and can my children?
The gym, pool and Japanese-style bath are for staying guests and fitness club members, from check-in at 15:00 to checkout at 11:00, not before check-in. The gym is for ages 16 and over. Under-16s may use the pool and bath with an adult guardian, but the bath only between 9:00 and 17:00. Inflatables are not allowed; kickboards and arm floats are provided, and towels are in the fourth-floor locker room.
How much is parking?
6,000 yen per vehicle per night, for the check-in-to-checkout window of 15:00 to 11:00, with 59 spaces on B1, no reservations, and a 2.1-meter height limit. Valet parking adds 2,000 yen. Restaurant guests who do not drink get 2 free hours for spending 3,000 yen or 4 hours for 6,000 yen.
Is there an airport shuttle?
No. From Kansai International Airport, take the limousine bus to the Hankyu Sanbangai stop or Hotel Hankyu Respire Osaka; from Osaka International (Itami), the bus to Osaka Marubiru. The hotel is at 3-60 Ofuka-cho, Kita-ku, in Grand Front Osaka.
What are the dress codes?
Smart casual in the restaurants, with no room slippers, room wear or beach sandals. At the French restaurant Pierre on the 20th floor a jacket is recommended for men and shorts and flip-flops are refused. In the Club InterContinental lounge on the 28th floor, tank tops, bathrobes, shorts, yukata, slippers and beach sandals are not permitted.

Bottom line (2026). Check in from 15:00, out by 11:00; late checkout is 30, 50 or 100 percent of the Best Flexible Rate. Cancellation depends on the plan; prepaid means no refund. A 15 percent service charge and an Osaka hotel tax of 200 to 500 yen per person per night apply. Children 12 and under share a bed free, 13 and over are adults, and minors cannot stay alone. Parking is 6,000 yen a night. As of September 18, 2026.

Sources

Rules and figures are from InterContinental Osaka’s official English site: the FAQ and the Stay page, read on September 18, 2026. Rates and rules change; confirm on the official site before you book.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC