Under-18 Hotel Stays Without a Parent in Japan: 29 Compared

Guide·September 29, 2026·25 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Can a 16- or 17-year-old stay at a hotel in Japan without a parent? Each hotel answers on its own FAQ, terms or consent form, and they do not use the same words. So we read the official rules of 29 hotels and chains and put them in one table.

The short version: 25 of the 29 accept a stay by minors without a parent in some form, most with a parent’s consent. 4 do not. 17 state an age of under 18, 10 say only “minors” with no age, and none says under 20. 16 post a consent form you can download, and 4 of those have it in English.

This is the fifth of our cross-hotel tables, after the age at which children stay free, when free cancellation ends and what late checkout costs.

Compare Japan hotel prices →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every row was re-read on the hotel’s own official FAQ, terms or consent form on September 28, 2026, not copied from our earlier articles, and only visible text counted. Ages are given exactly as each page words them: where a page says only “minors”, we leave it at that. Deliberately not stated: legal requirements, or how old a “minor” is outside these pages; how to fill in a form or who may sign it, beyond what the pages say; rules for school trips and groups, which none of the pages covers; the phone, fax and email details printed on the forms; anything about Hoshino Resorts beyond its terms clause and its English booking FAQ and consent form (read October 6, 2026); and hotels whose official pages we could not read or that state no rule, such as APA, Toyoko Inn, Candeo, Mitsui Garden and Prince hotels other than Kamakura.
TOC

Can under-18s stay at a hotel without a parent? The table

A bright hotel lobby in Naha with low wooden sofas and a large paper-style lantern
The lobby of JR Kyushu Hotel Blossom Naha in Okinawa in January 2025. This hotel is not in the table.

Grouped by what the page allows. “Youngest who can stay without a parent” is only filled in where the page sets a limit; an empty cell means the page gives none. Every row’s official page is listed under Sources.

Hotel or chainAge on the official pageWhat is requiredConsent formYoungest who can stay without a parent
Not accepted, or 18 is the check-in age (4)
Hotel Collective
Naha
Under 18Not allowed without an adult, “regardless of parental consent, unless legally justified exceptions apply”. Under-18s may not use hotel facilities without an adult after 22:00—All under-18s
InterContinental Osaka
Osaka (Umeda)
“Minors” (no age given)Not allowed: “we do not accept reservations for stays by minors without accompanying adults”. No consent-form exception is mentioned—All minors
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Kyoto
“Minimum Age to Check In: 18”The person checking in must be 18 or older. We found no other rule on minors in what we read—Under 18 cannot be the guest who checks in
The Ritz-Carlton, Fukuoka
Fukuoka
“Minimum Age to Check In: 18”Same wording as the Kyoto hotel—Under 18 cannot be the guest who checks in
Accepted with consent, with a lower age limit (7)
Maihama View Hotel by HULIC
Chiba (Maihama)
Under 18 (consent form)Consent form from a parent for every guest, handed in at the front desk on the day. If consent cannot be confirmed, the hotel phones, then takes the form by fax or mail, and may refuse if it cannot get itJapanese
English
Junior-high students and younger may not stay on their own (a graduate counts as junior-high until March 31)
The Park Front Hotel at Universal Studios Japan
Osaka (USJ)
Junior-high students (school grade, no age). Nothing is said about high-school studentsWhen the guests are junior-high students only: a consent form for every guest, sent by mail, email or fax at least 5 days before the stay. The form says that if consent cannot be confirmed at check-in, the hotel phones, then takes the form by fax or mail. The FAQ says “junior-high students only”, the form “junior-high students and younger”PDFElementary-school children and younger stay with a guardian
Super Hotel
Chain
Under 18, or high-school students and youngerA parent’s consent, on the hotel’s stay confirmation sheet (parent’s name, address, phone)Stay confirmation sheetElementary and junior-high students may not stay on their own (the hotel says this is for security)
Dormy Inn
Chain
Under 18. Staying alone is limited to high-school students and working adults (15 and over)A consent form signed by a parent (or a letter to that effect) by check-in, plus ID such as a student card or health insurance card. The hotel may phone the parent. Minors of different sexes may not share a room—Junior-high students (age 15) and younger need a guardian
Hotel Gracery Shinjuku
Tokyo (Shinjuku)
Under 18A consent form filled in by a parent, mailed ahead or brought at check-in. The hotel may check public photo ID. The form says a stay is refused if consent cannot be confirmed at check-inPDFGuests aged 15 and under may not stay on their own
Nine Hours (9h)
Capsule hotel chain
12 to 17With a guardian, or a consent form signed by a guardian if no guardian comes. 18 and over: no restrictionsPDFAges 6 to 11 only with a guardian of the same sex; under 6 cannot use it
First Cabin
Cabin hotel chain
13 and over but under 18A parent’s consent form, handed in at the front desk at check-in (by email at Matsue, which has no staffed desk)PDF12 and under cannot use it
Accepted with consent or permission, no lower limit stated (18)
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Tokyo (Yaesu)
“Minor guests” (no age given)“Hotel may confirm approval of their guardian”: a check the hotel may make, not stated as a requirement——
Almont Hotels
Chain
Under 18 (consent form)A parent’s consent form for every minor, when a minor stays alone or with other minors only. If it cannot be confirmed at check-in, the hotel phones, then takes the signed form by email, fax or mailPDF—
Richmond Hotels
Chain
Under 18 (applies when the person paying is under 18)A parent’s consent form for every guest under 18, handed in at check-in. If it cannot be confirmed, the hotel phones, then takes the form by fax or mailPDF—
Kamakura Prince Hotel
Kamakura
Under 18A parent’s consent form brought at check-in. If it cannot be confirmed, the hotel phones, then takes the form by email (PDF or a photo), fax or mailPDF—
Hotel New Otani Tokyo
Tokyo (Kioicho)
Under 18 (consent form)A consent form signed by a parent, with the parent’s contact details for the stay, shown on arrival. The FAQ and the form disagree on what happens without it (see below)Japanese and English—
JR East Hotel Mets
Chain
“A minor” (no age given)A parent’s permission. Its terms list a stay by minors without it as a reason to refuse——
Hotel Route Inn
Chain
“Minors” (no age given)A consent form for every minor at check-in. Without it the hotel phones a parent and may refuse. The form asks for the consent of both parents with custody (or the one, if there is one). Minors of different sexes may not share a room unless they are familyJapanese
English
—
Remm Roppongi (Remm Hotels)
Tokyo (Roppongi)
“Minors” (no age given)A parent’s permission and consent. Each Remm hotel has its own terms; we read Roppongi’s——
the b
Chain
Under 18A parent’s consent: a written note (any format; a sample is posted), or the parent contacts the hotel by phone, fax or inquiry form. No contact is needed if a parent made the bookingSample PDF—
Hotel Resol
Chain
18 or under, or high-school students and younger (consent form)A parent’s consent form for every guest, brought to the front desk at check-in. If it cannot be confirmed, the hotel phones, then takes the form by fax or mailPDF—
Hotel Monterey
Chain
“Minors” (no age given)“Minors are not allowed to stay at this hotel without the consent of their parents or guardians.”——
Hoshino Resorts
Chain (terms for all its hotels)
Under 18Its English booking FAQ: under-18s staying without an adult must provide a parent’s consent and contact details for the stay, with a parental consent form submitted at check-in; if the form cannot be verified, they will not be permitted to stay. Its terms also let the hotel cancel the contract when minors try to stay on their own without a parent’s permissionPDF (English)—
Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station
Tokyo (Yaesu)
Under 18A parent’s consent form, one per minor; without it the stay is refused. It can be mailed ahead. If it cannot be confirmed, the hotel phones, then takes the form by mail or as an emailed imagePDF—
Sotetsu Fresa Inn
Chain
Under 18 (consent form)A parent’s consent form at check-in; without it the hotel may refuse. The form has the minor pay the room charge and expected extras in advance on arrivalPDF, Ginza 3-chome (each hotel has its own)—
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Tokyo (Nishi-Shinjuku)
“Minors” (no age given)A parent’s permission; without it a stay by minors only is refused (hotel terms)——
Daiwa Roynet Hotels
Chain
“Minors” (no age given)A parent’s permission: the guest hands in a stay consent form and the hotel phones the parent to confirm. We did not find the form to download——
Vessel Hotels
Chain
“Minors” (no age given)A parent’s permission; without it a stay by minors only is refused (hotel terms)——
Comfort Hotel
Chain
“Minors” (no age given)A parent’s permission. Its terms list a stay by minors without it as a reason to refuse——

Counts: 4 do not accept it, 7 accept it with a lower age limit, and 18 accept it with no lower limit stated. An empty lower-limit cell is not a promise that a child of any age can stay; it means the page does not say.

What age counts as “under 18” on hotel pages?

A folded cotton yukata and belt with a room key on a long Japanese key tag
A yukata and room key from the Keihin Hotel. The tag asks guests to hand the key to the front desk when going out and coming back. This hotel is not in the table. Photo: sodai gomi (CC BY 2.0)

How many hotels say under 18?

17 of the 29 state an age of 18 somewhere on their official pages. For some it is in the FAQ, as at Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station, Hotel Gracery Shinjuku, Kamakura Prince Hotel and Hoshino Resorts. For others it appears only on the consent form: Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Maihama View Hotel, Almont, Richmond and Sotetsu Fresa Inn. Nine Hours writes it as 12 to 17 and First Cabin as 13 and over but under 18. The two Ritz-Carlton hotels list “Minimum Age to Check In: 18”.

Does any hotel include 18-year-olds?

One. Hotel Resol’s consent form covers guests who are 18 or under, or high-school students and younger, so an 18-year-old needs the form there. It is the only page of the 29 that includes 18. Super Hotel also adds a school line: under 18, or high-school students and younger.

Which hotels give no age at all?

10 say only “minors”: Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo, InterContinental Osaka, JR East Hotel Mets, Hotel Route Inn, Remm Roppongi, Hotel Monterey, Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo, Daiwa Roynet Hotels, Vessel Hotels and Comfort Hotel. Eight of these ten rules are in the hotel’s terms of stay or rules of use, not an FAQ. We have not filled in an age for them; ask the hotel which age it uses.

Does any hotel say under 20?

No. None of the 29 official pages uses 20 as the age.

Which hotel uses school grade instead of age?

The Park Front Hotel at Universal Studios Japan. Its FAQ applies the consent rule when the guests are junior-high students only, and asks that elementary-school children and younger stay with a guardian. Its consent form says “junior-high students and younger”. Neither page mentions high-school students.

Which hotels do not accept under-18s staying without a parent?

Which hotels refuse even with a consent form?

Hotel Collective in Naha states that minors under 18 may not stay without an adult “regardless of parental consent, unless legally justified exceptions apply”, and that under-18s may not use its restaurants and lounges without an adult after 22:00. InterContinental Osaka says it does not accept reservations for stays by minors without accompanying adults, and mentions no consent-form exception.

What do the Ritz-Carlton pages say?

The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto and The Ritz-Carlton, Fukuoka each list “Minimum Age to Check In: 18” on their overview pages. In what we read, that line sets who may check in; we found nothing on consent forms or on children staying in a room an adult has checked in to.

Are chains or luxury hotels stricter?

In this table, the three international luxury hotels, InterContinental Osaka, The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto and The Ritz-Carlton, Fukuoka, are all in the group that does not accept it. None of the 16 chains in the table is in that group; every chain accepts it in some form.

How young is too young to stay at a hotel without a parent?

Rows of numbered sleeping capsules with folded bedding in a capsule hotel
Capsules at a capsule hotel in Osaka in August 2007. It is not Nine Hours or First Cabin, the capsule and cabin chains in the table.

Which hotels set a lower age limit?

7 accept minors on their own but not below a certain age or grade:

Hotel or chainLower limit on the official page
Maihama View Hotel by HULICJunior-high students and younger may not stay on their own (a graduate counts as junior-high until March 31)
The Park Front Hotel at Universal Studios JapanElementary-school children and younger stay with a guardian
Super HotelElementary and junior-high students may not stay on their own (the hotel says this is for security)
Dormy InnJunior-high students (age 15) and younger need a guardian
Hotel Gracery ShinjukuGuests aged 15 and under may not stay on their own
Nine Hours (9h)Ages 6 to 11 only with a guardian of the same sex; under 6 cannot use it
First Cabin12 and under cannot use it

Can a 15-year-old stay alone?

It depends on grade as much as age. Dormy Inn lets high-school students and working adults aged 15 and over stay alone, and says junior-high students (age 15) and younger need a guardian, so a 15-year-old still in junior high cannot. Hotel Gracery Shinjuku does not accept guests aged 15 and under on their own. Maihama View Hotel and Super Hotel draw the line at junior-high; Maihama View counts a graduate as junior-high until March 31.

Do capsule and cabin hotels take teenagers?

The two in our table do, with limits. Nine Hours accepts guests 6 and over: ages 6 to 11 only with a guardian of the same sex, ages 12 to 17 with a guardian or a guardian-signed consent form. First Cabin does not accept anyone 12 or under, even with a parent, and asks 13- to 17-year-olds on their own for a parent’s consent form.

Parental consent forms for a hotel stay in Japan

Which hotels have a consent form to download?

16 of the 29: Almont, Richmond, The Park Front Hotel, Kamakura Prince Hotel, Hotel New Otani Tokyo, Maihama View Hotel, Hotel Route Inn, the b (a sample), Hotel Resol, Super Hotel (its stay confirmation sheet), Nine Hours, First Cabin, Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station, Sotetsu Fresa Inn, Hotel Gracery Shinjuku and Hoshino Resorts. The links are in the table. Sotetsu Fresa Inn has a separate form for each hotel; we read the Ginza 3-chome one. Daiwa Roynet Hotels names a stay consent form in its terms, but we did not find it to download.

Is there an English version?

At 4: Hotel New Otani Tokyo (Japanese and English on one form), Maihama View Hotel and Hotel Route Inn (separate English PDFs), and Hoshino Resorts (an English form linked from its English FAQ).

Does it have to be the hotel’s own form?

Not at 2 of them. the b says the written consent can be in any format, and a parent can instead contact the hotel by phone, fax or inquiry form. Dormy Inn accepts a signed consent form or a letter to that effect. The other pages do not say.

Is one form enough for a group of friends?

Not where the page says otherwise. 8 state that every minor, or every guest, needs a form: Almont, Richmond, The Park Front Hotel, Maihama View Hotel, Hotel Route Inn, Hotel Resol, Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station (one per minor) and Hoshino Resorts (a separate form for each minor, on the form itself). Hotel New Otani Tokyo and Kamakura Prince Hotel do not say.

What if the consent form is missing at check-in?

A hotel front desk with staff behind it, seen across a dark tiled lobby floor
The front desk of a hotel lobby near Shijo, Kyoto, in June 2026. This hotel is not in the table.

Which hotels phone the parent instead?

9 say that if the form cannot be confirmed, the hotel contacts the parent by phone: Almont, Richmond, The Park Front Hotel (on its form), Kamakura Prince Hotel, Hotel New Otani Tokyo (on its form), Maihama View Hotel, Hotel Route Inn, Hotel Resol and Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station. All but Route Inn then take the signed form by fax, mail or email. Route Inn and Maihama View add that the stay may be refused if consent still cannot be confirmed. At Daiwa Roynet Hotels the phone call is part of the rule, not a fallback.

Which hotels refuse without the form?

Hotel Gracery Shinjuku’s form says the stay is refused if the parent’s consent cannot be confirmed at check-in; it does not mention a phone call instead. Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station’s FAQ refuses minors without a parent’s consent form, though the hotel also describes a phone check. Sotetsu Fresa Inn may refuse.

What does Hotel New Otani Tokyo say?

Its two pages differ. The English FAQ says minors may stay if a parent fills in and signs a consent form, with the parent’s contact details for the stay, and that “Minors may not stay by themselves if the hotel cannot verify the consent form.” The consent form PDF says that if the form cannot be confirmed, the hotel takes the parent’s verbal consent by phone and the form follows by fax or mail. Plan on the FAQ: bring the signed form. More on the hotel in our Hotel New Otani Tokyo guide.

Can the form be sent before arrival?

At The Park Front Hotel it must be: at least 5 days ahead. Hotel Gracery Shinjuku and Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station accept it by mail in advance. Kamakura Prince Hotel accepts a PDF or photo by email when the hotel follows up. First Cabin Matsue, which has no staffed desk, takes it by email.

Other conditions for minors staying at hotels

Do teenagers need ID?

At 2 in our table. Dormy Inn asks under-18s staying without a parent to show ID such as a student card or health insurance card at check-in. Hotel Gracery Shinjuku may check public photo ID. The other pages do not mention ID for minors.

Can minors of different sexes share a room?

Not at Hotel Route Inn, unless they are family or siblings, and not at Dormy Inn. The other pages do not mention it.

Do both parents have to sign?

At Hotel Route Inn, the consent form asks for the consent of both parents with custody, or the one parent where there is one. No other page in the table asks for two.

Is there a deposit or a damage clause?

Sotetsu Fresa Inn’s form asks that the room charge and other expected charges be deposited on arrival. Its form, Hotel Gracery Shinjuku’s and Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station’s each have the parent accept responsibility for damage.

Does it matter who pays or who books?

At two chains, yes. Richmond Hotels applies its form when the person paying for the stay is under 18. At the b, no parental contact is needed if a parent made the booking.

Are school trips treated differently?

None of the 29 pages mentions an exception for school trips, clubs or other groups. For a group, ask the hotel before booking.

(For one Kyoto hotel’s age rules: our HOTEL THE MITSUI KYOTO guide notes that minors cannot stay alone without a parent’s permission, and that its Thermal Spring is for ages 13 and over, with ages 4 to 12 allowed from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. with a parent.)

Frequently asked questions

Can under-18s stay at a hotel in Japan without a parent?
At 25 of the 29 hotels and chains we checked, nothing we read rules it out, and most ask for a parent’s consent. Four do not accept it: Hotel Collective and InterContinental Osaka refuse stays by minors without an adult, and The Ritz-Carlton in Kyoto and Fukuoka list 18 as the minimum age to check in. Seven more set a lower limit, such as no junior-high students on their own.
What age counts as a minor at these hotels?
It depends on the page. Seventeen of the 29 state under 18, Hotel Resol says 18 or under, The Park Front Hotel uses school grade, and ten say only minors without giving an age. None of the 29 says under 20.
Where can I download a parental consent form?
Sixteen of the 29 post one on their official site, including Almont, Richmond, Route Inn, Super Hotel, Nine Hours, First Cabin, Hotel Resol, Hotel New Otani Tokyo and Maihama View Hotel. The table links to each form. Sotetsu Fresa Inn has a separate form for each hotel.
Is there an English consent form?
Four hotels in our table post one: Hotel New Otani Tokyo (Japanese and English on one form), Maihama View Hotel and Hotel Route Inn (separate English PDFs), and Hoshino Resorts (an English form linked from its English FAQ).
What happens if the consent form is forgotten?
Nine of the 29 say the hotel phones the parent, and eight of them then take the signed form by fax, mail or email. Hotel Gracery Shinjuku’s form says the stay is refused if consent cannot be confirmed. At Hotel New Otani Tokyo, the English FAQ says minors may not stay without a verified form, while the form itself allows verbal consent first.
Can a junior-high student stay at a hotel without a parent?
Not at Maihama View Hotel, Super Hotel or Dormy Inn, which draw the line at junior-high, or at Hotel Gracery Shinjuku for anyone 15 and under. The Park Front Hotel accepts junior-high students with a consent form sent 5 days ahead. Nine Hours accepts 12 and over and First Cabin 13 and over with a consent form.
Can two teenagers of different sexes share a room?
Hotel Route Inn and Dormy Inn say minors of different sexes may not share a room; Route Inn makes an exception for family. The other pages in our table do not mention it.
Are school trips or sports teams treated differently?
None of the 29 official pages we read mentions an exception for school trips, clubs or other groups. Ask the hotel directly before booking a group.

Bottom line (2026): Of 29 hotels and chains checked on their own pages, 25 accept a stay by minors without a parent in some form; four do not. 17 state under 18, 10 say only minors, and none says under 20. 16 post a consent form, 4 in English, and seven set a lower age limit such as no junior-high students on their own.

Sources

Each row is from the hotel’s own site, read on September 28, 2026. Consent forms are linked in the table. Rules change, so confirm with the hotel before the stay.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC