Ryokan Yachiyo is a small garden ryokan in Sakyo-ku, Kyoto, just inside the approach lane to Nanzenji Temple, about a 5-minute walk from Keage Station. Before you book, five things matter. The English rates page lists cancellation fees from 21 days before. Every online plan is prepaid by card through a travel agency. The two small communal baths are not described as onsen, and in the evening they become 45-minute private slots. The ryokan publishes no tattoo policy. And the Kyoto accommodation tax is added on top.
This page reads the ryokan’s Japanese and English sites, the English FAQ and rates pages, the site of its garden restaurant in both languages, and the official booking pages in Japanese and English. The Japanese ryokan site is older than the rest, so we lean on the English site and the booking pages for figures. Where the pages disagree, we name them. Where they are silent, we say so.
Ryokan Yachiyo (Kyoto) at a glance

| Item | What the official pages say |
|---|---|
| Location | On the Nanzenji approach lane; about 5 minutes on foot from Keage Station (Tozai Line) |
| Check-in / out | From 15:00 / by 11:00; latest check-in varies by plan (18:00 to 21:00) |
| Buildings | Wooden Honkan (main building) facing the garden; Bekkan annex from 1994, no garden view |
| In-room bath | Six Honkan rooms: garden bath with a hinoki tub; annex: unit bath |
| Communal baths | Two small baths; not described as onsen; 45-minute private slots 17:00 to 22:00 |
| Tattoos | Not stated by the ryokan; email before you book |
| Meals | In the garden restaurant; in-room dining costs extra |
| Cancellation | English rates page: 8% from 21 days before, rising to 100% on the day |
| Payment | Online plans prepaid by credit card via Time Design |
| Kyoto accommodation tax | On top, per person per night, by room charge |
From Ryokan Yachiyo’s official pages, restaurant site and booking pages, read October 2, 2026.
Working out the hotel tax for your dates? Our accommodation tax calculator gives it for Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Hokkaido and 30+ other places from your room price, guests and dates, with the 2026–2027 changes.
What is Ryokan Yachiyo, and where is it in Kyoto?

What kind of ryokan is it?
A small inn built around a pond garden. The English site says the garden was designed by Jihei Ogawa, the landscape gardener known as Ueji, and that it is lit up every evening. It has two buildings: the wooden Honkan, or main building, and the Bekkan annex, which the English site dates to 1994. The pages give different years for the main building and for the founding, so we leave them out. The room count is 16 or 17, depending on the page. For how futons, tatami and yukata work, see our ryokan guide.
Where exactly is it?
The address is 34 Nanzenji Fukuji-cho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto. The Japanese access page says the ryokan is just inside the approach lane to Nanzenji, on the right, with a large paper lantern at the front. The English page puts Nanzenji Temple a 3-minute walk away; the Japanese page says 0 minutes. Eikando is a 6-minute walk on the English page and 10 on the Japanese one, and the Philosopher’s Path is 10 or 15. For how to fit the area into a trip, see how many days in Kyoto.
How do I contact the ryokan?
Phone +81-75-771-4148 or email info@ryokan-yachiyo.com. The Japanese site footer says the phone is answered 24 hours a day, every day; the Japanese booking page gives phone hours of 9:00 am to 9:00 pm. The two pages differ, so the daytime window is the safer bet.
Where should I book?
The English rates page says the rates on the ryokan’s own website are the lowest publicly available online, and it runs a price guarantee. The English and Japanese pages describe that guarantee differently, so read the terms on the page you use. Bookings open 365 days before the stay on the booking engine.
Getting to Ryokan Yachiyo from Kyoto Station

How do I get there by subway?
From Kyoto Station, take the Karasuma Line toward Kokusaikaikan, change at Karasuma Oike to the Tozai Line toward Rokujizo, and get off at Keage. The English page says the trip is about 40 minutes. From Keage, walk straight along Niomon-dori for about 5 minutes, turn right into the Nanzenji approach lane at the crossing, and the ryokan is on the right. The ryokan does not name a station exit, so the exit number is not stated by the ryokan.
Can I take a bus or a taxi?
Yes. The access pages say bus No. 5 from Kyoto Station to the Hosshoji-cho stop, then about 5 minutes on foot. By taxi from Kyoto Station, the Japanese page says about 20 minutes and the English page about 25; the Japanese page adds that evenings and traffic change that. The English page also quotes a taxi fare, but gives no year for it, so we leave it out.
What about Kansai Airport?
The English access page suggests the Haruka limited express to Kyoto. It also mentions a shared taxi service run by another company; the ryokan itself lists no airport or station pickup. For routes and current fares, see our Kansai Airport to Kyoto guide.
Can I leave or send luggage?
Yes. The English FAQ says the ryokan can keep bags before check-in and after checkout. The Japanese information page says it takes courier pickups and can send bags between Kyoto Station and the ryokan; the fee depends on distance and weight, so ask at the front desk.
Can I drive?
There are 8 parking spaces, from 15:00 to 11:00 the next day, and you must reserve one when you book. The price differs by page: the Japanese site says parking is free, while the Japanese booking page lists 2,000 yen a night and asks for your car model. Check the plan you book. The English site does not mention parking.
Check-in, late arrival and checkout at Ryokan Yachiyo
What time are check-in and checkout?
The English FAQ gives check-in at 3:00 pm and checkout at 11:00 am. The latest check-in time varies by plan. On the booking pages, room-only plans run to 21:00, Japanese plans with dinner to 19:00, and the English kaiseki dinner plan to 18:00. The Japanese room-only page also mentions later times in its description. Read the check-in line on the plan you book.
What if I arrive late?
The English FAQ answers a question about curfew by saying the ryokan is “waiting for 24 hours.” It gives no front desk hours beyond that.
Rooms at Ryokan Yachiyo: garden baths or the annex

What is the difference between the two buildings?
The Honkan rooms face the garden. Six of them have a semi-open-air garden bath with a hinoki (Japanese cypress) wooden tub, and one, Yugiri, has a hinoki tub and a steam sauna. The Bekkan annex has 9 rooms on the second floor with a unit bath and toilet, and the English page says plainly: “No garden view.” The Japanese page says the annex is close to the communal baths and the restaurant and has slopes and an elevator, and suggests it for guests who find stairs hard.
| Room | Building | Size | In-room bath |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tsurukame | Honkan, 2F | 92.10 sqm | Hinoki tub, semi-open-air |
| Yugiri | Honkan, two levels | 70.10 sqm | Hinoki tub and steam sauna |
| Take (members only) | Honkan, 1F | 62.30 sqm | Hinoki garden bath |
| Matsu | Honkan, 2F | 62.30 sqm | Hinoki garden bath |
| Kiku (members only) | Honkan, 1F | 58.38 sqm | Hinoki garden bath |
| Ukifune | Honkan, 1F | 54.72 sqm | Hinoki garden bath |
| Horai | Honkan, 2F | 51.07 sqm | Hinoki garden bath |
| Annex Standard Family / Standard / Economy | Bekkan, 2F | 33.12 / 29.82 / 24.82 sqm | Unit bath; no garden view |
Official English room pages, read October 2, 2026. Guest capacities are left out because the pages disagree.
Is the bath in my room a hot spring?
No page says it is. The English site calls the suites rooms “with private onsen,” but every description of the bath itself says “onsen style” and a hinoki wooden tub. No page gives a spring name, a water analysis or a bathing tax. So we call it a hinoki-tub garden bath, not an onsen.
Which rooms should I look at closely?
Three. Kiku and Take are for members only, bookable if vacancies remain. The English Yugiri page says its sauna is currently unavailable due to technical issues, with no date given, so ask before booking that room. And Okina, a smaller Honkan room, is listed as a room with a bathroom, not a garden bath, and does not appear in the English booking engine’s room list.
Futons or beds?
Futons on tatami in most rooms; the English FAQ says staff lay them out between 15:00 and 21:00. Tsurukame and Yugiri have Sealy twin beds.
What is in the room?
The English site lists a toothbrush, shampoo, Yomogi herb soap, a razor, towels, a yukata, hot water and green tea, plus air conditioning, a TV, a hair dryer, wireless internet and Apple TV. On smoking, the pages differ: the Japanese booking page says the building is non-smoking with smoking on the terrace, and the Japanese site lists two annex rooms as smoking rooms. The English FAQ asks you to contact the ryokan if you need a non-smoking room.
Ryokan Yachiyo baths, and the tattoo question
What are the communal baths like?
Small. The English rooms page says there is no big public bath, and the Japanese page says the baths are not large. There are two, named Nanzen and Eikan on the Japanese site. No page describes them as onsen or hot spring water, and no page mentions a bathing tax.
What are the bath hours?
| Time (English FAQ) | Use |
|---|---|
| 15:00 to 17:00 | Shared |
| 17:00 to 22:00 | Private, by reservation: 45-minute slots starting on the hour |
| 22:00 to 24:00 | Shared |
| 6:30 to 10:00 | Shared |
Official English FAQ, read October 2, 2026. The Japanese pages give no morning times.
The English FAQ says the ryokan is promoting gender neutrality and introduced the private slots during the pandemic. Which bath is for men or women during the shared hours, and whether they swap, is not stated by the ryokan.
Who can book a private slot, and what does it cost?
The English pages set no limit or price. The Japanese pages do: the Japanese home page says the private slots are for annex guests, whose rooms have no wooden tub, and the Japanese booking page gives them priority and asks main-building guests not to use them. The FAQ gives the first private slot free and 4,000 yen for each one after that; the Japanese booking page says 4,400 yen.
Can I use the baths with a tattoo?
We cannot tell you. The tattoo rule is not stated by the ryokan: its English and Japanese sites, the restaurant site and the booking pages say nothing about tattoos. Email info@ryokan-yachiyo.com before you book and keep the reply.
What are the alternatives?
Two, from the pages. A Honkan room with a hinoki tub means you never need the communal bath. An annex guest can book a private evening slot, which your group uses alone. Neither is a written tattoo policy. Our tattoos and onsen guide covers the wider picture.
Dinner and breakfast at Ryokan Yachiyo
Where is dinner served?
In the garden restaurant on the first floor. The English cuisine page says all dinners are served there. In-room dining costs extra per person, but the pages disagree on how much: 3,300 yen on the English FAQ, one English cuisine section and the English booking page, and 2,530 yen on another English cuisine section and the Japanese booking page. Check the plan.
Do I need to book dinner ahead?
Yes, and the deadline varies by page and plan. The English room-only booking page asks you to book meals by email at least 3 days ahead, and says a meal booking needs a confirmation from the ryokan. Other pages give same-day or day-before deadlines for some menus. Follow the plan you book, and book early if dinner matters. Without a booking, the English cuisine page offers a yudofu set or kaiseki bento from 4,500 yen; the Japanese cuisine page says from 4,000 yen.
What does dinner cost?
The restaurant’s course menu lists kaiseki at 10,120, 15,180 and 22,770 yen, and sukiyaki or shabu-shabu at 10,120 or 15,180 yen, which must be booked, all including tax and service. Dinner seatings start from 17:00; the last start is 19:30 on the English FAQ and 19:00 on the kaiseki plans and the Japanese booking page. The English FAQ says turtle dishes are not offered.
What if I cancel a meal?
The English booking page lists 30 percent of the restaurant charge from 3 days to 1 day before, and 50 percent on the day.
What is breakfast?
A Japanese breakfast with yudofu, grilled fish, Japanese omelet, vegetables, miso soup and rice, for 3,300 yen on the English booking page. Seatings there are 7:30, 8:00, 8:30 or 9:00 am; the room-only plans say 7:30 to 8:30. The pages also give different booking deadlines for breakfast, so ask when you book.
Can the kitchen handle vegetarian or gluten-free meals?
The official pages contradict each other, so we do not promise either. The English FAQ offers a vegetarian or gluten-free hot pot for 10,120 yen and mentions vegan and other vegetarian styles. One English page says the ryokan cannot offer full vegetarian food, while another says it can provide a vegetarian meal. The restaurant’s 2026 shojin kaiseki notice says it cannot handle gluten-free requests or guests who cannot have soy sauce. Confirm in writing before you book. The English FAQ says halal food cannot be served.
Eating at Ryotei Yachiyo without staying
Can non-guests eat at the restaurant?
Yes. The garden restaurant, Ryotei Yachiyo, has its own site and takes non-guests. It says it resumed normal service on June 20, 2026 after a temporary closure for maintenance, and that it is open every day. Lunch runs 11:00 to 15:00 (last order 14:00) and dinner 17:00 to 21:00 (last order 19:30); lunch runs to 16:00 at New Year, in the autumn leaf season and in cherry blossom season. The ryokan’s own pages give different hours, so we use the restaurant site.
What is on the lunch menu?
The yudofu set, Nanzenji’s simmered tofu dish, starts at 3,500 yen, with 4,000 and 4,500 yen versions that add yuba or sashimi, all including tax. A private room or banquet room adds a 10 percent service charge.
Kids at Ryokan Yachiyo
Are children welcome?
Yes. The English site calls the ryokan family-friendly, and the Japanese site says it lends toys and DVDs for children. No page sets an age limit, and no page says from what age children must use the bath for their own gender.
What do children pay?
There is a child rate, but the pages do not agree. The English site shows two different sets of child prices, and its age bands do not match the booking engine’s, so we do not repeat them. Check the age band and price on the booking screen. Compare other hotels in our kids stay free guide.
Cancellation, payment and Kyoto accommodation tax at Ryokan Yachiyo
What does it cost to cancel?
| When you cancel | Fee |
|---|---|
| 21 to 14 days before | 8% |
| 14 to 7 days before | 15% |
| 6 to 4 days before | 30% |
| 3 to 2 days before | 50% |
| Day before | 70% |
| On the day | 100% |
| No-show without notice | 100% |
The ryokan’s English rates page, read October 2, 2026. The page lists 14 days in two bands.
The ryokan’s English rates page lists this ladder, and it is the only page that does. Fees start three weeks out. The cancellation-fee field on the booking engine is empty in both languages. The deadlines the booking engine does show are only the cut-off for canceling online, and they vary by plan. Check the terms shown when you book. Our hotel cancellation guide compares policies across Japan.
How do I pay?
Every plan on both booking pages is prepaid by credit card as an arranged-travel booking through Time Design, a travel company. We did not read its terms, so whether its conditions or the ryokan’s ladder apply to a prepaid booking is not settled here. The English FAQ says prices include the room charge, service charge, any booked meals and consumption tax. Its line on paying extras such as phone charges, massages or courier costs by card is worded unclearly, so ask at check-in how to pay for them.
How much is the Kyoto accommodation tax?
As the ryokan lists it on its English rates page and booking pages, under a notice headed effective March 1, 2026, the tax is charged per person per night by the room charge, and meal charges are not counted:
| Room charge per person per night | Tax |
|---|---|
| Under 6,000 yen | 200 yen |
| 6,000 to under 20,000 yen | 400 yen |
| 20,000 to under 50,000 yen | 1,000 yen |
| 50,000 to under 100,000 yen | 4,000 yen |
| 100,000 yen or more | 10,000 yen |
As listed on the ryokan’s English rates page and booking pages, read October 2, 2026.
The English FAQ still shows older figures with three bands, so do not rely on it. The tax is set by Kyoto City, not by the ryokan. The English FAQ says to pay it at the ryokan; no page says whether a prepaid booking already covers it, so ask.
Who Ryokan Yachiyo is for
Travelers who want to sleep at the foot of the Higashiyama hills, at the start of the Nanzenji approach lane, with dinner overlooking an Ueji garden that is lit up at night. It suits guests who book a Honkan room with a hinoki tub, can commit three weeks out, and book meals early. It is a harder fit if you want a hot spring, need a firm answer on tattoos or gluten-free meals before paying, or want a garden view on an annex budget.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cancellation policy at Ryokan Yachiyo?
Are the baths at Ryokan Yachiyo hot springs?
Can I stay at Ryokan Yachiyo with a tattoo?
How much is the Kyoto accommodation tax at Ryokan Yachiyo?
Does Ryokan Yachiyo serve dinner in the room?
Can Ryokan Yachiyo cater for vegetarian or gluten-free diets?
Can I eat at Yachiyo without staying?
What time are check-in and checkout at Ryokan Yachiyo?
Bottom line (2026): Ryokan Yachiyo sits on the Nanzenji approach lane, about 5 minutes on foot from Keage Station. Check-in is from 3:00 pm and checkout by 11:00 am. Online plans are prepaid by card, and the English rates page lists cancellation fees from 21 days before. The baths are not described as onsen, no tattoo rule is published, and the Kyoto accommodation tax is added on top.
Sources
Every rule and figure on this page is from Ryokan Yachiyo’s own pages: the Japanese site and its access, rooms and facilities, cuisine and information pages; the English site and its rooms, cuisine, FAQ, rates and access pages; the Ryotei Yachiyo restaurant site (about, courses, English and English courses); and the booking pages in English and Japanese, including an English room-only plan and a Japanese plan, all read on October 2, 2026. Where two pages differ, we say so. Confirm on the official site before you book.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


