Love Hotels in Tokyo (2026): What the Law Actually Says, and What They Cost

Guide·September 3, 2026·22 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

English writing about Japanese love hotels tends to be either coy or lurid, and both versions get the basic facts wrong. So here is the plain version. Japanese law contains no category called a love hotel. Whether a hotel counts as an adult-entertainment business is decided by the building — lobby size, signage, whether you can get a key without meeting anyone — and not by anything that happens in the rooms. And every one of them is licensed accommodation under the same act that covers business hotels and ryokan.

This guide is about the practical side: what the two pricing systems mean, what check-in looks like, what the rules say about foreign guests and identification, and where the common English claims are simply incorrect. We are not going to describe the rooms.

Honto check: The legal sections below are taken from the statutes and government ordinances themselves, and from the health ministry's published guidance. Prices are the figures on each hotel's own site as of August 31, 2026, and every operator states that they change over long weekends and at New Year. Where a hotel does not publish a policy — and on the question foreign visitors care most about, none of them does — we say so.
TOC

The law has no category called a love hotel

The statute everyone cites is the Act on Control and Improvement of Amusement Business. Search it and the phrase love hotel does not appear. What it defines, in Article 2, is a business type: operating a facility specified by cabinet order that is used exclusively for the lodging, including rest, of guests accompanied by a person of the opposite sex, where the private rooms have a structure or equipment specified by cabinet order.

Everything hangs on those two references to a cabinet order. The law itself does not describe a love hotel; it points to a list of building characteristics.

The test is architecture, not conduct

The cabinet order sets out what those characteristics are, and reading them explains far more about why these hotels look the way they do than any amount of description:

TriggerWhat it means in practice
Lobby or dining area below a set floor areaThresholds scale with capacity — 30, 40 or 50 square meters
Rest prices displayed outsideA price board visible from the street, or from inside where the street can see it
Screening at the entranceAnything installed to make it hard to see who goes in
A curtained front deskFittings that obstruct face-to-face contact with staff
Getting a key without meeting staffA machine that issues the room key
Certain fittings, or a garage connected to the roomIncluding a mirror of one square meter or more, and an automatic payment machine
None of that is about sex. It is a list of ways a building can let people come and go without being seen or spoken to. Two hotels offering an identical experience can fall on opposite sides of the line purely because of how their entrance is built. This is the single most useful thing to understand about the subject, and it is missing from almost all English coverage.

And there is an explicit way out

The same cabinet order contains an exemption that has reshaped the industry. The structural test excludes a facility where, as a matter of normal operation, the guest register is completed, payment is taken and the room key is handed over at a front desk suitable for meeting the guest.

In other words: staff a front desk properly, and you fall outside the classification entirely. A great many Tokyo hotels of this type now do exactly that, and are legally ordinary hotels. The industry uses its own names for them — leisure hotel, couples hotel — and from the street you often cannot tell which is which.

One more correction while we are here: for the hotels that do fall under the classification, the law requires a notification to the public safety commission, not a license. English pages calling these places licensed adult establishments are wrong on both words.

A two-hour rest is legally an overnight stay

This is the part that surprises people, and it is the reason the whole category is properly regulated. The Hotel Business Act defines lodging as using the facility with bedding. Not overnight. Not for a minimum period. With bedding.

So a three-hour afternoon rest is, in law, lodging — which means the business needs a permit from the prefectural governor, or from the mayor or ward mayor in cities and wards with their own public health center. That brings with it minimum room sizes (7 square meters, or 9 with a bed), a requirement for facilities suitable for confirming who the guest is, a duty to keep a guest register, and inspection powers.

What that means for you as a visitor: these are inspected, permitted premises operating under the same act as a business hotel or a ryokan. If you have read that they are unregulated, or a legal gray area, that is not correct. There is also a planning rule worth knowing: a permit can be refused within roughly 100 meters of a school or children's facility, which is part of why these hotels cluster where they do.

The pricing is two products, not one

A love hotel sells blocks of time, and the same room has completely different prices depending on which block you buy and when. Here is the structure, which is broadly consistent across operators:

BlockTypical lengthWhen you can start
Short time2 hoursDaytime, limited hours
Rest3 hoursMost of the day
Service time / free timeUp to 5–11 hoursDaytime only
StayUp to 10–17 hoursEvening entry only, roughly 18:00–23:00
Extension20 or 30 min units

Why the evening entry window exists

The stay block is the one that confuses visitors, because you cannot check in whenever you like. Entry is restricted to roughly 18:00 to 23:00 at one hotel, and 22:00 to 01:00 at another, with the second running twelve hours from entry. The logic is straightforward once you see the grid: the room is being sold as daytime blocks first, and the overnight block only starts once the daytime blocks are finished. Turn up at 16:00 asking for the overnight rate and you will be sold a rest instead.

Real published prices

One large Shinjuku hotel publishes a six-tier room grid. As of August 2026:

BlockWhenPrice
Short time, 2hMon–Fri4,800 yen
Short time, 2hWeekends and holidays5,800 yen
Rest, 3hWeekday evening5,900–9,500 yen
Rest, 3hWeekends and holidays7,500–10,900 yen
Service time, up to 11hWeekday daytime5,900–9,500 yen
Stay, up to 17hSun–Thu, from 18:007,900–17,500 yen
Stay, up to 13hSaturday, from 21:0013,900–20,500 yen
ExtensionPer 30 min1,950 yen
Do not treat this as a budget option. A Saturday night in a better room at that hotel is 13,900 to 20,500 yen, which is more than a great many Tokyo business hotels. The genuinely striking number is the daytime service time: up to eleven hours for the same price as a three-hour evening rest. If you want somewhere to sleep cheaply, see our guide to budget hotels in Tokyo or to hostels in Shibuya instead.

What the price does and does not include

Three things every operator states. The advertised price is for up to two people, and a third guest is charged extra — one chain adds 50 percent of the room rate per additional person. Prices change without notice over long weekends and at New Year. And swapping one guest for another mid-stay still triggers the additional charge. Payment is unusually well covered for Japan: the Shinjuku hotel above lists cards, transit IC, most Japanese QR wallets, and UnionPay, WeChat Pay and Alipay.

Check-in is not always automated

The image of a wall of backlit room photos and a payment machine is real, but it is one of two models, and the difference is not decoration — as the first section explained, a staffed front desk is exactly what moves a hotel out of the adult-business classification.

ModelHow it worksExample
Panel and machineChoose an available room from a touch panel, go up, pay at an automatic machineA Shibuya hotel on Dogenzaka
Staffed front deskSpeak to staff, pay in advance, receive the keyA major chain with branches including Ikebukuro

You still need your passport

This is the point where getting it wrong causes an actual problem, so it is worth being precise. Japanese regulations require a lodging facility to record, for a foreign guest who does not have an address in Japan, that person's nationality and passport number in addition to name, address and contact details. The health ministry's guidance goes further and asks operators to have the passport shown and a copy kept with the register.

A revision effective April 1, 2025 updated this for machines: identity confirmation through an automatic check-in device was explicitly recognized, and the guidance was clarified to state that the passport copy may be kept electronically by such a device. Registers are retained for three years.

So "it is automated, therefore no ID" is wrong. The rule attaches to the guest, not to the machine. What we cannot tell you is how any individual hotel handles it at the door, because none of the hotels we checked publishes its policy for foreign guests — not one. Carry your passport, as you are required to anyway, and do not rely on any page that tells you it will not be asked for.

Who can actually use one

The English shorthand is that these are for mixed-sex couples only. At least one major chain contradicts that in writing on its own site, stating that its hotels may be used regardless of gender, and that solo guests of any gender are welcome.

The same chain does not admit anyone under 18, describing itself as an adult resort concept. Where a hotel does fall under the adult-business classification, there is also a statutory duty to display a notice at the entrance that under-18s may not enter, and admitting them is prohibited.

One thing we checked and found to be untrue

A claim that circulates in English is that Tokyo's youth protection ordinance bars minors from these hotels. We read the ordinance. Its provision on late-night entry lists four categories of premises — entertainment venues, bowling, skating and swimming facilities, private karaoke rooms, and places for reading publications or using the internet. The words hotel and lodging do not appear anywhere in it. Where an age limit applies, it comes from the adult-business law or from the operator's own house rule — not from that ordinance.

Group size and going out

The base rate covers two people nearly everywhere; a third is an additional charge rather than a refusal. Whether you can leave and come back during a stay varies by hotel — two of the operators we checked allow it, and we have not verified the rest, so treat it as a question to ask rather than an assumption. This is a category where house rules differ more than the law does.

Booking ahead, and where they cluster

You can often reserve, and the systems are inconsistent enough that it is worth checking rather than guessing. A national booking site listed 117 bookable hotels in Tokyo as of late August 2026. One chain accepts reservations one to two months ahead. And one Shibuya hotel states that a rest can be reserved only by telephone, fifteen minutes before you arrive — which is functionally not a reservation system at all.

The room grid is the thing to read

Every operator prices by room, not just by time. One Shinjuku hotel runs six room ranks; another runs ten room types, A through J, where a weekday three-hour rest ranges from 6,800 yen for the entry type to 11,000 for the top one, and the overnight from 12,600 to 19,800. At that second hotel, Friday, Saturday and pre-holiday nights add roughly 500 yen to a rest and about 5,000 to a stay. So the question is never just which block — it is which block, which room, and which day.

Why the buildings are old

Shibuya has had its own ordinance since 2006 requiring the ward mayor's consent before a building confirmation or a lodging permit application for hotels and inns. Its effect is to filter new builds of this type. That is a large part of why the concentration around Maruyamacho and Dogenzaka consists of older buildings with little new construction — the stock is largely fixed. It is a short walk from the Harajuku and Shibuya area that most visitors already spend an evening in.

When it actually makes sense to use one

Setting aside what these hotels are associated with, there are two situations where the format is simply the most rational option available, and both are about time rather than price.

The first is the daytime block. Up to eleven hours of a private room with a shower, in central Tokyo, for the price of a three-hour evening rest, is a genuinely useful thing on a day when you have checked out of one hotel and cannot check into the next. The second is the missed last train, where the alternatives are a taxi across the city or waiting for the first train — though a manga cafe is cheaper for that, and if you are arriving late from the airport our guide on getting from Narita to Shibuya covers the last connections.

Deliberately not stated here. We have not described room interiors or in-room entertainment, which is a choice rather than an omission. We have not said whether any specific hotel accepts foreign guests, because none of them publishes a policy. We have not generalized any operator's prices into a market rate, because each one states that its prices move. We have not repeated the claim that a Tokyo ordinance bars minors from these premises, because we read the ordinance and it does not. And we have not written anything about the streets around them, because we could not verify it. Each of those is not stated officially.

Tokyo love hotels FAQ

Are love hotels legal in Japan?
Yes, and they are licensed accommodation. Every one of them needs a permit under the Hotel Business Act from the prefectural governor or, in Tokyo’s wards, the ward mayor, which means health inspections and the same statutory framework as a business hotel. The reason is a definition most visitors never see: the Act defines lodging as using a facility with bedding, so even a two-hour rest counts as lodging in law. Descriptions of these places as unregulated or a legal gray zone are simply wrong.
Are love hotels part of Japan’s adult entertainment industry?
Not in the way English coverage implies. The law that people point to does not mention love hotels at all – it defines a business type by the building’s structure and equipment. Whether a hotel falls under it is decided by things like whether the lobby is above a set floor area, whether rest prices are displayed where passers-by can see them, whether guests can collect a key without meeting staff, and whether certain fittings are present. It is a test of architecture, not of conduct.
How much does a love hotel in Tokyo cost?
It depends entirely on which block of time you buy. At one large Shinjuku hotel as of August 2026, a two-hour short stay was 4,800 yen on weekdays, a three-hour rest ran from 5,900 to 10,900 depending on the room and the day, and an overnight stay ran from 7,900 to 20,500. The overnight rate is not automatically cheap – at the top end it exceeds plenty of business hotels. What is genuinely good value is the daytime block.
What is the difference between rest and stay?
Rest is a fixed block of a few hours that you can take during the day, and stay is overnight with a late check-in window. A typical structure is a two-hour short time, a three-hour rest, a longer daytime service time of up to eleven hours, and an overnight stay you can only enter from around 18:00 to 23:00 but which can run up to seventeen hours. Extensions are sold in twenty or thirty-minute units.
Do I need a passport at a love hotel?
You should assume yes and carry it. Japanese regulations require lodging facilities to record the nationality and passport number of foreign guests without an address in Japan, and the health ministry’s official guidance also asks for the passport to be shown and a copy kept. A 2025 revision clarified that automatic check-in machines may keep that copy electronically. The individual hotels we checked do not publish their own policy, so nobody can tell you it will not be asked for.
Can I check in without meeting anyone?
At some hotels, not all. One Shibuya hotel uses a touch panel to choose the room and an automatic payment machine, with no staff contact. One major chain runs a conventional front desk where you pay in advance in person. The two models exist side by side, and which one a hotel uses is not cosmetic – the presence of a staffed front desk is one of the things that determines its legal classification.
Can two people of the same sex, or one person alone, use a love hotel?
At least one major chain says yes to both in writing, stating that its hotels may be used regardless of gender and that solo guests of any gender are welcome. That contradicts the common English claim that these places are for mixed-sex couples only. It is not universal, though, and the same chain does not admit anyone under 18. Check the specific hotel’s own page rather than assuming either way.
Can I book a love hotel in advance?
Often, but the systems vary more than you would expect. One national booking site listed 117 bookable hotels in Tokyo as of late August 2026, and one chain takes reservations one to two months ahead. At the other extreme, a Shibuya hotel states that a rest can only be reserved by telephone, fifteen minutes before you arrive. Check the individual hotel rather than assuming a booking site covers it.

Bottom line (2026)Japanese law has no love hotel category. Whether one counts as an adult business is decided by the building — lobby size, external price display, whether a key can be collected without meeting staff — and a hotel that staffs a front desk is explicitly excluded. Either way it is licensed accommodation, because the law defines lodging as using a facility with bedding, so a three-hour rest counts. Prices are blocks of time: a 2-hour short time from around 4,800 yen, and an overnight that can reach 20,500 yen — not a budget option. The best value is the daytime block, up to 11 hours. And carry your passport: the rules require it to be shown and copied, automated check-in included.

Sources

The definition of the business type, the structural and equipment tests, the front-desk exemption, the notification requirement and the entrance notice for under-18s: the Act on Control and Improvement of Amusement Business and its cabinet order, read from the government legal database. The definition of lodging, the permit requirement, minimum room sizes, the guest register duty, inspection powers and the distance rule near schools: the Hotel Business Act, its enforcement order and its enforcement regulations. The nationality and passport-number requirement, the retention period, the recognition of automatic check-in devices and the electronic retention of passport copies: those regulations together with the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare's hygiene management guidance revised with effect from April 1, 2025, and the ministry's own multilingual notice to guests. Prices, time blocks, extension units, occupancy rules, payment methods, gender and age policies and reservation rules: each hotel operator's own published pages. The number of bookable hotels in Tokyo: a national reservation site's own listing. The building consent requirement: Shibuya Ward. The four categories of premises in the youth ordinance: the Tokyo Metropolitan Government's published text of the ordinance. All read on August 31, 2026; operators state that prices change over holidays, so confirm before you go.

Free weekly email
Japanese-only news,
in English

Every week we read the Japanese sources English-language media never touches — new openings, price changes, limited releases, rule changes, the seasonal things that come and go in three weeks — and send you a three-minute read of what actually matters. Hit reply with a question about your trip and a human answers.

Free. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your address.

Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC