Kamenoi Bessou, Yufuin (2026): Rooms, Onsen, Fees

Guide·October 9, 2026·19 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Kamenoi Bessou is a ryokan of detached cottages on the shore of Lake Kinrin in Yufuin, Oita, about 5 minutes by taxi from JR Yufuin Station. Before you book, five things matter. Every room has its own free-flowing onsen bath. The main building takes no children of elementary school age or younger and is reached by stairs. Yufu’s bathing tax is 250 yen per person per night. The lowest rate shown was 53,900 yen per adult with two meals. And the Japanese and English booking pages set different online cancellation deadlines, with no cancellation fee published on either.

The inn’s English site is thin and out of date: its news stopped in 2017, and some of its lines contradict the Japanese pages. Where the two disagree, we follow the Japanese site and the booking pages, and say so.

Compare Yufuin stays on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below comes from Kamenoi Bessou’s official Japanese and English sites and its official booking pages in both languages, read on October 5, 2026. We have not stayed there. Both booking pages leave the cancellation-fee field empty, and we did not read the travel company terms that apply to prepaid bookings. Deliberately not stated: cancellation fees, which the inn does not publish; parking and station pickup, which no page mentions; a tattoo rule, which no page gives; the spring type, bath hours and any private bath; meal times, allergies and vegetarian or halal food; whether a service charge or the bathing tax is inside the price shown; any accommodation tax; step-free access beyond the stairs the inn names; whether staff speak English; domestic discount schemes; and express bus times from Fukuoka, which the Japanese and English pages give differently. The pages we read do not settle them.
TOC

Kamenoi Bessou (Yufuin) at a glance

A calm lake with a small torii gate standing in the water under a blue sky
Lake Kinrin, Yufuin, where the inn stands on the shore. August 2018.
ItemWhat the official pages say
LocationBy Lake Kinrin, Yufuin; about 5 minutes by taxi from JR Yufuin Station
Rooms11 cottages and 6 Western-style main-building rooms
OnsenFree-flowing hot spring bath in every room
Check-in / out15:00 / 11:00; latest check-in 19:00 or 20:00, by plan
Main buildingNo children of elementary school age or younger; stairs to every room
Lowest rate shown53,900 yen per adult, 2 per room, 2 meals, tax included (booking page, October 5, 2026)
Bathing tax250 yen per person per night
Online cancellation deadlineJapanese page: 8 days before, 23:59; English page: day before, 15:00
Cancellation feeNot published
PaymentJapanese page: at the inn or card prepayment; English page: card prepayment only

From Kamenoi Bessou’s official sites and booking pages, read October 5, 2026.

What is Kamenoi Bessou, and where is it in Yufuin?

A snow-capped twin-peaked mountain rising above flat winter farmland
Mount Yufu above Yufuin in winter. Photo: veroyama (CC BY 2.0)

What kind of ryokan is it?

A ryokan built around a large garden. The Japanese rooms page says the grounds cover about 10,000 tsubo, a traditional Japanese unit of land area, with 11 detached cottages and 6 Western-style rooms. The English page says 15 cottages; the Japanese room list shows 11, so we use 11. The garden also holds a restaurant, a tea room, a bar and a souvenir shop. For how futons, yukata and kaiseki dinners work, see our ryokan guide.

Where exactly is it?

The address is 2633-1 Kawakami, Yufuin-cho, Yufu, Oita 879-5102. The site’s header places it on the shore of Lake Kinrin. For the rest of the town, see our Yufuin guide.

How do I contact the inn?

The phone number is 0977-84-3166, the fax 0977-84-2356, and the English access page gives the email address info@kamenoi-bessou.jp.

Getting to Kamenoi Bessou from Yufuin Station, Fukuoka and Oita

A small bus terminal building on a sunny street corner
The Yufuin bus terminal near JR Yufuin Station, September 2022. Photo: inunami (CC BY 2.0)

How far is it from JR Yufuin Station?

The Japanese access page gives about 5 minutes by taxi or about 25 minutes on foot from JR Yufuin Station, and the same from the bus center in front of the station. The English page says about 7 minutes by taxi. No page mentions a station pickup.

How long is the train from Fukuoka?

The inn gives about 130 minutes from Hakata Station on the JR limited expresses Yufuin no Mori or Yufu. The Japanese page asks you to check JR Kyushu’s service information before you travel. The Japanese and English pages give different times for the express bus from Fukuoka, so we leave those out.

How do I get there from Oita Airport or Beppu?

FromHowTime the inn gives
Oita AirportExpress bus to the Yufuin Station bus centerAbout 60 min
Oita AirportCar: airport road, Oita Expressway, then Route 216About 30 + 20 + 10 min
BeppuLocal bus via Route 11About 60 min
BeppuJR Nippo Line to Oita, then JR Kyudai LineAbout 15 + 60 min
Yufuin ICCar via Route 216About 10 min

Official access page (Japanese), read October 5, 2026. Fares are not listed.

If you are combining the trip with Beppu’s hot springs, see our Beppu guide.

Is there parking?

The inn’s pages do not say. No page we read mentions a car park, a fee or a number of spaces, even though the access page gives driving routes. Ask when you book if you are driving.

Kamenoi Bessou rooms: cottage or main building?

What are the cottages like?

Each cottage, or hanare, has a living room, a bedroom and an onsen bath, and dinner and breakfast are brought to your room. The Japanese site lists them by number:

CottageTypeBathSize
No. 7Western-styleOpen-air140 m²
No. 100Special roomOpen-air120 m²
No. 17Japanese-WesternOpen-air90 m²
No. 3, No. 11Japanese-WesternIndoor85 m²
No. 5Western-styleOpen-air80 m²
No. 2JapaneseOpen-air80 m²
No. 8JapaneseOpen-air75 m²
No. 1, No. 16JapaneseOpen-air70 m²
No. 15JapaneseIndoor50 m²

Official rooms page (Japanese), read October 5, 2026. The booking page gives No. 17 as 93 m².

The booking page lists most cottages for 2 to 4 guests, and No. 15 and No. 16 for 1 to 4; one plan list shows No. 100 for up to 6. No. 17 has stairs inside the room. No. 1, renovated in part in October 2017, has both an open-air and an indoor onsen bath, floor heating, two tatami rooms of 8 and 6 mats, and free wireless internet. The booking page marks most cottages as non-smoking; it does not label No. 1, No. 2 or No. 11 either way, so ask if it matters.

Which cottages are Western-style?

Two. A 2024 notice says No. 5 was rebuilt with a new free-flowing open-air bath in its cedar garden and became a Western-style room. No. 7 is a new special room, with two bedrooms and four beds, a new free-flowing open-air bath and an indoor bath made entirely of hinoki cypress. Its own booking plan allows check-in until 20:00. The inn’s notice and booking page give different dates for when No. 7 was finished.

What are the main-building rooms like?

The six main-building rooms are hotel-style twins with an indoor onsen bath. One is 60 square meters with an open-air bath, four are 45 and one is 40. The booking page marks them all non-smoking and lists each for 1 to 2 or 1 to 3 guests. Meals are served in the main-building restaurant, from the same menu as the cottages.

Main building: no young children, and stairs: the Japanese rooms page asks guests not to bring children of elementary school age or younger to the main-building rooms, and the English booking page says they are not allowed. The booking page also warns that you climb stairs to the second floor to reach these rooms; one room on the first floor is reached by going up to the second floor and back down. No page mentions an elevator.

What is No. 10, Juban-kan?

A January 2026 notice says the inn renovated a room around a private counter where the head chef serves you in person. It is sold only on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays, to three groups a day, and the booking page limits it to adults, from junior high school age. Dinner on that plan starts at 18:30. It does not appear on the English booking page.

The onsen at Kamenoi Bessou

A steaming open-air stone bath with a wooden pillar and bamboo fence
An open-air bath in Yufuin. Not the bath at Kamenoi Bessou. Photo: R34SkylineGT-R V-SpecⅡNür (CC BY 3.0)

Is the bath in my room a real hot spring?

Yes. The Japanese rooms page says every guest room has a free-flowing onsen bath, with water straight from the source. The spa page says the inn sends natural, free-flowing water from a source in its own garden, and that you can enjoy the smooth water all night. Cottages have either an open-air bath or an indoor bath; main-building rooms have an indoor onsen bath, and the 60-square-meter room adds an open-air one.

Is there a shared bath?

No page describes one. One booking-page photo is captioned as a large open-air bath, but the site gives no text, hours or rules for it. The inn does not state the spring type, bath hours or any private bath you can book.

Can I use the baths with a tattoo?

No page we read gives a tattoo rule, in Japanese or English. What the pages do say is that every room has its own onsen bath. If you would want to use a shared bath, ask the inn before you book. Our tattoos and onsen guide covers the wider picture.

Dinner and breakfast at Kamenoi Bessou

Where are meals served?

In the cottages, kaiseki dinner is brought to your room, and breakfast too, with a choice of Japanese or Western. In the main building, both meals are served in the main-building restaurant. From the second night you can choose a kaiseki course or a hot pot course. If you ask, the inn can also serve dinner at Yunodake An, the restaurant in its garden. The English site still says the main building serves no dinner; the Japanese site and both booking pages show dinner plans, so we follow them.

What about children’s meals?

The Japanese cottage plan says there are three children’s dinner menus with different portions and dishes, and asks you to phone for details. The English booking page says children of elementary school age or younger may not use the main-building restaurant.

What else is in the garden?

PlaceHours
Yunodake An (restaurant)11:00 to 21:00, last order; 70 seats; closed irregularly about twice a year
Tea room9:00 to 17:00
Bar, in a relocated late-Edo sake brewery17:00 to 24:00
Souvenir shop9:00 to 19:00

Official facility pages (Japanese), read October 5, 2026.

Yunodake An’s phone number is 0977-84-2970. The pages give no meal times for guests and say nothing about allergies, vegetarian or halal food, so raise any needs when you book.

Check-in, rates and taxes at Kamenoi Bessou

What time are check-in and checkout?

The Japanese rooms page gives check-in at 15:00 and checkout at 11:00. The latest check-in time differs by booking page: 19:00 on the regular Japanese plans, and 20:00 on the English booking page and the No. 7 plan. The inn publishes no rule for arriving late without notice, so call if you will be after the time on your plan.

How much does a night cost?

On October 5, 2026, the official booking page showed these lowest rates, per adult per night, for two sharing a room with dinner and breakfast, with consumption tax included:

PlanLowest shown, per adult
Main building, kaiseki in the restaurant53,900 yen (up to 72,600 yen)
Cottage, kaiseki in the room59,400 yen (up to 107,800 yen)
Juban-kan, chef’s counter78,650 yen (up to 120,450 yen)
No. 7 only99,000 yen

Official booking page (Japanese), plan list without dates, read October 5, 2026. The page calls these approximate. Rates change by date.

The booking page says its prices include consumption tax but does not say whether a service charge is included. A 2025 notice for No. 7 quoted its price with service included and tax excluded, so check the breakdown on your plan.

Is there a bathing tax?

Yes. Every plan carries a note that Yufu City’s bathing tax rose from 150 yen to 250 yen per person per night for stays from October 1, 2024. The note does not say whether it is in the price shown, and no page mentions an accommodation tax.

Booking, cancellation and payment at Kamenoi Bessou

What does it cost to cancel?

The inn does not say. On both the Japanese and the English booking pages, the cancellation-fee field is empty, so the cancellation fees are not published. What the pages do show is a deadline for canceling online, and the two languages disagree:

Booking pageCancel or change online untilBook until
Japanese23:59, 8 days before20:00 the day before
English15:00 the day before15:00 the day before

Official booking pages, read October 5, 2026. Times are Japan time.

Online deadline is not a free-cancellation deadline: these are the cut-offs for canceling on the booking page. Neither page says what you pay if you cancel. Get the cancellation fee in writing before you pay.

Our hotel cancellation guide explains how fees work at other places to stay in Japan.

Can I pay at the inn?

It depends on the booking page. The Japanese booking page offers payment at the inn or card prepayment. The English booking page offers card prepayment only. A prepaid booking is arranged by Time Design Co., Ltd., a travel company, and the Japanese page says paying in advance makes your contract an arranged-travel contract with Time Design, so its conditions apply. We did not read them.

Should I book in Japanese or English?

The English booking page showed two plans for us; the Juban-kan and No. 7 plans appear only in Japanese. The “Reservation” button on the English site also opens the Japanese booking page, which has an English switch. Pick the page whose payment and cancellation terms suit you.

Kids at Kamenoi Bessou

Can children stay?

Yes, in the cottages. The booking page has categories for children aged 6 to 12, who eat the same meals as adults, 3 to 5, with no meal or a children’s meal, and 2 and under, with no meal, each with or without bedding. It does not publish the child rates; they appear on the booking screen. The main building and its restaurant are closed to children of elementary school age or younger, and the Juban-kan counter is for junior high school age and up. Compare how other places handle children in our kids stay free guide.

Who Kamenoi Bessou suits

Couples and families who want a cottage with its own onsen bath and dinner in the room, by Lake Kinrin, a short taxi ride from Yufuin Station. It is a harder fit if you need the cancellation fee in writing before you commit, want to pay on arrival through the English booking page, are bringing young children to a main-building room, or need step-free access there.

Frequently asked questions

Does every room at Kamenoi Bessou have its own onsen?
Yes. The Japanese rooms page says every guest room has a free-flowing hot spring bath fed from the source. Some cottages have an open-air bath, and the others and the main-building rooms have an indoor onsen bath.
How many rooms does Kamenoi Bessou have?
The Japanese site says 11 detached cottages and 6 Western-style rooms in the main building, on grounds of about 10,000 tsubo. The English site says 15 cottages; we follow the Japanese, which matches its room list.
Can children stay at Kamenoi Bessou?
In the cottages, yes; the booking page has child categories for ages 6 to 12, 3 to 5 and 2 and under. The main building does not take children of elementary school age or younger, and its restaurant is closed to them too.
How much does Kamenoi Bessou cost?
On October 5, 2026, the official booking page’s lowest shown rate was 53,900 yen per adult per night, for two sharing a main-building room with dinner and breakfast, consumption tax included. Cottage plans started at 59,400 yen. Rates change by date.
Is there a bathing tax at Kamenoi Bessou?
Yes. The booking pages say Yufu City’s bathing tax is 250 yen per person per night for stays from October 1, 2024. They do not say whether it is in the price shown, so check your total.
What is the cancellation policy at Kamenoi Bessou?
The fee is not published: the cancellation-fee field on both booking pages is empty. Online cancellation closes at 23:59 eight days before on the Japanese page, and at 15:00 the day before on the English page. Get the fee in writing before you pay.
Can I pay at Kamenoi Bessou on arrival?
Only if you book on the Japanese booking page, which offers payment at the inn or card prepayment. The English booking page offers card prepayment only, arranged by the travel company Time Design.
Can I use the onsen at Kamenoi Bessou with a tattoo?
The inn publishes no tattoo rule on any page we read. Every room has its own onsen bath. Ask the inn before you book if a shared bath matters to you.

Bottom line (2026): Kamenoi Bessou checks in from 15:00 and out by 11:00, and every room has its own free-flowing onsen bath. The main building takes no children of elementary school age or younger. The lowest rate shown was 53,900 yen per adult with two meals, plus a 250 yen bathing tax. Online cancellation closes 8 days before on the Japanese page and the day before on the English one, and no cancellation fee is published.

Sources

Every rule and figure on this page is from Kamenoi Bessou’s own pages: the Japanese home page, rooms, onsen, cuisine, access and facilities pages, the Yunodake An page and the notices on No. 5 and No. 7; the English home page, rooms, onsen and access pages; and the official booking pages in Japanese and English, including a cottage plan, a main-building plan, the No. 7 plan and an English main-building plan, all read on October 5, 2026. Where the English pages differ from the Japanese, we follow the Japanese. Confirm on the official site before you book.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC