Ryokan Fukuzen, Ikaho Onsen (2026): Meals, Baths, Prices

Ryokan Fukuzen Ikaho Onsen · Meals, Baths, Prices
Guide·October 31, 2026·12 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Ryokan Fukuzen (Taishu Ryokan Fukuzen in Japanese) is an inn in Ikaho Onsen, Gunma, that calls itself a popular-style ryokan with the feel of the Showa era. Its main draw is dinner served in your room or a private room at a modest price. Before you book, three things matter: the official site is in Japanese only; there is no private bath you can reserve, so open-air bathing means booking one of two rooms with their own; and some low-priced plans are cash only.

Book direct on Ryokan Fukuzen’s official booking page (Japanese) →
A direct link to the inn’s own site. Not an affiliate link; we earn nothing from it.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below is from Ryokan Fukuzen’s official Japanese site, its official booking page and the Shibukawa city website, read on October 20, 2026. We have not stayed there. Deliberately not stated: the bath hours, the tattoo rule, the cancellation policy, whether cards are accepted, allergy options and the number of rooms, none of which the official pages give. Where official pages differ, such as on check-in time, we ask you to confirm with the inn.
TOC

Ryokan Fukuzen at a glance

A wide river valley with bare spring trees and mountains under a blue sky
The Tone River in Shibukawa, Gunma, the city that includes Ikaho Onsen, in April. Not a view from the inn. Photo: inunami (CC BY 2.0)
ItemOfficial information
Address396-1 Ikaho, Ikaho-machi, Shibukawa, Gunma 377-0102
Phone0279-72-2123 (7:00–19:00); from abroad +81-279-72-2123
Emailikahoonsen@fukuzen.com
StyleJapanese-style rooms; dinner in your room or a private room
Checkout10:00 on standard plans (varies by plan)
CurfewNone at the front door
PricesFrom 4,900 yen per person room only (cash only); from 9,600 yen with two meals
ParkingFree, about 60 spaces, no booking needed
PetsNot allowed

From the official site, read October 20, 2026. Prices include tax and are per person.

Which room should you book at Ryokan Fukuzen?

The rooms page sums up the mood as an old-fashioned inn. All rooms are Japanese-style, and the main difference is size and whether the room has its own bath and toilet.

Room typeSizeWhat the official page lists
Main building Japanese room8–15 matsToilet; 5th and 6th floors; room type assigned by the inn
East wing Japanese room10 matsBath and toilet
Two-room Japanese suite20.5 matsBath and toilet
Room with workspace10 matsBath, toilet, free Wi-Fi
Welcome Baby Room10 + 4.5 matsNo rooms above or below
Kikyo and Aoi20.5 mats eachPrivate open-air bath plus indoor bath

Note that a standard room in the main building has a toilet but no bath listed, so you will use the shared bath. If you need a room on a certain floor or of a certain type, the FAQ says requests for standard rooms may not be met.

Meals at Ryokan Fukuzen

A tray of raw vegetables, tofu, mushrooms and lotus root prepared for shabu-shabu
Vegetables for a shabu-shabu set at a restaurant in Tokyo’s Shibuya, not a meal at Ryokan Fukuzen.

What is dinner like?

Dinner is the center of the stay. The cuisine page lists plans built around Joshu beef shabu-shabu, Joshu beef sukiyaki and a small-portion plan. The Haruna set is the standard course, with shabu-shabu of a Gunma pork brand; the Ikaho set adds Joshu beef steak; and the Fukuzen set is the top course. Meals come to your room or a private dining room, and on the Fukuzen’s Select plan the page says you will never share a dining space with other guests.

Can the inn handle allergies or a special diet?

The official pages do not say. If you have an allergy or follow a vegetarian or halal diet, email the inn before you book and wait for a reply. Bringing your own food is not encouraged; the FAQ says it is possible for a separate carry-in fee.

What if I book room only?

Room-only guests eat out. The inn notes that at night the options nearby are mainly izakaya pubs and snack bars, so plan your dinner before you arrive.

The baths at Ryokan Fukuzen

A cone-shaped mountain with bare trees rising above a frozen white lake under a cloudy sky
Mount Harunafuji above frozen Lake Haruna in Gunma, in March. Not a view from the inn. Photo: Fumihiko Ueno (CC BY 3.0)

What is the main bath like?

The inn has an observation bath on the top floor; one official page describes the hot spring as sitting on a hilltop about 700 m above sea level with a view of the mountains. The official pages do not give the bath hours or say whether baths are split by gender, so check at check-in. Towels are in your room; take them to the bath.

Is there a private bath?

No bath can be reserved for private use, and there is no shared open-air bath. The only open-air baths are in the rooms Kikyo and Aoi, which also come with an 11:00 late checkout.

Can I bathe with a tattoo?

The official pages do not mention tattoos. Ask the inn before you book; our tattoo and onsen guide explains what to ask. A room with its own open-air bath is one way to bathe without sharing.

Prices, children, cancellation and payment at Ryokan Fukuzen

How much does a stay cost?

Per person per night, tax included, the plan guide starts at 4,900 yen room only (cash only) and 6,100 yen for the room-only business plan. With dinner and breakfast, prices start at 9,600 yen for a first-time trial plan, 9,800 yen for the most popular Joshu beef shabu-shabu plan and 12,900 yen for the standard year-round plan. The Ikaho set starts at 15,000 yen, the Fukuzen set at 18,400 yen, and the rooms with an open-air bath at 24,100 yen. A weekday day-use plan, booked by phone only, starts at 7,000 yen.

Shibukawa city charges a bathing tax of 150 yen per person per day, or 100 yen when the basic room rate is 6,000 yen or less; children under 12 are exempt. The inn’s site does not say whether its prices include it. See our onsen bathing tax guide.

What do children cost?

The FAQ gives a basic rule: elementary school children pay 70 percent of the adult rate, and children aged 3 and over who are not yet in school pay 50 percent. Some plans set their own rates, so check your plan. Baby beds need to be booked in advance.

What is the cancellation policy?

The official site does not state it, and the booking page shows plan details only once you pick a date. Read the rule on your plan before you confirm, or ask the inn; our hotel cancellation guide covers what to look for.

How do I pay?

Several plans are marked cash only. The official pages do not say whether cards are accepted on other plans, so call the inn if you plan to pay by card.

Getting to Ryokan Fukuzen in Ikaho Onsen

A plaque on a granite stone step reading step 100 of 365
A step marker on Ikaho Onsen’s stone steps; their entrance is about 10 minutes on foot from the inn. Photo: wellflat . (CC BY 2.0)

The highway bus runs from Busta Shinjuku and Tokyo Station (the Joshu Yumeguri and Tokyo Yumeguri lines) to the Ikaho Onsen stop, about a minute’s walk from the inn. By train, take the shinkansen to Takasaki, change to the JR Joetsu Line for Shibukawa Station, then take a local bus or taxi, about 15 minutes. The official pages do not mention a shuttle. The entrance to Ikaho’s stone steps is about 10 minutes on foot.

By car, the inn is about 9 km, or 15 minutes, from the Shibukawa-Ikaho exit of the Kan-Etsu Expressway. Parking is free for about 60 cars, open 24 hours with no booking needed, and you can park before check-in and after checkout; see our hotel parking fees guide. In winter the inn recommends snow tires or chains.

What foreign guests should know before staying at Ryokan Fukuzen

  • The official site is in Japanese only; we link the Japanese booking page. For questions, the inn invites you to call or to email ikahoonsen@fukuzen.com.
  • Check-in time varies by plan, and the official pages give different times; confirm yours before you travel.
  • Bring cash if you book a cash-only plan.
  • You can leave luggage before check-in, and there is no curfew at the front door.
  • Pets are not allowed.

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in at Ryokan Fukuzen?
It depends on the plan. The official pages give different times for different plans, so check the time on your plan’s booking page or ask the inn. Checkout is 10:00 on standard plans, and there is no curfew at the front door.
Can I use the bath at Ryokan Fukuzen with a tattoo?
The official pages do not mention tattoos. Ask the inn by phone or email before you book.
What is the cancellation policy at Ryokan Fukuzen?
The official site does not state it, and the booking page shows plan details only after you pick a date. Read the rule on your plan before you confirm, or ask the inn.
Do children stay free at Ryokan Fukuzen?
Not as a rule. The FAQ says elementary school children pay 70 percent of the adult rate and children aged 3 and over who are not yet in school pay 50 percent, but some plans set their own child rates.
How do I get to Ryokan Fukuzen?
Take the highway bus from Busta Shinjuku or Tokyo Station to the Ikaho Onsen stop, about a minute’s walk away. By train, go to Shibukawa Station and take a local bus or taxi, about 15 minutes. Parking is free.

Bottom line (2026): Ryokan Fukuzen is a Showa-style inn in Ikaho Onsen where dinner, centered on shabu-shabu, comes to your room or a private room, from 9,600 yen per person with two meals. The site is Japanese only, so confirm check-in time, the cancellation rule and payment with the inn, and book Kikyo or Aoi if you want an open-air bath of your own.

Sources

Every fact on this page is from Ryokan Fukuzen’s official pages: home (Japanese), rooms, cuisine, hot spring, FAQ, access and plan guide, the official booking page, and the Shibukawa city bathing tax page. All were read on October 20, 2026. Prices and rules change; check the official site before you book.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC