Atami Sekitei (2026): Stone Garden, Baths, Fees

Atami Sekitei Atami · Stone Garden, Baths, Fees
Guide·October 31, 2026·11 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Atami Sekitei is a ryokan in Atami Onsen, Shizuoka, built around a stone garden of about 3,000 tsubo, with detached sukiya-style rooms scattered through it. The inn says it has looked after Japanese hospitality for more than half a century. Before you book, three things matter: rates are per person with dinner and breakfast; the city’s bathing tax and accommodation tax are added on top; and the two private open-air baths cost 1,500 yen per 45-minute session.

Book direct on Atami Sekitei’s official booking page →
A direct link to the inn’s own site. Not an affiliate link; we earn nothing from it.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below is from Atami Sekitei’s official Japanese site, its published terms of accommodation and Atami City’s official tax pages, read on October 20, 2026. We have not stayed there. Deliberately not stated: the tattoo rule, the opening hours of the shared open-air baths, a latest arrival time, which credit cards are accepted, vegetarian or halal options and room capacity, none of which the official pages give.
TOC

Atami Sekitei at a glance

Atami town buildings on a hillside with the blue sea of Sagami Bay beyond, on a clear day
Atami town and Sagami Bay on a clear day. A general view of the town, not Atami Sekitei. Photo: Nesnad (CC BY 4.0)
ItemOfficial information
Address6-17 Wada-cho, Atami, Shizuoka
Rooms24 in total, including detached sukiya-style annexes; up to 110 guests
Check-in / out14:00 / 11:00
RatesFrom 30,800 yen per person, two meals, service and consumption tax included
Hot springThree of the inn’s own sources; indoor hot-spring bath in every room
Shared bathsMen’s and women’s open-air baths; two private open-air baths
Parking25 cars; staff park your car for you
Wi-FiRooms, lobby and meeting rooms
English siteNone (booking engine has an English option)

From the official site, read October 20, 2026.

The inn’s own story traces it to the Kikufuji Hotel in Hongo, Tokyo, a lodging loved by writers and artists. The garden uses stones and stone lanterns gathered from across Japan, including Iyo stones and Kurama stone, and the inn calls it “a universe of stone.” Staff greet guests with “okaerinasaimase,” welcome home.

Rooms and rates at Atami Sekitei

A stone lantern among green shrubs in a Japanese garden
A stone lantern in a Japanese garden elsewhere in Japan, not the garden at Atami Sekitei. Photo: Carlquist, Sherwin John, 1930-2021 (CC BY 4.0)

Each rate below is the official weekday starting price per person per night with dinner and breakfast, including service charge and consumption tax but not the bathing tax. Busy periods cost more.

Room typeLayout (from the official pages)BathFrom
Special roomTwo-floor maisonette, or a detached sukiya house with a bedroom and Western roomSemi-open-air or indoor hot-spring bath88,000 yen
Open-air annex SJapanese room plus bedroomFree-flowing open-air bath + indoor bath66,000 yen
VIP roomJapanese room of 15 mats plus bedroom, or a maisonetteIndoor hot-spring bath55,000 yen
Sukiya annexJapanese rooms of 10 and 6 matsIndoor hot-spring bath39,600 yen
Standard roomJapanese room in the lobby building (stairs, not detached)Indoor hot-spring bath30,800 yen

Official room pages, read October 20, 2026. For open-air annex A, see the official room page.

Which room has a view of the fireworks?

The official page for standard rooms says the terrace on the third floor looks out on Atami’s fireworks. The inn also says the sea is about a 10-minute walk away. Every room has a washlet toilet, TV, fridge and safe.

The baths at Atami Sekitei

What kind of hot spring is it?

The water is a calcium-sodium chloride spring from the inn’s three own sources. The men’s open-air bath is Furudanuki-no-yu, and the women’s, Goshinboku-no-yu, has a tub carved from jadeite. The official pages do not list their opening hours, so ask at check-in. Open-air annex rooms have their own free-flowing open-air bath.

How do the private open-air baths work?

There are two, Sagasawa and Imaihama. Each session is 45 minutes for 1,500 yen, for one group of up to six. Slots run from 14:30 to 18:15 before dinner, from 20:30 to 24:15 after dinner, and from 6:30 to 9:15 the next morning.

Can I bathe with a tattoo?

The official pages do not mention tattoos. Ask the inn before you book; the private baths and the bath in your room are used without other guests. Our tattoo and onsen guide explains what to ask.

Meals at Atami Sekitei

Where is dinner served?

Dinner is kaiseki of local seafood and mountain produce, served at the dining hall Uzu, which has 11 private rooms of different sizes. Extra dishes can be ordered, such as abalone or spiny lobster at 13,200 yen each and a simmered kinmedai at 7,920 yen, depending on the day’s catch.

What is breakfast like?

A Japanese breakfast of many small classics, such as rolled omelet, greens and dried fish, with rice porridge. The inn says it can prepare a Western breakfast on request.

Can the inn handle allergies or a special diet?

The inn asks guests with allergies to say so when booking. The official pages say nothing about vegetarian, halal or other religious diets, so ask first. Outside food and delivery are not allowed without permission.

Children, cancellation, payment and taxes at Atami Sekitei

What do children cost?

The terms apply child rates to elementary-school age and younger: 70 percent of the adult rate with adult meals and bedding, 11,000 yen with children’s meals and bedding, 3,300 yen for bedding only, and free for an infant with neither. Minors cannot stay alone without a guardian’s permission. Pets are not allowed, except guide dogs.

What is the cancellation policy?

The terms list 10 percent two days before, 20 percent the day before, and 100 percent on the day or for a no-show, as a share of the basic charge. A plan on the booking page may show its own rule; read it before you pay. Our hotel cancellation guide covers the basics.

How do I pay, and what taxes are added?

You pay at the front desk when you leave, in cash or by credit card, according to the terms; the accepted card brands are not listed. Atami City adds a bathing tax of 150 yen per person per day and an accommodation tax of 200 yen per person per night; children under 12 (and 12-year-olds in elementary school) are exempt from the first, and elementary-school children and younger from the second. See our onsen bathing tax guide.

What foreign guests should know before staying at Atami Sekitei

Bare plum trees and an orange wooden bridge in a hillside garden
Atami Baien plum garden in early March, a park in Atami. Not part of Atami Sekitei. Photo: Nesnad (CC BY 4.0)
  • The official website is in Japanese only; the booking engine offers English.
  • The inn has some closed days (it was closed on October 19 and 20, 2026), so check your dates.
  • Book only through the official site. The inn has warned about fake messages on WhatsApp asking for card details, and says it never asks for payment through messaging apps.
  • The terms say foreign guests register a passport number, and the inn keeps a copy of the passport.
  • If you have not arrived by 18:00 and have not told the inn a later time, the booking may be treated as canceled.

Getting to Atami Sekitei

The modern station building and plaza of JR Atami Station under a cloudy sky
JR Atami Station, the main station in Atami. The inn’s access page gives directions from JR Kinomiya Station. Photo: Nesnad (CC BY 4.0)

The address is 6-17 Wada-cho, Atami. The inn says it is about 45 minutes from Tokyo, and its access page gives directions by car from JR Kinomiya Station and via the Atami Beach Line. It does not state the walking distance from a station or whether there is a shuttle, so ask when you book. If you drive, pull up at the front entrance and staff will park the car. Phone: +81-557-83-2841.

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in at Atami Sekitei?
Check-in is from 14:00 and checkout is by 11:00. The official pages do not give a latest arrival time, so tell the inn your arrival time when you book.
Can I use the baths at Atami Sekitei with a tattoo?
The official pages do not mention tattoos. Ask the inn before you book. Rooms in the open-air annex have their own open-air bath, and every room has an indoor hot-spring bath.
How much does Atami Sekitei cost?
Rates are per person per night with dinner and breakfast, including service charge and consumption tax. The official weekday rate list starts at 30,800 yen for a standard room and 88,000 yen for a special room. Atami’s bathing tax and accommodation tax are extra.
What is the cancellation policy at Atami Sekitei?
The inn’s terms list 10 percent of the basic charge two days before, 20 percent the day before, and 100 percent on the day or for a no-show. Check the rule shown for your plan on the booking page.
Does Atami Sekitei have an English website?
No. The official site is in Japanese. The booking engine has a language selector that includes English. The inn has warned in Japanese and English about fake booking messages, so book only through the official site.

Bottom line (2026): Atami Sekitei is a long-established Atami ryokan of detached rooms around a stone garden, with an in-room hot-spring bath everywhere and two bookable private open-air baths. Budget for the per-person rate plus Atami’s two taxes, and book only on the official site.

Sources

Every fact on this page is from Atami Sekitei’s official pages: home, rooms, hot spring, dining, facilities, access, notice on fake messages and terms of accommodation (PDF), all in Japanese, and from Atami City’s bathing tax and accommodation tax pages. All were read on October 20, 2026. Prices and rules change; check the official site before you book.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC