Hotel Extra Bed Fees in Japan (2026): 21 Hotels Compared

Guide·October 4, 2026·21 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

How much does an extra bed cost at a hotel in Japan, and is the crib free? Each hotel answers on its own FAQ, family page or room page, and the answers do not line up. So we read the official pages of every hotel we could and put the ones that publish a fixed extra-bed fee in one table: 21 hotels.

The short version: the fixed fees run from ¥3,000 to ¥16,500 a night, and the median of these 21 hotels is ¥5,000. Just as many hotels publish no fee: 13 charge a child who needs a bed as a guest, and 9 say an extra bed exists but give no price. Cribs are free at 43 of 51 hotels that say whether cribs are free.

If your child will share your bed rather than use an extra one, the free age is in our kids stay free table.

Compare Japan hotel prices →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every row was read on the hotel’s own official FAQ, children’s page, room page, price page or terms on September 30, 2026, not copied from our earlier articles or from booking sites, and only visible text counted. Fees are for one extra bed, one night. Deliberately not stated: a general “going rate” for extra beds in Japan; room rates, plan prices and the amount of accommodation tax; “tax included” where a page is silent; a crib counted as free where the page does not say free; which of Hotel Okura Kobe’s two statements applies to a child on an extra bed; and hotels we could not read or that say nothing on an official page, such as APA Hotel (the site blocked us), Toyoko Inn and Hotel Monterey (FAQ answers only inside a chat widget), Asakusa View Hotel and Maihama View Hotel (answers not in the page text), Sotetsu Fresa Inn, Mitsui Garden, Daiwa Roynet, Route Inn and Super Hotel. Prices we found only on booking sites or in search snippets are left out.
TOC

Hotel extra bed fees in Japan: the table

A large western-style twin room with two beds, a sofa and a long window
The Universal Twin Room at Nishimuraya in Kinosaki Onsen, August 2011. This hotel is not in the table below. Photo: Nishimuraya Kinosaki Onsen (CC BY 2.0)

Sorted by the fee for one extra bed, cheapest first. “Not stated” means the official page does not say. ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita gives two prices on two pages; we sort and count it at ¥3,630. Every row’s official page is listed under Sources.

HotelExtra bedWhich roomsCribTax, service and notes
¥3,000 to ¥3,999 (7)
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Toyama
Toyama
¥3,000 per bedRegular-floor Deluxe Twin onlyFreeTax & service incl.
Hotel Nikko Tachikawa Tokyo
Tokyo (Tachikawa)
¥3,000 addedNot statedFree, under 1; Moderate Twin, Deluxe Twin and suites onlyBefore tax and service
Hotel Nikko Narita
Chiba (Narita)
¥3,300 per night (English FAQ only)Not in some rooms, by room sizeFree; not in Style Single, Family or Comfort roomsTax and service: not stated
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Akita
Akita
¥3,500 per bedPremium Twin and Suite rooms onlyFree, under 1Tax & service incl.
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo (Odori)
¥3,600 per bedNot available in some room types¥1,600 per night, ages 0–2; not in some roomsTax & service incl.
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita
Chiba (Narita)
¥3,630 per bed on its services page; ¥4,000 on its FAQFor 3: Superior Twin (29 m²) and up on the services page, 2-single Standard (29 m²) and up on the FAQ. For 4: 40 m² roomsFree, up to about age 1Tax & service incl.. Its two pages disagree; ask which applies
ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto (Nijo Castle)
¥3,630 per bedNot statedFreeTax & service incl.
¥4,000 to ¥5,999 (4)
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Tokyo (Shinjuku)
¥4,000 per nightScenic Twin Rooms only; one per room; 90 × 190 cmFree, under 1 (up to 11 months)Tax and service: not stated
The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo
Tokyo (Shinagawa)
¥5,000 per night (standard, club and suite bookings for 3)Limited. In suites it goes in the living roomFree, 24 months and underTax & service incl.
Odysis Suites Osaka Airport Hotel
Osaka (Rinku)
¥5,000Not stated; limitedFreeTax & service incl.
Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport
Osaka (Rinku)
¥5,000Not stated; limitedFreeTax & service incl.
¥6,000 to ¥9,999 (4)
Hyatt Regency Tokyo Bay
Chiba (Shin-Urayasu)
¥6,000Not stated; limited, ask aheadFreeBefore tax and service
Hotel Okura Kobe
Kobe (Meriken Park)
¥6,325 per bedNot stated¥1,265 per night, 0–24 months; not in some roomsTax & service incl.. The same FAQ also says a child who needs a bed pays the adult room rate
Hotel New Otani Osaka
Osaka (Osaka Castle Park)
¥7,590 per nightNot available in some room typesUnder 1 only; price not statedTax & service incl.
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
Kyoto (Karasuma Takatsuji)
¥8,855 if you want only an extra bedNot statedFree; not for babies who can pull up to standTax & service incl.. Accommodation tax extra. A preschooler who needs a bed pays the adult rate
¥10,000 and up (6)
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Osaka (Namba)
¥10,000 per night, “unless you choose 3 adults or more” when bookingAll twin rooms. Not in five Swiss Advantage, Swiss Select and Swiss Executive King room types (fire regulations)Free, under 2 and up to 15 kg (book online)Tax and service: not stated. Swiss Executive rooms and above: the fee includes lounge access
Sheraton Miyako Hotel Tokyo
Tokyo (Shirokanedai)
¥10,890Not statedFreeTax and service: not stated. Same page: accommodation tax is not included in prices shown
Hotel Okura Kyoto
Kyoto (Kawaramachi Oike)
¥12,650, which the page calls the same as the adult rateNot statedFree, for babies aged 0 (limited)Tax & service incl.. No child rate for a child on an extra bed
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
Tokyo (Mejiro)
¥12,650 per bed, any ageNot stated; limited, call aheadFree, up to 12 months (limited)Tax & service incl.
InterContinental Yokohama Pier 8
Yokohama (Shinko)
¥15,000 per bed per nightTwin rooms onlyFree, 0–12 months (book ahead)Tax & service incl.. A child who uses a bed: the extra-bed fee or the plan’s adult rate, per its FAQ
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Tokyo (Marunouchi)
¥16,500 per bed. Club rooms: ¥44,000Not available in some room typesFree, up to 24 months (limited)Tax & service incl.. 15% service included; accommodation tax extra

Counts: 7 / 4 / 4 / 6 in the four bands from ¥3,000 to ¥10,000 and up. Palace Hotel Tokyo’s ¥44,000 Club-room fee is not in the counts.

Pricing your trip? Our Japan trip budget calculator adds up hotels, food and transport, and adds the departure tax and each city’s hotel tax for you.

What the extra bed fee table shows

A compact business hotel room with one double bed, a small sofa and a desk
A room at Akihabara Washington Hotel in Tokyo, June 2017. This hotel is not in the table below. Photo: othree (CC BY 2.0)

What is the median extra bed fee?

¥5,000 a night across these 21 hotels. Three charge exactly that: The Strings by InterContinental Tokyo, Odysis Suites Osaka Airport Hotel and Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport. Counting ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Narita at ¥4,000 instead of ¥3,630, the median is still ¥5,000. That is the middle of this table, not a rate for Japan: most hotels we checked do not publish a fixed fee.

What are the cheapest and most expensive extra beds?

The lowest fee is ¥3,000, at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Toyama (tax and service included, regular-floor Deluxe Twin only) and at Hotel Nikko Tachikawa Tokyo, where the ¥3,000 is added before tax and service. The highest is ¥16,500 at Palace Hotel Tokyo, and ¥44,000 in its Club rooms. Next come InterContinental Yokohama Pier 8 at ¥15,000 and two hotels at ¥12,650.

Do extra bed fees differ within the same hotel chain?

In some chains, barely. ANA Crowne Plaza charges ¥3,000 in Toyama, ¥3,500 in Akita and ¥3,630 in Kyoto, and Narita shows ¥3,630 or ¥4,000. In others, a lot. Nikko runs from ¥3,000 in Tachikawa and ¥3,300 in Narita to ¥8,855 at Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto. Okura charges ¥6,325 in Kobe and ¥12,650 in Kyoto. Look up the hotel, not the chain.

Does the extra bed price depend on the guest’s age?

At most hotels in the table, the page gives one price per bed. Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo says so outright: ¥12,650 “regardless of the guest’s age”. Hotel Okura Kyoto calls its ¥12,650 the same as the adult rate, with no child rate. Three hotels also state an adult-rate rule for children: Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, Hotel Okura Kobe and InterContinental Yokohama Pier 8.

Which rooms can take an extra bed?

Often only some. InterContinental Yokohama Pier 8 takes extra beds in twin rooms only, Hotel Century Southern Tower in Scenic Twin Rooms only (one per room), ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Akita in Premium Twin and Suite rooms, and ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Toyama in regular-floor Deluxe Twins. At The Strings, the extra bed in a suite goes in the living room.

Extra bed fees that depend on age or season

Three hotels publish a fixed amount, but with a condition that makes it a different kind of charge. We keep them out of the table and the median.

HotelFeeConditionCrib
Ryukyu Hotel & Resort Nashiro Beach
Okinawa (Itoman)
Children 12 and under on an extra bed: ¥10,000 (Deluxe Twin, Premier Twin) or ¥14,000 (Premier Club Twin, suites), tax incl., all yearA child’s price only; no adult extra-bed price on the page. Breakfast extraYes, roughly under 8 months, not for babies who can pull up to stand; price not stated
Ki Niseko
Hokkaido (Niseko)
Per extra guest beyond standard occupancy: winter ¥10,000 a night; summer ¥2,800 (ages 7–15) or ¥3,800 (16+)A charge per extra guest, not per bed. Futon or rollaway; 1 Bedroom and larger only, not Hotel RoomsFree (1 Bedroom and larger)
Skye Niseko
Hokkaido (Niseko)
Per extra guest beyond standard occupancy: winter ¥10,000 a night; summer ¥2,800 (ages 7–15) or ¥3,800 (16+)A third guest in 1-Bedroom Suites only, on a Murphy bed or futonFree

Is a per-guest charge the same as an extra bed fee?

No. Ki Niseko and Skye Niseko charge for each guest beyond standard occupancy: ¥10,000 a night in winter, and in summer ¥2,800 for ages 7 to 15 or ¥3,800 for 16 and up. The extra guest sleeps on a futon, a rollaway or, at Skye Niseko, a Murphy bed.

What does Ryukyu Hotel charge for a child’s extra bed?

For children 12 and under on an extra bed, ¥10,000 in Deluxe Twin and Premier Twin rooms and ¥14,000 in Premier Club Twin rooms and suites, tax included, all year. Breakfast is extra. The page gives no adult extra-bed price.

When a hotel gives no extra bed fee

A Japanese-style tatami room with a low table and futon bedding stacked in an open closet
A Japanese-style hotel room in Fukushima Prefecture, February 2009, with futon bedding stacked in the closet. It is shown only as an example of a tatami room.

Which hotels charge a child who needs a bed as a guest?

13 hotels publish a rule instead of a price. At twelve of them, a child who uses a bed of their own pays as an adult, or the page tells you to add an adult to the booking. Kamakura Prince Hotel charges the stay plan’s child rate instead.

  • Hotel Universal Port: Preschoolers (0–6) with a bed: the same rate as adults
  • Hotel Granvia Kyoto: Free for 6 and under in your bed or a crib; a child who requires a bed is charged as an adult
  • Miyako Hotel Kyoto Hachijo: A child using a bed pays the same as one adult, whatever the age
  • Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo: Elementary age and up pay the adult rate; bed-sharing counts only without a bed of their own
  • Imperial Hotel, Tokyo: A preschooler alone in a bed pays the adult rate. Extra beds are limited; no price given
  • Hilton Tokyo Bay: 6 and up pay the same as adults; for a separate bed, book the child as an adult
  • Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk: For an extra bed, add an adult to the booking; a bed used alone is charged at the adult rate
  • DoubleTree by Hilton Kyoto Station: For an extra bed, add an adult; a child using a separate bed is booked as an adult
  • Hilton Nagoya: Extra beds cost extra; a child using a bed pays the same as an adult. Twin rooms for 3 get one 100 × 190 cm extra bed
  • Sapporo Prince Hotel: Bed-sharing free through 6th grade, but children 4 and up using a bed pay the adult rate
  • Kamakura Prince Hotel: A child alone in a bed pays the stay plan’s child rate (not the adult rate)
  • Hotel New Otani Makuhari: Children not sharing a bed pay the same as adults
  • Dormy Inn (all hotels): A child who needs their own futon or bed pays the same as an adult

Which hotels have extra beds but publish no price?

9. Ask the hotel for the amount before you book.

  • Hotel New Otani Tokyo: An extra charge applies; ask. Not in some room types, and none in Executive House Zen
  • InterContinental Tokyo Bay: Paid extra bed for 3 guests; one per room
  • InterContinental Osaka: “For an additional charge”, in twin or double rooms
  • The Okura Tokyo: In some Prestige and Heritage rooms; limited, ask ahead
  • Hilton Tokyo: An extra bed costs extra
  • Hilton Narita: An extra bed costs extra
  • RIHGA Royal Gran Okinawa: Ask the hotel for room types and the extra charge
  • Tokyu Stay (some hotels): Twin plus extra bed at 16 listed hotels; ask each hotel
  • Royal Park Hotel (Nihonbashi): An extra bed for 3 guests or more

Which hotels cannot add an extra bed?

4 pages say no, for the whole hotel or for named rooms.

  • Hotel Gracery Shinjuku: No extra beds; book another room if you need a bed
  • Park Hotel Tokyo: Deluxe Twin and Deluxe King: extra bed not available
  • Hotel New Otani Tokyo: Executive House Zen: no extra beds
  • Swissotel Nankai Osaka: Five room types, for fire regulations

Crib fees at Japanese hotels: free, paid or none

How many hotels lend cribs free?

43 of 51 hotels that say whether cribs are free say it is free, from Palace Hotel Tokyo, Imperial Hotel and The Okura Tokyo to Hotel Nikko Tsukuba and MIMARU. Where a page lists a crib without saying free or paid, as at Hotel New Otani Osaka, Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo and Halekulani Okinawa, we have not counted it as free.

Which hotels charge for a crib?

6, from ¥500 to ¥3,300 a night:

HotelCrib feeWhat the page saysAge
Hotel Takayama Green Hotel¥3,300¥3,300 per night; booking requiredunder 1
Sapporo Grand Hotel¥1,600¥1,600 per night, tax and service incl.ages 0–2
Hotel Okura Kobe¥1,265¥1,265 per night; not in some rooms0–24 months
Comfort Inn Tokyo Roppongi¥1,100¥1,100 per nightNot stated
Hotel Resol Trinity Osaka¥1,000¥1,000 per night, tax incl.not for babies who can pull up to stand
Hotel Abest Sapporo¥500¥500 per night, tax incl.ages 0–2

Hotel Takayama Green Hotel charges the most, and Sapporo Grand Hotel charges ¥1,600 for a crib and ¥3,600 for an extra bed.

Which hotels have no cribs?

2. Dormy Inn says it has no cribs, though some hotels in the chain have bed guards; ask the hotel. Hotel Cordia Osaka says it has none.

Up to what age can a baby use a hotel crib?

The limits vary widely. Around 24 months: Palace Hotel Tokyo, The Strings, Shinagawa Prince Hotel, Hilton Nagoya (about 24 months) and MIMARU (under 2), and Swissotel Nankai Osaka (under 2 and up to 15 kg). Under 18 months at Hotel New Otani Tokyo. Under 1 is the most common single limit, at The Okura Tokyo, Hotel Okura Tokyo Bay, Hotel Century Southern Tower, Park Hotel Tokyo and Hotel East 21 Tokyo among others. Imperial Hotel says under 10 months, and Miyako Hotel Kyoto Hachijo and Nagoya Kanko Hotel stop at 6 months.

Do some hotels refuse cribs for babies who can stand?

Yes. Shinagawa Prince Hotel, Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto, Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa and Hotel Resol Trinity Osaka do not give cribs to babies who can pull up to stand. Some rooms cannot take a crib: Hotel Nikko Narita rules out Style Single, Family and Comfort rooms, and Hotel Metropolitan Marunouchi places cribs in twin and king rooms only.

How to use the extra bed fee table when you book

Two beds side by side in a bright western-style twin room
Another view of the Universal Twin Room at Nishimuraya in Kinosaki Onsen, August 2011. This hotel is not in the table below. Photo: Nishimuraya Kinosaki Onsen (CC BY 2.0)

Should I book an extra bed or a bigger room?

Compare the two for your dates. Several hotels limit extra beds to one per room or to twin rooms, and Hotel Gracery Shinjuku asks you to book another room if you need a bed. For rooms that sleep a family without an extra bed, see our family hotels in Tokyo. We have not compared room rates.

What should I check before I book an extra bed?

Whether your room type can take one, whether the fee is before tax, and how many the hotel has; several say extra beds and cribs are limited and must be requested when you book. Late checkout has its own fee; see our late checkout table.

Frequently asked questions

How much is an extra bed at a hotel in Japan?
Among the 21 hotels in our table that publish a fixed fee on their official pages, from ¥3,000 to ¥16,500 a night, with a median of ¥5,000. That is the middle of these 21 hotels, not a national rate, and many hotels publish no fixed fee at all.
Which hotel in the table charges the least and the most for an extra bed?
The lowest is ¥3,000, at ANA Crowne Plaza Hotel Toyama and at Hotel Nikko Tachikawa Tokyo, where the ¥3,000 is before tax and service. The highest is Palace Hotel Tokyo at ¥16,500, or ¥44,000 in its Club rooms.
Does a child pay for an extra bed in Japan?
Often, once the child needs a bed of their own. 13 hotels we checked charge such a child as a guest, most of them at the adult rate. Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo charges ¥12,650 for an extra bed regardless of the guest’s age.
Are cribs free at Japanese hotels?
At 43 of the 51 hotels whose pages say whether cribs are free, yes. 6 charge, from ¥500 to ¥3,300 a night, and 2 have no cribs: Dormy Inn and Hotel Cordia Osaka.
Up to what age can a baby use a hotel crib in Japan?
It depends on the hotel. Palace Hotel Tokyo and The Strings allow up to 24 months, many others set under 1, Imperial Hotel, Tokyo says under 10 months, and Miyako Hotel Kyoto Hachijo and Nagoya Kanko Hotel stop at 6 months. Several refuse babies who can pull up to stand.
Is tax included in the extra bed fee?
At 15 of the 21 hotels the page says tax and service are included. Two quote the fee before tax and service: Hyatt Regency Tokyo Bay and Hotel Nikko Tachikawa Tokyo. 4 pages do not say either way.
Can any hotel room take an extra bed?
No. Many hotels limit extra beds to twin rooms or larger rooms, and some rooms cannot take one at all. Hotel Gracery Shinjuku has no extra beds, and Swissotel Nankai Osaka rules them out in five room types.
Is an extra bed the same as a charge for an extra guest?
Not always. Ki Niseko and Skye Niseko charge per extra guest beyond standard occupancy, ¥10,000 a night in winter, and Swissotel Nankai Osaka’s ¥10,000 does not apply when you book for 3 adults or more.

Bottom line (2026): 21 Japanese hotels publish a fixed extra-bed fee on their own pages, from ¥3,000 to ¥16,500 a night at Palace Hotel Tokyo, with a median of ¥5,000 among them. Many others charge a child in a bed as a guest or give no price. Cribs are free at 43 of 51 hotels that say whether cribs are free; 6 charge ¥500 to ¥3,300 a night.

Sources

Each row is from the hotel’s own site, read on September 30, 2026. Extra-bed and crib fees change, so confirm with the hotel before you rely on them.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC