Hakone Suimeisou (2026): River-View Rooms, Onsen, Fees

Hakone Suimeisou Hakone-Yumoto · River-View Rooms
Guide·November 2, 2026·11 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Hakone Suimeisou is a hot-spring inn in Hakone-Yumoto, a few minutes on foot from Hakone-Yumoto Station. The inn says every room looks down on the Hayakawa River, and its rooftop open-air bath faces the woods of Soun-ji temple. Before you book, three things matter: only the rooms with an open-air bath have hot-spring water in the room; check-in runs 14:00 to 18:00 on dinner plans; and there is no early check-in or late checkout.

Book direct on Suimeisou’s official English booking page →
A direct link to the inn’s own site. Not an affiliate link; we earn nothing from it.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below is from Hakone Suimeisou’s official Japanese and English pages, its official booking page and the Hakone town website, read on October 20, 2026. We have not stayed there. Deliberately not stated: the number of rooms, the cancellation policy, what each plan price includes, the tattoo rule, the latest dinner time and the travel time from Shinjuku, because the official pages either do not give them or give more than one answer.
TOC

Hakone Suimeisou at a glance

A shallow river with stony banks under a road bridge, wooded hills and blue sky in Hakone-Yumoto
The Hayakawa River near Hakone-Yumoto Station on a clear day. This is not a view from Hakone Suimeisou. Photo: Raita Futo (CC BY 2.0)
ItemOfficial information
Address702 Yumoto, Hakone, Kanagawa
Nearest stationHakone-Yumoto (Hakone Tozan Railway / Odakyu), a few minutes on foot
Check-in / out14:00–18:00 (22:00 without dinner) / 11:00
Hot springAlkaline simple spring, pH 8.5, source 45.2°C
Private bathsTwo, 2,200 yen for 50 minutes
PricesFeatured plans from 25,300 yen
CardsVisa, Mastercard, JCB and others
Parking15 cars, free, no reservation
Phone from abroad+81-460-85-5381 (08:00–20:00 Japan time)

From the official site, booking page and Hakone town website, read October 20, 2026.

Which room should you choose at Suimeisou?

A red bridge over a river with small weirs, with town buildings and green hills behind
The Haya (Hayakawa) River and the red Ajisai Bridge in Hakone, in April. This is not Hakone Suimeisou or a view from its rooms. Photo: Ben Garrett from London, U.K. (CC BY 2.0)

The choice comes down to one question: do you want hot-spring water in your room? Room sizes are given in tatami mats, not square meters. The main building’s rooms are non-smoking.

Room typeUp toIn-room bath
Japanese room with open-air bath4 guestsOpen-air bath (hot spring), shower booth
Japanese-Western room with open-air bath5 guestsOpen-air bath (hot spring), shower booth
12 + 6 mat room8 guestsBath and toilet
12.5 mat room7 guestsBath and toilet
10 mat room5 guestsBath and toilet
8 mat room4 guestsBath and toilet

From the official rooms page, read October 20, 2026.

The FAQ says the open-air baths in the rooms are 100 percent hot-spring water, while the baths in the regular Japanese rooms are heated tap water. If you book a regular room, the shared baths are where you get the onsen. There is also a separate annex, POSADA Suimei, with single rooms for room-only stays; you check in at the main building’s front desk.

The onsen at Suimeisou

Houses and low buildings at the foot of steep wooded hills in Hakone
Buildings at the foot of wooded hills in Hakone. Hakone Suimeisou is not identified in this photo. Photo: Ian Hughes (CC BY 2.0)

Which baths are there, and when are they open?

The rooftop open-air bath, Tsukimi-no-yu, is for women from 8:30 to 21:30 and for men from 22:00 to 8:00. The two indoor baths, Tsuki-no-yu and Hoshi-no-yu, swap between men and women at set times: 14:00–18:30, 19:00–5:00 and 5:30–10:30. Overall, the baths are open from check-in to 10:30 the next morning. Bring your towel from your room; the large baths have lockers. The spring is alkaline, and the inn uses both free-flowing water and filtered recirculation.

Is there a private bath?

Yes, two: Shirasagi and Kawasemi. Each costs 2,200 yen for 50 minutes, from 15:00 to 22:00 and 7:00 to 9:00, and can be reserved in advance; ask the inn how.

Can I bathe with a tattoo?

The Japanese pages do not mention tattoos, so ask the inn before you book. Our tattoo and onsen guide explains what to ask. Day visitors cannot use the baths; they are for staying guests only.

Meals at Suimeisou

What are dinner and breakfast like?

Dinner is a seasonal kaiseki-style course. A sample summer menu runs from starters and sashimi to a hot-plate dish of Ashigara beef, rice and dessert. It starts between 18:00 and 19:00, in your room or a private dining room depending on your room and group size; ask the inn which applies to you. Breakfast starts between 7:30 and 8:30 and is Japanese, but you can ask in advance for a Western breakfast. If you stay several nights, the menu changes each night up to the third.

Can the inn handle allergies or a special diet?

The Japanese pages say the kitchen will do what it can if you tell it in advance, but some ingredients cannot be avoided, and special meals such as low-salt or finely chopped food are not offered. Vegan or religious menus are not mentioned. Contact the inn well before you arrive. You can order extra dishes, such as an Ashigara beef steak or a sea bream platter, 3 days ahead. Bringing your own food is not allowed.

Prices and rules at Suimeisou

How much does a stay cost?

On the official site, the featured plans start at 25,300 yen, 25,850 yen and, for an open-air-bath room, 31,350 yen; the plan details did not load, so check what each price includes on the booking page. Group plans with dinner and breakfast start at 18,700 yen per person on weekdays. A room-only single at POSADA is 8,650 yen on weekdays and 10,350 yen before holidays.

Hakone’s bathing tax is 150 yen per person per night, and the town website lists children under 12 as exempt. See our onsen bathing tax guide.

What do children cost?

The booking page has separate rates for older and younger elementary pupils and for infants. The inn lends one baby crib with bedding for 2,200 yen, children’s yukata are 330 yen, and staff will warm baby food. There is no stroller to borrow, and one wheelchair is available.

What is the cancellation policy?

The inn’s website does not state one, and the plan details did not load for us. Check the rule on your plan before paying; our hotel cancellation guide explains what to look for.

How do I pay?

The Japanese FAQ lists credit cards such as Visa, Mastercard and JCB. Gift certificates are not accepted. At POSADA, you pay in full at check-in. If you plan to use another card brand, ask the inn first.

Getting to Suimeisou in Hakone-Yumoto

A red train crossing a steel bridge high above a forested valley
A Hakone Tozan Railway train crossing the Hayakawa Bridge. The line runs from Odawara through Hakone-Yumoto.

From Hakone-Yumoto Station, on the Hakone Tozan Railway and Odakyu lines, it is a few minutes on foot. From Odawara Station, the Hakone Tozan Railway takes about 13 minutes. The inn does not run a pickup, because the station is so close. Drivers can park free (15 cars, no reservation), but POSADA guests cannot use this lot and need a nearby coin parking. For what to do once you arrive, see our things to do in Hakone guide.

What foreign guests should know before staying at Suimeisou

  • The English website is at suimeisou.com/english/, and the booking page has an English version.
  • Arrive by 18:00 on a dinner plan.
  • Only rooms with an open-air bath have hot-spring water in the room.
  • Pets are not allowed.
  • The front desk takes calls from 08:00 to 20:00 Japan time on +81-460-85-5381.

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in at Hakone Suimeisou?
Check-in is 14:00, with a last check-in of 18:00, or 22:00 if your plan has no dinner. Checkout is 11:00. The inn does not offer early check-in or late checkout, but it will hold your bags before and after.
Do the rooms at Hakone Suimeisou have a private onsen?
The Japanese-style and Japanese-Western rooms with an open-air bath have one, and the inn says it is 100 percent hot-spring water. In the other rooms, the in-room bath is heated tap water, so use the shared baths for the onsen.
Can I bathe with a tattoo at Hakone Suimeisou?
The Japanese pages do not mention tattoos. Ask the inn before you book, and say which baths you plan to use.
What is the cancellation policy at Hakone Suimeisou?
We could not find it. The inn’s website does not state one, and the plan details on the booking page did not load for us. Check the rule on your plan before you pay, or ask the inn.
Is there a shuttle from Hakone-Yumoto Station to Hakone Suimeisou?
No. The inn says the station is close enough to walk, so it does not run a pickup. Guests who drive can use its free parking for 15 cars without a reservation.

Bottom line (2026): Hakone Suimeisou is a river-view onsen inn steps from Hakone-Yumoto Station, with a rooftop open-air bath and two private baths. Book an open-air-bath room if you want hot-spring water in your room, and confirm the cancellation rule on the official booking page.

Sources

Every fact on this page is from Hakone Suimeisou’s official pages: home (Japanese), rooms, hot springs, meals, FAQ, access, POSADA annex, group plans and the English site, plus the official English booking page and the Hakone town bathing tax page. All were read on October 20, 2026. Prices and rules change; check the official site before you book.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC