Andon Ryokan is an 18-room Japanese-style inn in Minowa, in the old shitamachi part of Tokyo near Asakusa, and it calls itself Tokyo’s first designer ryokan. Before you book, four rules matter more than the design. No room has its own bathroom or toilet. Guests must be 13 or older. The private jacuzzi is handed out in check-in order. And breakfast has to be booked by the night before, from a menu marked cash only.
This page reads the ryokan’s own English and Japanese pages: rooms, meals, access, the neighborhood page, its history page and the Japanese FAQ. Where the two languages disagree, we show both and name the page. Where the pages are silent, we say so rather than guess.
Andon Ryokan at a glance

| Item | Official rule |
|---|---|
| Rooms | 18, all Japanese-style and non-smoking. |
| Bathroom | None in the room. Shared shower rooms and toilets on each floor. |
| Age | 13 and over only. No children aged 12 or under. |
| Check-in / out | 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm / by 10:00 am. |
| Private jacuzzi | Ask at check-in; slots go in check-in order. |
| Breakfast | 7:00 to 9:00 am, reserve by the night before; menu PDF says cash only. |
| Cancellation | Free until 3 days before (Japanese FAQ); then the first night is charged. |
| Nearest station | Minowa, Hibiya Line, 5-minute walk from Exit 3. |
From the official Andon Ryokan pages, read September 28, 2026.
What is Andon Ryokan?

When did it open, and who designed it?
The ryokan opened in June 2003. Its history page credits the architect Masayuki Irie and lists the building among the Architectural Institute of Japan’s Selected Architectural Designs 2005. The owner named on the English top page is Toshiko Ishii. The top page bills the place as “Tokyo’s First Designer Ryokan in a Traditional Shitamachi Neighborhood.” That is the ryokan’s own description; we have not checked the claim.
What has changed recently?
The history page lists a string of additions: the Arita porcelain jacuzzi in January 2009, a rooftop terrace in May 2012, the antique-themed cafe Fuku Andon and a new group room on the first floor in February 2020. In January 2026 the rooftop terrace was renovated and expanded, and in August 2026 all guest rooms were renovated. Photos and reviews from before August 2026 show the rooms as they were.
Is it a traditional ryokan with dinner and a big bath?
Not in the way many visitors picture a ryokan. The rooms are tatami rooms with futons, and there is a Japanese breakfast, but the meal pages we read show breakfast and an evening cafe with light meals, and no dinner course. They also describe shared showers and a private jacuzzi, and no large communal bath.
Can children stay at Andon Ryokan?
What is the age rule?
The English rooms page is direct: “Andon Ryokan welcomes guests aged 13 and over.” The Japanese FAQ says the same in its own words: children of elementary-school age and below, 0 to 12, cannot stay. This is the single rule most likely to change a family’s plans, so check it before anything else.
Why are children 12 and under not accepted?
The English rooms page gives the reason: “Due to the steep stairs inside Andon Ryokan and those leading to the rooftop terrace, we are unable to accommodate children aged 12 or under.” The Japanese FAQ says the stairs inside are an open, skeleton-style design chosen by the architect, and adds that the meal menu is made for adults.
Do teenagers pay the adult rate?
Yes. The Japanese FAQ says guests of junior-high age and up, 13 and over, stay at the adult rate. There is no child price to look for. If you are traveling with younger children, our guide to Japanese hotels where kids stay free covers places built for families.
Rooms at Andon Ryokan: sizes, futons and who fits
What is the Standard Room like?
The Standard Room is a 4.5-tatami Japanese room, non-smoking. It comes three ways: Single, with one futon 97 cm wide; Twin, with two futons each 84 cm wide; and Double, with one futon 140 cm wide. For two adults, the twin gives each person 84 cm, and the double gives the pair 140 cm to share.
What is the Comfort Room, and how many futons does it have?
The Comfort Room is the new room type the top page announces: 13 square meters, Japanese-style, non-smoking, for up to 4 guests. The two language versions disagree on the bedding. The English rooms page lists 3 futons, each 97 cm wide; the Japanese rooms page lists 4 sets at 97 cm. If you are four, ask the ryokan how the fourth guest sleeps.
What is the Group Room?
The Group Room is a 9-tatami Japanese room, non-smoking, with 4 futons each 84 cm wide, for up to 4 guests. Here the English and Japanese pages agree.
Can three people share a two-person room?
No. The Japanese FAQ says rooms for two cannot be booked for three or more, and points groups of three or four to the Comfort Room or the Group Room.
What is in the room?
The rooms page lists air conditioning, a Smart TV (the Group Room says TV), free Wi-Fi, tissues, a desk lamp and a full-length mirror. The top page says every room has a Showa Nishikawa “MuAtsu Sleep Spa” mattress. Yukata and a toothbrush are among the amenities.
| Room | Size | Bedding | Guests (per the pages) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard (single) | 4.5 tatami | 1 futon, 97 cm | Not stated |
| Standard (twin) | 4.5 tatami | 2 futons, 84 cm each | Two-person room (FAQ) |
| Standard (double) | 4.5 tatami | 1 futon, 140 cm | Two-person room (FAQ) |
| Comfort | 13 square meters | EN page: 3 futons; JP page: 4 sets (97 cm) | 4 |
| Group | 9 tatami | 4 futons, 84 cm each | 4 |
Official English and Japanese rooms pages, read September 28, 2026. The Japanese FAQ says two-person rooms take no more than two; the single room’s count is not stated.
Bathing at the ryokan: shared showers and a private jacuzzi
Is there a private bathroom in any room?
No. All three room types carry the same note: “No private bathroom or toilet. Please use the shared shower rooms and toilets on each floor.” This is the biggest difference from a Western hotel, and it applies to every room, including the new Comfort Room.
How do the shared showers work?
The rooms page says the shower rooms have TOTO shower bars, and that each shower room has two shower heads, allowing two guests to use it together. Each floor has separate restrooms and washbasins for men and women, decorated with tile art of Japanese folktales such as Momotaro, Urashima Taro and The Tale of Princess Kaguya.
How do I book the private jacuzzi?
The Kissho-zukushi Jacuzzi is for private use, and the English rooms page asks you to tell the staff at check-in if you want it. The same page says: “Reservations are accepted in check-in order. Advance reservations are not available.” The Japanese rooms page matches. The Japanese FAQ adds one exception: only guests who booked a private-jacuzzi plan can reserve a slot in advance; everyone else is served in check-in order. We did not read the plan page, so we cannot give its name or price. In practice, the earlier you check in, the more slots are left.
What are the jacuzzi time slots?
| Session | Slots | Length |
|---|---|---|
| Afternoon and evening | 15:15, 16:00, 16:45, 17:30, 18:15, 19:00, 19:45, 20:30, 21:15, 22:00, 22:45 (last slot ends 23:25) | 40 minutes |
| Morning | 6:40, 7:15, 7:50, 8:25, 9:00 (last slot ends 9:30) | 30 minutes |
Official rooms page, read September 28, 2026. The Japanese page notes the times changed from January 29, 2024, after the second- and third-floor shower rooms were rebuilt.
That is 11 evening slots and 5 morning slots a day for 18 rooms. The official pages we read do not say whether the jacuzzi costs extra.
What is supplied at the jacuzzi?
The list is shampoo, conditioner, body wash, toothbrush, shower cap, hair tie, razor, shaving gel, a skincare set and earplugs. Towels are not on it: the page asks you to bring the towels from your room. The top page says the Arita porcelain tiles were hand-painted one by one by the artist Mee Ishii.
Can I stay at Andon Ryokan with a tattoo?
We cannot tell you. The official pages we could read do not mention tattoos. They describe shared showers and a jacuzzi used privately, and no large communal bath, but the Japanese FAQ section on house rules did not load for us, so we cannot say no rule exists. Ask the ryokan before you book. For the wider picture, see our tattoos and onsen guide.
Breakfast and the evening cafe at Andon Ryokan
How do I get breakfast?
Breakfast is served at the Cafe & Bar Antique Teahouse Fukuandon on the ryokan’s 1st floor, from 7:00 to 9:00 am, and the meals page marks it advance reservation required. The rooms page says to reserve at the front desk by the night before. Choose a Japanese set with rice, miso soup, seasonal fish and vegetable side dishes, or a Western-style breakfast with bread and Japanese flavors. The cafe is for Andon Ryokan guests only.
How much is breakfast, and how do I pay?
Per the breakfast menu PDF dated April 2025, which is linked from the meals page, the sets listed include the Economy set at 1,100 yen, the rice ball set at 1,250 yen, and the grilled fish set and the vegan set at 1,650 yen, tax included. The PDF is older than the rest of the site, so check current prices at the desk. The point that matters more: both the Japanese and Western pages of that menu say cash only. Bring yen.
Can vegans and guests with allergies eat breakfast?
The menu has a vegan set, and the meals page says all dashi broth is made with kombu kelp or shiitake mushrooms. Guests with food allergies, including gluten allergies, are asked to contact the ryokan before their stay.
What is the evening cafe?
The same cafe opens as an evening cafe from 5:00 to 9:30 pm, with no reservation required. It serves alcoholic drinks, cafe drinks, snacks and light meals such as curry and yakisoba. We could not read the cafe menu PDF, so we do not know how it takes payment.
Can I bring my own food and drinks?
Yes, to a point. The rooms page says a shared refrigerator is provided and you are welcome to bring your own drinks and food, but outside food and drinks are not permitted in the first-floor restaurant.
Check-in, checkout and late arrival at Andon Ryokan
What are the check-in and checkout times?
Check-in is 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm and checkout is by 10:00 am, in both languages. The rooms page adds that times may vary depending on your plan, so read the plan you book.
What if I arrive after 10:00 pm?
The official pages we could read do not say. They give no curfew, no time the front door locks, and no rule for arrivals after the check-in window closes; the Japanese FAQ sections on check-in and house rules did not load for us. If your flight or train could put you past 10:00 pm, contact the ryokan before you travel and agree on a plan.
Can I check in early, check out late or leave my bags?
The rooms page says to contact the ryokan if you would like early check-in, late checkout or luggage storage. It does not say whether any of them is guaranteed or what they cost, so treat them as requests, not rights.
Canceling a booking at Andon Ryokan
When is cancellation free?
The Japanese FAQ says that up to three days before your stay you can cancel or change for free. Within three days, a cancellation fee for the first night only applies. Its example: for a stay on the 10th, canceling is free until 23:59 on the 6th, and the fee starts at 0:00 on the 7th. The FAQ does not say whether the first-night fee is the full rate or a part of it.
What if I booked through another website?
The Japanese FAQ says that if you used a booking site other than the ryokan’s own website, the full amount for all nights is charged as the cancellation fee. Read that booking site’s terms as well, and weigh this before you book. Our guide to hotel cancellation in Japan explains how these fees work more widely.
What about groups?
Bookings of five rooms or more are taken by email only, not by phone or online. They can be canceled or changed free until 31 days before the stay; after that, the full cancellation fee applies. We did not find a cancellation policy in English, and the terms of stay did not open for us.
Shared facilities and house rules at the ryokan
Is there a laundry?
Yes. Coin-operated laundry is on the 5th floor: detergent 50 yen, washing machine 200 yen per cycle, dryer 100 yen per 15 minutes.
What can I borrow?
An iron, ironing board, shoe dryer, travel adapter, desk lamp and an extra comforter. Tea sets are available on each floor at any time.
(To see whether an adapter is all you need: our free Japan plug and voltage checker takes your plug shape and the input voltage printed on each device and tells you which work as they are, which need a plug adapter and which need a voltage converter.)
Can I smoke?
All rooms are non-smoking. The rooms page says a porch area was added to the first-floor Fuku Andon cafe in 2025, and smoking is permitted there.
Is the rooftop terrace worth climbing to?
The rooms page invites guests to enjoy views of the Minowa neighborhood from the rooftop terrace, which was renovated and expanded in January 2026. It also warns that the stairs are very steep and that the ryokan cannot accept responsibility for accidents or injuries. Take it slowly, and not with luggage.
Does the ryokan close for holidays?
In 2026 it closed for a summer holiday from August 17 to August 23, per a notice on its news page. We did not find a notice for other years, so for August dates check the news page first.
Getting to Andon Ryokan in Minowa

Where is it, and what is the nearest station?
The address is 2-34-10 Nihonzutsumi, Taito-ku, Tokyo. The access page gives a 5-minute walk from Exit 3 of Minowa Station on the Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line, and the top page says Ueno, Ginza and Roppongi are easily accessible by direct train. From the Tokyo Sakura Tram (Toden Arakawa Line), the access page says a 7-minute walk from Minowabashi; the neighborhood page says 8 minutes. JR Joban Line users can walk 15 minutes from the West Exit of Minami-senju Station.
How do I get there from Narita?
The access page gives: Keisei Skyliner to Ueno, 41 minutes, then the Hibiya Line to Minowa, 4 minutes, then a 5-minute walk.
How do I get there from Haneda?
Keikyu Line to Ningyocho, 30 minutes, then the Hibiya Line to Minowa, 11 minutes, then a 5-minute walk, per the access page.
What about from Nippori Station?
From the South Gate of Nippori, on the JR Yamanote Line, the access page gives about 15 minutes by taxi, or Toei Bus No. 22 or 47 to the Minowa 2-chome stop. The same page gives two different walking times from that stop, so we leave the number out; Minowa Station is the simpler route.
Is there parking?
The access page says a coin-operated parking lot with two spaces is next to the building. We have not listed its rates, which can change; check them on the access page.
What is nearby?
The neighborhood page lists Yudonburi Sakae-yu, a bathhouse, at a 5-minute walk, Dote no Iseya at 8 minutes, and Nakamise Shopping Street in Asakusa at 20 minutes on foot. We did not check Sakae-yu’s own rules, including on tattoos. For how Minowa compares with other bases, see our where to stay in Tokyo guide.
Who Andon Ryokan is for

Adults and teens 13 and over who want a tatami room and futons, a shitamachi neighborhood near Asakusa and a 5-minute walk to the Hibiya Line, and who are comfortable with shared showers and toilets. It suits travelers who will check in early enough to get a jacuzzi slot and who will carry cash for breakfast. It is not for families with children 12 or under, not for anyone who needs a private bathroom, and not for guests who find very steep stairs hard. If a private bathroom matters, our Tokyo budget hotels guide covers other options.
Frequently asked questions
Can children stay at Andon Ryokan?
Do the rooms at Andon Ryokan have a private bathroom?
How do I book the private jacuzzi at Andon Ryokan?
Can I stay at Andon Ryokan with a tattoo?
What are the check-in and checkout times?
What is the cancellation policy at Andon Ryokan?
Is breakfast included, and can I pay by card?
How do I get to Andon Ryokan from the airport?
Bottom line (2026): Andon Ryokan is an 18-room Japanese-style inn in Minowa, a 5-minute walk from Minowa Station. It takes guests 13 and over only, and no room has its own bathroom or toilet. The private jacuzzi goes in check-in order; check-in is 3:00 pm to 10:00 pm. Breakfast must be reserved by the night before, and its menu says cash only.
Sources
Every rule and figure on this page is from Andon Ryokan’s own site: the English top page, the English rooms page and Japanese rooms page, the meals page and its breakfast menu PDF (dated April 2025), the access page, the neighborhood page, the history and architecture page, the Japanese FAQ and the summer holiday notice, all read on September 28, 2026. The Japanese top page confirms the opening date. Where the English and Japanese pages differ, we show both. Confirm on the official site before you book.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


