La Vista Hakodate Bay (2026): Onsen, Breakfast, Checkout

Guide·October 1, 2026·24 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

La Vista Hakodate Bay is a 335-room hotel in Hakodate’s Bay Area, about a minute’s walk from the Kanemori Red Brick Warehouses. It is run under the resort brand of the company behind Dormy Inn, and its draws are a rooftop onsen and a seafood breakfast. Before you book, know five rules: check-in is 15:00 and checkout is 11:00; late checkout costs 2,200 yen per room per hour, up to 14:00; guests with tattoos are asked not to use the large baths; breakfast is for hotel guests only; and the free shuttle runs only to JR Hakodate Station, after checkout.

This page reads the hotel’s own Japanese pages: the top page, FAQ, rooms, facilities, hot spring, breakfast, dinner, access and news pages. Where two of those pages disagree, we show which page says what.

Compare stays around Hakodate on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below is from La Vista Hakodate Bay’s official pages, read on September 29, 2026. We have not stayed there. The hotel has no English-language page of its own: the ENGLISH switch on the site is an automatic machine translation, so we worked from the Japanese text. Deliberately not stated: room rates and the breakfast price, which sit in a booking engine we could not read; any early check-in fee; whether children aged 0 to 2 or of elementary school age can share a bed, and at what cost; extra beds; whether cover stickers get you into the baths; an age limit for the baths; e-money or QR payment; vehicle size limits for parking; whether staff speak English; and the amount of Hakodate’s accommodation tax. None of these is stated on the official pages we read, so ask the hotel. We also left out a “No. 1 in Hokkaido” breakfast claim on the top page, because it names no ranking and its years do not add up.
TOC

La Vista Hakodate Bay at a glance

ItemOfficial rule
Address12-6 Toyokawa-cho, Hakodate, Hokkaido 040-0065
Rooms335
Check-in / out15:00 / 11:00 (last check-in 25:00, i.e. 1:00 a.m.)
Late checkout2,200 yen per room per hour, until 14:00
Cancellation10% from 7 days before, up to 100% for a no-show
Rooftop onsen15:00 to 10:00 the next morning
TattoosGuests are asked not to use the large baths
Breakfast6:30 to 10:00 (last order 9:30), guests only
Late-night noodlesFree, 22:00 to 23:30
Children 3 to preschool2,200 yen facility fee, even without bed or meals
Parking1,000 yen per car per night, 170 spaces, no reservations
JR Hakodate StationAbout 15 minutes on foot

From La Vista Hakodate Bay’s official pages, read September 29, 2026.

Working out the hotel tax for your dates? Our accommodation tax calculator gives it for Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Hokkaido and 30+ other places from your room price, guests and dates, with the 2026–2027 changes.

What is La Vista Hakodate Bay, and which room should I book?

Red brick warehouses lit up at night along a cobbled street
The Kanemori Red Brick Warehouses at night in July 2012. The hotel’s access page puts them about a minute’s walk away; the photo record does not identify the hotel in this picture. Photo: 663highland (CC BY 2.5)

Which rooms have a bathtub?

Only the larger rooms. The rooms page lists the Single (15 square meters, 1 to 2 guests, one 140 cm by 195 cm bed) with a shower booth, and the Double and Twin rooms (25 square meters, 2 guests) are shower-booth rooms too. The rooms with a bathtub are the Deluxe Twin (34 square meters, 3 guests, with bath, toilet and washbasin set apart), the Japanese-Western room (34 square meters, 4 guests) and the one special room (43 square meters, 2 guests, unit bath). With a rooftop onsen upstairs, a shower-only room may not matter to you, but check before booking if it does.

RoomSizeGuestsNumber
Single15 m²1 to 259
Double25 m²216
Standard Twin25 m²2143
Deluxe Twin34 m²376
Japanese-Western34 m²440
Special room43 m²21

Official rooms and facilities pages, read September 29, 2026. The six types add up to 335 rooms.

How big are the beds?

The Double has one 210 cm by 205 cm low Japanese-style bed, and the Twin has two beds of 105 cm by 205 cm. The Single’s bed is 140 cm by 195 cm, and the rooms page gives the Single a capacity of one or two guests.

What is in the room?

The facilities page lists a kettle, tea set, fridge, hair dryer, a humidifier, individual air conditioning, a toilet with a bidet function and pajamas. The FAQ adds that every room has an air purifier with a humidifying function. Wi-Fi is free, and there is also a wired LAN connection; the hotel does not lend laptops. Each room has a lockable shelf, and the front desk will also hold valuables.

Can I walk around in the hotel robe?

Yes. The FAQ says you can use every facility in the in-house wear provided in the room, and the breakfast venue says the same. There is no coin laundry and no cleaning service, but there are drink vending machines.

Check-in, late checkout and canceling at La Vista Hakodate Bay

What time is check-in, and is there a curfew?

Check-in is from 15:00 and checkout is by 11:00. The facilities page gives the last check-in as 25:00, which is 1:00 a.m. The FAQ says the times can differ by plan, and asks you to call the hotel if you will arrive well after the check-in time you gave when booking. There is no curfew; the front desk is staffed 24 hours. For guests arriving late, the top page promotes a limited-time “short stay” plan with breakfast for check-in after 17:00; we could not read its price.

How much does late checkout cost?

The FAQ says you can extend your stay until 14:00, at 2,200 yen per hour for the room. Staying past 14:00 is charged as a full night. The fee is set per room, not per person. Dormy Inn, run by the same group, sets its own rules, which are covered in our Dormy Inn guide; do not assume they carry over here. Our late checkout comparison sets this against other hotels in Japan.

Can I check in early?

The official pages do not give an early check-in fee or rule. Not stated on the official pages we read; ask the hotel. You can leave bags at the front desk before check-in, as covered below.

What does it cost to cancel?

When you cancelFee
7 to 5 days before10% of the room charge
4 to 3 days before20%
2 to 1 days before50%
Same day, with notice80%
Same day, no notice100%

Official FAQ, read September 29, 2026.

The FAQ says fees can differ by plan, and that groups of 15 or more have different fees. The facilities page lists the same steps up to 80 percent on the day, but leaves out the no-show line; we follow the FAQ, which gives 100 percent for a no-show. The FAQ also says you cannot use points or coupons to pay a cancellation fee, and expired points and coupons lapse. Our hotel cancellation comparison shows how other hotels set their cutoffs.

What if I booked a package with flights or a rail ticket?

Then a different company handles it. The top page says packages that include air tickets, JR tickets or a rental car are arranged by Time Design Co., Ltd., that changes and cancellations go to that company, and that its terms are different.

Is a WhatsApp message about my booking real?

Be careful. A May 22, 2026 notice warns that suspicious messages have been sent through apps such as WhatsApp, posing as Booking.com reservation checks and asking for credit card details.

How far ahead can I book?

The FAQ says bookings open, as a rule, about a year ahead, on the 1st of the month; confirm the exact opening date for your dates with the hotel. The top page also carries a best-rate statement: under identical conditions, booking direct is cheaper than other public booking sites, though the hotel says the price may sometimes be the same.

The rooftop onsen at La Vista Hakodate Bay: hours and tattoo rule

Red brick warehouses along a harbor street with a green mountain behind
The Kanemori Red Brick Warehouses with Mount Hakodate behind, in July 2012, seen from street level. The hotel says its after-bath lounge looks toward both; this photo was not taken from the hotel. Photo: 663highland (CC BY 2.5)

When is the onsen open, and what is in it?

The large bath is open from 15:00 to 10:00 the next morning. The open-air baths are on the 13th-floor rooftop, with four kinds of tub: rock, ceramic, barrel and hinoki cypress, the last a one-person tub. The page lists one open-air bath and one indoor bath each for men and women, and saunas: one for men, two for women. The men’s and women’s sides do not swap. The water is listed as Hakodate Onsen, heated, a strong sodium chloride spring.

Can I use the onsen with a tattoo?

No. The FAQ says, in Japanese, that the hotel asks guests with tattoos to refrain from using the large bath; the phrase it uses, go-enryo, is the polite Japanese way of asking you not to. The official pages say nothing about cover stickers or patches, so do not assume one will get you in. There is no private bath to reserve instead. Our tattoos and onsen guide covers how other places handle it.

When is the sauna closed?

Both the men’s and women’s sides have a dry sauna and a cold plunge bath. The FAQ says the saunas are closed from 1:00 to 5:00 a.m. for safety, even though the bath itself stays open.

Do I need to bring a towel?

From your room, yes. The FAQ says there are no towels at the bath; take the bath basket from your room with you. The women’s bath has a powder room with a free vinegar drink, Dyson hair dryers, free body and hair care products and a shampoo bar; the page notes these are for the women’s bath only.

Can non-guests use the bath, and is there a free treat?

The FAQ says the hotel does not offer day-use bathing. After your bath, the Suzumidokoro Sora lounge looks out toward Mount Hakodate and the red brick warehouses, and seasonal ice candy bars are free to take. The official pages give no age limit for the bath.

Breakfast and free late-night noodles at La Vista Hakodate Bay

Live king crabs in a tank of water at a market stall
Crabs in a tank at the Hakodate Morning Market in September 2003. The hotel’s access page puts the market about 10 minutes’ walk away; this is not the hotel’s breakfast. Photo: lienyuan lee (CC BY 3.0)

When and where is breakfast?

At Kita no Banya on the 2nd floor, from 6:30 to 10:00, last order 9:30. The page adds that hours can change by season. The menu it describes includes a seafood bowl you can pile with Hokkaido-marinated salmon roe and other toppings as much as you like, hot dishes seared in front of you, and bread baked at the hotel in the morning. You can come down in the in-house wear.

How much is breakfast, and can non-guests eat it?

The breakfast price for adults and elementary school children is not stated on the official pages we read; it sits in plan pages we could not read, so ask the hotel or check your plan. The FAQ says preschool children eat free, and that breakfast is for hotel guests only; you cannot come just for breakfast. The hotel restaurants do not serve lunch.

Can the kitchen handle food allergies?

The FAQ says the hotel offers a low-allergen menu that removes 28 specified ingredients, if you contact it by two days before your stay. The buffet itself is not low-allergen; it labels 8 specified ingredients.

Are the late-night noodles free?

Yes. A notice dated February 13, 2024, announced yonaki soba, late-night noodles, as a free service from February 20 that year. They are served at Kita no Banya on the 2nd floor from 22:00 to 23:30, until they run out; the dinner page says the hours can change by date. The hotel’s pages do not describe the bowl itself; our Dormy Inn guide covers the version at that chain.

Dinner, the bar and services at La Vista Hakodate Bay

Where can I eat dinner?

Restaurant Norte on the 1st floor serves dinner from 17:30 to 21:30, last order 20:30. Next door, in the Hakodate Bay Bishoku Club, the dinner page lists a grilled-lamb restaurant open for lunch from 11:30 to 15:00 and dinner from 17:00 to 22:00, with a 60-minute all-you-can-eat at 4,600 yen for adults and 2,300 yen for children, tax included. A soup curry restaurant there serves lunch Monday to Thursday, 11:30 to 15:00 (last order 14:30), with a chicken leg curry at 1,300 yen and a kids’ curry at 600 yen.

Is there a bar, and can children go in?

A bar on the 12th floor is open 20:00 to 24:00, last order 23:30, but the facilities page says it opens on an irregular schedule, so ask first. Children below junior high school age are asked not to enter.

Is there a convenience store or massage?

A FamilyMart is open 24 hours next to the front desk on the 1st floor. The relaxation salon runs from 15:00 to 24:00, last booking 23:30, with a 30-minute back treatment at 4,950 yen and 60 minutes of full body and head at 8,250 yen, tax included; the aroma body treatment is for women only. The hotel’s gallery opens from 7:00 to 21:00.

Kids and families at La Vista Hakodate Bay

Do young children pay?

From age 3, yes. The facilities page says children from age 3 to preschool age are charged a 2,200-yen facility fee, tax included, even if they need no bedding or meals. Children of that age eat breakfast free. What children aged 0 to 2 pay, and whether elementary school children can share a bed, is not stated on the official pages we read; ask the hotel. The official pages also do not mention extra beds. See how other hotels set their age cutoffs in our kids stay free guide.

Can I get a crib or stroller?

The FAQ says baby cribs are limited in number and must be reserved. It adds that some rooms have a double bed or beds pushed together. The hotel lends strollers, and has children’s in-house wear and slippers.

Getting to La Vista Hakodate Bay, and parking

The front of JR Hakodate Station with a red sculpture in the plaza
JR Hakodate Station in May 2016. The hotel’s access page gives about 15 minutes on foot from the station; the hotel is not in this photo. Photo: Alexander Klink (CC BY 4.0)

How do I get there from JR Hakodate Station?

The access page gives three ways. On foot, about 15 minutes. By tram, about 6 minutes to the Uoichiba-dori stop, then about a 5-minute walk. Or by the Motomachi and Bay Area loop bus, about 7 minutes to the La Vista Hakodate Bay-mae stop, then about a 7-minute walk.

How do I get there from Hakodate Airport?

The access page gives about 35 minutes by the airport shuttle bus (Hakodate Teisan Bus) to the Bay Area-mae stop, then about a 1-minute walk, or about 20 minutes by taxi. By car, it is about 40 minutes from the Onuma Koen interchange via Route 5.

Is there a free shuttle?

Only after checkout, and only to the station. The FAQ says the hotel runs a free shared taxi (six seats) from the hotel to JR Hakodate Station, five runs a day between 8:30 and 12:00; reserve at the front desk. There is no pickup on arrival.

What is within walking distance?

PlaceFrom the hotel
Kanemori Red Brick WarehousesAbout 1 min walk
Hakodate MeijikanAbout 2 min walk
Hakodate Morning MarketAbout 10 min walk
Hachiman-zaka slopeAbout 13 min walk
Mount Hakodate RopewayAbout 15 min walk
Goryokaku ParkAbout 30 min by tram and on foot

Official access page, read September 29, 2026.

For the rest of the city, see our Hakodate guide.

How much is parking?

The access page lists 170 spaces at 1,000 yen per car per night, first come, first served, with unlimited in and out during your stay; if it is full, use a nearby car park. The FAQ says it is an outdoor lot next to the hotel, that a night runs from noon on arrival day to noon the next day, and that spaces cannot be reserved. The FAQ answer still shows the old 500-yen rate, but a note under it says the fee changed to 1,000 yen for stays from April 1, 2025, and a January 2025 notice says the same. The pages give no vehicle size limit.

Do I need winter tires?

The access page asks drivers to fit winter tires from around November to early April in most years.

Paying, taxes and house rules at La Vista Hakodate Bay

Which cards are accepted?

Two official pages give different lists. The FAQ names JCB, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, DC, NICOS Diners, UFJ and Saison. The facilities page names JCB, Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Diners. The facilities page has a heading for e-money but names no service, and the pages do not say when you pay.

What is the bathing tax?

The two pages differ, and we follow the newer notice. The facilities page still lists a bathing tax of 150 yen per person, junior high school age and up. A notice dated December 25, 2025, says that for stays from April 1, 2026, the bathing tax is 100 yen per adult, and that an accommodation tax also applies from that date. The accommodation tax is a Hakodate City rule; we do not state its amounts here, so check the hotel’s notice or the city.

Is La Vista Hakodate Bay non-smoking?

Mostly. The FAQ says floors 3 to 8 and 10 to 12 are non-smoking, and the 9th floor is a smoking floor for heated tobacco only. The facilities page lists a smoking area in the building.

Can I leave or send luggage?

Yes. The FAQ says the hotel will hold bags before check-in and after checkout. You can also send luggage ahead: write your stay date and the name of the guest who booked on the waybill. The hotel will not accept cash-on-delivery parcels, and it can ship bags out for you.

Can I bring a pet, and is the hotel accessible?

Only guide dogs and service dogs; no other animals are allowed. The hotel has no dedicated accessible room, but the FAQ offers the Japanese-Western room for guests who need step-free space, and the facilities page lists wheelchair rental (reserve ahead) and a multipurpose toilet. The FAQ also points to Takeda Clinic, with internal medicine, pediatrics and dentistry, about 10 minutes on foot.

Which points program applies?

A notice says the group introduced a new Dormy’s Points program on January 14, 2026, and stopped handling d POINT after January 13, 2026.

Is La Vista Hakodate Bay ANNEX the same hotel?

No. La Vista Hakodate Bay ANNEX, opened in February 2023 about four minutes’ walk away, is a separate hotel, and nothing on this page applies to it.

Who La Vista Hakodate Bay is for

The official rules point to a few kinds of guest. Onsen lovers without tattoos, with a rooftop bath open until 10:00 and free ice candy after. Sightseers who want the red brick warehouses a minute away. Drivers, with parking at 1,000 yen a night, though it cannot be reserved. It is a harder fit if you have tattoos, since the baths are the point, or if you want a bathtub in a smaller room, since the Single, Double and Twin have shower booths.

Frequently asked questions

What time are check-in and checkout at La Vista Hakodate Bay?
Check-in is from 15:00 and checkout is by 11:00. The facilities page gives the last check-in as 25:00, which means 1:00 a.m. The FAQ says times can differ by plan, and asks you to call the hotel if you will be well past the arrival time you gave. The front desk is staffed 24 hours and there is no curfew.
How much is late checkout at La Vista Hakodate Bay?
The FAQ says you can extend until 14:00 at 2,200 yen per hour per room, not per person. Past 14:00, the hotel charges a full night. The official pages do not give an early check-in fee.
Can I use the onsen at La Vista Hakodate Bay with a tattoo?
No. The FAQ says the hotel asks guests with tattoos to refrain from using the large baths. The official pages say nothing about cover stickers or patches, so do not count on one. There is no private bath to book instead.
Can I eat the breakfast at La Vista Hakodate Bay without staying?
No. The FAQ says breakfast is for hotel guests only. It is served on the 2nd floor from 6:30 to 10:00, last order 9:30, and preschool children eat free. The breakfast price is not stated on the official pages we read; ask the hotel or check your plan.
Is the late-night ramen free at La Vista Hakodate Bay?
Yes. A February 2024 notice calls the late-night noodles, yonaki soba, a free service. They are served on the 2nd floor from 22:00 to 23:30 until they run out, and the dinner page says the hours can change by date.
Do children stay free at La Vista Hakodate Bay?
Not all of them. The facilities page charges a 2,200-yen facility fee, tax included, for children from age 3 to preschool age, even without bedding or meals. The rules for ages 0 to 2 and for elementary school children sharing a bed are not stated on the official pages we read; ask the hotel.
Is there parking at La Vista Hakodate Bay?
Yes. The access page lists 170 spaces at 1,000 yen per car per night, first come, first served, with unlimited in and out. The FAQ says spaces cannot be reserved and that a night runs from noon on arrival day to noon the next day. From November to early April, the hotel asks drivers to fit winter tires.
How do I get from Hakodate Airport to La Vista Hakodate Bay?
The access page gives about 35 minutes by airport shuttle bus to the Bay Area-mae stop, then about a 1-minute walk, or about 20 minutes by taxi. The hotel’s free shuttle runs only one way, from the hotel to JR Hakodate Station after checkout.

Bottom line (2026): La Vista Hakodate Bay checks in from 15:00 and out by 11:00, with late checkout at 2,200 yen per room per hour until 14:00. The rooftop onsen runs 15:00 to 10:00, but guests with tattoos are asked not to use it. Breakfast is for hotel guests only, the late-night noodles are free, and parking is 1,000 yen a night.

Sources

Every rule and figure on this page is from La Vista Hakodate Bay’s official Japanese pages: the top page, the FAQ, the rooms page, the facilities page, the hot spring page, the breakfast page, the dinner page, the access page and the news page, all read on September 29, 2026. The old hotespa.net address now redirects to these pages. Where two pages differ, we name which page says what. Confirm on the official site before you book.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC