Shogoin Gotenso, Kyoto (2026): Temple Lodging, Baths, Prices

Shogoin Gotenso Kyoto · Temple Lodging, Baths
Guide·November 6, 2026·11 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Shogoin Gotenso is lodging inside the grounds of Shogoin Monzeki, a temple in a quiet residential part of Kyoto, north of Heian Jingu and south of Kyoto University. In 1788, after the Great Tenmei Fire, Emperor Kokaku used the temple as a temporary imperial palace, and a building linked to him still stands in the inn’s garden. Before you book, three things matter: it mainly hosts groups, so dates for individual guests are limited; it has four large baths and a free foot bath; and guests can join the temple’s morning prayer for free.

Book direct on Shogoin Gotenso’s official English booking page →
A direct link to the inn’s own site. Not an affiliate link; we earn nothing from it.
Honto check: Every rule and figure below is from Shogoin Gotenso’s official Japanese and English pages and its official booking page, plus Kyoto City’s tax page, read on October 20, 2026. We have not stayed there. The booking page showed no vacancies for our test date, so plan details could not be read. Deliberately not stated: general check-in and checkout times, room types, bath hours, the tattoo rule, child prices, the cancellation policy and payment methods, none of which the official pages give.
TOC

Shogoin Gotenso at a glance

A canal with an old boat on rails, green trees and blue sky in Awataguchi, Sakyo Ward, Kyoto
A canal in Awataguchi, Sakyo Ward, Kyoto, the same ward as Shogoin Gotenso. Not the inn. Photo: ESU (CC BY 3.0)
ItemOfficial information
Address15 Shogoin-nakamachi, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8324
BuildingsMain building Gotenso, annex Kojun, new building Kinrin Bettei
RoomsA range of sizes for different group sizes; garden views from every room
BathsFour large baths (for 30 to 40 people each); a hinoki bath for 1–2 in Kojun; free foot bath
PricesFrom 11,000 yen room only, from 15,500 yen with two meals (unit not stated)
ExperienceMorning prayer at the temple, free for guests
BookingOfficial booking page, Rakuten Travel, or phone
Phone+81-75-771-4151

From the official site and booking page, read October 20, 2026.

The temple dates from the Heian period and is the head temple of the Honzan Shugen school. Its grounds keep a shoin hall listed as an Important Cultural Property, a study said to have been built in one night for Emperor Kokaku, and a tea room. The new building’s name, Kinrin, means “brocade forest,” after the woods that covered the area until the Meiji era. You may see the inn’s name written as Shogo-in Goten-so or, on the booking page, Shougoin Gotensou; they are the same place.

When can individual guests stay at Shogoin Gotenso?

The roofed wooden gate of Shogoin Monzeki temple with a stone path and lanterns
A gate of Shogoin Monzeki temple in Kyoto. Shogoin Gotenso is inside the temple grounds.

This is the first thing to check. The inn hosts school trips, study tours and banquets, and in July 2026 it posted a yearly calendar of the dates that are easier for individual guests. It says June is full in both halves of the month and April is heavily booked. For October and November, it says weekends may have rooms and asks you to get in touch.

When we searched the booking page for one night in early December for two adults, it showed no vacancies. If your dates show nothing, phone the inn or use the English contact form; the inn notes that replies may take time.

Getting to Shogoin Gotenso from Kyoto Station

Seats and handrails inside a Kyoto city bus
Inside a Kyoto city bus. Not a specific route to the inn.

Which bus do I take?

From Kyoto Station, take a city bus to Kumano Jinja-mae, then walk 4 minutes; the inn puts the trip at about 35 minutes. Or take the Karasuma subway line from Kyoto to Marutamachi (about 7 minutes), then a city bus from Karasuma Marutamachi to Kumano Jinja-mae (about 8 minutes). The inn lists routes 206, 201, 204 and 93. By car, it is about 5.5 km, around 22 minutes.

How do I find the entrance?

Go in through the main gate of Shogoin Monzeki and turn left; Gotenso and Kojun are there. The official pages do not mention parking or a shuttle, so ask the inn if you plan to drive.

The baths at Shogoin Gotenso

What baths are there?

There are four large baths “for men and women combined”: two for 40 people and two for 30. The Kojun annex has a hinoki (cypress) bath for one or two people. Outside, the Shirakawa foot bath uses spring water from Mount Hiei; it is open from 7:00 to 21:00, free, with free towels.

When are they open, and can I bathe with a tattoo?

The official pages give no hours for the large baths, do not say whether they are hot-spring water or have an outdoor bath, and do not mention tattoos. Ask the inn before you book; our tattoo and onsen guide explains what to ask.

Meals and the morning prayer at Shogoin Gotenso

A duck hot pot with tofu and greens simmering over a flame
A duck hot pot (kamo nabe), Japanese cuisine. Not a dish served at Shogoin Gotenso. Photo: Nullumayulife (CC BY 2.0)

What is the kaiseki like?

The inn’s dining page lists October kaiseki courses at 6,600, 7,700 and 8,800 yen, including tax and service, and a Tokiwa bento from 4,500 yen. The 6,600-yen Ume course has 11 items, from an aperitif and sashimi to tempura, seasonal rice and dessert. In winter, the banquet menu adds the inn’s Shogoin hot pot. For more Kyoto food nearby, see our yudofu guide.

What is the morning prayer?

Guests can join the temple’s morning prayer for free, and breakfast follows at 7:30; the inn describes it as a breakfast its chefs take care over. Dinner times, where meals are served and whether the kitchen can handle allergies or special diets are not on the official pages, so ask when you book.

Prices, taxes and rules at Shogoin Gotenso

How much does a stay cost?

A notice on the Japanese site, dated August 1, 2026, gives minimums of from 11,000 yen room only and from 15,500 yen with two meals. It does not say whether these are per person or per room, so confirm on your plan. Regular plan prices could not be read on the booking page, which showed no vacancies.

What is the Kyoto accommodation tax?

Room charge per person per nightKyoto accommodation tax
Under 6,000 yen200 yen
6,000 to under 20,000 yen400 yen
20,000 to under 50,000 yen1,000 yen
50,000 to under 100,000 yen4,000 yen
100,000 yen or more10,000 yen

Kyoto City, rates from March 1, 2026. Meals and consumption tax are not counted. Pay it at the inn.

What about children, cancellation and payment?

The booking page has guest types for older and younger elementary schoolchildren and for infants with or without meals and bedding, but no child prices could be read. The cancellation policy and payment methods are not on the official pages either. Ask the inn, and see our hotel cancellation guide for what to check.

What foreign guests should know before staying at Shogoin Gotenso

  • The inn has an English website, but notices about prices and special events are in Japanese only.
  • Look for weekend dates in October and November; spring and June are hard to get.
  • Enter through the temple’s main gate, then turn left.
  • Budget for the Kyoto accommodation tax; Kyoto City says it is paid to the inn.
  • Ask about bath hours, check-in times and the cancellation rule before you book.

Frequently asked questions

Is it easy to book Shogoin Gotenso as an individual traveler?
Not always. The inn mainly hosts school trips, training groups and banquets, and its own booking calendar says June is full and April is heavily booked. In October and November, it says weekends may have rooms and asks you to get in touch.
What time is check-in at Shogoin Gotenso?
The official pages do not give general check-in and checkout times. Ask the inn, or check the plan page when you book.
Can I use the baths at Shogoin Gotenso with a tattoo?
The official pages do not mention tattoos. Ask the inn before you book.
How much does Shogoin Gotenso cost?
A notice on the Japanese site, dated August 1, 2026, gives minimums from 11,000 yen room only and from 15,500 yen with two meals. It does not say whether these are per person or per room, so confirm the price on your plan.
How do I get to Shogoin Gotenso from Kyoto Station?
Take a city bus to Kumano Jinja-mae and walk 4 minutes, about 35 minutes in all. Enter through the main gate of Shogoin Monzeki and turn left.

Bottom line (2026): Shogoin Gotenso lets you sleep inside a Kyoto temple that once served as a temporary imperial palace, with four large baths, a free foot bath and a free morning prayer. It mainly hosts groups, so check the booking page early and ask the inn about times and rules.

Sources

Every fact on this page is from Shogoin Gotenso’s official pages: home (Japanese), home (English), rooms, baths, foot bath, Kojun, October kaiseki, experiences, access and news, the official English booking page, and Kyoto City’s accommodation tax page. All were read on October 20, 2026. Prices and rules change; check the official site before you book.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC