Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station (2026): Real Rooms for 4–6 People, Five Minutes from the Shinkansen

Karaksa Hotel Tokyo Station — Honto Japan
Guide·August 1, 2026·19 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Tokyo has a structural problem for families: the city's hotel stock is overwhelmingly built for one or two people, and "we're a family of five" usually means two rooms or a serviced apartment far from the action. Which is why karaksa hotel TOKYO STATION deserves a closer look than its modest mid-range profile suggests: 151 rooms five minutes from the Yaesu North Exit, with genuine quads, tatami family rooms sleeping six, and connecting rooms with two bathrooms. That combination barely exists this close to the shinkansen gates.

Where it sits in the neighborhood — and whether the station area suits your trip at all — is covered in our Tokyo Station hotels guide; this page is the hotel itself, fact-checked against its official site. Two things most reviews skip, both straight from the official room pages: most rooms have a shower booth, not a bathtub, and the kids-stay-free age doubles from 6 to 12 when you book direct.

Honto check: All specifics below were re-read from karaksahotels.com — the official room pages (types, sizes, capacities, room counts), facilities page, FAQ and news feed — on August 6, 2026. Nightly rates vary by date and are deliberately not quoted. 🚨 Deliberately not stated: whether cash is accepted (the official FAQ lists cards, e-money and QR and says nothing about cash either way), whether rooms have a microwave, and cancellation fees, which the public pages don't publish — confirm those at booking.
TOC

Karaksa Tokyo Station at a glance

Tokyo Station Marunouchi dome
The Marunouchi side of Tokyo Station, the terminal the hotel takes its name from. Photo: Daderot (CC0 1.0)
What it isModern mid-range hotel, opened 2016 (10th anniversary in 2026) — 151 rooms by the official room-type counts
Location1-5-3 Yaesu — ~5 min walk from Tokyo Station's Yaesu North Exit, ~6 min from Nihombashi Station
The superpowerFamily capacity: quads (29.2 m²), tatami rooms up to 6, connecting rooms with 2 bathrooms
🚨 The catchMost rooms: shower booth only, no bathtub. Tubs only in the 3 tatami family rooms and the accessible room
Check-in / out15:00 / 11:00 — free late checkout to 12:00 booked direct
Breakfast8S YAESU Café light buffet 7:00–9:30 (last entry 9:00) · ¥1,000 · guests only + free welcome drinks 10:00–24:00
Kids6 and under co-sleep free — 12 and under free when booked direct
Name trapDon't confuse with karaksa hotel Colors Tokyo Yaesu — a different hotel nearby

The rooms: built for groups in a city that isn't

A Japanese stay-report on karaksa's tatami Japanese Family Room — the exact room type this section is about. The narration is Japanese, but you can see the futons laid out side by side across the tatami and judge the floor space for a group yourself.

Which room fits which group?

The official inventory, type by type: the backbone is Standard Twins (117 rooms across three variants — plain, with-sofa, with-extra-bed), comfortably above Tokyo's business-hotel norm, plus ten King Doubles and ten Compact Twins (13.6 m² — fine for one, tight for two). The reason to remember the name: five Family Quadruples (29.2 m², officially 1–4 people), five Family Triples, three Japanese Family Rooms (tatami and futon, low table with floor cushions — a 4-person and a 6-person layout, up to six) and connecting rooms — two rooms with an internal door and two bathrooms, officially up to five or six people without splitting the family across a corridor. If that's your exact problem, this is one of the few direct answers near the station.

The bathroom setup most reviews don't mention

Straight from the official room pages: standard rooms have a separated shower booth, sink and toilet — designed so several people can get ready at the same time, which genuinely matters with four people on a schedule — but no bathtub. The amenity list shows a bath only for the three tatami Japanese Family Rooms and the accessible room, and there's no public bath in the building. Also worth knowing before you book: every room is non-smoking (including heated tobacco and vapes — smoking rooms are on floors 4 and 9), and the windows don't open.

The details that punch above mid-range

What does ¥1,000 breakfast actually buy?

A light bakery-soup-salad buffet at the 1F 8S YAESU Café (31 seats, guests only): fresh-baked breads, soup, salad bar, daily side dishes, yogurt and coffee, 7:00–9:30 with last entry at 9:00. At a station where hotel breakfasts routinely run triple that, ¥1,000 is almost a rounding error — and the same café serves free welcome drinks 10:00–24:00 for guests. If you'd rather graze, Ramen Street is effectively your basement canteen, one station block away.

What's in the building?

Free Wi-Fi throughout, a 3F coin laundry corner, a 2F nursing room (24 hours, free), ice machines on 4F and 9F, a vending machine on 4F (no alcohol, and no shop in the building), and self-check-in kiosks at the front desk. Luggage storage is free at the 1F desk before check-in and after checkout — same-day pickup after checkout, and they'll hold bags longer free if you're coming back for another stay. You can also ship luggage ahead by courier, addressed care of the front desk.

Getting in from the airports

From Narita: the Narita Express runs direct to Tokyo Station in about 58 minutes, then it's the five-minute walk — our N'EX guide covers the train. From Haneda: Monorail to Hamamatsucho (~13 min) plus one Yamanote hop (~6 min) to Tokyo Station.

The fine print worth knowing

The 1:00–5:00 a.m. entrance lock

Not a curfew — the front entrance locks from 1:00 to 5:00 a.m. for security, and your room card key opens it (or use the intercom). It only bites if you go out at midnight without your key.

The two-tier kids rule

Standard channels: children 6 and under co-sleep free (one child per existing bed, up to two per room). Book direct on the official site and it becomes 12 and under free — and on breakfast-included plans the co-sleeping child eats free too. For a family of four with kids of 8 and 10, that single difference outweighs any OTA coupon we've seen. Add the other direct-booking perks — best-rate guarantee (claim within 24 hours of booking if you find it cheaper under identical conditions) and the free noon checkout — and the direct case makes itself.

The name trap, and a phishing warning

The chain runs karaksa hotel Colors Tokyo Yaesu nearby plus hotels in Ginza, Sapporo and Osaka, and the official site posts its own "make sure you come to the right building" warning — confirm TOKYO STATION / 1-5-3 Yaesu on your booking. Separately, in June 2026 the hotel published an alert about phishing messages sent through Booking.com's own messaging system steering guests to fake payment pages. If a "payment problem" message arrives, contact the hotel directly instead of tapping the link. (Housekeeping note: the operating company renamed itself Zymax International on July 1, 2026 — same hotels, same terms.)

Small print for specific travelers

Guests under 18 traveling without an adult need a signed parental consent form (one per minor). No pets. And if you're after the 10th-anniversary deals: the official site has been running anniversary plans in 2026, including a 30-days-ahead early-bird at up to 35% off — non-refundable, so date-certain travelers only.

Who it suits

Book it if: you're 3–6 people wanting one room near the shinkansen, you value language support that's engineered rather than hoped for (7-language site, multinational staff, a video-call interpreting service), or you want station-area logistics without station-area luxury pricing. Look elsewhere if: you want a nightly bathtub soak in a standard room (shower booths, remember — or book the tatami room), a big-hotel experience with bars and views, or rock-bottom solo pricing (the business chains undercut it). It's a focused tool, and for its target traveler, close to optimal.

Booking it right: why the official site quietly wins

For this hotel specifically, where you book changes what you get. Booking direct on the official site (karaksahotels.com) carries a stated best-rate guarantee, stretches checkout from 11:00 to 12:00 noon free, and — on breakfast-included plans — makes children 12 and under stay free when sharing existing beds (the standard policy is free co-sleeping only to age 6). A free membership adds 5% points on official bookings, and as of August 2026 the brand is running 10th-anniversary and 35%-off early-bird (30-day, non-refundable) plans. One warning straight from the hotel: it has publicly flagged phishing messages impersonating booking platforms — another argument for the official channel, and a reason to ignore the many unofficial "karaksa" lookalike sites in search results. Two precision notes for families: the connecting rooms are the Standard Twin types only (three variants; adjacent rooms joined by an inner door, two bathrooms, up to six guests) — the tatami and Family rooms don't connect — and don't confuse this hotel with its sibling karaksa hotel colors Tokyo Yaesu nearby, a mix-up the official site itself warns about.

(A different option on the same Yaesu side, our Yaesu Terminal Hotel guide covers the walking route from the bus terminal and how the building sits relative to the shinkansen gates.)

FAQ

How far is Karaksa Hotel from Tokyo Station?
About five minutes on foot from the Yaesu North Exit, per the hotel’s own access page — practical rolling-suitcase distance from the shinkansen gates. It’s also about six minutes from Nihombashi Station (Ginza, Tozai and Asakusa lines), which quietly gives you direct subway runs to Asakusa and Ginza on top of everything Tokyo Station offers. There’s no parking and no shuttle; this is a rail hotel through and through.
Does Karaksa Tokyo Station have rooms for families of 4 or more?
Yes — and this is its superpower in a city of double rooms. The official room list: five Family Quadruple rooms (29.2 m², sleeps up to 4, plus sofa bed), five Family Triples, three tatami Japanese Family Rooms (futon bedding, a 4-person and a 6-person layout), and connecting-room setups that officially sleep up to 5 or 6 across two rooms with two bathrooms. Very few hotels this close to Tokyo Station can put a family of five in one booking.
Do the rooms have bathtubs?
Mostly no — and this catches families off guard. The official room pages list a shower booth, not a bathtub, for the standard twins, doubles and family quads (the shower, sink and toilet are separated so several people can get ready at once). The only room types whose official amenity list includes a bath are the three tatami Japanese Family Rooms and the accessible room. If a nightly soak is non-negotiable, book the tatami room or look elsewhere — there’s no public bath in the hotel either.
Is there a curfew at Karaksa Tokyo Station?
No curfew, but the front entrance locks from 1:00 to 5:00 a.m. for security. Your room card key opens it, or you can use the intercom. It only matters if you’re out late without your key — take it with you.
Is breakfast worth it at ¥1,000?
For the price, yes — with the right expectations. It’s a light buffet at the ground-floor 8S YAESU Café (31 seats): fresh-baked breads, soup, a salad bar, daily side dishes, yogurt and coffee — not a full Japanese-Western hotel spread. It runs 7:00–9:30 with last entry at 9:00, guests only, at ¥1,000 as of August 2026. The same café pours free welcome drinks for guests from 10:00 to midnight.
Do kids stay free?
Two tiers, and the difference is real money. Standard rule: children 6 and under sleep free sharing an existing bed. Book through the official site and that rises to 12 and under free — on breakfast-included plans the co-sleeping child’s breakfast is free too. Limits: one child per bed, up to two per room. Booking through an OTA means a 7-to-12-year-old is no longer free.
Can I store luggage before check-in or after checkout?
Yes, free at the 1F front desk on both ends — with one rule: after checkout, they ask you to collect bags the same day (guests returning for another stay at the hotel can leave them longer, free). The hotel also accepts luggage shipped ahead by courier, addressed care of the front desk — no cash, valuables or perishables in the box.
How do I avoid booking the wrong Karaksa hotel?
The chain runs a second, smaller hotel nearby — karaksa hotel Colors Tokyo Yaesu — plus properties in Ginza, Sapporo and Osaka, and the official site itself posts a warning about guests arriving at the wrong building. Check that your confirmation reads karaksa hotel TOKYO STATION and the address says 1-5-3 Yaesu. One more caution, straight from an official notice: the hotel has flagged phishing messages sent through Booking.com’s own messaging system directing guests to fake payment pages — if a ‘payment problem’ message arrives, verify with the hotel directly rather than tapping the link.
What payment methods does the hotel take?
The official FAQ lists a long card roster — Visa, Mastercard, JCB, Amex, Diners Club, UC, DC, NICOS, UFJ and UnionPay — plus electronic money and QR code payments, with self-check-in kiosks in the lobby. Cash is not addressed either way on the official pages, so don’t plan around it; bring a card that’s on the list.
Where should I book Karaksa Tokyo Station?
The official site (karaksahotels.com) is the strongest channel by the hotel’s own published benefits: best-rate guarantee, free late checkout to 12:00, kids 12 and under free on breakfast plans, and 5% membership points. The hotel has also publicly warned about phishing messages impersonating booking platforms, and search results carry several unofficial lookalike sites – book direct or on a platform you navigated to yourself.
Which rooms connect at Karaksa Tokyo Station?
Officially, the connecting setups are the Standard Twin family: Standard Twin, Standard Twin with Sofa and Standard Twin with Extra Bed, joined by an inner door with a bathroom on each side, accommodating up to six guests across the pair. The tatami Japanese Family Rooms and the Family Triple/Quadruple rooms do not connect – they solve the group problem within one large room instead.
Ready to book? Check availability →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our disclosure.

Bottom line (2026) — Real family rooms in central Tokyo: tatami rooms for six, quads, and connecting rooms with two bathrooms, five minutes from the Yaesu North Exit. Note that most rooms have a shower booth, not a tub, the kids-stay-free age doubles when you book direct on karaksahotels.com, and the operator’s own June 2, 2026 Booking.com phishing alert is one more reason to go direct.

Sources

karaksahotels.com official pages (JA/EN) — room pages (types, sizes, capacities, per-type room counts, bath vs shower booth), facilities page (café hours, breakfast price and menu, welcome drinks, laundry, nursing room), FAQ (check-in/out, entrance lock hours, child co-sleeping rules, luggage, payment methods) and the official news feed (Booking.com phishing alert of June 2, 2026; 10th-anniversary plans; the July 1, 2026 operating-company rename) — all re-checked August 6, 2026. The "151 rooms" figure is the sum of the official per-type room counts; the site publishes no single total. Rates, deposits and cancellation schedules aren't published on the public pages and are deliberately not stated here — confirm at booking. Expect Tokyo's small per-night accommodation tax on top of rates.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC