Hakone Kamon is a small inn with its own hot-spring source in Hakone-Yumoto, across from Soun-ji temple. Its floors are tatami everywhere, from the rooms and corridors to the inside of the elevator, so you can walk around barefoot. Before you book, three things matter: guests with tattoos cannot use the baths; the doors lock at midnight; and allergies must be reported three days ahead, with no vegetarian or halal meals.
Hakone Kamon at a glance

| Item | Official information |
|---|---|
| Address | 435 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun, Kanagawa (in front of Soun-ji) |
| Phone | +81-460-85-5050 (calls 8:00–20:00) |
| Nearest station | Hakone-Yumoto, with free pickup for staying guests |
| Check-in | Differs by plan; last dinner seating 19:00 |
| Doors lock | 0:00 (midnight) |
| Baths | “Yumeguri Chaya” with 10 kinds of bath; 2 private open-air baths |
| Tattoos | Not allowed in the baths |
| Parking | Free, 50 spaces |
| Cards | VISA, Mastercard, JCB, AMEX, Diners |
| Smoking | Non-smoking inside, including terraces; 2 smoking areas |
From the official site, read October 15, 2026.
Getting to Hakone Kamon from Hakone-Yumoto Station

How does the free pickup work?
The inn picks up staying guests at Hakone-Yumoto Station. When you arrive, call 0460-85-5050. Pickups run from the start of check-in until 19:00, depending on your plan; the inn does not pick up before check-in time or at a set time, and you cannot choose the car. Its cars include a bonnet bus styled after a palanquin and a Mercedes S-Class. Hakone-Yumoto is the gateway to the rest of the area; our things to do in Hakone guide covers what is beyond it.
Can I drive, and what about luggage?
Parking is free: 22 covered spaces and 28 spaces that fit high-roof vehicles. After checkout, the front desk will hold your bags. The inn cannot collect luggage from the station; for that, its FAQ points to Hakone Carry Service (0460-86-4140).
Rooms at Hakone Kamon

| Room type | What the official site lists |
|---|---|
| Rocca (top floor, 6 rooms) | Each with an open-air bath fed directly from the inn’s own source; themes such as kumiko woodwork, cloth, stone and Hakone marquetry |
| Hananosho (special room) | Main bedroom, small bedroom and an 8-mat Japanese room; open-air bath |
| Akari (annex, 105 m²) | Semi-open-air bath, living room, 6-mat Japanese room, washer-dryer; stairs to its private entrance, not for wheelchairs |
| 4th floor (renewed January 2025) | Rooms with open-air baths, 44 to 62 m², Western, Japanese or mixed |
| 3rd floor | Japanese rooms of 10 mats with a sunken kotatsu table, bath and toilet |
From the official rooms pages, read October 15, 2026.
All rooms are non-smoking, and so are e-cigarettes and heated tobacco anywhere inside. The FAQ warns of a 50,000 yen cleaning charge plus compensation for lost room nights if someone smokes in a room. Bookings start at two guests; the FAQ says a solo stay may be possible on some weekdays. The inn has no large steps inside but says it is not barrier-free. Wi-Fi is free. Pets cannot stay; guide and assistance dogs can.
The baths at Hakone Kamon
What is Yumeguri Chaya?
The main bath area, “Yumeguri Chaya”, has 10 kinds of bath, including an open-air bath, a cave bath, a pot bath, a barrel bath, a lie-down bath, a box steam bath and a sauna. The spring is listed as sodium-calcium chloride-sulfate. The inn states plainly that the main baths are recirculated for hygiene. The footbath “Yume no Shizuku” on the 3rd floor is 100 percent free-flowing spring water.
When are the baths open?
All day, except for cleaning from 9:00 to 10:30 in the morning and from 1:00 to 1:30 at night.
How do the private open-air baths work?
There are two, “Kagaou” and “Nayotake,” at 2,750 yen for 45 minutes per group. Reservations are taken only for weekdays (Monday to Friday, excluding holidays and special days) and only within one week of the date.
Can I bathe with a tattoo?
No. The bath page asks guests with tattoos not to use the baths, and the FAQ says this is firmly refused on the guidance of the authorities. If you have a tattoo, our tattoo and onsen guide covers other options in Japan.
Can babies use the baths?
Children still in diapers cannot go into the tubs of the main or private baths. A baby bath is available on request.
Meals at Hakone Kamon
What are dinner and breakfast like?
Dinner is a kaiseki menu that changes every month, which the inn says it has done since it opened. Its breakfast was ranked first among more than 1,000 inns and hotels at the 2012 “Breakfast Festival,” and third in 2017. Both meals are served at “Hakone Dining Kanon” on the 2nd floor, in private rooms with chairs, private tatami rooms or open seating; you cannot request a specific table. Dinner seatings are 18:00, 18:30 and 19:00, and breakfast 8:00, 8:30 and 9:00, depending on the plan.
Can the inn handle allergies or a special diet?
Only allergies reported at least three days before your stay. The FAQ says the inn cannot handle severe allergies or allergies in small children, as these can be life-threatening. It also cannot prepare vegetarian or halal meals, reduced-salt or low-carb meals, or meals with no seafood at all. Outside food and drink are not allowed.
Prices, children, cancellation and payment at Hakone Kamon
How much does a stay cost?
The official site does not list room prices; they are on the booking pages. Hakone Town’s official page sets a bathing tax of 150 yen per person per night for overnight guests, with children under 12 exempt; our onsen bathing tax guide explains the tax.
What do children cost?
The official site does not state children’s rates. Check your plan or ask the inn.
What is the cancellation policy?
The official site does not state one, and the contact form cannot be used for bookings, changes or cancellations. Read the rule on your plan’s booking page, or call the inn. The FAQ adds that the inn may ask for a deposit of 20 percent by bank transfer and will contact you if so. Our hotel cancellation guide explains Japanese cancellation fees.
How do I pay?
At the inn, the FAQ lists VISA, Mastercard, JCB, AMEX and Diners, though cards may not be accepted for some plans, travel agencies or services.
What foreign guests should know before staying at Hakone Kamon

- The official site is in Japanese, so plan to read the booking page with a translation tool, or call between 8:00 and 20:00.
- Arrive in time for dinner: it cannot be served after the 19:00 seating.
- The doors are locked at midnight for security, so plan evenings in town around it.
- Send allergy details three days ahead; vegetarian and halal meals are not possible.
- Private bath bookings are weekdays only; on weekends, plan on the shared baths or a room with its own bath.
Frequently asked questions
Can I use the baths at Hakone Kamon with a tattoo?
What time is check-in at Hakone Kamon?
What is the cancellation policy at Hakone Kamon?
Does Hakone Kamon serve vegetarian or halal meals?
Does Hakone Kamon pick guests up at Hakone-Yumoto Station?
Bottom line (2026): Hakone Kamon is a small Hakone-Yumoto inn with its own spring, tatami floors throughout, 10 kinds of bath and a monthly kaiseki menu. Its baths are closed to guests with tattoos. Be back by midnight, send dietary details three days ahead, and check prices and cancellation on the official booking page.
Sources
Every fact on this page is from Hakone Kamon’s official pages: home (Japanese), rooms, Rocca, baths, cuisine, hospitality, access and FAQ, and from Hakone Town’s bathing tax page. All were read on October 15, 2026. Prices and rules change; check the official site before you book.
Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.
- 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
- Every price and opening hour read from the official page
- Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox
Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.


