The standard English answer to this question is that Tokyo has no dedicated Dragon Ball shop, so you should go to a Jump Shop and hope. That answer is out of date by about a year. A permanent official store opened at Tokyo Station in November 2025, described by the franchise's own news site as the world's first Dragon Ball store, and the Jump Shop everyone recommends is in the basement of the same building.
The other half of this guide is timing. Japan's tax-free system changes on November 1, 2026, and the way it changes affects exactly the kind of shopping people do on a trip like this. If you are here before that date, one set of rules applies. After it, a different one does.
The permanent Dragon Ball store is real, and it is at Tokyo Station
| Dragon Ball Store Tokyo | |
|---|---|
| Where | Tokyo Station Ichibangai, 1F, 1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda-ku |
| Getting there | 1 minute from the Yaesu North exit |
| Hours | 10:00–20:30 daily, following the building |
| Opened | November 14, 2025 |
| Tax-free | Not stated officially on the store's site |
The important thing about that table is the third row from the bottom. This is not a pop-up and not a seasonal event space — it publishes fixed opening hours and an access page like any permanent shop, and an official post in April 2026 still described it as operating at Tokyo Station. If a guide you are reading does not mention it, that guide was written before it opened and has not been revised.
What things cost there
The official announcement of a 2026 product line published its prices, which gives a reliable band rather than a guess:
| Item | Price (tax incl.) |
|---|---|
| Sticker | 396 yen |
| Foil can badge | 660 yen |
| Acrylic keyring | 880 yen |
| Acrylic stand / clear bottle | 1,980 yen |
| Mouse pad | 2,200 yen |
| T-shirt / tote bag | 3,630 yen |
| Foil acrylic panel | 3,960 yen |
One thing the store does not tell you
Whether it processes tax-free purchases is not stated officially. There is no mention of it on the store's site, in either language. That is not a hint either way — plenty of shops handle it without advertising it. Ask at the register, and if the tax matters to your budget, read the November change further down first.
Jump Shop: five branches, two of them tax-free
The Jump Shop is the Shueisha-licensed chain, and Dragon Ball is one title among many rather than the point of the shop. Its own title list carries Dragon Ball and Dragon Ball Z as separate categories, so the range is a standing one rather than an occasional appearance.
| Branch | Where | Hours | Tax-free |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tokyo Station | Tokyo Station Ichibangai B1, Tokyo Character Street | 10:00–20:30 | Yes |
| Tokyo Dome City | 1-3-61 Koraku, Bunkyo-ku | Weekdays 10:30–19:00 / weekends 10:00–19:00 | Yes |
| Skytree Town Solamachi | Solamachi 4F | 10:00–21:00 | Not marked |
| Shibuya | Shibuya Parco 6F | 10:00–21:00 | Not marked |
| Ikebukuro | Ikebukuro Parco B2F | 11:00–21:00 | Not marked |
The link in most English guides is dead
If you follow a Jump Shop link from an older article, there is a good chance it lands on a 404 — the chain's pages moved to a different domain, and the old publisher-hosted address no longer resolves. Anything built on that dead page, including branch lists and opening hours, should be treated as unverified.
The Jimbocho one is a different company
There is also a shop called The Jump Shop in Jimbocho, on the fourth floor of a bookshop, open 10:00–20:00 and run by the publisher itself rather than by the licensee behind the five branches above. It does not appear on their store list. Whether it stocks Dragon Ball is not stated officially. Do not count it as a sixth branch, and do not travel there specifically for Dragon Ball.
The museum guides send you to does not sell Dragon Ball
This one is worth being blunt about, because the recommendation appears constantly. The Toei Animation Gallery does not exist under that name any more — the old addresses return errors. What exists is the Toei Animation Museum in Nerima, and it is a good thing: free admission, 10:00 to 17:00, closed Wednesdays, with a multilingual display system that reads out in your phone's language.
What the museum shop actually sells
Its own shop page describes the range as centered on Precure, plus museum-exclusive Pero logo goods and commemorative medals. Dragon Ball merchandise is not mentioned anywhere on it. The shop opens at 11:00, an hour after the museum, and closes at the same time.
Ichiban Kuji: you do not need a specialty shop at all
This is the part that saves the most time. Ichiban Kuji is the prize-draw line where every ticket wins a figure or a piece of merchandise, and the Dragon Ball series run regularly. People plan an Akihabara trip around it. The official outlets are convenience stores.
A current Dragon Ball series lists its outlets as Seven-Eleven, Ito-Yokado and Yume Town among others, at 790 yen per draw including tax. That is it. The same page notes that availability ends when stock runs out and that shops may not carry it at all.
Do not phone ahead
The maker states directly that customers should refrain from contacting shops about stock. So there is no way to confirm a specific branch has a series running, and a guide that names one is guessing. The workable method is simply to look inside convenience stores as you pass them — the display sits near the counter, and in a week in Tokyo you will walk past several hundred.
Gachapon: not 100 yen, and the flagship is in Ikebukuro
Capsule toys have moved a long way from the coin-slot price everyone quotes. Recent official Dragon Ball capsule products have been priced at 300 yen, 400 yen and 800 yen depending on the line. Budget per capsule accordingly, and note that older series are frequently listed as discontinued.
The largest place to try is the Gashapon Department Store Ikebukuro flagship, on the third floor of the Sunshine City World Import Mart Building, which the operator's English page describes as having over 4,000 machines. It is about 8 minutes on foot from Ikebukuro Station or 3 from Higashi-Ikebukuro. There is an official brand shop on the same floor.
The store finder does not show every shop
If you use the official machine locator, read its own disclaimer: it only searches machines with a communication function, so it is not showing you all the shops, and it warns that the listing may not match what is actually in stock. Treat a blank result as no information rather than as no machines.
Second-hand is where the older figures are
For anything from before the current merchandise cycle, the used market matters more than the official store. Two chains are worth knowing, and one detail about the first of them is genuinely useful.
| Shop | Where | Hours |
|---|---|---|
| Mandarake Nakano | Nakano Broadway, 5-52-15 Nakano | 12:00–20:00, open every day of the year |
| Mandarake CoCoo | 4 min from Akihabara Station (Electric Town exit); soft vinyl specialist | 12:00–20:00, open every day |
| Suruga-ya Akihabara (several branches) | Sotokanda, Chiyoda-ku | Roughly 10:00/11:00–21:00 — verify, the official page is stale |
Mandarake states that its Nakano store alone contains over 30 separate shops divided by category, and — the useful part — that it always has staff who can help in English there. For a first visit to the used market that is a meaningful difference. For the wider picture, see our guides to shopping in Akihabara and buying anime figures in Japan.
Suruga-ya is six shops, not one
If you search the name you get a single result and then find yourself walking between buildings. In Akihabara alone the chain runs a main store, a station-front branch, an anime and hobby building, a games building, a plastic model building and a buying counter, all within a few minutes of each other in Sotokanda and each split by category over several floors. Two of them open at 10:00 and the rest at 11:00 on weekdays. Check which building holds what before you set off, and treat the published hours as a guide — the official list still carries notices from several years ago.
Mandarake is tax-free, but the process differs by branch
Mandarake states that tax-free shopping is available at all of its stores, which is more than most chains here can say. How it works varies:
| Branch type | How it works today |
|---|---|
| Nakano, Shibuya | Pay tax included, then take passport, receipts and goods to the service counter (until 19:30) for a cash refund |
| Sapporo, Ikebukuro and others | Declare at the register, pay the tax-excluded price, take the goods with you |
| Akihabara Complex, Nagoya, Osaka, Fukuoka | Pay tax-excluded, leave the goods, collect from the tax-free counter (until 19:00) when you are done |
All of that describes how it works until October 31, 2026. After that date the mechanism underneath it changes, which is the next section — so any printed instruction sheet or English page you find, including the one this table came from, will need rereading in November.
Tax-free changes completely on November 1, 2026
This is the single most useful thing in this guide if you are shopping in Japan around that date. The National Tax Agency states that the refund method takes effect from November 1, 2026. The Japan Tourism Agency spells out what changes at the counter.
| Until Oct 31, 2026 | From Nov 1, 2026 | |
|---|---|---|
| What you pay in store | Tax-excluded price | Tax-included price |
| How you get the tax back | You never pay it | Refunded after customs confirms export |
| Minimum spend | 5,000 yen | 5,000 yen (unchanged) |
| General vs consumable split | Separate categories | Abolished |
| Sealed packaging for consumables | Required | Abolished |
| 500,000 yen cap on consumables | Applies | Abolished |
One more that affects small shops specifically: a tax-free retailer that has not moved to the electronic system by October 31, 2026 loses its permit on that date. Expect some smaller shops to simply stop offering tax-free in November. Our full guide to tax-free shopping in Japan covers the mechanics in more detail; this section is only the part that changes what you do on a Dragon Ball shopping day.
Why capsule toys and Ichiban Kuji never qualify
Because of the floor. The minimum is 5,000 yen at one shop on one day, and it stays at 5,000 yen after the change. A 790 yen Ichiban Kuji draw and a 300 to 800 yen capsule are not close, and a convenience store is not a licensed export retailer in any case. If the tax back matters to you, it has to come from a real purchase at a licensed shop — which, in this guide, realistically means the two marked Jump Shops or Mandarake.
A half-day route that works
Putting the above together, in the order that wastes the least time. Start at Tokyo Station: the official store on the first floor of Ichibangai, then the Jump Shop in the basement of the same building — and the Tokyo Station Jump Shop is one of only two in the city marked tax-free, so if you are going to make a purchase large enough to qualify, make it there.
Then choose one direction. For used figures, Nakano Broadway, where the English-speaking staff are and where the older stock lives; allow at least two hours, because it is thirty shops rather than one. For capsule machines at scale, Ikebukuro and the 4,000-machine flagship. For Akihabara, go for the density of used shops rather than for any single destination.
And look inside convenience stores as you go. That is where the Ichiban Kuji is, it costs 790 yen a draw, and it is the one item on this list you genuinely cannot plan for.
Dragon Ball shopping FAQ
Is there an official Dragon Ball store in Tokyo?
Where is the Jump Shop in Tokyo?
Which Dragon Ball shops are tax-free?
How much do Dragon Ball goods cost in Tokyo?
Where can I buy Ichiban Kuji Dragon Ball figures?
Is the Toei Animation Gallery worth visiting for Dragon Ball?
How does tax-free shopping change on November 1, 2026?
Do capsule toys and Ichiban Kuji count toward tax-free shopping?
Bottom line (2026) — Dragon Ball Store Tokyo is real and permanent, on the first floor of Tokyo Station Ichibangai since November 14, 2025, with the Jump Shop in the basement of the same building. Only two of the five Tokyo Jump Shops are tax-free (Tokyo Station and Tokyo Dome City). Ichiban Kuji is sold at convenience stores at 790 yen a draw, so no special trip is needed, and capsule toys run 300 to 800 yen, not 100. The Toei Animation Museum is free and worth seeing, but its shop is Precure-centered and lists no Dragon Ball goods. And tax-free shifts to the refund method on November 1, 2026 — you will pay the tax and get it back after customs.
Sources
Store locations, opening hours, opening dates and published product prices: the operators' own sites and official news posts, read individually — the Dragon Ball franchise's official site for the store, the licensee's store list for the Jump Shops, and the museum's own guide and shop pages. Ichiban Kuji outlets and the price per draw: the maker's official product pages. Capsule toy prices and the locator's stated limitations: the manufacturer's official product and store-finder pages. Used-shop hours, English-language staffing and the branch-by-branch tax-free procedures: Mandarake's and Suruga-ya's own English and Japanese pages. The move to the refund method, the 90-day rule, the all-or-nothing purchase record, the end of separate shipping and the permit expiry: the National Tax Agency and the Japan Tourism Agency. All read on August 31, 2026 — shops and tax rules both change, so confirm before you travel.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.
in English
Every week we read the Japanese sources English-language media never touches — new openings, price changes, limited releases, rule changes, the seasonal things that come and go in three weeks — and send you a three-minute read of what actually matters. Hit reply with a question about your trip and a human answers.
Free. Unsubscribe anytime. We never share your address.

