Daiwa Roynet Hotels (2026): Midnight Lockout, 8 Baths, Perks

Guide·September 17, 2026·17 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Daiwa Roynet Hotels is the business-hotel chain of Daiwa House, one of Japan’s largest builders, and it runs the way a builder would run a hotel: standardized, locked down at night, and paid for at a machine. Its official pages spell out three things that surprise first-time guests: the front door locks from midnight to 6 a.m., you pay in advance at a kiosk when you check in, and the laundry machines take 100-yen coins and nothing else. They also say that only 8 of the 79 hotels have a bath or sauna, which is the number to check before you assume one.

This page is the chain’s own rules from its English service and member pages, its Japanese bath page, and two property pages. Room rates, cancellation fees and children’s rates are not on the chain-wide pages and are not here.

Honto check: Every rule and figure on this page is from Daiwa Roynet Hotels’ official site (daiwaroynet.jp): the English Service page, the ROYNET CLUB MEMBERS page, the Japanese hot-spring and bath page, the corporate hotel list, and the Ginza PREMIER and Kyoto-Ekimae PREMIER property pages, read on September 16, 2026. Deliberately not stated: room and breakfast prices, cancellation fees and child rates (in each hotel’s terms, not on the chain pages), bath hours and tattoo policy, and a chain-wide check-in time, since we could confirm 14:00 only at the two hotels we read.
TOC

Daiwa Roynet Hotels at a glance

ItemWhat the official pages say
Front entranceLocked 0:00–6:00. Room key opens it; arriving guests use the intercom. Some hotels lock the elevator too.
Check-in / check-out14:00 / 11:00 at Ginza PREMIER and Kyoto-Ekimae PREMIER. Per hotel.
PaymentPay-at-hotel bookings are settled in advance at the machine on check-in. JCB, Visa, Amex, Diners, Saison; foreign cards charged in yen.
LaundryGuests only; detergent automatic; 100-yen coins only; change from the lobby machine.
Baths8 hotels with a bath or sauna; Nara is a natural hot spring. Bathing garments allowed in women’s baths.
Free extrasIce machines; wheelchairs (inside the hotel); AED at every desk.
MembersFree. Silver / Gold (3,000 pts) / Diamond (30,000 pts). Points from 10 pts = 10 yen.
Hotels79 on the list incl. DEL style, BATON SUITE, Seoul. 7 in Tokyo.
Eco Mark76 hotels certified by 2025 (category No. 503).

From the official service, member, bath and property pages, read September 16, 2026.

Check Daiwa Roynet Hotel rates and availability on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.

The midnight lockout: how to get in after 0:00

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Sapporo Susukino building
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Sapporo-Susukino. Front entrances lock from midnight to 6 a.m. chain-wide. Photo: RJD (CC BY 3.0)

Most business-hotel chains leave the door open and staff the desk all night. Daiwa Roynet does something different, and its service page is explicit about it.

What happens at midnight?

The front entrance is locked from midnight until 6 a.m. for building security. If you are already checked in, your room key opens the door. If you are arriving to check in, you press the intercom outside the entrance and give the name on the reservation; staff let you in. At some hotels the elevator also needs the room key to reach your floor.

Does a late flight cause a problem?

Not a cancellation problem, on the pages we read: unlike Tokyu Stay, the chain publishes no “call by midnight or lose the room” rule. The practical issue is only the door. Keep the reservation name to hand for the intercom, and if a friend is joining you after midnight, they cannot walk in: you go down with the key.

Is there anyone at the desk at night?

The service page describes the intercom check and the AED at every front desk, which implies staffing, but it does not state desk hours. We do not either.

Paying at the machine: what to expect at check-in

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima-Ekimae exterior
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima-Ekimae.

Why does the hotel ask for money before I see the room?

Because that is the system. Guests who chose to pay at the hotel are asked to pay the room charge in advance at the automatic payment machine when checking in. The machines take cash and JCB, Visa, American Express, Diners Club and Saison, and process international cards in yen. The page adds one caveat: some hotels do not accept card payment at the machine, so the desk takes it there.

Which cards do the hotels take?

The two property pages list Visa, JCB, American Express, Diners Club, MasterCard, UC and UnionPay. Note that the machine list on the service page and the hotel list differ slightly; the property page is the one for the hotel you are standing in.

What are the check-in times?

Ginza PREMIER: check-in 14:00, check-out 11:00, 266 rooms, capacity 548. Kyoto-Ekimae PREMIER: 14:00 and 11:00, 205 rooms, capacity 444. A 14:00 check-in is an hour earlier than Dormy Inn or Tokyu Stay, but we confirmed it only at these two hotels, so read the property page for yours.

Can I get a late checkout?

The chain-wide rule is a membership perk: Gold and Diamond members get one hour free, never past 14:00. For non-members the pages give no price and no promise. Diamond members also get an hour of early check-in.

Which Daiwa Roynet Hotels have a bath, and what the bath page warns

Round wooden hotel bath with steam
A hotel bath in Japan (Nishimuraya, Kinosaki Onsen), for the type; not a Daiwa Roynet. Only 8 Daiwa Roynet hotels have a bath or sauna. Photo: Nishimuraya Kinosaki Onsen (CC BY 2.0)

The Japanese bath page opens with a warning worth translating in full: “please check whether the hotel has a hot spring, bath or sauna before booking”. That is because only eight do.

HotelWhat it has (official bath page)
Sapporo Nakajima-KoenBath or sauna (listed).
Akita-EkimaeMen’s and women’s baths, high-temperature dry sauna with TV and auto-löyly, chilled cold plunge, open-air rest space.
Kanazawa-MIYABIJapanese-style baths: Kaga-yuzen motif (women), stained-glass motif (men).
DEL style Nagoya-NayabashiBath or sauna (listed).
Nagoya-FushimiBath or sauna (listed).
DEL style Osaka-HigashitemmaAfrica-themed baths in stone and wood; bath crowding shown on the room TV; ReFa shower heads.
NaraNatural hot spring “Nara Wakakusa no Yu” from the hotel’s own source about 500 m down; simple spring, heated and filtered; two-seat parent-and-child washing booths.
Matsue-EkimaeOpened August 6, 2026: baths, sauna with auto-löyly and chiller, open-air rest space.

All eight hotels with a bath, sauna or hot spring, per the official page on September 16, 2026.

Which one is a real onsen?

Nara. The page calls it a rare private-source hot spring within Nara city, pumped from about 500 meters, a simple spring that is heated and circulated. The men’s bath has a pine motif and the women’s a Yoshino cherry motif, lit by LED. It also has the two-person parent-and-child washing booths, which matters for families.

Can I wear a bathing garment?

In the women’s baths, yes: the page says garments may be worn at every hotel with a bath, are sold at all of them and lent at Nara and Osaka-Higashitemma. The page says nothing about tattoos either way; our tattoo and onsen guide covers how that usually plays out.

What about the other 71 hotels?

In-room bathrooms only. If a bath is the reason you are choosing a chain, Mitsui Garden lists 22 hotels with one and Dormy Inn has one everywhere; Daiwa Roynet is a location-and-price choice, not a bath choice.

Laundry, ice, wheelchairs and the ladies’ rooms

Coin laundry machines in Japan
A Tokyo laundromat, for reference. Daiwa Roynet machines take 100-yen coins only; detergent is automatic. Photo: Nesnad (CC BY 4.0)

How does the coin laundry work?

It is for staying guests only. Detergent is dispensed automatically, so you buy none. Washers and dryers accept 100-yen coins only; you get change from the payment machine in the lobby. The page asks you to collect laundry promptly and says the hotel is not responsible for items lost, stolen or taken by mistake. Prices per cycle are not on the chain page.

What is free?

Ice, from machines in the vending corner with cups beside them. Wheelchairs, borrowed at the desk for use inside the hotel. Wi-Fi, listed on both property pages. There is an AED at every front desk.

What is a Lady’s Room?

A limited number of rooms designed by a team of the chain’s female staff, with amenities the page names: KOSE Stephen Knoll shampoo, conditioner and body soap; Yakult Beautiens face masks and skincare; Kao Meguri-ism steam eye masks; an AEON face steamer and a foot massager. Interiors differ by hotel, Akita in Japanese style and Nishi-Shinjuku sharp and urban, and not every hotel has them.

Is there a restaurant and parking?

Per hotel. Ginza PREMIER lists a restaurant, parking, a convenience store, coin laundry, vending and ice machines, microwaves and a smoking area; Kyoto-Ekimae PREMIER lists a restaurant, coin laundry, vending and ice machines, microwaves and a smoking area, no parking. Both list left luggage, courier service, copy and fax, and wheelchairs.

ROYNET CLUB MEMBERS: the three tiers

Deer in Nara Park
Nara Park. The Nara hotel has the chain’s only natural hot spring, from its own source. Photo: Marek Ślusarczyk (Tupungato) Photo portfolio (CC BY 3.0)
TierPoints in a yearPerks (official member page)
Silver0–2,999Member rates; points back by tier.
Gold3,000–29,999Member rates; late checkout 1 hour free (not past 14:00); birthday 1,000 points; rank-up 1,000 points.
Diamond30,000+Member rates; early check-in 1 hour; late checkout 1 hour; rank-up 5,000 points; birthday 1,000 points; 2 room upgrades per tier period.

Official ROYNET CLUB MEMBERS page, read September 16, 2026. Overseas and resort hotels excluded.

Can I join in English?

Yes on the website: member registration there is in Japanese and English. The app is Japanese only, which matters because the app is where the QR member card for self check-in lives. Self check-in is unavailable at some hotels because of local ordinances.

How do points work?

You earn by tier on stays at hotels in Japan (overseas and resort hotels are excluded) and spend from 10 points, worth 10 yen, in one-yen steps, when booking on the official site or app or at the payment machine. BATON SUITE Okinawa-Kourijima takes points but does not award them. Holders of the old member card can move their points to the app at any hotel’s payment machine between December 1, 2024 and November 30, 2026.

Is the Eco Mark relevant to a guest?

Only as a signal. The chain began certifying hotels in 2023 and had 76 certified by 2025 under Eco Mark category No. 503 for hotels and ryokans, which covers energy, water, waste and facility management. It does not change a rule on this page.

The 79 hotels and the sub-brands

Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima building
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima, one of two in the city.

What is DEL style?

A sub-brand, “by Daiwa Roynet Hotel”, with eight properties on the list: Ikebukuro-Higashiguchi, Nagoya-Nayabashi, Osaka-Shinsaibashi, Osaka-Higashitemma, Osaka-Shin Umeda, Fukuoka-Nishinakasu and two more in the Nagoya and Osaka lists. Two of the eight bath hotels are DEL style.

Which are in Tokyo?

Seven: Tokyo-Kyobashi PREMIER, Ginza PREMIER, Shimbashi, Nishi-Shinjuku PREMIER, Tokyo-Akabane, Tokyo-Osaki and DEL style Ikebukuro-Higashiguchi. Ginza PREMIER stands at Ginza 1-13-15, a seven-minute walk from Tokyo Station’s Yaesu exit according to the Kyobashi page. Where the chain fits among Tokyo’s options is in our where to stay in Tokyo guide.

Which sub-brand is a hotel, and which is a resort?

The list carries three names. Daiwa Roynet Hotel is the city business hotel and the bulk of the 79. DEL style is the newer design-led line in the same cities. BATON SUITE Okinawa-Kourijima is the one resort, on Kouri Island, and the member page treats it separately: points can be spent there but not earned. If you are booking for the chain rules on this page, that means the two hotel brands; the resort has its own.

And outside Japan?

One: Roynet Hotel Seoul Mapo, excluded from the member program. The resort property, BATON SUITE Okinawa-Kourijima, is also outside the points scheme except for spending.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Daiwa Roynet front entrance really locked at night?
Yes. The official service page says the front entrance is locked from midnight to 6 a.m. the next morning. Staying guests open it with their room key; guests arriving to check in confirm the reservation name through the intercom outside. Some hotels also require the room key in the elevator to reach your floor.
What time is check-in at Daiwa Roynet Hotels?
The chain does not publish one time for all hotels. The two property pages we read, Ginza PREMIER and Kyoto-Ekimae PREMIER, both list check-in at 14:00 and check-out at 11:00. Confirm the time on the page of the hotel you book.
Do I pay at check-in?
If you chose to pay at the hotel, yes, in advance at the automatic payment machine when you check in. The machines take JCB, Visa, American Express, Diners and Saison and charge international cards in yen; the service page notes that some hotels do not accept card payment at the machine, in which case the desk handles it.
Which Daiwa Roynet Hotels have a public bath?
Eight, per the official bath page: Sapporo Nakajima-Koen, Akita-Ekimae, Kanazawa-MIYABI, DEL style Nagoya-Nayabashi, Nagoya-Fushimi, DEL style Osaka-Higashitemma, Nara and Matsue-Ekimae, which opened on August 6, 2026. Nara’s is a natural hot spring from the hotel’s own source; the page asks you to check the list before booking if a bath matters.
Can I wear a bathing garment in the bath?
In the women’s bath, yes. The official bath page says a bathing garment may be worn in the women’s baths at every hotel that has one; garments are sold at all bath hotels and lent at Nara and Osaka-Higashitemma.
How does the laundry work?
Coin laundry for guests only, with detergent dispensed automatically. Washers and dryers take 100-yen coins only; change comes from the automatic payment machine in the lobby. The hotel takes no responsibility for laundry left in the machines.
Is the ROYNET CLUB membership worth it?
It is free and unlocks member rates. Three tiers by points earned in a year: Silver up to 2,999, Gold from 3,000 with one free hour of late checkout (not past 14:00) and a 1,000-point birthday bonus, Diamond from 30,000 with an hour of early check-in as well, 5,000 rank-up points and two room upgrades. Points can be spent from 10 points (10 yen) in one-yen steps. The app is Japanese-only; the website registers members in English.
How many Daiwa Roynet Hotels are there?
Seventy-nine on the official list read on September 16, 2026, counting the DEL style sub-brand, BATON SUITE Okinawa-Kourijima and Roynet Hotel Seoul Mapo. Seven are in Tokyo: Tokyo-Kyobashi PREMIER, Ginza PREMIER, Shimbashi, Nishi-Shinjuku PREMIER, Tokyo-Akabane, Tokyo-Osaki and DEL style Ikebukuro-Higashiguchi.

Bottom line (2026). Daiwa Roynet is a clean, standardized business hotel with three habits to know: the door locks at midnight (room key or intercom), you pay at the machine on arrival, and the laundry wants 100-yen coins. Only 8 of 79 have a bath, Nara’s is the real onsen, and the free membership is the only route to a late checkout.

Sources

All rules and figures are from Daiwa Roynet Hotels’ official site: the English Service page (security, laundry, payment machines, Lady’s Room, Eco Mark), the ROYNET CLUB MEMBERS page, the Japanese hot spring and bath page, the hotel list on the corporate page, and the Ginza PREMIER and Kyoto-Ekimae PREMIER property pages, read on September 16, 2026.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC