Hakone Ginyu (2026): Check-In 14:00, Kids Rates, Cancel Fees

Guide·September 20, 2026·18 min read·Sourced & cross-checked

Hakone Ginyu is a 20-room ryokan on the hillside at Miyanoshita, the old hot-spring town on the Hakone Tozan line, and it is built on one promise: every room has its own open-air bath on a terrace over the Hayakawa valley, and both meals come to the room. The corridors are tatami, so you walk them in tabi socks. The rules under the calm are a 14:00 check-in and 11:00 checkout, cancellation fees from three days out, child rates that split by school grade, and a day spa that admits no one without a treatment.

Everything below is from the official English site: the top and reservation pages, the bath, spa, cuisine, facility, guest-room and access pages, and a 2020 notice on cancellations. Room rates are not here; the child, spa and bath prices the ryokan publishes are.

Honto check: Every rule and figure on this page is from Hakone Ginyu’s official English site (hakoneginyu.co.jp/en), read on September 16, 2026. Deliberately not stated: room rates, which run on five seasonal tiers with a New Year surcharge; whether the public baths admit tattoos, which no page says; whether the 2020 illness-cancellation notice is still in force; and spa course prices, which live in a PDF menu.
TOC

Hakone Ginyu at a glance

ItemOfficial rule
Check-in / check-out14:00 / 11:00.
Cancellation3-2 days before 30%, day before 50%, same day 100%.
RatesPer person with two meals, incl. service charge, tax and bath tax; five seasonal tiers; New Year surcharge.
ChildrenPreschool free (meal 5,500 yen, bedding 4,400 yen optional); grades 1-4 50%; grade 5+ 70%.
Rooms20, all with open-air bath, terrace and dining room. 17 Japanese, 3 Western.
MealsIn the room: kaiseki from 18:00, breakfast at 8:00 or 9:30.
Public bathsTwo, swapped by sex at 22:00; sauna; open to 10:30.
Day spaTreatment guests only, 10:00-20:00; bath add-on 1,650 yen + 50 tax; overnight guests 1,100 yen off courses.
Booking windowOne year ahead from 9:00; New Year from Sept 1, 10:00.
CardsVisa, Mastercard, JCB, Amex, Diners, UC, DC.

Official site, read September 16, 2026.

Check Hakone Ginyu rates and availability on Klook →
Affiliate link — English checkout, no extra fee. See our affiliate disclosure.

What is Hakone Ginyu, and which floor should I book?

Hakone Tozan Railway train at Miyanoshita Station
The Hakone Tozan line at Miyanoshita. Hakone Ginyu is a minute from the bus stop in the same village. Not the ryokan. Photo: sodai gomi (CC BY 2.0)

A modern ryokan built down a slope above the river at Miyanoshita, a minute from the bus stop and a short walk from the 1878 Fujiya Hotel that gives the town its air. Its emblem is the phrase kacho fugetsu, the beauties of nature, written in oracle-bone script, and the design follows: natural materials, low light, tatami everywhere. The four floors are room types. Kaze on the 4th floor is a single Japanese-style room with the top view. Hoshi on the 3rd has Japanese and Western rooms and the only maisonette, whose living room opens to the sky on the 4th. Sora on the 2nd is the entry tier, closest to the forest and best in fresh-green and autumn-leaf seasons. Tsuki on the 1st has the largest terraces and open-air baths with a jacuzzi function. Western rooms have a queen bed and take a third guest on an extra bed.

What is in a room?

Entrance, the main room (10 tatami mats in the Hoshi Japanese room), a separate dining room with a sunken table or low chairs, a mini-kitchen and sink, toilet, a shower booth, and the terrace with the open-air bath and sofas. Amenities run to shampoo, treatment, body soap and scrub, cleansing foam, lotions and an all-in-one gel, with a bathrobe, yukata and samue. Wired LAN in every room; wireless around the 5th-floor lobby.

Why tabi socks?

Because the corridors are tatami too, and the ryokan asks you to walk them in the white tabi it provides rather than slippers. It is the detail guests remember, and the reason the building is quiet.

Check-in at 14:00, meals in the room

Miyanoshita Station building, Hakone
Miyanoshita Station. Buses from Odawara (30 min) and Hakone-Yumoto (15 min) stop nearby; check-in opens at 14:00.

What are the hours?

Check-in 14:00, checkout 11:00, an hour earlier in and later out than many ryokan, which the all-room-bath design rewards. The lounge Ginyu Shijin on the top floor serves drinks 16:00 to 18:00 and 20:30 to midnight, and the bar runs from 19:30 to 22:00.

How does dinner work?

A monthly changing kaiseki course carried to your dining room by your attendant, from 18:00, and breakfast likewise at 8:00 or 9:30. The hospitality page explains the point: the attendant watches your pace so you never wait or feel rushed. Groups who want to eat together can use a 41.5-mat private dining space with four booths, and there is a teppanyaki counter, Yuan, for dinner. The ryokan also offers a light meal after dinner and, on request, sets pieces such as candles for a proposal or a cake for an anniversary.

How far ahead can I book?

Up to one year to the day, with bookings opening at 9:00. The New Year nights of December 31 to January 3 are the exception: they open at 10:00 on September 1 each year and carry a surcharge on the seasonal rate. Rates are quoted per person for one night with two meals and include the service charge, consumption tax and bath tax.

Cancellation: 30 percent from three days out

When you cancelFee
4 days before or earlierNone
3 to 2 days before30%
Day before50%
Day of stay100%

Official reservation page, read September 16, 2026.

What if I fall ill?

A notice the ryokan posted in July 2020 says that cancellations for poor health are accepted free by phone until 18:00 the day before, for guests who booked directly; bookings through agencies and booking sites follow those companies’ rules. The notice is still linked from the top page but is five years old, so confirm it when you call. A ryokan of this size buys ingredients for a fixed number of dinners, which is why the fee starts earlier than at a hotel chain; Konansou on Lake Kawaguchiko starts a week out.

Children: free in preschool, then 50 or 70 percent

ChildRule (official rate list)
Preschool ageStay free. Children’s meal 5,500 yen and bedding 4,400 yen if wanted.
Elementary grades 1 to 450% of the room rate.
Elementary grade 5 and up70% of the room rate.
EquipmentChildren’s tableware, toothbrush, yukata and towels provided.

Official Hakone Ginyu child rates, read September 16, 2026. The page does not state the age at which a child becomes an adult.

Is it a family ryokan?

The Japanese-style and maisonette rooms are described for families and small groups, and the children’s kit is real, but the tone is adult: private baths, candlelit proposals, a bar. A family with a preschooler pays only for the child’s meal and futon; from elementary school the half or seventy-percent rate applies to a two-meal ryokan price. Our ryokan guide explains how per-person, two-meal pricing works.

The baths: two bathhouses and 20 private ones

Wooden open-air bath at a Japanese ryokan
A ryokan open-air bath (Nishimuraya, Kinosaki Onsen), shown for the type; not Hakone Ginyu. Every Ginyu room has its own on the terrace. Photo: Nishimuraya Kinosaki Onsen (CC BY 2.0)

When are the public baths open?

The two bathhouses, Tsuki-shiro and Tsuki-ne, each have a stone tub, an open-air bath and a low-temperature sauna, and they swap by sex at 22:00: Tsuki-shiro is men’s from 14:00 to 22:00 and women’s from 22:00 to 10:30 the next morning; Tsuki-ne is the mirror image. Both are placed so the Hakone range fills the horizon, the “infinity bath” the site advertises. The spring is a weakly alkaline one listed for skin, joints, muscle pain and fatigue.

Are tattoos allowed?

The site does not say. With an open-air bath on your own terrace the public baths are optional, which makes Ginyu one of the easier Hakone stays for a tattooed guest; ask before relying on the bathhouses. Our tattoos and onsen guide has the general rules.

Ginyu Spa: treatments, a day plan and the private night

Can I use the spa as a day visitor?

Only with a treatment. The spa pavilion, reached through a “forest hallway”, opens 10:00 to 20:00 with last admission at 18:00 to treatment customers; its own free-flowing private open-air bath is free to them for 30 minutes by reservation, and a soak in the ryokan’s baths can be added for 1,650 yen plus 50 yen bath tax. Bathing alone is not sold. A spa-and-lunch plan runs 10:15 to 13:30 with a 90-minute treatment and a soba lunch, and a morning discount takes 10 percent off a treatment starting between 10:00 and noon, one pair a day.

What do overnight guests get?

1,100 yen off every spa course, the same 30-minute private bath with a treatment, and the option of Private Night Ginyu: one couple a day may reserve the whole pavilion from 21:00 to 23:00 after the salon closes, which the ryokan pitches for weddings, anniversaries and proposals. Two single treatment rooms and one pair room mean couples can be treated together.

What is the spa’s cancellation rule?

Free until 21:00 the day before, 50 percent after that, and 100 percent once the reserved time has passed. Bathing spots for treatment guests vary by time and conditions on the day. There is also a free morning yoga session on Thursdays from 7:00 to 7:30.

Getting there, parking and payment

View over the Hakone mountains from Miyanoshita
The Hakone range from Miyanoshita, the view the ryokan’s bathhouses face. Photo: inunami (CC BY 2.0)

From Odawara Station (east exit) the Hakone Tozan bus takes about 30 minutes to Miyanoshita; from Hakone-Yumoto Station about 15. The ryokan is a one-minute walk from the stop. Drivers enter the car park from Route 1 down a steep slope the site warns about. Cards accepted are Visa, Mastercard, JCB, American Express, Diners, UC and DC. Sending a suitcase ahead is the easy way to arrive by bus; our luggage forwarding guide has the counters, and our Hakone map shows where Miyanoshita sits on the loop.

What is Miyanoshita like?

The ryokan’s own Hakone page tells the story: a spring found under the Kumano shrine in the Muromachi period, a therapeutic bath town in the Edo period, then the foreign resort that grew up around the Fujiya Hotel after 1878. The old streetscape survives around the station and the shopping street, and the page lists a shrine known as a power spot for money and marriage a few minutes away. It is a quieter base than Hakone-Yumoto, with the Tozan railway at the door.

What do I need to bring?

Very little. The room amenity list covers shampoo, treatment, body soap and scrub, cleansing foam, two lotions, an all-in-one gel, bath and face towels, and a bathrobe, yukata and samue to wear around the building; children get their own yukata, towels, tableware and toothbrush. Bring tabi if you own them, though the ryokan provides them.

Is the ryokan accessible?

Partly. The facility page says wheelchair-accessible rooms are available on request and lists barrier-free features, but the building steps down a hillside and the tatami corridors are walked in socks, so ask about the specific room before booking. Foreign-language support is listed on the reservation page.

Who Hakone Ginyu is for

Couples who want a private open-air bath and meals in the room without leaving the building, and anyone marking an occasion. It works for families who can absorb the two-meal child rates. It is the wrong place for a bath-only day trip, and its three-day cancellation window suits firm plans.

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in and check-out at Hakone Ginyu?
Check-in from 14:00 and checkout at 11:00, printed on the top and reservation pages. Dinner is served in the room from 18:00 and breakfast at 8:00 or 9:30, also in the room, so the afternoon is yours for the baths. Reservations open at 9:00 up to one year ahead; the New Year nights of December 31 to January 3 go on sale at 10:00 on September 1.
What is the cancellation fee?
30 percent from three to two days before the stay, 50 percent the day before, 100 percent on the day. A 2020 notice adds that a cancellation for illness can be waived by phone until 18:00 the day before, for direct bookings only; ask the ryokan whether that still applies. Spa treatments have their own rule: free until 21:00 the day before, 50 percent after that, 100 percent once the booked time has passed.
How are children charged?
Preschool children stay free, but a children’s meal is 5,500 yen and their own bedding 4,400 yen if you want either. Children in the first to fourth grade of elementary school pay 50 percent of the room rate, and from the fifth grade 70 percent. Rates are per person with two meals and include service charge, tax and bath tax. Children’s tableware, toothbrushes, yukata and towels are provided.
Does every room have an open-air bath?
Yes. All 20 rooms (17 Japanese-style, 3 Western) have a terrace facing the Hayakawa valley with a private open-air hot-spring bath, a sitting area, a separate dining room, a mini-kitchen and a shower booth. The four floors are named Kaze (one room, top floor), Hoshi (including the only maisonette), Sora (the entry level, closest to the trees) and Tsuki (the lowest floor, with the largest terraces and a jacuzzi function). Wheelchair-accessible rooms are available on request.
When can I use the public baths?
Two bathhouses with stone tubs, open-air baths and a low-temperature sauna swap by time: Tsuki-shiro is for men from 14:00 to 22:00 and women from 22:00 to 10:30; Tsuki-ne is the reverse. Both look out over the Hakone range. The site does not print a tattoo rule; every room has its own bath in any case.
Can I visit the spa without staying?
Only with a treatment. Ginyu Spa is open 10:00 to 20:00 (last admission 18:00) for treatment guests, and its free-flowing private open-air bath is free to them for 30 minutes by reservation; a bath in the ryokan’s own baths is an extra 1,650 yen plus 50 yen bath tax. Bathing alone is not sold. A spa-and-lunch plan runs 10:15 to 13:30 with a 90-minute treatment and soba, and overnight guests get 1,100 yen off each spa course.
Is there a private evening at the spa?
Yes: Private Night Ginyu lets one couple a day reserve the entire spa pavilion from 21:00 to 23:00, after the salon closes, for anniversaries or proposals. The ryokan’s hospitality page also offers set-ups such as candles for a proposal or a cake for a birthday if you ask in advance.
How do I get there?
Take the Hakone Tozan bus from Odawara Station’s east exit (about 30 minutes) or from Hakone-Yumoto Station (about 15 minutes) to Miyanoshita; the ryokan is a minute’s walk. Drivers should note a steep ramp into the car park off Route 1. Cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, JCB, American Express, Diners, UC and DC.

Bottom line (2026). Check in from 14:00, out by 11:00; every one of the 20 rooms has its own open-air bath and both meals arrive in the room; cancel four days out to pay nothing, then 30, 50 and 100 percent; preschoolers stay free but a child’s meal is 5,500 yen, and elementary children pay 50 or 70 percent; and the day spa takes no one without a treatment.

Sources

Rules and figures are from Hakone Ginyu’s official English site (hakoneginyu.co.jp/en): the top page, the rates and reservations page (reservation), and the bath, spa, cuisine, facility, guest-room, hospitality, bar and access pages, plus the July 2020 notice on infection measures and cancellations, all read on September 16, 2026.

Some links on this page may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you book or buy through them — at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure.

Free PDF guide
3 Golden Routes & 7 Hidden Gems

Tokyo to Osaka, Tokyo to Kyushu, Tokyo to Hokkaido — day by day — plus seven places most visitors never reach.

  • 12 pages, 80 photographs, every stop linked to its guide
  • Every price and opening hour read from the official page
  • Re-issued monthly, so it does not go stale in your inbox

Free. One email a month, plus the rare change that matters. Unsubscribe with one click in any email. By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

Cover of the PDF guide 3 Golden Routes and 7 Hidden Gems
Let's share this post !

Author of this article

Researched in Japanese, written in English. Every guide is sourced from official information and cross-checked before we publish.

TOC